Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Stheno wrote: »
    No it's a very valid question, I'd a student last week who fifteen years ago was my superior in work, but due to different career progressions ended up in one of my classes, and was very happy to acknowledge that my experience usurped his, on top of my knowledge of the theory.

Scortho, did you see about my feckin door seal? (I am slightly obsessed about this)

And why do I have a fearsome reputation? I'm really a kind and soft person

Your reaction to me mistaking you were married....

Aye some people are pricks. Your having bad look with things being nicked on you.
    There's a red gtv being broken in kilcock of its any use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Scortho wrote: »
    Use a van!:D
    You don't even need to assemble it.

has to be less than 9 cubic meters when disassembled/ folded. accomodate between 2 and 4 people, offer sleeping, living, hygene and security facilities, have electrical outlets, a good standard of thermal insulation, be able to be assembled in 10-15 minutes and be light enough to be carried by just 2 men. Cant be too closely related to a tent or a caravan, has to be a specific glamping product. nightmare.

a van would be lovely and handy :D
    Revit, sketchup, in design, photoshop, illustrator, no idea why cuz Ps is better, annnnd solidworks, CAD is the devil up around these parts :pac: Told them I'd been at it for 5 years and yer man was like oh really? Get out :pac:

Our first project is a trip to wexford to a heritage park, that's all we know so far

Did you get those stickers made by the way? :)

jesus you're at a good bit so :pac: sketchup is some job for a free programme... CAD is the devil down here too, apparently our 4th year doubled this year because the Carlow IT lads transferred to Waterford because Carlow don't offer Revit and their qualification wouldn't be internationally recognised without it so they are doing it with the first years :P

some post was sent this evening so hopefully you'l have them soon :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

has to be less than 9 cubic meters when disassembled/ folded. accomodate between 2 and 4 people, offer sleeping, living, hygene and security facilities, have electrical outlets, a good standard of thermal insulation, be able to be assembled in 10-15 minutes and be light enough to be carried by just 2 men. Cant be too closely related to a tent or a caravan, has to be a specific glamping product. nightmare.

a van would be lovely and handy :D

jesus you're at a good bit so :pac: sketchup is some job for a free programme... CAD is the devil down here too, apparently our 4th year doubled this year because the Carlow IT lads transferred to Waterford because Carlow don't offer Revit and their qualification wouldn't be internationally recognised without it so they are doing it with the first years :P

Hey If I can fit an entire house inside 5 cubic metres you'l have no problem! Ohh lovely job! :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I imagine your colleges are restricted due to the exorbitant cost of CAD et al licences.

And @ Scortho, you'd be shocked how nice I am :D

I'd a student this week who works with a woman he calls the she devil and when he discovered she was in my class spent ages trying to sort out how much grief she caused.

Truth? She was one of the nicest students I've had :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Birds of a feather

Lol

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Birds of a feather

Lol

Brat!!!!! /adds supergurrier to ****list

I was just looking at fanbois criteria there and wondering if he is aware of the conversion of cargo to living accomodation that has been done in London?

Brat!!!!! /adds supergurrier to ****list

I was just looking at fanbois criteria there and wondering if he is aware of the conversion of cargo to living accomodation that has been done in London?

Is that where they turned old 30 foot containers into houses?

There's a thing like that in holland, but with bubbles! :D

Is that where they turned old 30 foot containers into houses?

There's a thing like that in holland, but with bubbles! :D

Yep pretty much, give me a minute and I'll search for a link.

Here ya go

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/property/9243318/Container-living-a-home-for-under-50000.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

In relation to folding houses, cad, computer something or other in the motors section

tumblr_mabdcf5eTU1qbij0go1_1280.jpg

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    In relation to folding houses, cad, computer something or other in the motors section

tumblr_mabdcf5eTU1qbij0go1_1280.jpg

This has happened to me, when I last worked in "real IT" you couldn't virtual telecoms apps. I now have to get my students to keep me up to date on these details so I don't look like a fossil but it's a good learning exercise.

Maybe pred was right and I'm becoming old, thankfully however, I'll always be younger than him, without the ankle biters :D

No way man! I'll always be with it! I'll keep rocking forever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

This has happened to me, when I last worked in "real IT" you couldn't virtual telecoms apps. I now have to get my students to keep me up to date on these details so I don't look like a fossil but it's a good learning exercise.

Maybe pred was right and I'm becoming old, thankfully however, I'll always be younger than him, without the ankle biters :D

But you'll still be old :pac:

Scortho wrote: »
    But you'll still be old :pac:

You and pred (yes, I noticed the thanks!) are fooked when it comes to driving the gtv EVER

EVER :pac:

Pred however will always be the hobbit heeheeeheeeee

I can use various techniques to retain some element of youthfulness :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Yep pretty much, give me a minute and I'll search for a link.

Here ya go

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/property/9243318/Container-living-a-home-for-under-50000.html

They are pretty cool, but is one house one container? I'd imagine it would be roasting in summer and freezing in winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Revit, sketchup, in design, photoshop, illustrator, no idea why cuz Ps is better, annnnd solidworks, CAD is the devil up around these parts :pac: Told them I'd been at it for 5 years and yer man was like oh really? Get out :pac:

Our first project is a trip to wexford to a heritage park, that's all we know so far

Did you get those stickers made by the way? :)

Is that Craggaunowen? Would be hilarious for you to redesign crannogs using CAD.

They are pretty cool, but is one house one container? I'd imagine it would be roasting in summer and freezing in winter.

Nah the inside would be insulated I'd say, it'd have to be to pass regulations and stuff
    Marcusm wrote: »
    Is that Craggaunowen? Would be hilarious for you to redesign crannogs using CAD.

I think it actually is, it'd be great craic haha, and funny to watch the others try it, I think it's just to assess how they can stand and all that jazz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

I haven't seen any which are residential but there is a large office structure made from containers between Tower Gateway and Shadwell and a trendy retail park in Shoreditch. THey're building a second retail version in Walworth near Elephant & Castle. I would see massive noise issues in using containers for resi accommodation outside the hipster/commune organisations.

Just seen an opel corsa get sent to a crusher and crushed on tv :D

My night has been made!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

This is a real ladies bmw ;):D

[IMG][/img]Picture-of-the-2012-blue-BMW-M5-car-1024x576_zps45e81358.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

And KSL left out the six series, personally if I were to buy a BMW and in a world where I had no budget constraints I'd want one of those :)

KSL might class those as big girl cars maybe? Or real girl cars?
    I think that's the car for when you are kindof a real man but unsure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Max Power1 wrote: »
    I think that's the car for when you are kindof a real man but unsure!

Midlife crisis car. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Midlife crisis car. ;)

Makes sense so why it is between a 5 and a 7!

the fooking traffic this morning is mental

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Could say that again. You near town?

MugMugs wrote: »
    Could say that again. You near town?

Oh I arrived in work at 8:30, the N1 was a particular trial this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Oh I arrived in work at 8:30, the N1 was a particular trial this morning

Heading in through Cabra in an hour. Might leave early to be safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Mid September rain is always going to be a disaster in he mornings! I cycled to work :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Brutal in galway too this morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I think there was a crash on the N4 off ramp. It was bad alright if you were heading that way..... Thank goodness I was heaing to the airport! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Traffic is odd today... I shot across the m50 in 12 minutes from red cow to airport

Pain in the hole when ya have to wait for the bank to open at 10:30 at the airport just to get a decent amount of cash out !