Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Walking through Dublin at 2am on a saturday night sober...

• 08-09-2013 2:23am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭

Zero judgement, because i've been the drunkest person in the world on many a saturday night. But i've just walked home sober, making my way through the drunk as fu.. crowds and i'm feeling like... well all this drinking is an astronomical waste of everyone's time and it's hindering everyone's improvement and everyone's world and ruining the world around us even more so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

I thought you said Zero Judgment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Welcome to the sober night out, op :pac:
    Only done it a few times myself but hell it's an eye opener!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

whirlpool wrote: »
    Zero judgement, because i've been the drunkest person in the world on many a saturday night. But i've just walked home sober, making my way through the drunk as fu.. crowds and i'm feeling like... well all this drinking is an astronomical waste of everyone's time and it's hindering everyone's improvement and everyone's world and ruining the world around us even more so.

There are lots of other things around us that are ruining the world, many of them are why I drink in the first place. May as well enjoy myself somehow in my time on this silly planet.

Maybe you should have lightened up and had a drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Serious (lol) questions:

Did the laydeez look more or less attractive?

How high was the skankometer set tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭mutley18

Did it once, never again, it is too intimidating, I would much rather just drink the poison and transform into one of them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

I thought you said Zero Judgment?

In all fairness to me, if you interpreted any of my post as judgement then you're probably an illiterate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Nothing I love more than being stone cold sober in a crowd of drunken revellers :D I've perfected my drunk act over the years so no one ever realises I'm not actually one of them ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭taytothief

lol ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭czx

Nothing I love more than being stone cold sober in a crowd of drunken revellers :D I've perfected my drunk act over the years so no one ever realises I'm not actually one of them ;)
    lame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It's a release from the mundane daily grind. What's life without letting your hair down once and a while?

I wouldn't class it as a waste of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

whirlpool wrote: »
    In all fairness to me, if you interpreted any of my post as judgement then you're probably an illiterate.

From Oxford Dictionary.
    noun
    1 [mass noun] the ability to make considered decisions or come to sensible conclusions:
    an error of judgement
    that is not, in my judgement, the end of the matter
    [count noun] an opinion or conclusion:
    they make subjective judgements about children’s skills
    [count noun] a decision of a law court or judge:
    county court judgements against individuals in debt
    2a misfortune or calamity viewed as a divine punishment:
    the events of last week are a judgement on us for our sinful ways

Your post.
    well all this drinking is an astronomical waste of everyone's time and it's hindering everyone's improvement and everyone's world and ruining the world around us even more so.

You mad, bro?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

All people are total arseholes when they're drunk.

Except me. I'm funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Serious (lol) questions:

Did the laydeez look more or less attractive?

How high was the skankometer set tonight?

There isn't enough alcohol in Ireland to drink Irish men handsome. (lol)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 OPENROAD7

All people are total arseholes when they're drunk.

Except me. I'm funny.

I get sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭worded

Anyone try Guinness light? Roughly half the strength but you don't get as fcuked up.

Also cobra. Tasty but no hangover.

Drink a pint to a litre of water before you go out drinking and go on a full stomach.

Peace

worded wrote: »
    Anyone try Guinness light? Roughly half the strength but you don't get as fcuked up.

Drink a pint to a litre of water before you go out drinking and go on a full stomach.

Peace

Guinness Light flopped in the 80s, it was an attempt to try and get women drinking the product. Maybe you're thinking of the Mid Strength Range?

Stout is a 'drinkers' drink, the mainstays won't go in for a lower alcohol content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Guinness Light flopped in the 80s, it was an attempt to try and get women drinking the product. Maybe you're thinking of the Mid Strength Range?

Stout is a 'drinkers' drink, the mainstays won't go in for a lower alcohol content.

Why is there no Guiness Gutrot Strength? 1 pint, 30%abv. Least it'd be a cheap night out. And ye'd only have to drink a couple of the nasty ass stuff.

An acquired taste as they say. It you give it a chance you will develop a palate for it. It's a real drink imo, the smoothness and texture not piss water in a glass like a lot of the Lagers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Guinness Foreign Export.

No need to thank me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭TommiesTank

It's a release from the mundane daily grind. What's life without letting your hair down once and a while?

I wouldn't class it as a waste of time.

Every weekend is hardly once in a while.

Half these people probably will be complaining about being broke this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭TommiesTank

Sums up the typical Irish attitude to alcohol, even if you are joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭okioffice84

worded wrote: »

Peace

Fascinating

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

MadsL wrote: »
    Guinness Foreign Export.

No need to thank me.

A few years ago I went to a house party and had about half a dozen of them.

That stuff is lethally good. Gets you twisted far too quickly.

Op. I do shift work and often walk threw temple bar v early in the morning at the weekends. I have no idea why a sober person would hang around there at 6am. The smell of stale beer is horrific

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

An acquired taste as they say. It you give it a chance you will develop a palate for it. It's a real drink imo, the smoothness and texture not piss water in a glass like a lot of the Lagers.

I want to go drinking with you DLH because I've been drinking Guinness nigh on 17 years now (started off on bulmers cider, jesus that stuff rots you! I got sick of getting sick after it), and I've definitely noticed the quality of the Guinness where one time they used say there was eating and drinking in it, sure it was an acquired taste, but when you got a good pint with a good thick head on it, ohh I'm salivating as I type this, the taste was delicious... but now? Now, with all their fcuking about with the formula ever since Diageo took over, Guinness has become like just black budweiser, with an equally thin head on top.

It's rare you'll find a good pint nowadays with all their extra cold and mid strength nonsense to try and make Guinness appealing to a trendy youth. If they'd left it alone far more young people would be drinking it and we wouldn't need all this Martha's day marketing shìte!

Anyway, 2 o clock in the morning OP is not the time to be getting all philosophical about humanity when walking home after the club, you're naturally gonna notice you stick out like a sore thumb, you're sober for christ sake! It's classic "in the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king".

Czarcasm wrote: »
    I want to go drinking with you DLH because I've been drinking Guinness nigh on 17 years now (started off on bulmers cider, jesus that stuff rots you! I got sick of getting sick after it), and I've definitely noticed the quality of the Guinness where one time they used say there was eating and drinking in it, sure it was an acquired taste, but when you got a good pint with a good thick head on it, ohh I'm salivating as I type this, the taste was delicious... but now? Now, with all their fcuking about with the formula ever since Diageo took over, Guinness has become like just black budweiser, with an equally thin head on top.

It's rare you'll find a good pint nowadays with all their extra cold and mid strength nonsense to try and make Guinness appealing to a trendy youth. If they'd left it alone far more young people would be drinking it and we wouldn't need all this Martha's day marketing shìte!

Anyway, 2 o clock in the morning OP is not the time to be getting all philosophical about humanity when walking home after the club, you're naturally gonna notice you stick out like a sore thumb, you're sober for christ sake! It's classic "in the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king".

There's places still around the country who serve a good old fashioned pint of plain. If you're Dublin based I'd recommend Mulligans on Poolbeg St, McDaids just off Grafton and O'Neills on Suffolk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

been sober walking and driving through dublin many times.
    apart form the odd person falling about - I never found it as bad as people make out.
    plenty of shouting though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭StinkySocs

When i was in college I had to give up drink for 6 weeks - due to meds I was on...it was just damn awful.

I quickly developed "migraines" from the meds and request to be taken off them double quick!

Those 6 weeks of sober dancing in CP's, Cuba & the GPO are a distance memory. Imagine being sober trying to get the snog off some fella in CP's....gross!!!

However, I would say if I recorded myself on a night out from start to finish...i would probably never drink again. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

If you see a lad clatter his girlfriend then don't be the hero OP, just walk on

If you step in she will turn on you!

Been there :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

I've done the Twilight Zone walk home sober through Dublin a few times; it's unnerving and I always felt like I was missing out on something

Sums up the typical Irish attitude to alcohol, even if you are joking.

Ah sure be grand!

Considering I'm the designated driver today on a booze cruise I think I can make that joke :P

(No I don't get to drive the boat, boooooooo)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Czarcasm wrote: »

come to Galway Czar
    im very fussy with my Guinness and loads great pints here:
    Neachtains
    O'Connells
    McSwiggans (only 3 euro aswell)

my local out in Connemara has the nicest, creamiest pint of Guinness you could wish for - should nearly come with a spoon!

...think i may have brought this thread offtopic ha

There isn't enough alcohol in Ireland to drink Irish men handsome. (lol)

We obviously haven't met then. Yet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Guinness is a pretty mediocre beer in reality. Its one of the most tasteless stouts on the market. A step up from Bud and Heineken but not much more than than.

Boring, tasteless, nitrogen delivered, mass produced MEH.

MadsL wrote: »
    Guinness Foreign Export.

No need to thank me.

Much better beer too.

Seaneh wrote: »
    Guinness is a pretty mediocre beer in reality. Its one of the most tasteless stouts on the market. A step up from Bud and Heineken but not much more than than.

Boring, tasteless, nitrogen delivered, mass produced MEH.

...you Irish passport has been revoked..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

Technically 2am is Sunday morning not Saturday night

/buzz killington

I have been out sober a few times when pregnant and yes, it's very strange to see everyone else so ****ed up, even though I always left at 11ish. From the outside it does look like a monumental waste of time but when you're doing it it's a good laugh

wprathead wrote: »
    ...you Irish passport has been revoked..

Because I Don't fawn over a British owned product produced by a company founded by a loyalist family who despised the Irish and didn't employ catholics beyond medial jobs until just a few decades ago and only started their "Oirish" marketing when it became "cool" in the UK and US to be Irish?

That's a bit silly really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Because I Don't fawn over a British owned product produced by a company founded by a loyalist family who despised the Irish and didn't employ catholics beyond medial jobs until just a few decades ago and only started their "Oirish" marketing when it became "cool" in the UK and US to be Irish?

Take a seat there on that stool and I'll deal with you in a minute...

Are we right there people please, c'mon lads, take it outside, outside now lads, c'mon!

chill, was joke
    ..you're not a morning person, are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

there are just too many people in this country that embrace bog trotting and skanger "culture"

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

There's places still around the country who serve a good old fashioned pint of plain. If you're Dublin based I'd recommend Mulligans on Poolbeg St, McDaids just off Grafton and O'Neills on Suffolk.
    wprathead wrote: »
    come to Galway Czar
    im very fussy with my Guinness and loads great pints here:
    Neachtains
    O'Connells
    McSwiggans (only 3 euro aswell)

Only in Ireland would a thread started about the negative impact of alcohol on society include recommendations of good pubs...

Recent Beer and Lager stats showed the Top 3 brands in Ireland (Heineken, Carlsberg and Budweiser) account for 87%+ of on trade sales. I'd imagine that nowhere else in the world would produce a similar figure? All three are very bland, generic, mass produced and heavily marketed lagers which offer little to the consumer. All three are circa 4.5% ABV.

Thrown in Coors Light with it's approx 6%+ share and that really doesn't speak well for consumer choice does it?

So basically 93%+ of the lager we consume in pubs and clubs is broadly the same average at best product (though heavily marketed).

The remaining 7%? Price fighters like Tuborg, Tennants, Carling, Molson Canadian etc. and World Beers that taste great but the average Irish person doesn't seen to be able to drink as the ABV goes over 5%.

The off trade is not hugely dis-similar but fluctuates depending on what's on offer at any time as it is hugely price driven.

And we think we're a nation of drinkers? In volume maybe,but certainly not knowledgable or discerning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Im sure youre a lovely person but i hate non drinkers on a night out. To be fair, i've tried it myself a few times and i dont know how you can stand it either. there should be a special room in a pub for designated drivers to stay in until its time to go home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

silverharp wrote: »
    there are just too many people in this country that embrace bog trotting and skanger "culture"

Could you define bog trotting and skabger culture because it sounds like youre just condemning everyone who isnt an upper middle class snob. any chance your father works at KPMG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

As my Physics teacher used to say. Are you mad Man, What possessed you to do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭red_bairn

mutley18 wrote: »
    Did it once, never again, it is too intimidating, I would much rather just drink the poison and transform into one of them!

lol. Your comment reminded me of the scene in warm bodies where she pretended to be a zombie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

And we think we're a nation of drinkers? In volume maybe,but certainly not knowledgable or discerning.

Indeed, I drink only Närke Cask-Conditioned Stormaktsporter or Nøgne Ø AkuAku Lemongrass Ale. Now, I don't drink anything as uncouth as pints. I only drink it from 173ml Botanical Glasses and only once a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Im sure youre a lovely person but i hate non drinkers on a night out. To be fair, i've tried it myself a few times and i dont know how you can stand it either. there should be a special room in a pub for designated drivers to stay in until its time to go home

Honestly, I think that says more about you than the non-drinkers. And it's attitudes like that that make non-drinkers feel like they constantly have to prove themselves and be almost apologetic for not drinking, which is pretty ridiculous when you think about it.

I don't drink because I, personally, just don't like it. I don't care what's in anyone else's glass, so why should they care what's in mine?

(*Now, if you're talking about people who constantly go on about not drinking, fine. But most of us are not like that. I go out as much as or more than some of my drinking friends, I try out new bars and clubs, I travel, I go to as many gigs a year as I can and I will get up and dance with everyone else. If I was judging drinkers or hated alcohol, why would I go to places where I know I'd be surrounded by it?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Could you define bog trotting and skabger culture because it sounds like youre just condemning everyone who isnt an upper middle class snob. any chance your father works at KPMG

the type of people that if you dropped them in Tokyo theyd go around looking to buy a hang-sandwich. Im sorry but if you travelled a bit you would know there is a difference between a city in say Switzerland and Dublin or Cork. And you only have to follow the stories of how the Irish are a disgrace in Australia to know there is a strong knacker element in Irish society.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer