Do girls think its ok to kick boys in the nuts?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 166 ✭✭Bananatop

chopper6 wrote: »
    I prefer when they sit in my face though.

Concave faces are the best for sitting in!, or so I hear.

It's obvious this girl's mother is a bully and will teach her daughter to be a bully as this is what it will lead to in the end, sadly.

This isn't about feminism this is about what's right and wrong and the girl should be thought to inform the proper individuals of the Boy's actions not to react with violence. If she does that somewhere else it could mean her getting a serious beating.

Unfortunately the Boy's reactions are most likely a result of being allowed to watch unsuitable T.V which is the case of too many Children these days along with extremely violent computer games, ah sure what harm can it do, typical ignorance. Not to mention the seriousness of unsupervised internet access, and smart phones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

I

Unfortunately the Boy's reactions are most likely a result of being allowed to watch unsuitable T.V which is the case of too many Children these days along with extremely violent computer games, ah sure what harm can it do, typical ignorance. Not to mention the seriousness of unsupervised internet access, and smart phones.

on your part...there's very little to link between games and violence , just people like yourself peddling crap.I'd say its more to do with bad parenting.

Have a look at this quote of a lady called Constance Steinkuehler.Who is she you ask?Well she's senior policy analyst for the White House Office of Science and Technology.
    "If you look at the state of research right now, there isn't a causal link between violent media and violent behaviors," said Steinkuehler. "That's contested in some corners," she adds. "You have to keep in mind that in much of that work that's trying to assert there's a positive relationship, it's pretty tenuous – showing, for example, that after 20 minutes of playing a game subjects have an increased likelihood to fill in a letter in a word that is EXPLO_E as 'EXPLODE' rather than 'EXPLORE.' ...There are a lot of inferences that you have to draw in order for that to work."

http://gamepolitics.com/2013/08/27/former-white-house-video-game-czar-responds-louisiana-shooting#.Uj2YkcY4sqC

EDIT:sorry she was the adviser,not any longer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46 King Hearts

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Yep, they both absolutely should've been disciplined, but we only have the supermom's side of the story here (it's interesting because in another blog entry she advocates that shouting at someone is abuse, yet she thinks it's perfectly ok to be proud of her "privates punching daughter"),

Likening a child punching another child in the nuts as sexual assault is also just as ridiculous. If we were to go down that road, what the boy did was sexual harassment.

Ahh come on, I know what you mean in that they don't understand concepts like homo/hetero, but if he was able to verbalise "say hello to Mr. Wiener" while waving his crotch in a girls face, there's a fairly good chance there's a bit of "monkey see, monkey do" going on there, he got the idea from somewhere! (I'm thinking something like "Say hello to my little friend", could be wrong though).

Another made up set scenario, but there's a hell of a difference between a child hugging another child, and a child waving his crotch in another child's face. If we're specifically going to reverse the genders and say is it ok for a guy to punch a girl waving her crotch in his face, then no, of course that's not ok either.

Call it a double standard, sexist, etc, but the threat just isn't on the same level at all at all.

What threat did the boy present exactly that would so much more potent that a girl waving her crotch in someone's face?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,185 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

rubadub wrote: »
    Some people have this puzzling rule of "you should never hit a woman", when questioned further it often turns out the rule they really mean is actually "you should never hit somebody weaker than you". So these people are being prejudiced/sexist in their presumption that women will be weaker than men.

A few months of weight training and you can increase your strength very significantly, as weight training for women is more popular these days there must a lot of women out there these days who are stronger than the average untrained male. So it seems weird that people still stick to this sexist notion, and why they do not say the rule they really mean.

The rule is very strange, as it is usually stated after a weak person hits a stronger person. Why did they hit them? on the presumption the victim will also follow this ridiculous rule and will not retaliate? Do unto others and all that.

How do you determine if the person is stronger that you, and therefore fair game for a beating, do they have an armwrestle or something? Do they take weapons into account, is it just a stronger person or one with the greater advantage at that time which you must not hit. If the hammer drops do you have to stop. If the weak woman/man hits you is it acceptable to put one hand behind your back to be on a level pegging, and then start a fair fight back? Can you hand the weak person a big stick and then beat the crap out of them.

I think you might be leaving out the point that in the last few years weight lifting has also become very popular with men making us stonger.

Most men won't strike back if hit first.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46 King Hearts

You don't sound like you give a shìte for my opinion either way so I'm just going to say yes, yes you should punch her, and punch her hard, and if she doesn't go down the first time, well, try as another poster suggested- one, two to the babymaker with a left hook to the head, and then, right, when she's down, the old sucker punch or two wouldn't go amiss, just to split her open like, yknow, wouldn't want anyone to think you went easy on her, your actions have to be appropriate like.

Then come on Boards and boast about it and you'll get all the validation you need that you did the right thing.

Wow, such a petulant response to a reasonable post.

Your double standards have been exposed and you resort to trollish behaviour to hide them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Some people have this puzzling rule of "you should never hit a woman", when questioned further it often turns out the rule they really mean is actually "you should never hit somebody weaker than you". So these people are being prejudiced/sexist in their presumption that women will be weaker than men.

A few months of weight training and you can increase your strength very significantly, as weight training for women is more popular these days there must a lot of women out there these days who are stronger than the average untrained male. So it seems weird that people still stick to this sexist notion, and why they do not say the rule they really mean.

The rule is very strange, as it is usually stated after a weak person hits a stronger person. Why did they hit them? on the presumption the victim will also follow this ridiculous rule and will not retaliate? Do unto others and all that.

How do you determine if the person is stronger that you, and therefore fair game for a beating, do they have an armwrestle or something? Do they take weapons into account, is it just a stronger person or one with the greater advantage at that time which you must not hit. If the hammer drops do you have to stop. If the weak woman/man hits you is it acceptable to put one hand behind your back to be on a level pegging, and then start a fair fight back? Can you hand the weak person a big stick and then beat the crap out of them.

There's no way you can increase your strength significantly after only a few months of weight training, unless you're on serious steroids. It takes years to gain that sort of strength naturally, even with a good diet and a strict training regime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I'll try answer this post for you rubadub best I can, because I can only speak from my own perspective. My own belief that a man should never hit a woman is just that- under no circumstances should a man ever hit a woman. It's not just that men are generally physically stronger, it's just a scummy thing to do.

Weight training has also increased in popularity for men, so there must be a lot of men out there that are stronger than your average untrained male, and certainly stronger than your average untrained female. See how that works?

Do unto others what? Some men don't know how to behave like men and some women don't know how to behave like women, there's nothing surprising or puzzling about that.

This is one I can't answer as there are far too many silly hypotheticals to even consider. Suffice to say I've always advocated restraining the person rather than beating them. Only once have I ever broken that rule, when after months of intimidation, this particular chap I worked with he made threats against my wife. He got €16k in compensation and no permanent injuries.

My old man was twice my size at 26 stone and 6ft 8in could inflict serious physical damage when he wanted to, and only once did I fight back against him too, and once he was down, I didn't see any need to finish him off, much as part of me wanted to.

I was up in Dublin a couple of months back and standing at George's Quay waiting for the bus when a young lad tried to whip my phone out of my hand. I was having none of it and managed to restrain him when two more young lads came out of nowhere and proceeded to kick seven shades out of me. I was at a disadvantage being on crutches, they got away with the phone, but they didn't manage to get their hands on my laptop in my backpack.

So as you can see, for me personally, it isn't just about who's weaker or who's stronger - it's about using appropriate force to neutralise the immediate threat.

I still meet the guy I used work with around town, and he's still an arrogant little prick, but because I don't consider him an immediate threat any more, I don't entertain his nonsense.

returnNull wrote: »
    on your part...there's very little to link between games and violence , just people like yourself peddling crap.I'd say its more to do with bad parenting.

Bad parenting is allowing your Children to watch unsuitable TV and play unsuitable computer games and have unsupervised access to the internet !

You think it's okay for children to be subjected to extreme violence on tv and computer games ? People are becoming desensitised by extreme violence and more and more tv and computer games is getting more graphic violent and sexual.

Movies and computer games are giving ratings for a reason.

There are studies who will say there is a link, my attitude to all these studies not just in video game violence but in most things is he who pays the piper calls the tune!

The question is, will you censor what your children watch or take the risk ? I sure as hell would sensor and they would not be playing extremely violent computer games or watching violent movies. I would not allow my Children ( if I had any) to watch such things and I would certainly not care less about any study that says it has no effect.

Such extremely violent movies and games are unnecessary, it certainly turns my stomach sometimes, I just can't imagine the obsession or the attraction nor the pleasure people could get in watching the torture and murder of other human beings.

I've seen Children as young as 5 having complete access to sky tv in their bedrooms, not that alone says a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,187 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

A kick in the fanny is no laughing matter either!!

I wouldnt find that funny, I cross my legs when I see someone getting hit in the nuts and I dont even have a pair of balls.

Empathy can be a real pain in the nuts sometimes. :pac:

Wow, such a petulant response to a reasonable post.

Your double standards have been exposed and you resort to trollish behaviour to hide them.

I didn't consider it a reasonable post after all that's been put forward in the thread. I've also made no secret of my double standards btw, and I certainly wasn't the one trolling by asking a stupid question to which I already knew what the posters answer would be fairly obvious.

ps. Being able to tell the difference between a man and a woman is not a double standard, it's fact. You might consider it politically incorrect to differentiate between a man and a woman, but I'm under no such delusions because I recognise that there are differences.

In all honesty, I never thought I'd see political correctness and feminism being used to justify hitting a woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Ok.

I take it you would be of the same opinion if a woman shoved her vag in a mans face.

Would it be ok for him to give her a wallop to the box?
    If some woman shoved her vag in my face I would eat that bitch out.

non AH answer :-I've kicked two guys in the nuts in my life so far, first was my bro who thought he was Bruce Lee when he was young and I used to be his sparring partner when we were about same age as the kids in the story. It was childs play but I never felt lesser than his equal and responded with the same level of determination as he did, which one day led to him receiving a kick in the nuts. My pa went ape****. (for the life of me I couldn't understand why, it was perfectly acceptable to be on the receiving end of my bro's punches/throws and in my mind he should have been able to take one in return)

The other one was a guy who had physically assaulted me on several occasions previously. He deserved several kicks in the nuts but unfortunately I didn't connect well enough to down him.

If today some guy shoved his cock in my face and told me to talk to it I'd go tell one of my male friends and let him deal with it.
    If some woman shoved her vajayjay in my face and told me to talk to it, I would whisper sweet nothings to it and ask her did she like it. (or tell her to fcuk off, depends on the nature of her asking)

What threat did the boy present exactly that would so much more potent that a girl waving her crotch in someone's face?

A girl thrusting her crotch in a boys face just isn't going to present the same threat, and it would be silly to suggest that it would. A boy can still tea bag a girl without her consent, can a girl do the same to a guy? No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

I'm amazed at the amount of ignorance being displayed in this thread about NUTS. Could we please have some input from Vegans (or at least Vegetarians/Fruitarians) to give a little balance.
    On a more serious note ......... an obese friend of mine got into a heated debate with a female heavyweight at his very first Weightwatchers meeting. Resulted in pushing/shoving, insults traded 'til eventually she managed to lift her leg high enough to give him a kick in the ball-sack. Long story short ......... he lost a stone in ICU the following day. Even by Weightwatchers standards this has got to be success gone wild.

A girl thrusting her crotch in a boys face just isn't going to present the same threat, and it would be silly to suggest that it would. A boy can still tea bag a girl without her consent, can a girl do the same to a guy? No.

No but she could possibly suffocate him if she were to sit on his face.

Bad parenting is allowing your Children to watch unsuitable TV and play unsuitable computer games and have unsupervised access to the internet !

I've seen Children as young as 5 having complete access to sky tv in their bedrooms, not that alone says a lot.

It doesn't really, my child has had his own Sky box in his bedroom since he was four, because I couldn't be arsed watching any more Disney, Tiny Pop and Cbeebies. He doesn't bother with the 900+ channels as he has no interest in them.

He also has his own laptop and mobile phone with unrestricted access to the internet and he has no interest in pornography. He uses the internet for educational as well as entertainment purposes.

In his school they have the most useless filters known to man, provided by HEANET, and children as young as six and seven are able to proxy and VPN past the filters, just to be able to say they can, not because they want to access pornography.

There's far too much of this "won't somebody think of the children" nonsense about nowadays, when what they should really be focussing on is "won't the parents take some responsibility and not be expecting everyone else to do it for them!".

If the parents of the boy in this story had taught him that his behaviour was wrong, he never would've gotten punched in the nuts. The woman who is proud of her "dick punching daughter" shouldn't be encouraged either as her philosophy is just as dim witted as the parents who didn't take responsibility for teaching their child the meaning of manners and respect for other people.

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    No but she could possibly suffocate him if she were to sit on his face.

A boy could possibly do the very same thing Dave in fairness by sitting on a persons face!

Exactly, its still a threat.

This is getting a bit silly now but honestly, which of the sexes do you think would generally be more capable of sitting on a person's face? A person would have to be able to restrain the person first, then get them down on the ground, pin their arms down with your knees, and even then a man will be more capable than a woman of flipping her off.

We're not talking the extremes of a BBW and a seven stone wisp. We're talking your average guy and girl. Men are generally speaking physically bigger in stature and strength than women, and to try and say a man should be able to punch a woman if she punches him is just crazy IMO. It's crazy and it's a justification to be a scumbag.

If that's what anyone would consider equality and political correctness, then I'm quite satisfied to have no part in it. I have no problem being considered sexist if it means I'm against the idea of advocating men becoming scumbags.

This is getting a bit silly now but honestly, which of the sexes do you think would generally be more capable of sitting on a person's face? A person would have to be able to restrain the person first, then get them down on the ground, pin their arms down with your knees, and even then a man will be more capable than a woman of flipping her off.

We're not talking the extremes of a BBW and a seven stone wisp. We're talking your average guy and girl. Men are generally speaking physically bigger in stature and strength than women, and to try and say a man should be able to punch a woman if she punches him is just crazy IMO. It's crazy and it's a justification to be a scumbag.

If that's what anyone would consider equality and political correctness, then I'm quite satisfied to have no part in it. I have no problem being considered sexist if it means I'm against the idea of advocating men becoming scumbags.

I don't see it as been crazy at all. What is a man supposed to do if a woman attacks him on the street or if she keeps punching him repeatedly? Should he just take it?

This sort of thinking is a big problem. If a woman slaps a man in a night club or gropes him, nothing is done about it. In the reverse situation the man would be thrown out immediately. Now I'm not saying a man should punch every woman he gets into an altercation with, but there's no reason why anyone, (man or woman) should have to put up with that sort of assault.

I don't see it as been crazy at all. What is a man supposed to do if a woman attacks him on the street or if she keeps punching him repeatedly? Should he just take it?
    if someone is assaulted by somebody else, male of female they should report it ffs, what is the problem here? This isn't about gender, this is about assault. If you want to punch someone back after they punch you go for it, if you don't contact the gardaí, it's that easy. (what I can tell you is that the 6'2 fella who assualted me was well due a kick in the nuts, unfortunately at 5'4 I couldn't do very fcuking much about it)

pharmaton wrote: »
    if someone is assaulted by somebody else, male of female they should report it ffs, what is the problem here? This isn't about gender, this is about assault. If you want to punch someone back after they punch you go for it, if you don't contact the gardaí, it's that easy.

100% agreed, although the gardai may be of little help depending on the situation.

it can be reported as assault and it can go on record, if it continued you may be able to get an injunction against them in an effort to prevent them from trying to assault you again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

Indeed, the unintended consequences of the boys actions were that he ended up getting punched in the nuts. I would hope it teaches him to have respect for girls in the future. I certainly can't imagine he'll be scarred for life for getting a punch in the nuts as a child. If you're going to say the girl will grow up thinking it's ok to punch guys in the nuts, then by your own extrapolation, it'll be ok for the boy to say he has no respect for women because one punched him in the nuts as a child.

So do you think that an environment where her mother celebrates an act of violence on her daughters part is a healthy stable environment where she is likely to have the supports to turn into a balanced member if society?

You're quite fond of extrapolating assumptions out of nothing, playing up one side of the argument while playing down the other. "Excessive use of violence in response to no actual threat", it was a swift punch in the nuts for a child waving his crotch in her face. She didn't stab him in the eye with any pencils or beat seven shades out of him. She felt that she was being threatened, she felt that he was attempting to humiliate her. She knew it was wrong. Her response was proportionate to the boys actions in the circumstances as they have been presented.

There's no assumption here beyond that the little girls story is accurate. Its simple, its excessive to assault someone just because you feel they insulted or humiliated you- you should realise this given your € 16k example later in this thread. Once the daughter hits age of legal responsibility, actions like this have a tendency to earn a criminal record. And no it will likely not be seen as porportionate by a judge who has to weigh up the level of threat she faced. If you don't believe me then Google one of the many assault convictions in this country that are based on the same "I felt insulted " premise

She's an idiot looking for validation on the internet, I wouldn't expect much more from her tbh. Sure look in this forum alone there's a thread where the OP received plenty of validation for his actions in "splitting open" another guy -

Mugging gone wrong!

"Look at me being a hero on the internet" is all I can see there tbh.
    No on that thread I see a story of someone who was actually assaulted and did use a proportionate level of force to defend themselves - notwithstanding the bragging element there's not a hope in hell they could be convicted for assault for what they did. Not the difference; porportionate response to the level of threat. As opposed to a ten year old receiving praise from her mum for behaving like a thug

The very same thing could be said of the boy who would never have realised that HIS actions can have as you put it unintended consequences too. At least now he'll think twice before he does it again.

I guess your OK with beating children who misbehave too. We differ on that....

I think it's wholly unreasonable to question it seeing as there are potentially limitless answers to limitless possible scenarios and you could very easily end up saying things like "but what if the boy had tried to have anal sex with her while dressed in a gimp suit?", "ohh well in that case I'd run the little fcuker over with an army tank"...

Like I suggested earlier, lets try and keep the discussion somewhat within the bounds of reality.

They're under ten! What so difficult to grasp here that you need to validate your argument in such a foolish and outlandish way. I repeat, they're under ten! Seriously, you've spent most of your time on this thread criticising people (not aleays fairly)for giving implausible scenarios, would you ever take your own advice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

pharmaton wrote: »
    ...................................................................................................
    (what I can tell you is that the 6'2 fella who assualted me was well due a kick in the nuts, unfortunately at 5'4 I couldn't do very fcuking much about it)

A well aimed kick in the nuts should really do serious damage to his kneecap :)

tritium wrote: »
    So do you think that an environment where her mother celebrates an act of violence on her daughters part is a healthy stable environment where she is likely to have the supports to turn into a balanced member if society?

There's no assumption here beyond that the little girls story is accurate. Its simple, its excessive to assault someone just because you feel they insulted or humiliated you- you should realise this given your € 16k example later in this thread. Once the daughter hits age of legal responsibility, actions like this have a tendency to earn a criminal record. And no it will likely not be seen as porportionate by a judge who has to weigh up the level of threat she faced. If you don't believe me then Google one of the many assault convictions in this country that are based on the same "I felt insulted " premise

No on that thread I see a story of someone who was actually assaulted and did use a proportionate level of force to defend themselves - notwithstanding the bragging element there's not a hope in hell they could be convicted for assault for what they did. Not the difference; porportionate response to the level of threat. As opposed to a ten year old receiving praise from her mum for behaving like a thug

I guess your OK with beating children who misbehave too. We differ on that....

I think it's wholly unreasonable to question it seeing as there are potentially limitless answers to limitless possible scenarios and you could very easily end up saying things like "but what if the boy had tried to have anal sex with her while dressed in a gimp suit?", "ohh well in that case I'd run the little fcuker over with an army tank"...

Like I suggested earlier, lets try and keep the discussion somewhat within the bounds of reality.
    [/QUOTE]
    I don't know what country you're living in but if the boy performed the same act at 16 it would be considered a sexual assault. Whether a judge would find her response an act of self defense is debatable but legitimate. This is not a one sided event and while you can manage to muster a musing of a violent woman somewhere down the line, by the same token the boy could well be considered a sexual offender at a later age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

Two important points Czarcasm.

He was fully clothed.

He did not touch her.

If he has the ability to hit her, he also has the ability to restrain her.

This sort of thinking is a big problem. If a woman slaps a man in a night club or gropes him, nothing is done about it. In the reverse situation the man would be thrown out immediately. Now I'm not saying a man should punch every woman he gets into an altercation with, but there's no reason why anyone, (man or woman) should have to put up with that sort of assault.

I've worked as a bouncer in various clubs and I've never experienced an instance where a girl would launch an unprovoked attack on a guy, but there have been plenty of times I'd see a girl slap a guy and by the time I'd got over there to break it up, the guy would've laid her out with a punch.

I've also had to escort girls out of the club and while restraining them, you could have two or three of her friends pulling out of you and punching you and a couple of times I'd have had to fend off a stiletto to the face.

I've worked with bouncers who used conceal razor blades under their jacket lapels just in case a guy grabbed them for a headbutt. I've told them that as well as being illegal, the blades are just a scummy idea.

You're right Dave, nobody should have to put up with that sort of assault, but men very, very rarely ever report or complain that they've been assaulted, and tbh those that did, were just looking to have the girl thrown out as opposed to actually having felt violated. Women were much more put out by the actual groping, whereas men were more put out that they were groped by a girl they didn't find attractive and were just being spiteful about it wanting her thrown out.

I found that the reason men who were groped weren't taken seriously was because they themselves were very petty about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Sgt. Al Powell

It genuinely angers me when women and young children fail to acknowledge how painful getting hit in the balls is.

Don't go the cinema so, as almost every second movie these days has 'testicle pain' gags.

We're the Millers had a spider bite the young guy's balls, which in fairness, was hilarious but more often than not, it's a female kicking some boy in man in the balls. Few in this clip:

The whole issue is complex one though, as even though boys are getting the message that they should treat girls as their equals, in the same breath if boys show weakness, they will be insulted for it. Again, there is a scene in We're the Millers where the young dude was upset cause he messed up with trying to get with a girl and his fake sister says something to me him like: "Stop moping around like someone kicked you in the vagina?"

A similar scene is in Kick Ass 2, when the lead actress beats the crap put of a boy and then when he is lying on the ground she says:

"Oh, take your tampon out, Dave."

No wonder Jim Carrey refused to do publicity for it.
    Am I allowed to open up a shop that sells cards saying nothing but, "Women are stupid", "it's OK, she's a woman, it doesn't matter"? I was in a woman's clothes shop with my girlfriend recently when I saw a rack of cards that pretty much said all of that about men.

Kinda reminds of this:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boys_are_stupid,_throw_rocks_at_them!_controversy

I feel that in the same way we bring boys and girls up to respect femininity, we also need to teach them to respect masculinity also. Otherwise we get the following, male and female, idiots:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭ALiasEX

It doesn't really, my child has had his own Sky box in his bedroom since he was four, because I couldn't be arsed watching any more Disney, Tiny Pop and Cbeebies. He doesn't bother with the 900+ channels as he has no interest in them.

He also has his own laptop and mobile phone with unrestricted access to the internet and he has no interest in pornography. He uses the internet for educational as well as entertainment purposes.

In his school they have the most useless filters known to man, provided by HEANET, and children as young as six and seven are able to proxy and VPN past the filters, just to be able to say they can, not because they want to access pornography.

There's far too much of this "won't somebody think of the children" nonsense about nowadays, when what they should really be focussing on is "won't the parents take some responsibility and not be expecting everyone else to do it for them!".

If the parents of the boy in this story had taught him that his behaviour was wrong, he never would've gotten punched in the nuts. The woman who is proud of her "dick punching daughter" shouldn't be encouraged either as her philosophy is just as dim witted as the parents who didn't take responsibility for teaching their child the meaning of manners and respect for other people.

Your kid may be hiding his interest in porn and other things. It is very easy to hide. I first came across porn (accidentally) in 6th class researching a school project on darts (the sport). I have looked at porn ever since. You also have to watch out for your kid being blackmailed online.