Tradesmen : Do you trust them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I had a werid experience with a handyman who advertised in the local paper..

I miss read it though, I thought he was a handy man that does odd jobs, turned out he only done handjobs....

15 euro though not to shabby either!

Was it a good quality finish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,966 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Tigger wrote: »
    you got all the irish builders in at once or one at a time

If there weren't so many cowboys around, the chances of getting bad ones in would be much lower.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

I have mostly done my own work, completely renovated a house.
    The only people I hired to do a job was a Irish painter to paint the outside...he made a complete bollox of it.
    A guy to replace rollers on a patio door...same again, he made a bollox of it too, tired to tell me he put new one in...photo attached

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/330238/271394.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

You cant trust tradesmen.
    My parents house has had quite a few jobs on it over the years and whilst some of the tradesmen did good jobs, sadly the majority didnt. You just don't know what the quality of work will be like and all too often when you realise it's a bad job it's too late ....

Besides you can't trust people you dont know in your house. My girlfriend's Aunt had €50 euro taken from her last year. Same thing, only realised when too late.

But the biggest one for me was my brother's neighbour. Someone tried to break into her house twice in a short period of time. Luckily she was home both times and they ran off once the lights went on. But me, my brother and her were chatting after it happened and we all said it was a bit of a 'coincidence' - that being she had just spent thousands through various tradesmen with work on her home previous to the attempted break-in.
    I know you could say that's just a local scumbag eyeing things up. But she said she had loads of tradesmen in doing minor jobs. Getting a first hand look and what she had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Jim van Morrison

... Someone tried to break into her house twice in a short period of time. Luckily she was home both times and they ran off once the lights went on. But me, my brother and her were chatting after it happened and we all said it was a bit of a 'coincidence' - that being she had just spent thousands through various tradesmen with work on her home previous to the attempted break-in.

Is burglary not a trade too? Don't you need to serve your time to get to be a real pro? Obviously these guys were just cowboys that couldn't even finish the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

My parents house has had quite a few jobs on it over the years and whilst some of the tradesmen did good jobs, sadly the majority didnt. You just don't know what the quality of work will be like and all too often when you realise it's a bad job it's too late ....

Besides you can't trust people you dont know in your house. My girlfriend's Aunt had €50 euro taken from her last year. Same thing, only realised when too late.

But the biggest one for me was my brother's neighbour. Someone tried to break into her house twice in a short period of time. Luckily she was home both times and they ran off once the lights went on. But me, my brother and her were chatting after it happened and we all said it was a bit of a 'coincidence' - that being she had just spent thousands through various tradesmen with work on her home previous to the attempted break-in.
    I know you could say that's just a local scumbag eyeing things up. But she said she had loads of tradesmen in doing minor jobs. Getting a first hand look and what she had.

Gardai called ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭ShowMeTheCash

gramar wrote: »
    Was it a good quality finish?

Finish was smooth, but he did not clean up after himself...
    I will offer him a cup of tea next time before he starts as it was all a bit awkward having the tea afterwards!

Is burglary not a trade too? Don't you need to serve your time to get to be a real pro? Obviously these guys were just cowboys that couldn't even finish the job.

You're right, it is a trade, the national training centre is in Dublin St Patrick's for young offenders. If they want to take it further Mountjoy also run advanced courses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Part of our house A conversion was cold so called out someone who does the cavity fill.
    He went to the ESB box and opened it stuck his biro into a hole and explained that there was no insulation the job would be nearly Euro2000 including insulating the attic.
    Got a second opinion person came with a camera scope and explained there was insulation in the cavity and only the attic needed to be done at a cost of Eur 600.
    Got a third guy who said there was insulation in the wall, and to insulate the attic and see if that improved things, he suggested that I could do it myself which I agreed, total cost for whole house around Eur 360.
    So I spent an Saturday in the attic rolling it out listening to football.
    The house is now lovely and warm and heat on for an hour in the morning and an hour in the evening, in the winter.
    Guy 1 is rich, guy 2 is good and guy 3 is an idiot. Just saying, as a tradesman myself. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I'd love for things to be so simplistic that one dodgy tradesman means none of them can be trusted...

Hasn't the recession caused an improvement in workmanship and prices anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭dorkacle

strobe wrote: »
    Sounds like you may come across a bit cheap.So they feel you're always after the cheapest option, so that's what they offer you.

Maybe in not wanting to be ripped off they would come across as sounding cheap???

I think that is always the risk you take with this kind of thing.

I know the majority of tradesman are honest and hard working, but there are those out there who will take you for every penny they can.

And when your in a situation where you are relying on them for the information/solution to your problem what can you do?

I always try to research something online for example when going to the mechanic, but tbh, if he were to turn around and tell me the problem with my car is something completely different to what I thought it may be - i don't have much choice but to take their word on it - unless I go for a second opinion ofc.

I know you could say that's just a local scumbag eyeing things up. But she said she had loads of tradesmen in doing minor jobs. Getting a first hand look and what she had

Was there any electrical or plumbing work done? As a former Electrician, I've experienced many attempted and successful robberys because of the materials we used. Copper, whether it be a small roll of flex to a drum of 240 sq cable (the big ones) attracts certain individuals like a moth to a flame if they know its available. Also, the chance of tools left unattended is hugely appealing to them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Ush1 wrote: »
    I find it hard dealing with most Irish tradesmen when you want a job done to a standard.

When pricing up jobs I find they often offer a "patch things up" fix rather than actually get to the root of the problem. Probably a lot of people happy with that approach but I guess I'm more anal about such things. I want to know what's being done and it should make sense, but unfortunately lots of the time what they're saying doesn't or it conflicts with other stuff you've been told.

This can go for many professions in my experience. Plumbers, roofers, mechanics, even the likes of people that work in IT.

Anybody else find dealing with them very frustrating?

Dont worry,this polish tradesman will sort you out.:pac::pac::eek::D

mattjack wrote: »
    Gardai called ?

The gardai were called but the scumbag was already down the road when he realised people were home. I can't remember if it was the first attempt or the second but one was at 10.45pm. She heard someone trying to break in through the front door, she put the lights on and they ran away.

It's terrible like. She just lives with her daughter in the house. So I imagine it was very frightening for her.
    Was there any electrical or plumbing work done? As a former Electrician, I've experienced many attempted and successful robberys because of the materials we used. Copper, whether it be a small roll of flex to a drum of 240 sq cable (the big ones) attracts certain individuals like a moth to a flame if they know its available. Also, the chance of tools left unattended is hugely appealing to them.

This was two years ago so it's hard to remember the exact list she told me. But I do remember a new kitchen and new flooring being amongst the builds. She came into money and was just doing her house up. She had dozens of different trades men in and out of her house at that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

I detest having to get tradesmen into my home. Even the smallest thing turns into a long drawn out drama. Them agreeing days etc and then not showing up without even the courtesy of a call. When you eventually get talking to them its as if they don't know who or what you are talking about.

It's pathetic and its no wonder they are supposedly getting it tight. Even recommended plumbers etc have just been pathetic.

Too many easy days during the boom methinks has turned them into spoilt banker types.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

If there are any trades people on this thread can they please tell me why so many of them promise to come and do a job but don't turn up when they say or ring or answer their phones. They could end up arriving to do the job weeks after they said they would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Ush1 wrote: »
    I find it hard dealing with most Irish tradesmen when you want a job done to a standard.

When pricing up jobs I find they often offer a "patch things up" fix rather than actually get to the root of the problem. Probably a lot of people happy with that approach but I guess I'm more anal about such things. I want to know what's being done and it should make sense, but unfortunately lots of the time what they're saying doesn't or it conflicts with other stuff you've been told.

This can go for many professions in my experience. Plumbers, roofers, mechanics, even the likes of people that work in IT.

Anybody else find dealing with them very frustrating?

D'you trust your analyst? :) Some of them have been known to shoot a lot of bull over the years.

woodoo wrote: »
    If there are any trades people on this thread can they please tell me why so many of them promise to come and do a job but don't turn up when they say or ring or answer their phones. They could end up arriving to do the job weeks after they said they would.

We were hungover :P

Nah, you just got stuck with the prícks. Plenty of them around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

I'm a tradesman of twenty six years of experience, and you can trust me to....

Put your wifes knickers over my head the moment you have left the house.

Well the joke's on you buddy coz I fapped in them before you came over. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Mickey H wrote: »
    Well the joke's on you buddy coz I fapped in them before you came over. ;)

I also wear them from time to time.....whoops!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Have read the whole thread and I find it hard to believe some of the stories. For the people that had bad experiences, did ye not check out some of the tradesman's recent work? For the people that had multiple bad experiences, this shows a kind of naivety. Do ye not have friends who can recommend a tradesman?
    I qualified as a plasterer over 40 years and I haven't come across this many complaints in all that time. Does it just happen to boardsies?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    Have read the whole thread and I find it hard to believe some of the stories. For the people that had bad experiences, did ye not check out some of the tradesman's recent work? For the people that had multiple bad experiences, this shows a kind of naivety. Do ye not have friends who can recommend a tradesman?
    I qualified as a plasterer over 40 years and I haven't come across this many complaints in all that time. Does it just happen to boardsies?

or just plain stupid.....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

The jobs I had done for me in the end were mostly ok. It's the ignoring calls and not showing up on agreed days that peeve most people off. And this is from recommended tradesmen.

In the end I think too many of them take the mick.

The gardai were called but the scumbag was already down the road when he realised people were home. I can't remember if it was the first attempt or the second but one was at 10.45pm. She heard someone trying to break in through the front door, she put the lights on and they ran away.

It's terrible like. She just lives with her daughter in the house. So I imagine it was very frightening for her.

This was two years ago so it's hard to remember the exact list she told me. But I do remember a new kitchen and new flooring being amongst the builds. She came into money and was just doing her house up. She had dozens of different trades men in and out of her house at that
    time.

Id say it was your brother trying to break into your neighbours house , especially when hear that she came into a few bob , what about the girlfriends Aunt , hardly a tradesman robbed that 50 euros
    ,everyone knows tradesmen are on 300euros an hour.

Id say it was your brother trying to break into your neighbours house , especially when hear that she came into a few bob , what about the girlfriends Aunt , hardly a tradesman robbed that 50 euros
    ,everyone knows tradesmen are on 300euros an hour.

You've got issues and I reckon the kinda of issues will cost more than 300euro an hour to fix too :)

Oh dont worry bout me.I dont live in dreamland.

Oh hmmmmmmmm .. let me get this straight... you are excusing me of telling lies, right?

Boards.ie really pisses me off at times :rolleyes:
    I guess if you are not posting the usual crap, you know, I know a person on the dole who goes on ten holidays a year, saw my neighbour drying teabags on the washing line yesterday or the ever popular my mate works in the council and is on 15,000 euro a week as a bin man - that a person is automatically lying, right?

You know what, you have to have your big wooden spoon out right now. Stirring and stirring. Perhaps I am the fool for falling into the trap or perhaps you had a bad day and want to be a jerk on the internet. But then again, maybe you'll come back saying "there is no such thing as an internet warrior" - just a "fairy tale"

I'd love for things to be so simplistic that one dodgy tradesman means none of them can be trusted...

Hasn't the recession caused an improvement in workmanship and prices anyway?

In the boom everyone was turing their hand to building / trades etc to make a quick buck from all the demand. Now I see even more people
    turning to the trades as they can't make a living elsewhere so boom or bust it's a lose lose situation.

Oh hmmmmmmmm .. let me get this straight... you are excusing me of telling lies, "

Maybe you should read your posts .... Im neither excusing or accusing you of telling lies.
    In one of your earlier posts you said that tradesmen cannot be trusted.Im pretty thick skinned and couldnt give a fcuk really , but as you make your way through life you are going to meet a lot a tradesmen, set your stall out early and make sure you tell them what you think of them.All of them , mechanics ,butchers, brickies .. the list is endless have fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭davgtrek

I have come across lots of tradesmen down the years in all aspects of construction and privately the usual suspects, mechanics etc.etc. To me its this simple. The vast majority of them never studied theory "a day in their lives" and have learned from on-site experience. The interest in the science behind what they do is non existent. If they come across a new problem that they have seen or fixed before then they are somewhat confident and can do a good jib but if not then they are more often than not chancing their arm.

The best of them are Electricians who on the whole seem to know what they are about.

I am completely dismayed with Mechanics who are among the worst area of tradesmen. Me : Did you fix the drivers light ? Mech: I did ! Did you check the other lights ? No you didn't say anything about them......... apply this to most other situations unless they are checking stuff and then they will find plenty wrong.

When it comes to pricing they often take the mick alltogether. Me: Seems like a wheel bearing is gone ? Mech takes a look. How much for a bearing. Mech goes thats about €90 for a spurious one. So he charges 90 + labour.

Quick visit to micks garage online and turns out the bearing is €55 so has the mech ripped me off ? Yes for sure.
    Apply these scenarios across the line.

They all work on the basis that Joe Public doesn't know what a flux capacitor is and hasn't a clue how much it costs or even where to get it, so they fleece you accordingly.

Until an amazon.com for "Trades materials" appears online ( well done micksgarage.ie for demystifying car parts prices ) we are at the mercy of "tradesmen".

This has turned a bit rantish but until they all need to go to college and study the science of the trade for 2-3 years , work experience then as an apprentiship and then start "Trading" we will continue to get sub par service and quality.

Next time you chat with your builder ask him to explain thermal bridging and when you chat with your plumber ask him about energy efficiency etc.etc.............