Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭MfMan

The Galway team to face Clare this Saturday eveing

Shane Mannion
    Paul Kileen
    John Hanbury
    Barry Keane
    Paul Hoban
    Daragh Burke
    Mathew Keating
    Adrian Tuohy
    Paul Claffey
    Jonathan Glynn
    Conor Cooney
    Thomas Flynn
    Padraig Brehony
    Cathal Mannion
    Jason Flynn

That's a big half-forward line. Will be interesting to see how Tom Flynn gets on. They've their work cut out for them unless Clare do what Galway U-21's did last year.

Big, but with the exception of the off-form Cooney, very limited hurling wise. Why are Brehony and Mannion in the FF line instead of further out the field where they usually play? Where is Padraig Mannion, Cathal's brother? Very good in that Minor team of 2 years ago. Ditto Sweeney of Loughrea? Backs don't look too bad though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,024 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

The Galway team to face Clare this Saturday eveing

Shane Mannion
    Paul Kileen
    John Hanbury
    Barry Keane
    Paul Hoban
    Daragh Burke
    Mathew Keating
    Adrian Tuohy
    Paul Claffey
    Jonathan Glynn
    Conor Cooney
    Thomas Flynn
    Padraig Brehony
    Cathal Mannion
    Jason Flynn

That's a big half-forward line. Will be interesting to see how Tom Flynn gets on. They've their work cut out for them unless Clare do what Galway U-21's did last year.

Would be slightly worried that Galway have picked quite a few big not very mobile lads again. Can see Clare just running around them and zipping the ball about between them like they are statues. Would fear a bit of a flaking in this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭wonder88

This should be an interesting game as it will indicate if there are any decent player coming through for Galway as Clare will be a good test. How good a hurler is Thomas Flynn ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭h2005

One of the poorest u 21 teams I can remember. If that's the best u 21s in the county we''ll be spending another few years in the wilderness.

Was away for the weekend so couldn't see it and heard the headline spoiler on the radio so just read the report on RTE.

6 points in football would be an embarrassing enough score, 1 point every 10minutes with only 2 players scoring.
    Hard to know what to make of it, I guess we can forget about getting any of these forwards in for the short term.

How did Killeen do?. Probably the most important player in terms of senior next year. Had a great second half last year as a 17(?) year old sub if memory serves for correct.

Did anyone emerge with creditability?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

Was away for the weekend so couldn't see it and heard the headline spoiler on the radio so just read the report on RTE.

6 points in football would be an embarrassing enough score, 1 point every 10minutes with only 2 players scoring.
    Hard to know what to make of it, I guess we can forget about getting any of these forwards in for the short term.

How did Killeen do?. Probably the most important player in terms of senior next year. Had a great second half last year as a 17(?) year old sub if memory serves for correct.

Tuohy, midfield, easily outplayed Tony Kelly. Other than that no one. Antrim looked to have better hurlers than Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Killeen was alright but when you're beaten like that his support wasn't there. Caught one lovely ball.

Lot of bad tonight but it's worrying how little Cooney has shown for Galway since Offaly last year. He's young but he made McInerney look amazing. He has the talent but club form hasn't translated. The team was built around him and that tactic was already beaten by the Clare seniors last month with Canning.

Flynn didn't do well. He's just as reluctant to take his own score with the small ball. It works for the footballers though as he can set up Conroy etc.

It shows you how bad Galway were when Cooney, despite his limitations, was one of Galway's better players; Cathal Mannion had his moments, as did Brehony, once he was moved back the field. Thought Keating at wing-back one of the betters triers, as was corner-back Barry Keane. Indeed FB line wasn't awfully bad, real problems further out the field. Why did it take management until 7 minutes from time to change a badly-beaten midfield? Flynn x 2 offered zilch while Glynn continues to look nothing like an inter-county player. If there's a silver lining in this, it's maybe that Galway hurling managers will now start to concentrate on picking players with actual hurling ability first, rather than big, strong but ungainly men. Future looks very bleak now though for a long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭nagirrac

MfMan wrote: »
    It shows you how bad Galway were when Cooney, despite his limitations, was one of Galway's better players; Cathal Mannion had his moments, as did Brehony, once he was moved back the field. Thought Keating at wing-back one of the betters triers, as was corner-back Barry Keane. Indeed FB line wasn't awfully bad, real problems further out the field. Why did it take management until 7 minutes from time to change a badly-beaten midfield? Flynn x 2 offered zilch while Glynn continues to look nothing like an inter-county player. If there's a silver lining in this, it's maybe that Galway hurling managers will now start to concentrate on picking players with actual hurling ability first, rather than big, strong but ungainly men. Future looks very bleak now though for a long time.

I thought Cooney was poor early on considering he is a senior regular, should have stuck those early chances over the bar. McInerney was absolutely destroying Mannion, at least Cooney kept him somewhat contained later. I don't understand why we didn't put Glynn on McInerney. Thought Jason Flynn looked lively and was unlucky with the goal chance, at least he has a bit of pace. Brehony was also lively but wasteful. Agree on Glynn and agree it is time to revert to fast skillful hurlers (something Galway have always had in spades), as the era of the rugby player with a stick is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭24yearslater

Dreadful dreadful dreadful stuff - yet another contender for worst ever Galway team that ever lined out in a match. They all had the conditioning of a Junior C side in the 3rd week of December, whist the Clare lads looked like they were chiselled out of stone. Killeen made one good catch in front of me in the 1st half, did alright I suppose. What was shocking was the lack of interest & heart - a complete contrast to the minors last Sunday. What struck me also (both last night & last Sunday) is that the Clare players all seem to be hugely ambitious, all seemingly determined to extract every last reward from their talents. They all seem to be buying into the gameplan & training & structure that has been laid out for them. Can't remember when was the last time I could say that for Galway. The lack of interest on the pitch was matched off it, reckon there was no more than 200 from Galway there, about 4k from Clare. An old man said to me on the way out that "Gaway hurling's dead". Twas hard to argue with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Toplink

Looking at Saturdays evening game its obvious that there are quite large gaps in Galways hurling development plan.

We seemed to have gone with a model of having a senior panel of circa 30 players along with a 'development squad' with another 30 players or so. I am assuming that some of this U21 team were part of this Development squad for the seniors???

If so... Who is in charge of conditioning and speed work? We looked slow, under conditioned and void of a proper game plan.

Didn't the county board publish their plan a year or so ago, anyone have it???

Toplink wrote: »
    If so... Who is in charge of conditioning and speed work? We looked slow, under conditioned and void of a proper game plan.

Didn't the county board publish their plan a year or so ago, anyone have it???

I'm not 100% if the board released a plan, there was a task force set up that made recommendations for changes if thats what you meant?. Ollie Canning was on it.

I don't think the players size is an issue, if you're good enough... you're good enough(bit senseless but borrowed from the saying ''old enough- good enough'') you're physique has feck all to do with it more a willingness to put a shift in along with ability.
    We had smaller lads not that long ago and we were saying that they were too small and weak.
    Now they're too big and slow.
    The problem both times was a lack of will to put their bodies on the line and give it their all for 70mins, far too many tame exits which we've barely been the benefactor off.

The main issue either way is work rate

One thing that would make a huge difference would be to just have open trials, it's pointless asking lads down if they wouldn't come at their own accord.
    I don't see how it would hurt.
    You host 3 sessions around the county with a decent geographical spread.
    You put the word out there to the clubs and if any player can't make it to any session he contacts the management in advance and tells them he wants to be considered on the basis of a club game, management tell him the game they'll be attending X game and that'll be his trial(hardly any different to the current situation just the player is pre declaring)

Any player who doesn't bother his arse to put himself forward isn't considered, I'd bet of the 30 odd in this years panel at least one wouldn't have put himself forward if this was the method, no harm getting shot of lads like that and the ego's in the squad.

I'd also bet any lad who does put himself forward and attends the trials won't be short of determination and a willingness to wear the jersey.
    You want players who want to be there, we might end up lacking in ability but I'd be sure we wouldn't lack in fight which is all most of us ask for.
    An old man said to me on the way out that "Gaway hurling's dead". Twas hard to argue with him.

I get the sentiment but it's a bit of an exaggeration, we're in a minor final which is more than can be said for any county you'd say hurling is dead in. We played in a senior final only last year.
    Despite our obvious troubles we're still no Offaly or Wexford and still a long way from that mark.
    Not sure but off the top of my head but I'd say we've made the 1/4s most years since 2005 when I think most would agree the majority were ''poor'' years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭petronius

I think Galway GAA missed a chance to show true sportsmanship in not strongly advocating and offering Limerick minors a replay

petronius wrote: »
    I think Galway GAA missed a chance to show true sportsmanship in not strongly advocating and offering Limerick minors a replay

The game was a draw, the ref added on 1minute of injury time. Galway took the lead(or drew level with the Limerick point missing) with 70:50 left, the ball was pucked out and play continued.
    Galway put the ball dead again with a wide, well past the minute mark which should have signalled the end of the game as none of the one minute injury time was wasted on a sub or a fake injury.
    He let them puck the ball out twice with the minute added on having elapsed and then gave them a free from that resulting puck out which was suspect.

How often does a player foul an opponent from a puck out?, not often.... how often does a player foul when you're up by a point and the puck is only landing out at wing forward?, even less.

The game was a draw IMO as there was no justification for playing two minutes of real play when he indicated one minute, this was the same ref who added on nothing for the first half and blew it up almost to the second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭petronius

Again incidents and interpretation is different form a clear cut - Error which did effect the result. A point was scored and if officals had of acted correctly there would have been a different out come.

A replay would be a fair result - otherwise Galways place in the final is always going to be dubious.
    A replay offered by galway would be a shot in the arm for them and the GAA it would be a show of sportsmanship and would garner them respect (unlike Meath v Louth in the leinster football a few years back)

Other issues "professional" fouling, time wasting etc. should be dealt with ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭h2005

No way should there be a replay offered. Limerick had there chance to win it in extra time, an extra time that was handed to them by the ref. I think it is Limerick who are displaying a lack of sportsmanship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

petronius wrote: »
    A replay offered by galway would be a shot in the arm for them and the GAA it would be a show of sportsmanship and would garner them respect (unlike Meath v Louth in the leinster football a few years back)

There was no offer of a replay when Cork won an All-Ireland final in 1990 after a 65 wasn't awarded to Galway and Tomas Mulcachy got a score from the resulting puck out - a much more serious and costly intervention than a wide given in the first minute of the match.

All this talk of sportsmanship is rubbish, where is Limericks sportsmanship with the spurious appeal that can not succeed?

The introduction of Hawkeye has not changed the rules in any way, so why is this any more of an issue than the 65 not given to Galway in 1990, or the "point" scored from a sideline in a Leinster semi final against Offaly (a match that ended up in a replay in similar circumstances - a dodgy free to level 30 seconds after added time was up)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Is the official line from the GAA not still that they are happy with the technology giving the right decision, and that it was only a glitch in the graphic (which basically doesn't matter a jot and is only there for sponsership reasons). How are Galway supposed to go behind the GAA's back and offer a replay when the organisation is saying everything was fine? If anything, Galway were harddone by with the ref adding non existent added time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭wonder88

So 5 teams left in the senior football, and it looks like it will be hard to beat Corofin this year. Will the reply delay the championship by much ?

Replay scheduled for next Saturday evening, so I think they are still on track. Corofin haven't been themselves this year, running up big scores like that. Prior to the weekend Milltown looked to be their main / only challengers, but didn't play at all well yesterday evening apparently. Still think they will win the replay. In the other semi', I'd quietly fancy St. James' to beat Salthill - they have a bit of momentum with them at present I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

who is in intermediate championship now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭fearruanua

RobbieRuns wrote: »
    who is in intermediate championship now?

Claregalway play the winners of Clonbur and Menlough in the county final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭O.A.P

Just want to say hard luck to our minors today.
    Ye can hold your heads up that was hurling they were just a bit (I dont know needy?) longer without winning one.
    Stick with it lads with your talent and our support we can have a lot of better days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,555 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Minors simply weren't good enough today.
    Waterford were the hungrier team.
    Simple as that
    Our defence was inadequate. Basic mistakes. Sloppy passing. Cheap turnovers. Soft frees & a soft goal.
    Anyways stay together lads. Learn from
    it. Better days will come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭GS11

Waterford's half back line were very strong, well done to them, they were the better team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Waterford by far the better team but one thing is for sure Galway could do worse than getting that GK involved in the Senior set upo as soon as possible, I can't really remember the last top class keeper Galway had and this lad looks very very good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭Gerry91

Waterford by far the better team but one thing is for sure Galway could do worse than getting that GK involved in the Senior set upo as soon as possible, I can't really remember the last top class keeper Galway had and this lad looks very very good.

This lad wasn't even meant to be number 1. First choice got injured before QF

No. 2 yesterday was minor goalie last year aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

The Galway Senior Keeper is the least of the Senior team's worries. Colm Callanan is the best keeper in the County and I have seen him pull off some stunning saves. Skehill is a liability and I don't know how many more chances he is going to get. Yes, he has a great puckout and is a good shot-stopper, but he is prone to some crazy errors.

It's a full-back and centre-back we need in the Senior setup. O'Donoghue looked good at full-back for the Minors.

Has Dáithi Burke ruled himself out of playing Senior for Galway? I really think he is the solution to one of those positions, given time to adapt to Senior level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭jossnjuice

Ladies / Gents,

surely its now time to go cap in hand to John Allen?? Three year contract.....seems to be brilliant at weeding out any infighting, and god knows thats been a main problem in Galway for years........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

CyberDave wrote: »
    The Galway Senior Keeper is the least of the Senior team's worries. Colm Callanan is the best keeper in the County and I have seen him pull off some stunning saves. Skehill is a liability and I don't know how many more chances he is going to get. Yes, he has a great puckout and is a good shot-stopper, but he is prone to some crazy errors.

It's a full-back and centre-back we need in the Senior setup. O'Donoghue looked good at full-back for the Minors.

Has Dáithi Burke ruled himself out of playing Senior for Galway? I really think he is the solution to one of those positions, given time to adapt to Senior level.

Completley agree re Skehill I have never seen him play even a club game without at least one brainfart, Callanan is a decent keeper but not outstanding ala Nash etc. that keeper on Sunday looked the real deal tbh and should be brought in as soon as possible obviously not to the starting 15 but the extended squad.

Agree 100% re. FB and CB from the Seniors its a real problem area.