Tradesmen : Do you trust them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

chippy81 wrote: »
    Your in a minority then as I've found that most people worry about price as nuclear anything. I've also found that if you tell someone that a repair will cost say 200 but fix it properly or replacement will cost 2000 they go for cheaper option

Some customers make you feel like your trying to rip them off if you say it costs 2000 to do it right

Totally understand.

Just to give an example, had a leak in the roof and I can see where in the felt. First guy explains problem with flashing on chimney, sounds good.
    Second guy comes out and says, all we have to do is patch the felt. I asked, but water shouldn't be running over the felt should it? No he goes, and looks kind of awkward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,968 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Your in a minority then as I've found that most people worry about price as nuclear anything. I've also found that if you tell someone that a repair will cost say 200 but fix it properly or replacement will cost 2000 they go for cheaper option

Some customers make you feel like your trying to rip them off if you say it costs 2000 to do it right

If one guy is telling 200 and another is telling you 2000, then it's a sure bet that both are lying to you.

Ahem

Yes, what's the issue? I find most people that can't explain what they're doing or answer basic enough questions haven't a clue.

Might be exceptions but as I've said, who knows if their work is good otherwise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 chippy81

Tony EH wrote: »
    If one guy is telling 200 and another is telling you 2000, then it's a sure bet that both are lying to you.

How
    Could it not be that a patch up to last a few months or a year can cost 200 and todo it right costs 2000 I.e strip back and redo from scratch
    They were figures off top of my head by the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

The Irish ones ? Of course not, a LOT of them are con men and liars!

The talkers usually get more work than the quiet ones regardless of their skills and ability. I find some talkers frighten people by saying it could cost 10grand to fix then give them a price of 8000 when in reality job probably costs about 5000 but people are relieved its not 10000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

Ush1 wrote: »
    Yes, what's the issue? I find most people that can't explain what they're doing or answer basic enough questions haven't a clue.

Might be exceptions but as I've said, who knows if their work is good otherwise?

We're going round in circles here. I'm out

If there was some other way I could find out a tradesmen was good or knew what he was doing without actually communicating with him I would do it, but I don't see any other option.

How
    Could it not be that a patch up to last a few months or a year can cost 200 and todo it right costs 2000 I.e strip back and redo from scratch
    They were figures off top of my head by the way

It's way too much of a discrepency. The real cost is more than likely in between somewhere.

I know the figs are off the top of your head and I'm going on what I've experienced myself TBH. I've had some truly wild quotes offered to me in my time. Once I was quoted 5000 for a boiler replacement by one lad and then another said it would cost me 600. I settied with another fella who did a great job for around 1100.

Quotes are so off the rails sometimes, it's no wonder that some people are bamboozled. The guy who said 5000 later said he was expecting me to haggle. FFS :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

Ush1 wrote: »
    If there was some other way I could find out a tradesmen was good or knew what he was doing without actually communicating with him I would do it, but I don't see any other option.

Tradesmens best friend/worst enemy is word of mouth. Ask someone who had a job done well

Unfortunately though, there are way too many who don't care about that as there's usually some work to be found.

Irish builders have an appaling reputaion and it's one that is richly deserved in my opinion. There are far too many horror stories by people who've been stung by Irish builders for it to simply a minority make the rest look bad.

The reality is that it's the majority of cowboys that make the few honest lads lives difficult.

It's way too much of a discrepency. The real cost is more than likely in between somewhere.

I know the figs are off the top of your head and I'm going on what I've experienced myself TBH. I've had some truly wild quotes offered to me in my time. Once I was quoted 5000 for a boiler replacement by one lad and then another said it would cost me 600. I settied with another fella who did a great job for around 1100.

Quotes are so off the rails sometimes, it's no wonder that some people are bamboozled. The guy who said 5000 later said he was expecting me to haggle. FFS :rolleyes:

It's my experience that some tradesmen give quotes like selling a car start high to get price you want if people don't haggle then he's onto a winner and others just give straight up price and if people do start to haggle he can't move and sometimes loses the work

Not always possible, you might not know anybody who can recommend someone for the specific job.

Even if they are recommended, it's not the same type of assurance as someone who speaks with authority about the work to be done.

Example:
    Flat roof leaking.
    Patch
    Roll of felt, gas, couple hours work patching a few areas keep it going for a
    while 200

Redo
    Strip roof, skip, 4 rolls of underlay and felt, plywood, insulation, couple days work maybe depending on size 2000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mr McBoatface

Just because somebody say they are a tradesman doesn't make them so. To be a tradesman a trade certificate is required .....you must have completed an apprenticeship usually 4 years but can be 5 years.

Standards have to be achieved, Irish tradesman are trained to high standards and always do very well the international skills competitions Worldskills

There are skilled labours (some unskilled) that call themselves tradesman and some do excellent work, some don't..... but these are not tradesman.
    Quiet often you get what you pay for; recommendations are fine but are not a guarantee of the workers ability to deal with unusual and non-standard work that a tradesman can deal with because they were trained.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

In my experience if you want a job done properly then be prepared to pay that bit more - by properly I mean a top quality job. If, like most people you want to pay middle of the road prices you'll get a middle of the road job.

There'll always be a few who'll do an excellent job for reasonable money and a few who will leave it worse than it was but in general you get what you pay for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

I have ways found plumbers to be the most unreliable, dishonest, laziest and devious shower of bastards on the planet. Even when you get one on a recommendation they will try something on or hide a mess which should be fixed.

After learning from hard experience I never pay any tradesman in full until I'm completely satisfied the job is finished to the standard promised when I took them on. Holding back half the money is the only way to get something done properly in this country. It really saddens me sometimes that everyone in Ireland is always on the lookout for the short cut or easy route and there's little pride taken in doing anything correctly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Always live by the maxim "Caveat Emptor".

This applies equally to tradesmen. The buyer should definitely beware

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

nothing wrong with irish tradesmen they're hard working & honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Unfortunately though, there are way too many who don't care about that as there's usually some work to be found.

Irish builders have an appaling reputaion and it's one that is richly deserved in my opinion. There are far too many horror stories by people who've been stung by Irish builders for it to simply a minority make the rest look bad.

The reality is that it's the majority of cowboys that make the few honest lads lives difficult.
    Far too subjective,I might say that Irish tradesmen have a great reputation,as there are many stories of satisfied customers.And I got my numbers from the exact same place as yourself.
    We produce top quality apprentices in this country,the standards are high and one need only look at Irelands participation in the world skills championships to confirm this,FAS actually do very good in this regard.

Where we fall down is afterwards,if one wishes to become a builder,surely it would make sense to have certificates available before such a licence can be given?No sir....not here,I have had the misfortune to be placed alongside chefs,factory workers and farmers and god knows what else on jobs.

Not once ever in Ireland was I asked to produce documentation to prove that I was capable to work at a minimum standard.Such a situation alows for the proliferation of duds/mullachers/mushrooms,but,to call these men tradesmen is to err.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Building a house a few years back I hired and dealt with each trade seperately. I had builders, electricians, plumbers (one for pipes one for the heating system), tilers, plasterers and carpenters.

I honestly couldn't give any one of them an unqualified recommendation.
    They were all ok to varying degrees but none of them did a top job or were
    particularly reliable when it came to punctuality.

The plain truth is that if I wasn't on site most days to see what was going on
    I'd say the house would have fallen down by now.

A good few jobs I did in the last year, people were extremely slow to pay ( I'll pay you next week) or some don't pay at all. People think because its a recession, they can take advantage of you because your just 'glad to have work'. .[/quote]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,251 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

COWBOYS TED. THEY'RE A BUNCH OF COWBOYS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I've twenty years experience as a tradesman working for contractors and myself , I dont work as self employed simply because there were too many chancers passing themselves off as tradesmen.

I gave up about five years ago after being ripped off by people doing usual of not answering phones , saying they'll pay next week , haggling after the job was complete.When I started a job , I always used to say a third up front , a third half way there and the final payment on completion.The amount times I had trouble with the last third was amazing.I deliberately priced high with some potential clients assuming Id only get two thirds of the quote.

I also made available all my exams , certs , insurance etc available for any client to see , never was asked for them either.I particularly hated the clowns who asked for a cash quote or said was that my best quote.

A suggestion I would make to anyone getting any work done particularly in a domestic situation would be to ask to see any previous work done by the contractor , not to rely solely on someone else's recommendation especially extensions, attic conversions etc.No contractor worth his salt would not be proud to show off his previous jobs.

Coming into AH and commenting about tradesmen is pointless , go speak to RGI, RECI , ECCSA , SIMI or give a visit to a solicitor.

crockholm wrote: »
    Far too subjective,I might say that Irish tradesmen have a great reputation,as there are many stories of satisfied customers.And I got my numbers from the exact same place as yourself.
    We produce top quality apprentices in this country,the standards are high and one need only look at Irelands participation in the world skills championships to confirm this,FAS actually do very good in this regard.

Where we fall down is afterwards,if one wishes to become a builder,surely it would make sense to have certificates available before such a licence can be given?No sir....not here,I have had the misfortune to be placed alongside chefs,factory workers and farmers and god knows what else on jobs.

Not once ever in Ireland was I asked to produce documentation to prove that I was capable to work at a minimum standard.Such a situation alows for the proliferation of duds/mullachers/mushrooms,but,to call these men tradesmen is to err.

Well, yes it is subjective. Most opinions are and I only have the information available to me to use. The simple fact is though, is that the good stories are completely outweighed by the bad ones. That said, I have heard some good stories, but most of the time it's a punter telling me that they've had a nightmare. The general situation is that if a consumer has to get someone in to do a job, it's usually a very unsatisfactory situation.

As to documentation, most people aren't even aware of this type of route. All they know is that they have a problem and need to get someone in to fix it.

Although, a lot of the time, they can probably do the job themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭Geomy

Im a professional gardener, and seen some of those landscape gardeners jobs.....

Let's just say they're right cowboys, planting scheme's all over the place.

Small plants in the back, big plant's in front of medium plant's. ..

Oak tree's in containers. ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭ShowMeTheCash

I had a werid experience with a handyman who advertised in the local paper..

I miss read it though, I thought he was a handy man that does odd jobs, turned out he only done handjobs....

15 euro though not to shabby either!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

No.

We had extensive work done to our home after a serious flood and already the "work" is starting to deteriorate. This, after having to get them to redo a lot of the work when they were in the house originally!

The toilet is leaking, the seal around the bath is coming away. The taps aren't working correctly. There's mold growing on the MDF that was used on some items.

Irish builders are a bloody joke, with all the expense placed on the punter.

Come back Polish builders...all is forgiven!!!

you got all the irish builders in at once or one at a time