Dolores McNamara's mansion robbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Which is why if I won money like that I'd give nearly all of it away - keeping enough for a nice house, nice car and comfortable life.
    I like my bosses idea: approach a well known charity and tell them you'll give them a 10 million donation if they'll do publicity stating you donated 100 million. The charity gets a huge donation and you get to take the target off your kids backs. Everyone's a winner.

The danger of course is the media but perhaps that could be sorted out with an injunction of some sort?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Personally I would be pacing up and down the queue outside the dole office on the last payday before Christmas lighting cigars with burning 50 notes.

But I'm an awful c'unt.

Same as that. Except instead of pacing I'd be using a convertible Bentley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

the_monkey wrote: »
    "Mother of 6 Dolores" ... yeah mother of six = Knacker

I wonder who paid for her 'kids' upbringing ? state maybe ??

Knacker

Your mother must be so proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Sellers are not required by law to be vat registered. Most private sellers would not be.
    There is little an already overstretched Garda force can do bearing in mind that scrapdealers are not legally required to retain details of those from whom they purchase and most of what they do purchase does not carry any formal identifying serial numbers.
    The CAB are a relatively small unit who simply wouldn't have the resources to start investigating scrap merchants.
    The simple solution would be to make it a legal requirement that scrap dealers (and cash for gold merchants) be required to take copies of ID from those they purchase from, and make it a requirement that they pay by crossed cheque/bank draft instead of cash.

There was a lot of wind and p*ss expired about passing legislation, but will come to nowt until Leinster House or some minister's gaff is stripped of lead and copper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

"Mother of 6 Dolores" ... yeah mother of six = Knacker

I wonder who paid for her 'kids' upbringing ? state maybe ??

Knacker

I'd say if Delores is reading this, she's 115 million reasons why she couldn't care less what you think of her, or her family.

Your post stinks of jealousy tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...mother of six = Knacker...

This is one of the most bizarre things I've read in AH! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

jimgoose wrote: »
    This is one of the most bizarre things I've read in AH! :D

That's saying something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Sense of 'ah sure she can afford it' here. Of course she can, but that doesn't make robbery right.

No one said it was right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Super-Rush wrote: »
    Your mother must be so proud.

As proud as only a mother of 9 can be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭ThePieintheSky

I may be wrong but isn't her family not exactly a million miles from criminality themselves? Aren't her extended lot not a bit ropey like that? So said the media anyway. Not judging, just saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

I may be wrong but isn't her family not exactly a million miles from criminality themselves? Aren't her extended lot not a bit ropey like that? So said the media anyway. Not judging, just saying.

Insurance scam? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

anncoates wrote: »
    Has somebody informed Pavee Point?

Only asking but is she not not a Traveller herself appols if I'm wrong.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Sleepy wrote: »
    How she thought she could live a peaceful life in Ireland after winning that amount is beyond me...

They must of changed the rules because i know she had to go public when she won, now winners of the euromillions can go public or not.

Hootanany wrote: »
    Only asking but is she not not a Traveller herself appols if I'm wrong.

Nope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Nope

But the Dundons are her Nephews?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

Heard the b@stards had a sh1t in her stew and she had to throw half it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Sense of 'ah sure she can afford it' here. Of course she can, but that doesn't make robbery right.

It wasn't robbery, it was burglary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭jonon9

How much copper did they take I read the article later im on a phone and the link doesn't work.?

Reason I ask is because she must have been gone for some time for the robbers to take copper out of walls and floors.

Also if I had that money **** living in this kip you will never have a peaceful life here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

They must of changed the rules because i know she had to go public when she won, now winners of the euromillions can go public or not.

remember she got her solicitor to speak for her during the press conference soon after she won, so we didn't get to hear her knacker limerick accent

Fierce smell of jealousy in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭mikeym

Dont tell anyone you won the euromillions and if you do get out of the country quick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

She was in some sh1thole pub in Limerick when she checked her numbers.

When she realized shewon she let out a scream and everyone knew the story then.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Fierce smell of jealousy in this thread.
    + a lot.

Though I would agree with others, but sad as it is to say, if I won the euromillions(if I played), I'd set up home elsewhere, at least most of the year anyway. And no way would I go public.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Wibbs wrote: »
    + a lot.

Though I would agree with others, but sad as it is to say, if I won the euromillions(if I played), I'd set up home elsewhere, at least most of the year anyway. And no way would I go public.

One wonders if she was a well spoken middle class mom from Meath would there be so much Schadenfreude?

Edit: maybe a little, this is Ireland after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,192 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Burglary isn't punished half strongly enough. For most people it will be their only experience of crime and it can be really devastating to their enjoyment of life - trying to sleep at night wondering whether the scumbags will be back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

When I won the €93,000,000 a few weeks back I didn't tell a soul. Still haven't.

begging pm sent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

These metal thieves are the scum of the earth. Something has to be done island wide to introduce strict legislation on the buying and selling of scrap metals. I can't tell you how much i hate these people who rob it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

She was in some sh1thole pub in Limerick when she checked her numbers.

When she realized shewon she let out a scream and everyone knew the story then.

Sure isnt there pics of her holding the winning ticket in the pub or something like that??