Attcked in Street (public), What do you do?. [VOTES]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭godwin

I had it happen to me a few years ago , I told him to fcuk off I wasn't in the humor , he fcuked off , I am quite large though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭meemeemee

Every martial arts or self defense forum where the topic has come up has suggested there is no real defence against a knife. Unless the guy is an absolute dope, and you are a blacker than blackbelt, do you have a chance. If you are evenly matched, the dude with the knife " Wins ". There have been numerous stories about highly trained and pretty fit police peeps with combat training coming off worse against a drunken / drugged up / generally nutcase with a knife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

meemeemee wrote: »
    Every martial arts or self defense forum where the topic has come up has suggested there is no real defence against a knife. Unless the guy is an absolute dope, and you are a blacker than blackbelt, do you have a chance. If you are evenly matched, the dude with the knife " Wins ". There have been numerous stories about highly trained and pretty fit police peeps with combat training coming off worse against a drunken / drugged up / generally nutcase with a knife.
    I have found an unmerciful boot in the stones has disproved this theory on several occasions. Also, if you really mean to do harm with a knife, it's quite hard to kill someone - usually it's the dumb stab in the dark that gets "lucky" - a bit like when a gun goes off by accident, someone nearly always gets hit. Try and hit them on purpose, chances are you'll miss..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I picked "shoot him" on the assumption that doing so would give me a gun.

To date no gun has appeared.

You have to emigrate first ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭claypigeon777

I picked "shoot him" on the assumption that doing so would give me a gun.

To date no gun has appeared.

If you must kill your oppoent you need a quick draw handgun and you need to fire from the hip - you won't have time to aim - and you need to incapacitate or kill your opponent as quickly as possible.

The solution is a two inch barrel high powered double action .357 magnum revolver firing hollow point ammunition which will create massive internal injuries to organs and blood vessels if fired into the chest or abdomen. Put one of those babies through your attackers face and his skull will explode like a rotten orange and you will drop him straight away lights out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

There is no option to fight him without weapons, ie, that you don't have a weapon. I was going to say hardest kick to the balls you can deliver, then run, but I voted for run seeing as there is no "fight without weapons" option. The suggestion of a kick to the knee is also a "fight without weapons" scenario. ARWranger, what would you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

newmug wrote: »
    There is no option to fight him without weapons, ie, that you don't have a weapon. I was going to say hardest kick to the balls you can deliver, then run, but I voted for run seeing as there is no "fight without weapons" option. The suggestion of a kick to the knee is also a "fight without weapons" scenario. ARWranger, what would you do?

I think the question is What Would Jesus Do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Doing a course with this guy next month. Looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭peewee_44

Run away and I have done. Many years ago myself and partner were walking to the pub it was xmas and this A***hole fell out a pup covered in blood must have lost a fight inside and came after us and tbh only the little barsteward fell on ice he would have hit one of us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Forget all the crap you saw in movies.

What works in the real world?

The only defense against a knife is a gun and you better get than gun out QUICK.

An attacker can close that distance in a fraction of second and it only takes seconds to receive multiple fatal wounds.

Interesting video. Have heard that when up-close a knife trumps a gun.
    Guess the right thing to do is run if someone pulls a knife on you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Dublinpato

EVOLUTION!!! Let's all get fat if we get fat enough the knife will not be long enough to fit in his pocket and reach fatal organs and so on, then eventually if we stay fat long enough evolution will kick in and everyone will be born fat which will then stop people from being able to stab you because they'r belly's will stick out further than their arms resulting in belly fights and i just happen to be the king of belly fights so don't mess with me or i will **** you up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I would 'Crocodile Dundee' him by pulling out a larger knife.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 20 Lavandula

MOAR !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I'd run around and around him bocking like a chicken, because we all know how hard it is to catch a chicken :)

In reality, I'd probably just do what I done before... say, do you want a cigarette and have one myself and chat with the person to calm the motions.

If that doesn't work then I usually just walk away while doing a 180° head-roll to see if he is behind me, and if he is, then I will offer him another smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Fight fire with fire.if some cnut wants to live by the sword, let him die by the sword

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

djflawless wrote: »
    Fight fire with fire.if some cnut wants to live by the sword, let him die by the sword

You would be amazed how easy it is to calm the situation just by speaking the right words and using the right body language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

This very situation actually happened to me (minus the knife )

I was 14 and it was around 10 pm at the end of the summer. I was walking home with a friend when I was approached by two girls who were much older than me (early 20's) They claimed I'd been saying things about "their sister "(who I'd never met in my life !) and were clearly quite intoxicated. So at this point I decided to run , though unfortunately due to my poor footwear choice that evening (flat pumps that were a size too big for me) I didn't get too far before they caught up and knocked me to the ground. After that I was too shocked/ disorientated from banging my head to do anything else but just lie there and watch them pound into me like they were Katy Taylor on her final round at the olympics.

Bizarrely enough though I did at one stage , while lying there think of taking out my phone to call my Mum and tell her I was going to be late , but decided against it since I thought they might steal it. Mad how your brain acts when you're in shock

If it happened to me again though (especially if the person has a knife) I'd no doubt choose the running option again but wouldn't be so conscious about keeping my shoes on my feet as I was as a silly teenager. I'd have no other real defence otherwise , unless I would happen to come upon a sword at my disposal at the time of the attack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Bootsy.

I'd agree with the above, it's worked for me plenty of times before.

There has been times though that I've been attacked without warning. 3 times:

1. Was on the phone late at night, two fellas try and mug me. I ran. They caught me, knocked me to the ground and attacked me. I fought back and by some minor miracle I managed to knock the head off both of them until they gave up and I legged it to a taxi.

2. Coming out of a hotel at stupidoclock, car pulls up, four lads jump out and surrounded me. "Give me your wallet". Before I even had a chance to open my mouth, I got smashed over the head with an iron bar. I ran. Back to the hotel which was thankfully 30 seconds away. I was destroyed in blood that time. The guards found the car burned out Ballymun. Apparently there was a string of attacks by these eejits.

3. I was walking home one night, got jumped by four totally random f*ckers for no reason. I ran. They caught up, knocked me to the ground, started kicking me. A car pulled up, and out jumped three hardy country lads with hurleys in their hands, "Oi, leave him the f*ck alone!". That was very sound. And lucky.

Moral of the story... I need to run faster! :)

One on one, I've never lost a fight, (I've never started one either!) but with scumbags there's always more than one, so what can you do but peg it and hope for the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

ARWRanger wrote: »
    Example:
    ==> 0:35

LOL @ them all chewing the jaws off themselves....pillheads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Bootsy.

I've just realised the OP specified 'knife'. F*ck that. If it was one person I think I'd be so angry at the absolute scummy f*ck I'd go for him without holding back. But in reality, I'm sure I'd leg it! More than one scum and I'd deffo leg it. I can't imagine a situation where I'd hand over money or to the though. I just couldn't do it. F*ck them, seriously. If it was a gang though and they had a knife I'd have no choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Kick him full power between the legs, then a swift left hook to his jaw, followed by a powerfull right uppercut, followed by a quick right to put him down! that's the unrealistic dream anyway, but the reality is that I would probably run, and hope & pray that speed was on my side . . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,122 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Run for the hills and if you cant find hills, climb into a skip. Unless you carry a bigger knife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

zenno wrote: »
    You would be amazed how easy it is to calm the situation just by speaking the right words and using the right body language.

The whole "think like a bouncer" thing doesn't really work with smack heads tho...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

Put a bandana on, my two arms up in the air and balance on one foot and get ready to do the crane kick. Mr Miyagi says "if I do it right, "no can defend.."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Einstein wrote: »
    Put a bandana on, my two arms up in the air and balance on one foot and get ready to do the crane kick. Mr Miyagi says "if I do it right, "no can defend.."

Don't forget wax on, wax off. Very important daniel son!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 132 ✭✭Banneret

That's a hard one :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

That reminds me of Rodney Dangerfield -
    "A guy threatened me with a knife. You could see he wasn't a professional. There was butter on it."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

What if you can't run fast?

Chicken noises I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Shoot him, obviously if I have a gun. Right in the balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

A long time ago someone took a knife to me. In hindsight he probably did it half-heartedly and I being young and stupid bailed straight into him. Got a bit cut but got the better of him, had to be dragged off him.

These days I think that anyone who produces a knife for attack purposes should be strung up. Mr. Facker mentioned Stanley blades, anyone who produces one of these, particularly of the modified double blade variety, should be roasted on spit.

What would I do now, hard to answer. Not being as young or healthy any more I doubt if I would be able to physically deal with it unarmed. If however a decent weapon was available I imagine I would use it.