Walking through Dublin at 2am on a saturday night sober...

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Here, take off those rose colored specs and try on a pair of these beer goggles, you seem to think only the Irish get drunk. That macroscope you have isn't nearly powerful enough.

really, other people around the world get drunk as well...omg.......

So you are in the "move along, nothing to see here" camp...grand so...carry on! :rolleyes:

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

silverharp wrote: »
    Sure but being a waste of space drunk is celebrated in Ireland, there is no shame. If you could analyse all the posts on After Hours for instance relating to booze, at least three quarters would be almost deferential to booze and full of insider/right of passage kinda comments instead of the realisation that its only a couple of steps up from a bunch of winos having a conversation.
    Anything is better than the mindless herd behaviour which one sees in ireland

Nah, I find drunks pretty shameful, as I'm sure most people would. And I wouldn't take anything said in After Hours at face value; deep down, I'm sure most people have a point at which they draw the line, even if they don't openly admit it here. In Ireland, we probably have fewer than six degrees of separation from someone with a drink problem... it's idiosyncratic to this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Honestly, I think that says more about you than the non-drinkers. And it's attitudes like that that make non-drinkers feel like they constantly have to prove themselves and be almost apologetic for not drinking, which is pretty ridiculous when you think about it.

I don't drink because I, personally, just don't like it. I don't care what's in anyone else's glass, so why should they care what's in mine?

(*Now, if you're talking about people who constantly go on about not drinking, fine. But most of us are not like that. I go out as much as or more than some of my drinking friends, I try out new bars and clubs, I travel, I go to as many gigs a year as I can and I will get up and dance with everyone else. If I was judging drinkers or hated alcohol, why would I go to places where I know I'd be surrounded by it?)

I have no doubt it reflects more on me than non-drinkers.
    Im just saying, of a night out, non drinkers remember everything with widescreen, HD, Tivo clarity and are more than happy to bring up what you said/did the next day. Then I have to be all "oh really, haha, sorry" and they do the whole faux "oh dont worry, it was funny" thing.
    A bit of collective haze isnt a bad thing.
    They also tend to be very sensible the whole night, which again, is fine but not always in keeping with the tone of the evening.
    I dont know you, so this is not aimed at you, only at the 10 or 12 people i've ever been out with who werent drinking (and this includes the handful of times I went out dry) but non drinkers can be a it of a craic vacuum.
    Now obviously, it depends on the night. A few quiet ones down in the pub or at a friends house, noone is going to notice, but when a mad session is on they do tend to, purposely or not, act as something of an anchor to the ship when everyone else on board is looking to go three sheets to the wind.
    Still, Id take that any day over those irritating gombeens who dont drink because they're "crazy enough without it."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

the type of people that if you dropped them in Tokyo theyd go around looking to buy a hang-sandwich.

Uh, yeah, people who like bread and ham are the worst.:confused:
    Of course, anyone who isnt a skanger/bog trotter, if you just out of the blue dropped them in some random corner of the world, they'd have a full encyclopedic knowledge of the local cuisine.
    Do you hear yourself?

Im sorry but if you travelled a bit

Oh classic middle class snob thing to say. Of course, nobody is as well travelled as you. Did mummy and daddy pay for you to slum it around the first class hotels of southeast asia for a year? How on earth did you survive without the maid there to breastfeed you?
    you would know there is a difference between a city in say Switzerland and Dublin or Cork.

What is the purpose of this sentence. There's also a difference between a city in south africa and a city in Argentina and a city in Mongolia. Are we just making general statements now? If so, this lemon cordial i'm drinking is lemony.
    And you only have to follow the stories of how the Irish are a disgrace in Australia to know there is a strong knacker element in Irish society.

How many thousands of Irish people go abroad every year? A handful act like dicks. This could be said of any culture or country in the world.

You still havent explained what exactly constitutes bog trotters or skangers, beyond your ridiculous ham sandwich statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Welcome to pretty much any town on the British Isles at 2am.
    Nothing changes here very much
    You used to say it never will
    The pubs are all full on Friday nights
    And things get started still
    We spent hours last week with Billy boy
    Bleeding, yeah queueing in casualy
    Staring at those posters we used to laugh at
    Never never land, palm trees by the sea

Well there was no need for those guys
    To hurt him so bad
    When all they had to do
    Was knock him down
    But no one asks to many questions like that anymore
    Since you left this town
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-aaLr1FLgj0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Czarcasm wrote: »
    It's classic "in the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king".

Most relevant quote in a boards thread ever?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

really, other people around the world get drunk as well...omg.......

So you are in the "move along, nothing to see here" camp...grand so...carry on! :rolleyes:

Disgraceful carry on indeed. I have bigger things to be thinking about tbh than people getting drunk on the weekend, and I certainly don't have time to be standing around in judgement of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

the type of people that if you dropped them in Tokyo theyd go around looking to buy a hang-sandwich. Im sorry but if you travelled a bit you would know there is a difference between a city in say Switzerland and Dublin or Cork. And you only have to follow the stories of how the Irish are a disgrace in Australia to know there is a strong knacker element in Irish society.

....dear o dear. "knacker element".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 116 ✭✭Ciarabear

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Only in Ireland would a thread started about the negative impact of alcohol on society include recommendations of good pubs...

And have this observation pointed out by someone called Whiskeyman!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

the type of people that if you dropped them in Tokyo theyd go around looking to buy a hang-sandwich. Im sorry but if you travelled a bit you would know there is a difference between a city in say Switzerland and Dublin or Cork. And you only have to follow the stories of how the Irish are a disgrace in Australia to know there is a strong knacker element in Irish society.

ha ha bejaysus - Tokyo sound awfully like Tayto doesn't it lads.. bediddly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

omahaid wrote: »
    Indeed, I drink only Närke Cask-Conditioned Stormaktsporter or Nøgne Ø AkuAku Lemongrass Ale. Now, I don't drink anything as uncouth as pints. I only drink it from 173ml Botanical Glasses and only once a year.

IKEA do beer now?