Spot on Christy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Yamanoto wrote: »
    I've always been baffled by Christy's appeal as a solo artist and even more so at his status as one of Ireland's sacred cows.

Is it the 'ordinary man' thing?

He comes across as a bit of a bluffer to me, Ben Dunne with a six-string.
    one of the best gigs I ever went to was a Christy Moore gig :/ It was kind of magical.
    I think the man is a legend but each to his own.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

deco nate wrote: »
    Far from it, but by music standards that is
    what you are trying to use to put other
    posters down. I don't like your snobiness
    bull**** I'm higher than thou posts at
    this stage. It's getting boring.
    I'm reading this post in the style of a Christy song. Far more coherent that way.

Ah deeedle deeedle deedle, a deeedle deedle oh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭stoneill

I prefer the Smiddick and the Harpick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Robbo wrote: »
    I'm reading this post in the style of a Christy song. Far more coherent that way.

And yet you did not answer my post to you.
    Nice one mod man.... Ohh think I'll write a song about it;-) (dick a di yi)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

And yet you did not answer my post to you.
    Nice one mod man.... Ohh think I'll write a song about it;-) (dick a di yi)

Is there a point?....you seem incapable of following posts that are addressing you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Neither Arthur's Day, or Christy Moore's music is forced on anybody so calm down everybody!

Ah Yea. You an turd must be good mates.

Soo. Why no reply to my post? Mod??
    You just want to reply for **** an giggles.?
    But no comeback cause you are a mod or did you miss it?

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Is there a point?....you seem incapable of following posts that are addressing you.

The chap did not reply to my post,
    yet you an him keep giving it large.
    So. Just for you look back on the posts
    and you will see. I'm sick of you
    and him. You seem to be buddy's.
    Back in each other up. I'm done with you
    now. Read the thread

Turtyturd wrote: »

Point them out. I have replied
    to all of them . and what do you
    think I have missed out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Is it a particular phone type
    that gives posts that
    fetching stanzaical appearance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

anncoates wrote: »
    Is it a particular phone type
    that gives posts that
    fetching stanzaical appearance?

He seems to be writing in a Haiku-like free-verse. I like it. :cool:

jimgoose wrote: »
    He seems to be writing in a Haiku-like free-verse. I like it. :cool:

I'm get in better at it
    but don't attack it
    cos it will come....
    Ah **** it...
    I have lost it

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

I'm get in better at it
    but don't attack it
    cos it will come....
    Ah **** it...
    I have lost it
    You don't see the petty hypocrisy in gladly taking the coin of one side of an alcohol duopoly whilst deriding another? Both Arthur's Day and Oxegen are heavily branded pissups where the music appears to be largely incidental. But I suppose when you've thrown your lot in with one side, you might feel some kind of odd loyalty.

"Oh I'm an ordinary man, cashin' cheques from Heineken..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

Arthur's Day annoys me because in addition to the Jazz Festival, if I happen to be in town and want a real pint of stout, chances are my only choice is a pint of Diageo shite.

You don't see the petty hypocrisy in gladly taking the coin of one side of an alcohol duopoly whilst deriding another? Both Arthur's Day and Oxegen are heavily branded pissups where the music appears to be largely incidental. But I suppose when you've thrown your lot in with one side, you might feel some kind of odd loyalty.

"Oh I'm an ordinary man, cashin' cheques from Heineken..."
    I was not talking about Oxegen, I have never been to it, nor want to go. What I said was they cannot happen without them. Money wise. I don't give a **** about them, however someone did try to say that it was linked. In a way yes, but **** me it's a mad link.
    Festival site cannot happen without them.
    But what I was trying to say was.. Arthur's day
    should be showing how good Irish artists
    are as good as anyone they can bring in More than music festival =beer
    however it wont get them the money
    they want. But it would give the group's
    The exposure they need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,111 ✭✭✭Christy42

And here was me thinking I had a thread all about how I am great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Feck sakes people have little to bother them.

You want to go to Authurs day...go have a blast. If you don't... don't.
    Want to listen to Christy Moore whining I mean singing...go for it.... if not ...hello ..don't.

Why is it in Ireland people only expect others to have the same views and opinions as themselves. Anything else is chit.

It's a big bad diverse world out there and we are all not the same...got to learn to deal with that folks.

If you like the X factor, who cares, and if not don't watch it but don't criticise others for watching because you don't.

A few weeks ago I read an article about a mother who let her 15 year old daughter go out on a night out. Anyhow cut a long story short the girl ended up in A and E being pumped out too much alcohol, and a different much raunchier outfit on. The mother was saying sure was the young girls fault but these disco's should be closed down as they are only inciting youngsters to drink. The article made me angry because on that same night hundreds of kids went out and enjoyed a good night came home in a good state.

I suppose the point I am trying to make is you can go to Authurs day/night, it's your own choice how it goes, a good night or trip to A and E.

caustic 1 wrote: »
    Feck sakes people have little to bother them.

You want to go to Authurs day...go have a blast. If you don't... don't.
    Want to listen to Christy Moore whining I mean singing...go for it.... if not ...hello ..don't.

Why is it in Ireland people only expect others to have the same views and opinions as themselves. Anything else is chit.

It's a big bad diverse world out there and we are all not the same...got to learn to deal with that folks.

If you like the X factor, who cares, and if not don't watch it but don't criticise others for watching because you don't.

A few weeks ago I read an article about a mother who let her 15 year old daughter go out on a night out. Anyhow cut a long story short the girl ended up in A and E being pumped out too much alcohol, and a different much raunchier outfit on. The mother was saying sure was the young girls fault but these disco's should be closed down as they are only inciting youngsters to drink. The article made me angry because on that same night hundreds of kids went out and enjoyed a good night came home in a good state.

I suppose the point I am trying to make is you can go to Authurs day/night, it's your own choice how it goes, a good night or trip to A and E.

Job done, well said. Forgive my rants.
    ...... And those that have ranted before me,
    amen.. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

In fairness, I'd rather celebrate Arthur Guinness than St. Patrick. The former has had more positive impact on my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Have you been to the Christy Moore School of Patronising Shìte Talk by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Christy Moore, the same chap who sang songs wondering "how yer man stayed up on the surf board after forty bottles of stout", called the Irish a nation of docile, obedient shìt takers, and now gets up on his horse again because he has a song to sell...

Ride on Christy, see you! I could never listen to your whining bullshìt, no matter how you want me to.

He also had no problem performing at a Diaego sponsored event as recently as 2011 when he played Oxegen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Have you been to the Christy Moore School of Patronising Shìte Talk by any chance?

Your opinion, entitled.

Also Patronising and ****e talk because you don't agree???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Czarcasm wrote: »

Terrific, anyone criticising Ireland or the rotten relationship with drink in Ireland is a self loating Christy Moore fan now is it? Opinions tolerated, so long as they are the same as your own!

The first Arthurs day was great, after that it has meant nothing and I ignored them while I was still home. Christy Moore is entitled to his opinions and dreary tired old formulaic way of putting them to music too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

I don't think he has said anything that isn't true. I don't see why everyone is getting their knickers in such a twist. yes it is designed by advertsing men. Calm down everyone, god forbid you might critise a multi national. The focus of Arthurs day is the drinking not the music so that's the difference.

I don't see what difference it is that he has played at sponsored things before,sponsored gigs are a bit different then Arthurs day which is a completely contrived event. But people know its contrived and it they want to go out and enjoy themselves that's fine but that doesn't mean that it wasnt made up or that emergency rooms will not be busier.

Your opinion, entitled.

Also Patronising and ****e talk because you don't agree???

Well you're trying to say that it's only in Ireland that people expect others to have the same opinions as themselves, and then you tell us that it's a big bad world out there as if nobody but yourself has ever been outside Ireland. If you have actually been outside Ireland, you'll have noticed that it's not only in Ireland that people expect others to have the same opinion as themselves.

That kind of talk is the same as Christy Moore telling the Irish people they're a nation of docile, obedient shíte takers. Who the hell does he think he is to be talking down from his high horse?

He has a platform with his music and how does he choose to use it? By talking down to the people that were buying his alcohol fuelled songs years ago and telling them alcohol is bad, m'kay!

Christy would do well now to take his diddly aye and eff off tbh!

I am pie wrote: »
    Terrific, anyone criticising Ireland or the rotten relationship with drink in Ireland is a self loating Christy Moore fan now is it? Opinions tolerated, so long as they are the same as your own!

Not at all, we don't have a rotten relationship with drink no more than any other country - people drink, some people drink too much, whether they be Irish, English, French, American, etc.

Christy Moore had a rotten relationship with drink, but as other posters have pointed out - that didn't stop him playing at Oxegen, and it doesn't mean we should all have to listen to "The Great Christy" and the likes of an unfunny fcuk like Des Bishop tell us Irish people are all drunkards and alcoholics. It simply isn't true, not by a long shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Free pint for the first person who tells me how old Arthur is this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Free pint for the first person who tells me how old Arthur is this year.

He's dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

ThisRegard wrote: »
    He's dead.

Free pint for you, it was a trick question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Arthurs Day, it's like an alcoholic version of