Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spot on Christy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I think he has little to bother him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Arthurs Day is a load of rubbish which has oustayed it's welcome by a few years. Christy Moore and his music is a load of rubbish which has outstayed it's welcome by a few decades.....maybe they can reach an agreement where they both f*ck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Why don't Diageo pay for extra medical and police staff if they're so concerned about responsible drinking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

kneemos wrote: »
    Why don't Diageo pay for extra medical and police staff if they're so concerned about responsible drinking?

Or how about people take responsibility for their own drinking habits and stop blaming everyone else.

Someone doesn't become an alco overnight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Or how about people take responsibility for their own drinking habits and stop blaming everyone else.

Takes me 12 pints of the bad decision juice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

Why do i feel like a whore going into a bar at 4.30 on arthurs day. I dunno it all seems so fake....
    Feel like im prostituting myself for diageo :(
    Feel Violated after i raise my glass:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

ronan45 wrote: »
    Why do i feel like a whore going into a bar at 4.30 on arthurs day. I dunno it all seems so fake....
    Aren't you in secondary school?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Christy Moore and his music is a load of rubbish which has outstayed it's welcome by a few decades....

Mm, I think you can **** off if you think Christy is outta time. The man is one of our
    greats. He sings about what's happening to us Irish
    . And he is right about this. He has not
    outstayed his welcome with me, nor many other people in Ireland. Maybe for you,
    but don't speak for the rest of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Christy Moore, the same chap who sang songs wondering "how yer man stayed up on the surf board after forty bottles of stout", called the Irish a nation of docile, obedient shìt takers, and now gets up on his horse again because he has a song to sell...

Ride on Christy, see you! I could never listen to your whining bullshìt, no matter how you want me to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Christy Moore, the same chap who sang songs wondering "how yer man stayed up on the surf board after forty bottles of stout", called the Irish a nation of docile, obedient shìt takers, and now gets up on his horse again because he has a song to sell...

Ride on Christy, see you! I could never listen to you're whining bullshìt, no matter how you want me to!

I don't necessarily agree with you because I'm quite neutral on this ie I don't really care but I thanked your post because I thought the last bit was quite clever

deco nate wrote: »
    Mm, I think you can **** off if you think Christy is outta time. The man is one of our
    outstayed his welcome with me, nor many other people in Ireland. Maybe for you, but don't speak for the rest of us.

Could do with taking some of your own advice there deco.

LOL. Well I think he is still better than most
    of the ****e you hear on the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Why do people hate Arthur's Day so much? Music festivals have been sponsored by drinks companies for years. Witness, Oxegen, Forbidden Fruit, Bud Rising, Green Energy. Lots of other festivals like the JDIFF as well.

At least most of the pubs are free entry for Arthur's Day and you might even get a free pint.

LOL. Well I think he is still better than most
    of the ****e you hear on the radio.

He wrote some class songs when he was an alcoholic, ever since he sobered up he's been doing nothing but talking shìte. It's unfortunate really because I actually liked him as a singer, but his bitter and angry at the Irish rants are nothing short of self-flagellating at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

ronan45 wrote: »

Do you feel that way every time you order a Guinness, or any other drink under Diageo's umbrella? Or any drink for that matter? Or any product/service??

I hate all the anti-Arthur's Day sh*te, mostly seems to be a bunch of pseuds congratulating themselves on being so clever as to not be taken in by the "cynical marketing campaign". Yeah, it's a business; get a grip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

Diageo described Arthur’s Day as a unique music event enjoyed by millions, which supports emerging Irish music.

They forgot to mention the huge sales boost that get that day for this "music event" their marketing team dreamed up

hardCopy wrote: »
    Why do people hate Arthur's Day so much? Music festivals have been sponsored by drinks companies for years. Witness, Oxegen, Forbidden Fruit, Bud Rising, Green Energy. Lots of other festivals like the JDIFF as well.

At least most of the pubs are free entry for Arthur's Day and you might even get a free pint.

A free pint of piss, woohoo!

Honestly, ever since Diageo took over, and I've said this before- Guinness has definitely not been the same. It's just a different colored budweiser at this stage, certainly nothing to get too excited about.

As for the "day" itself and the idea that it promotes Irish music, well I don't recall Tinie Tempah having any Irish connections, do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

Christy just pi$$ed he didn't get a gig

He wrote some class songs when he was an alcoholic, ever since he sobered up he's been doing nothing but talking shìte. It's unfortunate really because I actually liked him as a singer, but his bitter and angry at the Irish rants are nothing short of self-flagellating at this stage.

Did he write that many songs himself? I thought for the most part he sung other songwriter's songs, I know he sung a lot of songs by Christy.(the man died a long time ago,) .... For the life of me I can't remember his last name, sorry.

I just took a look at his Wiki there myself, it's been about 30 years since I heard anything decent from him, but looking at the Wiki there now he does appear to have been busy in the meantime :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Hennessy. (real surname was Ross).

Christy Moore murdered everyone of his songs that he covered IMHO.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Hennessy. (real surname was Ross).

Christy Moore murdered everyone of his songs that he covered IMHO.

Jesus I didn't know Christy Hennessy was dead! I remember a few of his songs alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭TommiesTank

Let Christy take it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Christy Moore is just another example of some in the entertainment industry who have got rich and famous by talking and singing about the poor and underprivileged. Bono is another. They don't seen to realise that they are part of the privileged few that they often criticise.
    I used to like Christy, I went to many of his gigs. He did his best stuff when he was a brilliant observer of Irish culture. He could do that because he was part of that culture and identified with it, drink and all. Somewhere along the line he morphed into just a campaigner for his own pet causes.
    He has become a bit tiresome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Arrhurs F*cking Smarthurs Day.

Pile of ****.

Jesus I didn't know Christy Hennessy was dead! I remember a few of his songs alright.

He died a long, long time ago mate
    and he was a great singer /songwriter
    his daughter is still doing the rounds and
    she has her dad's sweet voice. That's what
    they need be showcasing not The B's that they are doing. Their is a lot of talent here, why bring anyone in? Oh yeah they don't sell beer. Lots of tallent here. Not just Irish style music. But they won't invest in them cos it doesn't sell beer in the short run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

♫ Christy Brown
    Texture like linen
    hold me kangaroo down
    sweet Christy Brown ♫

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

Ride on Christy, see you! I could never listen to your whining bullshìt, no matter how you want me to.

We are a nation of docile obedient sh it takers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Yeah, he died of asbestosis cancer a few years back.

For a guy who could neither read or write, he wrote some beautiful songs, more talent in his little finger than Moore has in his whole body.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Not a fan of Christiy Moore solo but I loved Planxty.

Plus even if the guy is the worst artist in the world, he has a right to comment on what he likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah, I don't understand the Arthur's Day hating.

Everyone knows it's just a made up marketing ploy to sell more beer. But everyone loves an excuse to get out for a few pints. If you don't, then don't go out. Why the whinging?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

hardCopy wrote: »

I think it's the fact that it's dressed up as something else. It is made out to be a day almost like Christmas or St. Patrick's Day where the gigs and that are part of the celebration. I'd have much more time for it if it were a music festival that happened to be sponsored by Guinness. Small difference I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Nobody's blaming anxbody.The fact is it's gonna be a busy night for A+E.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I have a low enough Dumbass threshold, but Arthur's Day doesn't bother me one way or t'other. Big Company Conjures Up Half-Stupid Morkeshing Stunt To Shift More Stuff. Truly the End Times are upon us! :D

Eight Ball wrote: »
    We are a nation of docile obedient sh it takers.

As deco said earlier in the thread - speak for yourself.

See? I don't take any of that shíte, and I doubt you're going to take that lying down either! :D

As deco said earlier in the thread - speak for yourself.

See? I don't take any of that shíte, and I doubt you're going to take that lying down either! :D

I hate you yo, your just like my old boss,.
    Walter white :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭mbur

At least Mr C Moore is showing some sign that he is paying attention.
    As OnlyonecanIbuy might have said 'use The Farce Christy'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Why would I care what Christy Whoore has to say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Christy Moore and his music is a load of rubbish .

just cos he didnt get his real talent as a musician and song writer discovered on pop idol or britain's got talent doesnt mean his music is a load of rubbish.

go back to listening your louis walsh/simon cowell generated sh!te if you must.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I didn't know Arthur's Day was "A gun is at your head, now fùckin' DRINK!!!" day.

The slightest whiff of an excuse to go drinking and people will take it, it's not like they'll suddenly awake from Diageo's spell while in the pub wondering how they got there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

People who complain about Arthur's Day are like people who go on about the X-Factor not being real music.
    Everyone knows that, nobody is fooled by it.
    I dont think anyone out there ever saw it as anything other than a marketing stunt. It's an excuse to have a pint on a Thursday and hear a band.
    I agree with an earlier poster who gave out about Tinie Tempah or whatever other dreary cunt they have headlining it not having any Irish connections but those are the big names.
    Up and down the country you'll find great local bands in pubs.

Long and short of it is, everyone knows it's a load of shite, either go and have a free pint or ignore it, either way, give over about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Christy Moore,Roy Keane,Des Bishop,we don't drink anymore so you lot give it up right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

I've always been baffled by Christy's appeal as a solo artist and even more so at his status as one of Ireland's sacred cows.

Is it the 'ordinary man' thing?

He comes across as a bit of a bluffer to me, Ben Dunne with a six-string.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

outstayed his welcome with me, nor man other people in Ireland. Maybe for you,
    but don't speak for the rest of us.

Bit like randy newman in family guy. Just sing what you see.

Musicians and their pontificating about what everyone else is doing wrong can fup off.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Is part of the promotional campaign that he's going to hand back his cheque from playing Oxegen and any other alcohol sponsorship driven events?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

christ moore, gerry adams with a guitar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

He has a point, but then again just about every national holiday is another excuse for people to drink up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

kneemos wrote: »
    .The fact is it's gonna be a busy night for A+E.

sad fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yamanoto wrote: »
    I've always been baffled by Christy's appeal as a solo artist and even more so at his status as one of Ireland's sacred cows.
    In fairness, he's entertaining, people enjoy listening to his music.

But just because you're a folk singer who writes comedic songs around current affairs, doesn't mean anyone actually gives a crap about your opinion.

Christy is making the same mistake that a lot of artists make, and assuming that popular is the same as influential.

Robbo wrote: »
    Is part of the promotional campaign that he's going to hand back his cheque from playing Oxegen and any other alcohol sponsorship driven events?

Oh know. Big difference doing a festival gig
    as a posed a drinking gig. Almost all(music,) festivals are sponsored in this way. So your comment is null and void. Better response needed from you. But Arthur day is just about the booze. Not about the music.
    Back to front. So
    tell me how you would run a music festival
    without them, and make money? It's a different kettle of fish. Tbh