Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Among other things. So the landlord is flapping and paid you off

Pretty much. Much nicer place and rent is cheaper too. The lights kept tripping in the other place too which is definitely not very safe imo.

Herd test tomorrow. Hate the thought of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Pretty much. Much nicer place and rent is cheaper too. The lights kept tripping in the other place too which is definitely not very safe imo.

Herd test tomorrow. Hate the thought of it.

Once you ain't one of the ones getting tested you'll be grand, the uncle has scanning one of the days so same craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Sorry to hear about your relation and his worker Antrimglens.

Once you ain't one of the ones getting tested you'll be grand, the uncle has scanning one of the days so same craic

I'd probably fail it if it was me being tested! Too much ink in my bloodstream.
    We have a few older cattle that know well whats happening and no way in hell will they bring their hear round or up.

I'd probably fail it if it was me being tested! Too much ink in my bloodstream.
    We have a few older cattle that know well whats happening and no way in hell will they bring their hear round or up.

There's always a few, nothing like getting the hand beat off a wall trying to prise up an animals head

As long as I don't bash my head again!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

*turns on thermal imaging*

Not much good if your outside the window. It won't work through glass.

As long as I don't bash my head again!:eek:

Yeah your developing a bit of a habit there :D

Bizzum wrote: »
    Not much good if your outside the window. It won't work through glass.

You sure about that

Yeah your developing a bit of a habit there :D

Hush you. Right, off to the leaba. I'll prob fall up the stair and break my nose or something now:pac:

*slowly blends into the foliage*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Do ya look at the mantel piece when you're poking the fire?

if there was a tv in the room I might watch that, alternatively I may smoke a cigarette while tending to the fire

*slowly blends into the foliage*

All that tax payer funded training is starting to pay off now.

You sure about that

Used them enough times to know. Good job but hard on the eyes.

Jasus Bizzum, Im now starting to get worried about you aswell

Don't worry Bob. I'm harmless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Just catching up, very sorry to hear of your loss AntrimGlens.

My sympathy to your family and community at this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Your dogs ear is broken:D

Number of questions to ask her whelan!

1- Does she want a big dog or a small or in between?
    2- Will this be an outdoor dog, indoor or both?
    3- Active dog or a lapdog pet?
    4- Will she be the one walking, training, etc.
    5- How much moolah you want to spend?

Having worked with animals for a fair number of years, incl being a dog groomer I've a good knowledge of most breeds!
    well watching her on done deal shes looking at king charles-because her friend has 2- ****zu - as my friend has 1:D- i'd say a small dog but wouldnt rule out a labrabdor... we have a dog outside but its more of a guard dog its a collie cross- not the one that attacked her, The one that attacked her was from dogs home down the road, we where told it was from a family and used to kids:mad::mad:

bad start to the day, tea bag had a hole in it:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

whelan1 wrote: »
    bad start to the day, tea bag had a hole in it:mad:

Hate that, last gulp of tae is :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

well watching her on done deal shes looking at king charles-because her friend has 2- ****zu - as my friend has 1:D- i'd say a small dog but wouldnt rule out a labrabdor... we have a dog outside but its more of a guard dog its a collie cross- not the one that attacked her, The one that attacked her was from dogs home down the road, we where told it was from a family and used to kids:mad::mad:

We have two male Shih Tzu pups for sale, just sayin like :D

ah it would be quite hard to hide them here from now til christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭Figerty

ah it would be quite hard to hide them here from now til christmas

That reminds me of the old joke of the wife that bought season tickets for Old Trafford for her husband and kept them as a Christmas present......

Figerty wrote: »
    That reminds me of the old joke of the wife that bought season tickets for Old Trafford for her husband and kept them as a Christmas present......
    a neighbour always told a story of finding a lovely dolls pram her parents had hidden away, she dreamt of it for ages before christmas, on christmas morning there was no sign of the pram:confused: until she saw the wagon next door with it..... her parents had been hiding it for them:D

All that tax payer funded training is starting to pay off now.

Hey I'm poetry in motion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Dropped into the first local weanling sales on Saturday.. small numbers 80-100 lots.
    Some nice stock but some awful stock too.. Seen a pen of 5 heifers sold, AAx & HEx, DOB 2-12/4-12, average weight 225kg, sh1te up to their backbones, very stunted, and they made €250. the lad had come 30 miles to sell..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

bbam wrote: »
    Dropped into the first local weanling sales on Saturday.. small numbers 80-100 lots.
    Some nice stock but some awful stock too.. Seen a pen of 5 heifers sold, AAx & HEx, DOB 2-12/4-12, average weight 225kg, sh1te up to their backbones, very stunted, and they made €250. the lad had come 30 miles to sell..

When you say stunted do you reckon they will come good with feeding and time or will they never get up to a good size?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

bbam wrote: »

there was a big sale in my local mart on Friday, wasnt there but reports from lads say anything over 350kg is flying, plain stock back a good bit

CH top seller, good quality BB going well, plain BB waste of time , LM struggling to get up to the mark

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

hugo29 wrote: »
    there was a big sale in my local mart on Friday, wasnt there but reports from lads say anything over 350kg is flying, plain stock back a good bit

CH top seller, good quality BB going well, plain BB waste of time , LM struggling to get up to the mark

Was reading that over the weekend - up to €150 between a LIM and a CH weinling of the same weight!

whatever you say ;)