Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

jersey101 wrote: »
    when ye have a unique one lyk the one i had its fairly sickening. Would have brought a nice bit of colour to the herd
    i know what ya mean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

Good luck, what ye selling? They've picked up there in the past fortnight. I'll be heading down for a sandwich, tae (@McHughs), and the craic :D
    i think there mountain type yokes from what he was telling me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

moy83 wrote: »
    How about the cattle ? I was a bit disappointed in them a few weeks ago . I think they are gone to monday evening now ?

I don't know, I don't be in at them. There was a Charolais cow and calf in Clifden tonight went 1400 I think, but that's all I can tell you about them, she was a big cow mind. There was a charlie bull calf there too, cranky ****er but looked nice, think he could have gone just over 800? Maybe wrong on that, wasn't paying 100% attention and cattle aren't my gig (yet).

naughto wrote: »
    i think there mountain type yokes from what he was telling me.
    also best of luck...nothing worse than being offered bad money for stock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

I have a cull cow ready for the factory. Do I need to blood test her before I send her? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    I have a cull cow ready for the factory. Do I need to blood test her before I send her? Thanks.

No not for factory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Mac Taylor wrote: »

no

Go on the farmers :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

I don't know, I don't be in at them. There was a Charolais cow and calf in Clifden tonight went 1400 I think, but that's all I can tell you about them, she was a big cow mind. There was a charlie bull calf there too, cranky ****er but looked nice, think he could have gone just over 800? Maybe wrong on that, wasn't paying 100% attention and cattle aren't my gig (yet).

Never mind the sheep did you see the irish college students from Connemara on late late

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

hugo29 wrote: »
    Never mind the sheep did you see the irish college students from Connemara on late late

No?

I didn't have a TV before I moved in here, now I just don't watch the three in this house :eek:

Terrible bird problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Terrible bird problem

Bob just found our poster for the elections

hugo29 wrote: »
    Bob just found our poster for the elections
    Thats the style :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Terrible bird problem

I don't see anything terrible about it.
    :-)

Heres one for the ladies, we are not all like this mind :D:D:D

http://youtu.be/xsfXigm6PCc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Heres one for the ladies, we are not all like this mind :D:D:D

http://youtu.be/xsfXigm6PCc

..............BRB joining army.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

for whoever earlier in the week that was going blowing 10k

and this what the swedish got up to in liberia while we did all the work :D

http://youtu.be/sh7YK8eEDpA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭dar31

Had a HMY heifer calf today came 10 days early. Came up from the field and i seen this calf popping around the field and another cow taking the calf of her. Heifer wont look at her calf now

Got caught off Gaurd, first one today 14 days early, Pbm heifer calf hardy little fecker
    Cow has calving interval of 320 for last lact, 3rd calver held to first service every time

Going onto OAd tomorrow, don't fancy paying super levy fine next summer

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    ..............BRB joining army.:p
    We always could do with a little extra eye candy ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

dar31 wrote: »
    Got caught off Gaurd, first one today 14 days early, Pbm heifer calf hardy little fecker
    Cow has calving interval of 320 for last lact, 3rd calver held to first service every time

Going onto OAd tomorrow, don't fancy paying super levy fine next summer
    Wont have any PBM's till feb
    whats the calf lyk?

We always could do with a little extra eye candy ;)

I'd fookin scare them all back to Ireland at the moment. Slowly turning into 2 black eyes here:eek:
    Signed off college for next week as I'm not going near it like this!

I'd fookin scare them all back to Ireland at the moment. Slowly turning into 2 black eyes here:eek:
    Signed off college for next week as I'm not going near it like this!
    bit of camo cream and you would fit right in pet

I'd hide behind the binoculars all day:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭dar31

Wont have any PBM's till feb
    whats the calf lyk?

Nice calf, hardy small checked cow calving only feet there, came back 20 min later and calf was up sucking

I'd hide behind the binoculars all day:D
    dont worry you d be covered in s***e 99% of the time while on exercise

Nice calf, hardy small checked cow calving only feet there, came back 20 min later and calf was up sucking

same as the one i had only birn two minutes and it was hopping all over the field. Best of luck. Your into the work now :)

Handy calving ya cant beat it

dont worry you d be covered in s***e 99% of the time while on exercise

Sounds like farming!

heifer that had the calf has unreal teats. Never seen teats so big can only get the top of em in the cup