Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,404 ✭✭✭naughto

myself and my mate dident bother going to college that day and where into or third round of tea of the day when we heard it on the radio.was glued to the tv after wards

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

whelan1 wrote: »
    isnt it mad to think 9/11 was 12 years ago, i remember i was counting cattle and it came on the garret o callaghan show on 2fm about the planes flying into the twin towers, eldest was only a very small baby and he was in jeep with me, do ye remember what ye where doing when the news broke?

Was scanning cows that morning, heard it on the radio when he was leaving the yard.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Jeepers kovu , hope your alright after your black eye . It doesnt matter how gutsy you are a thing like that can give a fair fright . My sis got a couple of slaps from an ex boyfriend one time and I just dont know how a fella can do it to a girl unless she is launching into him . Make sure the guards put the frighteners on him and dont take him on again anyhow no .atter how loud the music is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭PMU

isnt it mad to think 9/11 was 12 years ago, i remember i was counting cattle and it came on the garret o callaghan show on 2fm about the planes flying into the twin towers, eldest was only a very small baby and he was in jeep with me, do ye remember what ye where doing when the news broke?
    was in Flynns ,Mullingar buying a tractor. I came home to hear my sister was in that area at a meeting. when they were being evacuated, she saw the second plane hit.she still wont talk about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

3 Ladies ready for mart in the morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

moy83 wrote: »
    Jeepers kovu , hope your alright after your black eye . It doesnt matter how gutsy you are a thing like that can give a fair fright . My sis got a couple of slaps from an ex boyfriend one time and I just dont know how a fella can do it to a girl unless she is launching into him . Make sure the guards put the frighteners on him and dont take him on again anyhow no .atter how loud the music is

Yea it's getting darker around my eye now, but not swollen thank feck.
    Have the take the original Kovu into the vet tomorrow too! Sympathy injury :rolleyes:

And when I heard the news I was in.....school:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I was in Kosovo

Good man. Not just a boards handle so.

Putting slates on the roof of my house. Called over to the mothers to get I something have no idea what and the first plane had hit. They were still assuming accident. Our oldest was about three months from taking his first bow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

3 Ladies ready for mart in the morning
    You have them in right order, best of luck with them. We'll be waiting to hear how you get on;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭epfff

PMU wrote: »
    was in Flynns ,Mullingar buying a tractor. I came home to hear my sister was in that area at a meeting. when they were being evacuated, she saw the second plane hit.she still wont talk about it

Just back in final yr of college
    Marketing lecturer was late would have being gone home only chatting about summer
    lecture came late very shuffled and told us
    glued to BBC not sky for some reason for the evening
    then Off to cps for big night out
    Taxi driver was convinced it was start of ww3
    and no she wasn't the woman I married
    mad the things you remember

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

did the AI course there 2 years ago...

didnt fancy the oul AI especially when lad over the road was the technician... but last december i said id chance one cow.... told no one i AI'd her....!!

she calved today.... twin holstein friesian heifers....

seeing as it will be all downhill from here... i have retired from DIY AI

Good man. Not just a boards handle so.
    say what

just do it wrote: »
    You have them in right order, best of luck with them. We'll be waiting to hear how you get on;)
    if it goes bad ill be in the pub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭royaler83

Was in for the dinner, in the middle of covering the 2nd pit :eek: was it a bad summer?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭royaler83

PMU wrote: »

More importantly, how did you fare out with the massey :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

if it goes bad ill be in the pub
    If it goes well you can stay in the pub longer :D

I was plastering my first arch when they struck , there was so much talk about it I was actually looking out over the atlantic looking for a dust cloud or sparks or something :rolleyes:

moy83 wrote: »
    If it goes well you can stay in the pub longer :D
    This is true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I was working in Dublin at the time. Sales rep had just called in to see me. I woner will we ever get to the bottom of what really happened there. 15 of the 19 hijackers were from Saudia Arabia and they invade Afghanistan. :rolleyes:
    My brother was living in California and when the news broke he was in a Doctors waiting room. Everyone left, so he was next in line. :)
    He figured he was so used to hearing about bombs and all that with the troubles in the North, that it didnt bother him that much.

say what

Kosovo and Sharpshooter I jumped to the conclusion you had an army background:confused:. Handle= boards name. No offence meant:o.

forgive my ignorance...your bang on as im military alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

forgive my ignorance...your bang on as im military alright
    Note to self - don't upset SS82 :cool:

just do it wrote: »
    Note to self - don't upset SS82 :cool:

And don't you forget it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Was working in London at the time, wife (who was fiancée at time) called to tell me, everyone thought it was accident until second one hit, we all left and went to pub to watch news, local lad was killed in twin towers

Anyone remember london bombings, My wife was on the tube in kings cross when train 2 mins ahead blew up, small margins people small margins

hugo29 wrote: »
    Was working in London at the time, wife (who was fiancée at time) called to tell me, everyone thought it was accident until second one hit, we all left and went to pub to watch news, local lad was killed in twin towers

Anyone remember london bombings, My wife was on the tube in kings cross when train 2 mins ahead blew up, small margins people small margins

Can be all down to a tiny decision too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Made it back for the CoCo inspection. Two females arrive. I asked why am I being inspected again as its not long since my last one.

They asked when last one was, then told me that they shouldn't be there as my name should have been removed from the list. Said they were too busy to be messed around by whomever compiles the list, got back into the car and left. Not one word about how busy or otherwise I may be.

Honestly no consideration

delaval wrote: »
    Made it back for the CoCo inspection. Two females arrive. I asked why am I being inspected again as its not long since my last one.

They asked when last one was, then told me that they shouldn't be there as my name should have been removed from the list. Said they were too busy to be messed around by whomever compiles the list, got back into the car and left. Not one word about how busy or otherwise I may be.

Honestly no consideration
    What do they be looking for anyways

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Here is picture of a few jerseys i saw at a breeding center in france, it might cheer you up:D

Here is one of the best breeding french Holsteins i saw.... plenty of leg:D Stan will be drooling

Here is picture of a few jerseys i saw at a breeding center in france, it might cheer you up:D

Ya wouldn't want to get caught up in a stampede of that lot :D

This lad is near Armagh was drawing "made" silage into his new silage pit from a few pits he had rented a few miles away. 2 artics drawing it in. we hadn't this one ready until now. He is going to throw about another 150 acres of 2nd cut fresh grass over it to seal it properly.