I'm loving Piers Morgan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

You must be the only person on the face of this earth that 'loves' Piers Morgan OP,

Atrocious human being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Elbaston

I have no pronounced views on Morgan, I know little about him, other than a lot of people think him somewhat the prick and that he was in the greasy tabloid business.

However, two things I have to say. First - If Clarkson suckerpunched him then he's effectively no more than a skanger. (fair warning or you're a puzzy).

Second - Jones won nothing, all he did was a disturbing late 40's/early 50's man version of nah nah nah I cant hear you I cant hear you. It was strong fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

How was he a right-winger in the UK? The Mirror was steadfast against the Iraq War while he was editor.

I don't think ones position on that war can necessarily be used to determine which side of the political spectrum they are on.

There were loads of 'right-wing' people opposed to that. Non-interventionism is a pretty important thing for many people on the right.

There were also a lot of liberals and other lefties who supported the war in Iraq, and who in general favour military intervention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

The implied present tense of the thread title is also somewhat disturbing as it suggests you are in flagrante with the oleaginous halfwit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Elbaston

anncoates wrote: »
    The implied present tense of the thread title is also somewhat disturbing as it suggests you are in flagrante with the oleaginous halfwit.

My cats name is mittens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

Didn't Piers Morgan tweet about meeting Jimmy Savile once and when Jimmy was uncovered as a massive paedophile Piers said he never met him. Made a right tool of himself. I try not to pay any attention to the **** but I watched his interview with Ricky Gervais, being a Ricky fan. He comes across as a sad little man. Such a try hard, attention seeking idiot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

"I'm loving"= American McDonalds speak for "I love".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Apparently Jeremy Clarkson met him on an airplane and punched him in the face. Another reason why I like Clarkson.

lahalane wrote: »
    He comes across as a sad little man. Such a try hard, attention seeking idiot.

A sad little attention whore with a $6,000,000 per year salary!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

wait a sec. what the fook is 'pwned'?

• Site Banned Posts: 9 Orangebags

How's that relevant

6 million a year won't buy him respect.

If he can garner that sort of wage and demand a prime-time spot on one of the US's biggest channels then I think it's safe to assume that he a sufficient amount of 'respect'.. whatever that means in his line of work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

If he can garner that sort of wage and demand a prime-time spot on one of the US's biggest channels then I think it's safe to assume that he a sufficient amount of 'respect'.. whatever that means in his line of work.

He's not concerned about "respect"..he spends 3 k on a suit,has a driver and a bodyguard and eats for free across the US...he's an utter tool but money can make people forget that fact.

I'm sure, by that rational, the people in Jersey Shore have a lot of 'respect' too but I'd rather be plain old me.

Clarkson is as pompous as Morgan can be sometimes, but the fact that the former punched the latter has brought him up a few pegs in my eyes.

I'm sure, by that rational, the people in Jersey Shore have a lot of 'respect' too but I'd rather be plain old me.

Well obviously they do. There's retards all over the world who try to emulate them!

Respect isn't something that's exclusive to those you personally happen to admire. I hate Morgan, but I wouldn't say he's someone who nobody respects.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Alex Jones pwned him...

Alex Jones showed himself up for the pure fucking eejit that he is.

Well obviously they do. There's retards all over the world who try to emulate them!

Respect isn't something that's exclusive to those you personally happen to admire. I hate Morgan, but I wouldn't say he's someone who nobody respects.

That's true. I like to think that the people that respect either Jersey Shore and Piers Morgan is a very small number...I like to think that :(

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

wait a sec. what the fook is 'pwned'?

Jeez dude, you're such a noob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,616 ✭✭✭muddypaws

I had the misfortune to actually have to deal with him when he was editor of the News of the World. Just the once, but that was more than enough.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,597 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Whenever I hear or see anything relating to Piers Morgan I remember the absolutely brilliant comment attributed to Stephen Fry..

On a comedy Radio-show, the guests were asked to provide a definition for the word "Countryside"

Stephen Fry's magnificent response was "Countryside - The Murder of Piers Morgan"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

Don't confuse respect with kiss-assery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Quin_Dub wrote: »
    Whenever I hear or see anything relating to Piers Morgan I remember the absolutely brilliant comment attributed to Stephen Fry..

On a comedy Radio-show, the guests were asked to provide a definition for the word "Countryside"

Stephen Fry's magnificent response was "Countryside - The Murder of Piers Morgan"

It took me a few minutes, but I got it in the end. Very good :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

Watched last night as well Christianne Amanpour......man what a geebag.

She was a correspondent who I really respected back in the day. I thought she was cut from the same cloth as John Simpson and Rageh Omar.
    How wrong I was. Seeing her now on a panel discussion for CNN shilling for Obama, bleating about democracy and "land of the free" horsesh!t and calling for Syria to be bombed.

Which part of their career is the fake part I can't fathom. Was she born a cnut and went through the ranks pretending to be a conscientious, balanced and honest reporter who then, after sufficient years of fakery having garnering a position of note, was given the green light and salary at CNN and could breathe out and revert back to cnuthood

OR

Was she an actual decent reporter of integrity who is now faking cnutness for the cash?

(derailed my own thread)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Caonima wrote: »
    I was never a fan of the man, but his autobiography, The Insider, is a fantastic read. I must for any journalism students.

I read that and thought it was a crock of name dropping shít.

Private lunches at Kensington Palace with Princess Diana and dinners with the Blair family at Number 10.

Clarkson should have punched his face in a lot harder that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,101 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

I do wonder about the mental state of anyone who says Alex Jones out debated Piers Morgan. The man is a mentalist. His appearance on the BBC's politics show shows him up for what he is, a loud mouthed moron

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

Lapin wrote: »
    I read that and thought it was a crock of name dropping shít.

Private lunches at Kensington Palace with Princess Diana and dinners with the Blair family at Number 10.

Clarkson should have punched his face in a lot harder that time.

Right, so you weren't reading between the lines about what it's like to work on Fleet Street and the expectations involved, not to mention the pressure of having a millionaire as your boss, nor the debasing of journalistic standards in order to sell more papers.... That's okay, beginners' mistake.

Clarkson is hugely entertaining in a caveat emptor way - you get what it says on the tin. He's a motoring journalist and should probably be viewed as such. With cars, he's a font of information; anything else should be taken with a grain of salt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Oakboy

Jeez dude, you're such a noob.

a what?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Caonima wrote: »
    Right, so you weren't reading between the lines about what it's like to work on Fleet Street and the expectations involved......

There are better books from more credible, less publicity seeking journalists out there that cover the ins and outs of Fleet Street with a lot more insight to their profession than The Insider.

Full Disclosure by Andrew Neil and Editor - A Memoir by Max Hastings spring to mind.

Having said that, it is about 7 years since I read Morgan's biography so I probably have forgotten some of his more useful contributions to it.

The fact that I remember it mostly for his persistent name dropping doesn't endear it to me.