Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

beef price tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

The more I think about it the more rancher's attitude on this stinks.

How anyone in his position could come out and say they had a protest and had "a bit of craic" at it is beyond me - naivety at its finest in my view.

I hope you don't say that to those who voted for you....

And so you had some craic making a nuisance of yourself in front of the public - the very people you need on your side to support Irish produce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

nashmach wrote: »

How anyone in his position could come out and say they had a protest and had "a bit of craic" at it is beyond me - naivety at its finest in my view.

And so you had some craic making a nuisance of yourself in front of the public - the very people you need on your side to support Irish produce.

Did this same attitude not raise its head on another forum recently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Trouble at mill for IFA, maybe http://www.irishtimes.com/business/sectors/agribusiness-and-food/farmers-association-at-risk-of-legal-action-after-milk-investigation-1.1531057

Farmers association at risk of legal action after milk investigation

Marooned75 wrote: »
    Did this same attitude not raise its head on another forum recently

A leopard doesn't change its spots it seems ;)

Unfair to comment on what goes on other forums so I'm not going to answer that part.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭epfff

Unfair to comment on what goes on other forums so I'm not going to answer that part.;)

Beef PRICE tracker
    hello when was last quote
    I'm hearing 390 On the grid for heifers Monday morning and full kill on for the week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Yes your right but he's attitude will not garner much support on here or any were else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

epfff wrote: »
    Beef PRICE tracker
    I'm hearing 390 On the grid for heifers Monday morning and full kill on for the week

Factory's will now back up cattle at these prices. they will try to strech the kill out as far as possible. They will do this by trying to get farmers to forward book cattle. This is the general tactic that goes on every year for October and november. The weather dictates for how long they can carrry it on. If late October/November is very wet, farmers that have cattle outside become price takers they have little or no choice but to move them.

As these cattle dry up finishers will hold cattle until the prices rise so that they can try to make a profit. I am not sure how far further the factory's will drop the price it may well be in there intrest to back cattle up from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Lads are very quick to say 'the ifa should be doing more" but fail to say what they actually want done and more importantly are doing nothing themselves to get a better price from the factories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

Beef PRICE tracker

Got 400 this morning for QA heifers

Lads are very quick to say 'the ifa should be doing more" but fail to say what they actually want done and more importantly are doing nothing themselves to get a better price from the factories

It is very hard for most farmers to get a better price from factory's. I often wonder is iit by accident that all factory's suddenlly on one monday morning al manage to stard driving cattle prices down even though there main market the UK is returning about 1 euro/kg more. In a compeditive envoirment would one company especially a small one not hold the price and grab market share.

I do not blame the IFA but I am fairly annoyed at there shennagins. In reality are they pushing the compedition authority to investige or would this not be public enough for to impress certain farmers.Would it annoy the factory's who might stop collecting the IFA levy. How would this effect the IFA balance sheet. What they are doing is a PR stunt in my opinion. I could be wrong but in my opinion it is a publicity game. Supermarkets are willing to put up with this for a few days a year as they will not have to increase meat prices and acn have there sales this time of year. The IFA reps can have there bit of craic.

Beef PRICE tracker

FYI - I didn't drag this off topic;)

More like 400 I'm hearing. Next week is ploughing match week so factories may be a little more eager for stock??

Farmer Pudsey is bang on the money there and everyone in this business should be conscious of the price now as it really puts a basis under what prices are likely to be next spring for winter finishers too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Right lads I will make a start to try and raise prices. Going to demand €5 a kilo for next weeks heifers. Will let you know how I get on.

Nash does it take you a week to go to the ploughing and fantasize over what you saw:D.

Right lads I will make a start to try and raise prices. Going to demand €5 a kilo for next weeks heifers. Will let you know how I get on.

Nash does it take you a week to go to the ploughing and fantasize over what you saw:D.

I hope you won't be waiting too long Bob :D

No it takes two Bob :D, around here agent's had difficulty getting cattle 2 weeks ago, they were saying everyone was focusing on harvest and drawing straw. It will be no different next week I bet as farmers will not be as flexible.

I hope you won't be waiting too long Bob :D

No it takes two Bob :D, around here agent's had difficulty getting cattle 2 weeks ago, they were saying everyone was focusing on harvest and drawing straw. It will be no different next week I bet as farmers will not be as flexible.

Great, I will get my €5 a kilo handy so:), I can operate 24hrs a day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

You have to admit that 200 farmers marching through the Tesco lingerie dept is good crack
    or where's your sense of humour

rancher wrote: »
    You have to admit that 200 farmers marching through the Tesco lingerie dept is good crack

Had no one surveyed the shop to find the meat counter before all this tom foolery began. Annoying the public is something the IFA should think long and hard about, before doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭mf240

Did you buy anything?

Did you bring your "bag for life" with you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Had no one surveyed the shop to find the meat counter before all this tom foolery began. Annoying the public is something the IFA should think long and hard about, before doing.

An independent butcher stopped us when we left supervalue to tell us that our cattle were too dear and we should try doing his job if we think it's such a poor price, I saw Damien OReily going to talk to him so he might have him on RTE some day, only for the cheaper meats he said he'd be gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Neighbour was down this morning after he collected his check for a cull cow.

Cow weighed 750kgs
    Killed out at 350kgs
    Graded R+4
    Got 1250e

She was an old BB suckler cow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

jersey101 wrote: »

Cow weighed 750kgs
    Killed out at 350kgs
    Graded R+4
    Got 1250e

Neighbour sold 11 year old char cow this week in mart. 715kgs. €1295.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

When you say down, do you mean:

a)He came down to your yard
    b)He was in bad form
    c)He received less money than he expected?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

With this QA thing a lad would want to be on the ball as to what he's doing with forward stock , ie is he going to finish himself or sell in mart, as if you sell in mart within 70 days of the 30mths, the next lad will lose out on the bonus :confused: Was in local mart (hadn't been in in a while) and they'd moves and the +70days or not displayed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭adne

Cow weighed 750kgs
    Killed out at 350kgs
    Graded R+4
    Got 1250e

46% killout seems low, is this normal for a cow. Whats peoples thoughts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,412 ✭✭✭tanko

adne wrote: »

I sent two lmx cross cows to a factory which were weighed the day before. one was a small cow with a lot of muscle weighing 610kgs and killed out at 310kgs (51%). The other was a tall cow with a big belly 660kgs and killed out at 307 kgs (46%). It all depends on the type of cow.

Muckit wrote: »
    When you say down, do you mean:

a)He came down to your yard
    b)He was in bad form
    c)He received less money than he expected?

Was down in the yard. Ha :D couldn't get rid of him. Ye he expected more for it

adne wrote: »

i reckon she was as fat as a fool and they trimmed off a heap of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

An independent butcher stopped us when we left supervalue to tell us that our cattle were too dear and we should try doing his job if we think it's such a poor price, I saw Damien OReily going to talk to him so he might have him on RTE some day, only for the cheaper meats he said he'd be gone

all the ''independant butchers'' that i know that were rearing and killing their own cattle upto the early 2000's some on a big enough scale , got out of it because it was equal cost to source meat from big factories.

now one of them rears cattle and sells to northern factory and has his butcher shop and gets meat from wholesalers etc !

does that butcher know how many tonnes of grass, silage and nuts an animal eats in their lifetime ! and the hassle !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Sold a 690kg cow today at 1345. Theres no profit in bringing one or two to the factory. I was talking to a fella that would seem to be in the know and he reckons prices are going to be pulled more over the next 2 weeks. I am predicting a pretty lean autumn with prices for all grade of stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

i have 2 bulls fr around 28 months old, id say 340-360 deadweight, any ideas what ill get and should i hold them for another month. Theyre aitin 10kg each per day

kevthegaff wrote: »
    i have 2 bulls fr around 28 months old, id say 340-360 deadweight, any ideas what ill get and should i hold them for another month. Theyre aitin 10kg each per day

You will just have to take the hit I do not know what they are making if you get 2.8/kg I would take the hand, arm and shoulder as well. You just have to take the hit that game is gone since last May. You might get a chance next week but just off load them at 3/Day they are losing serious money.