Most annoying mispronunciation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭garancafan

Peregrinus wrote: »
    "Haitch" is standard in Hiberno-English for the name of the letter 'h'.

True, but that does not make it likeable.

"Just as the pushy aggressive grey squirrel has almost extirpated the timorous red one, so muscular abrasive haitch may have done for poor gentle aitch before long." (David McKie,The Guardian, Thursday 22 March 2007)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

Maybe not misproununciations but two that get on my wick

1) Privacy as priv-a-see, I much prefer pry-va-see

2) Safety as say-feh-tee, for me it's safe-tee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭mattser

Popular RTE presenter this morning,,,,," Over to the knees reem ( newsroom ), now, for the latest knees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 28,401 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Maybe not misproununciations but two that get on my wick

1) Privacy as priv-a-see, I much prefer pry-va-see

2) Safety as say-feh-tee, for me it's safe-tee
    "PrYvasee" is standard in the US, but I think not elsewhere. It's part of the same shift that gives us the American pronunciation of Iraq, Italian, vitamin.

I'm with you on safety - two syllables, not three.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

I had a chemistry lecturer who produced 'kilo' as 'kylo'. Really annoying. She also pronounced 'temperature' as 'tempature', completely missing out the first r.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

"Digikal". It's "Digital" you knuckle dragger...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭preston johnny

People who say Tender hooks..................FFS it's Tenter Hooks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭A.Partridge

At secondary school our science teacher - Brother Cyril - upon reaching chapter 14 (Reproductive System) said...

"Right now boys I'm goin' to let ye read all about the workings of the Pennis and the Vageena and how mammals reproduce."

One of my pet hates.

I once heard a person sing a Simon & Garfunkel song like this...

" I'd rather be a hammer then a nail. Yes, I would."

(Does this mean that he would rather be a hammer first of all, and then change into a nail? )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭donutheadhomer

CaraMay wrote: »
    Just heard a woman say fabolous aghhhh it's not 'fabolous' it's fabulous!! People who say disSipline instead of discipline are very annoying.

I hate the Limerick "Sangwiches"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭bette

Yankee:

or egg an oh
    bays ill

Lots of people don't seem to know that the singular of 'women' is a 'woman'.

The number of posts where people write things like

"Yeah, well I was seeing this women for a while etc.."

is just unbelievable. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Forit does not equal Forhead, As in Give him a bang of your forit.

Gold does not equal goal. Jaysus that was a great gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

pecific - specific

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭mattser

The big winner has to be the epidemic of using ' loose ' for ' lose '.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

I know it has probably been said, but Americans calling aluminium alu-min-um pisses me off a tad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭chuky_r_law

your man on newstalk in the morning talking about the remains of the body found int he wicklow mountans - skeleetal remains. i thought it skeletal.

i've heard him say it a few times now. its really annoying me. even ivan yates scoffed at him for his mispronunciation but didn't follow up on it, probably cos of the grim nature of the news story. but he's done if a few days in a row now. would someone just tell him???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

tallus wrote: »
    I know it has probably been said, but Americans calling aluminium alu-min-um pisses me off a tad.

Most things that Americans say are annoying.
    Nooz, Toozday, axed, alloominum.
    Other words like trunk, elevator, vacation,
    It's boot, lift, holiday.

Oh and they way they write down a date makes no sense at all. Month/day/year. Idiots.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

bop1977 wrote: »
    The States with their dropping of the word "the" in numbers. ie 2001 becomes two thousand one. Fcuking yanks.

Two thousand the one?

WTF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

Apparently, I'm guilty of pronouncing for as fur. Unaware of it until someone pointed it out to me recently. Anyone else hear people say it that way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,019 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

People putting an incorrect s at the end of a word, thing or place. eg..Euros, Tescos, Paddy Powers etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    People putting an incorrect s at the end of a word, thing or place. eg..Euros, Tescos, Paddy Powers etc.

St. Stephenses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 alaskas_friend

Broken English is the world's international language.

Broken German is even worse though. A quote from one Turkish guy in work, when a beef patty was torn: "dead meat, dead meat. eat. eat." then he proceeded to hang the patty in the air slowly dropping it into his dirty mouth. True filth.

Oh yeah, he's been living here for 20 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

MJ23 wrote: »
    Most things that Americans say are annoying.
    Nooz, Toozday, axed, alloominum.
    Other words like trunk, elevator, vacation,
    It's boot, lift, holiday.

Oh and they way they write down a date makes no sense at all.
    Month/day/year. Idiots.

lol, Amen !!!! and I'm married to an American.

They call football boots, soccer cleats and football kits soccer uniforms :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Jimmy444

mattser wrote: »
    Popular RTE presenter this morning,,,,," Over to the knees reem ( newsroom ), now, for the latest knees.

Or even "Oor-tee-eee" as some of their news correspondents seem to pronounce it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Jimmy444 wrote: »
    Or even "Oor-tee-eee" as some of their news correspondents seem to pronounce it.

I noticed yesterday that Sinéad Hussey signed herself off a radio report as Sinéad Huzzey, Orrr Tee Eee, presumably to avoid the connotations of hussy, though that never bothers the splendidly-named Juliet Gash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,541 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Why would they pronouce aluminum the same as aluminium, they are different words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Raic

not yet wrote: »
    Forit does not equal Forhead, As in Give him a bang of your forit.

Gold does not equal goal. Jaysus that was a great gold.

Forehead pronounced as spelt is an example of a spelling pronunciation. The word was traditionally pronounced "forrid", but since the "speak as you spell" movement took hold people have begun to pronounce it as it's written. A similar example would be "waistcoat", which used to be pronounced like "weskit". Interestingly, the pronunciation of "forehead" as written is actually sort of a reversion to the manner in which it was pronounced several hundred years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Why would they pronouce aluminum the same as aluminium, they are different words.

Because aluminum is an example of incorrect spelling ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Raic

Because aluminum is an example of incorrect spelling ?

It's a variation, not a mistake; in fact, it's the older spelling.