Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dolores McNamara's mansion robbed.

• 17-09-2013 8:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭

http://www.thesun.co.uk/irishsol/homepage/news/5141890/Coppers-and-robbers-Metal-thieves-hit-Dolores-mansion.html

I would think that these thieves put a lot of planning into this robbery & have gotten away with quite a haul.
    We have all seen or heard of robberies that strip houses bare of copper tanks, wiring & fittings, but how come nothing much is being done about it?
    The thieves have to go to scrap dealers to get rid of their ill gotten gains & the gardai should be putting pressure on the dealers to make their purchases more transparent.
    I'm quite sure that when these fixtures & fittings from Dolores' house show up, the dealers won't be offering the sellers vat receipts or looking for proof of ownership.
    Make the dealers responsible for their purchases, involve cab & the gardai, you could cut these types of crimes down to miniscule figures almost immediately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Has somebody informed Pavee Point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

How she thought she could live a peaceful life in Ireland after winning that amount is beyond me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

This would've taken a long time to do - had she no security ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Why would someone with such wealth not take a basic measure like having security on site?

anncoates wrote: »

Limerick celebrity fail.

I thought it was your wan from the Cranberries, not the Lotto winner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

http://www.thesun.co.uk/irishsol/homepage/news/5141890/Coppers-and-robbers-Metal-thieves-hit-Dolores-mansion.html

I would think that these thieves put a lot of planning into this robbery & have gotten away with quite a haul.
    We have all seen or heard of robberies that strip houses bare of copper tanks, wiring & fittings, but how come nothing much is being done about it?
    The thieves have to go to scrap dealers to get rid of their ill gotten gains & the gardai should be putting pressure on the dealers to make their purchases more transparent.
    I'm quite sure that when these fixtures & fittings from Dolores' house show up, the dealers won't be offering the sellers vat receipts or looking for proof of ownership.
    Make the dealers responsible for their purchases, involve cab & the gardai, you could cut these types of crimes down to miniscule figures almost immediately.

Take it up with TD's there is no law requiring Scrap dealers to seek ID off sellers or to require them to pay by crossed cheque, the Gardaí cannot pressurise a business to do something that the law does not require.
    Purchasers do not issue vat receipts and sellers only have to do so where they are vat registered and are charging vat, so that comment is illogical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Sense of 'ah sure she can afford it' here. Of course she can, but that doesn't make robbery right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

The gardaii only enforce the law.

They can't make it up as they go along op.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Sleepy wrote: »
    How she thought she could live a peaceful life in Ireland after winning that amount is beyond me...

Which is why if I won money like that I'd give nearly all of it away - keeping enough for a nice house, nice car and comfortable life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Take it up with TD's there is no law requiring Scrap dealers to seek ID off sellers or to require them to pay by crossed cheque, the Gardaí cannot pressurise a business to do something that the law does not require.
    Purchasers do not issue vat receipts and sellers only have to do so where they are vat registered and are charging vat, so that comment is illogical.

It is illogical to ask scrap dealers to not purchase stolen goods?
    Whether you buy them unwittingly or not, the onus is on the purchaser

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Part of the problem can be down to how those businesses are maintained as well. I've heard of scrapyards changing hands quite regularly. That can somewhat stifle investigations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yeah, as long as you have unscrupulous breakers and metal merchants you'll have metal thieves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,035 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Completely o/t - but what a beautiful house!

A crying shame that original features are now gone.

:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Maybe we could organise a whip-around, give her a bit of a dig-out in her hour of need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Which is why if I won money like that I'd give nearly all of it away - keeping enough for a nice house, nice car and comfortable life.

I wouldn't. I'd definitely give some of it away, but mostly I'd live off the very healthy interest. I'd do my best also to remain anonymous, but difficult I'd say, especially with that level of winnings.

I'd certainly be beefing up security in the home for sure, if for nothing else other than personal and family safety.

It is illogical to ask scrap dealers to not purchase stolen goods?
    Whether you buy them unwittingly or not, the onus is on the purchaser

No Howard, re read my post slowly.
    It is illogical to state that purchasers issue vat invoices, that statement makes no sense.
    Further , there is no lawful requirement on scapdealers to check the ID of the sellers or to insist on payment by crossed cheque.
    That is NOT the fault of the Gardaí whom you are blaming, it is the fault of the Government who have repeatedly refused to act on calls to require scrap dealer and cash for gold merchants to take copies of ID and only pay by crossed cheque.
    There is no legal onus on the purchaser unless it can be proved that they knew the good that they purchased were stolen.

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Completely o/t - but what a beautiful house!

A crying shame that original features are now gone.

:mad:

I thought the living room was horrendous tbh.

Doesn't look homely at all. I hope that's a photo of when the house was up for sale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

STT the crowd who work for Irish Rail and the Luas are registered down the road in Ballina and they have a Limerick office

Why no private security?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

yeah and have it cleaned out at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,035 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I thought the living room was horrendous tbh.

Doesn't look homely at all. I hope that's a photo of when the house was up for sale.

I posted that based on the exterior pic, tbh! Before I'd looked at the interior shots. Definitely not to my taste either, but the potential.......

No Howard, re read my post slowly.
    It is illogical to state that purchasers issue vat invoices, that statement makes no sense.
    Further , there is no lawful requirement on scapdealers to check the ID of the sellers or to insist on payment by crossed cheque.
    That is NOT the fault of the Gardaí whom you are blaming, it is the fault of the Government who have repeatedly refused to act on calls to require scrap dealer and cash for gold merchants to take copies of ID and only pay by crossed cheque.
    There is no legal onus on the purchaser unless it can be proved that they knew the good that they purchased were stolen.

Incorrect, there most certainly is an onus on the purchaser.
    If he is complicit in buying stolen goods, he can be prosecuted, fined and jailed.
    If he buys all these fittings "unwittingly" they can be confiscated and he loses out on any monies paid.

Doesn't look homely at all.

Fuck homely.

Homely is what my gaff looks like after the kids have run amok all day.

If I had her wad, they'd be restricted to their own wing with a nanny and I could have a nice house.

Incorrect, there most certainly is an onus on the purchaser.
    If he is complicit in buying stolen goods, he can be prosecuted, fined and jailed.
    If he buys all these fittings "unwittingly" they can be confiscated and he loses out on any monies paid.

In order to be prosecuted he/she would have to have knowingly bought stolen goods, I already said that in my post. So in fact I am correct, don't bother with the apology , you're ok.
    You still haven't explained to us how purchasers are supposed to issue vat invoices or why you are blaming the Gardaí for the failure of the Government to act on calls to regulate this business.

Fuck homely.

Homely is what my gaff looks like after the kids have run amok all day.

If I had her wad, they'd be restricted to their own wing with a nanny and I could have a nice house.

I just don't visualise myself with 6 x Dutch gold, a 3 in 1, and a smouldering doobie
    in that room.

Definitely has potential though. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

In order to be prosecuted he/she would have to have knowingly bought stolen goods, I already said that in my post. So in fact I am correct, don't bother with the apology , you're ok.

You come across as a bit of a smarmy prick tbh.

You still haven't explained to us how purchasers are supposed to issue vat invoices or why you are blaming the Gardaí for the failure of the Government to act on calls to regulate this business.

I am asking the gardai and cab to act within the law. There is enough scope for them to act without further legislation.
    If a seller is vat registered, he will provide his vat number on his bill of sale to the scrap merchant to keep everything above board.
    The merchant will be vat registered & must provide a receipt for the customer for any goods he received.
    All records must be logged & books kept in order.

I am asking the gardai and cab to act within the law. There is enough scope for them to act without further legislation.
    If a seller is vat registered, he will provide his vat number on his bill of sale to the scrap merchant to keep everything above board.
    The merchant will be vat registered & must provide a receipt for the customer for any goods he received.
    All records must be logged & books kept in order.

Sellers are not required by law to be vat registered. Most private sellers would not be.
    There is little an already overstretched Garda force can do bearing in mind that scrapdealers are not legally required to retain details of those from whom they purchase and most of what they do purchase does not carry any formal identifying serial numbers.
    The CAB are a relatively small unit who simply wouldn't have the resources to start investigating scrap merchants.
    The simple solution would be to make it a legal requirement that scrap dealers (and cash for gold merchants) be required to take copies of ID from those they purchase from, and make it a requirement that they pay by crossed cheque/bank draft instead of cash.

Jesus, she must have been devastated to come back and find it gone.

Can't imagine a mansion will be easy to sell without drawing a bit of attention to yourself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

Personally I would be pacing up and down the queue outside the dole office on the last payday before Christmas lighting cigars with burning 50 notes.

But I'm an awful c'unt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I like my bosses idea: approach a well known charity and tell them you'll give them a 10 million donation if they'll do publicity stating you donated 100 million. The charity gets a huge donation and you get to take the target off your kids backs. Everyone's a winner.

The danger of course is the media but perhaps that could be sorted out with an injunction of some sort?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Personally I would be pacing up and down the queue outside the dole office on the last payday before Christmas lighting cigars with burning 50 notes.

But I'm an awful c'unt.

Same as that. Except instead of pacing I'd be using a convertible Bentley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

the_monkey wrote: »
    "Mother of 6 Dolores" ... yeah mother of six = Knacker

I wonder who paid for her 'kids' upbringing ? state maybe ??

Knacker

Your mother must be so proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Sellers are not required by law to be vat registered. Most private sellers would not be.
    There is little an already overstretched Garda force can do bearing in mind that scrapdealers are not legally required to retain details of those from whom they purchase and most of what they do purchase does not carry any formal identifying serial numbers.
    The CAB are a relatively small unit who simply wouldn't have the resources to start investigating scrap merchants.
    The simple solution would be to make it a legal requirement that scrap dealers (and cash for gold merchants) be required to take copies of ID from those they purchase from, and make it a requirement that they pay by crossed cheque/bank draft instead of cash.

There was a lot of wind and p*ss expired about passing legislation, but will come to nowt until Leinster House or some minister's gaff is stripped of lead and copper.

"Mother of 6 Dolores" ... yeah mother of six = Knacker

I wonder who paid for her 'kids' upbringing ? state maybe ??

Knacker

I'd say if Delores is reading this, she's 115 million reasons why she couldn't care less what you think of her, or her family.

Your post stinks of jealousy tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...mother of six = Knacker...

This is one of the most bizarre things I've read in AH! :D

jimgoose wrote: »
    This is one of the most bizarre things I've read in AH! :D

That's saying something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Sense of 'ah sure she can afford it' here. Of course she can, but that doesn't make robbery right.

No one said it was right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Super-Rush wrote: »
    Your mother must be so proud.

As proud as only a mother of 9 can be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭ThePieintheSky

I may be wrong but isn't her family not exactly a million miles from criminality themselves? Aren't her extended lot not a bit ropey like that? So said the media anyway. Not judging, just saying.

Insurance scam? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Only asking but is she not not a Traveller herself appols if I'm wrong.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Sleepy wrote: »

They must of changed the rules because i know she had to go public when she won, now winners of the euromillions can go public or not.

Hootanany wrote: »
    Only asking but is she not not a Traveller herself appols if I'm wrong.

Nope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Nope

But the Dundons are her Nephews?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

Heard the b@stards had a sh1t in her stew and she had to throw half it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

It wasn't robbery, it was burglary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

How much copper did they take I read the article later im on a phone and the link doesn't work.?

Reason I ask is because she must have been gone for some time for the robbers to take copper out of walls and floors.

Also if I had that money **** living in this kip you will never have a peaceful life here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

They must of changed the rules because i know she had to go public when she won, now winners of the euromillions can go public or not.

remember she got her solicitor to speak for her during the press conference soon after she won, so we didn't get to hear her knacker limerick accent