Armed gardai and loads of gardai at Balgriffin this afternoon...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

P_1 wrote: »
    Why does a Saturday evening seem to always bring out the Walter Mitty RA Head types?

Most of us are here looking for genuine evidence that he was drug dealer etc, not a Sunday World exclusive claiming he was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Why does a Saturday evening seem to always bring out the Walter Mitty RA Head types?
    Alcohol, everybody knows that a Dublin "republican" will fight to the last drop of everybody else's blood!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭SoulandForm

Why are you asking this question on this thread?

Where exactly are the "Walter Mitty RA Head types"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Alcohol, everybody knows that a Dublin "republican" will fight to the last drop of everybody else's blood pint!

FYP to add more accuracy ;)

Alcohol, everybody knows that a Dublin "republican" will fight to the last drop of everybody else's blood!

I have seen no posts defending violence from those opposing your strange beliefs and anyway Im from Antrim originally and dont want to shed a drop of anyone's blood. If anyone is showing signs of delusion and sadistic fantasies it is yourself- wishing damnation on someone no less!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

FYP to add more accuracy ;)
    You are wasting you time, you are dealing with those who still think the Omagh bomb was a military success, you know, the player lounge type of cretin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Imagine living your life by the herald and Sunday world as gospel, pathetic really.

You are wasting you time, you are dealing with those who still think the Omagh bomb was a military success, you know, the player lounge type of cretin.

Or one them Sunday World reading cretins..

ON a more serious note I'd take the drug dealing allegations of the Sunday World et al with a Matterhorn sized pinch of salt but the passing of anybody in a position of authority in such a reprehensible organisation like whatever incarnation of the IRA he was involved with really shouldn't have been commemorated in such a public manner.

wazky wrote: »
    Or one them Sunday World reading cretins..

I think there might be someone who takes Willie Frazer videos a bit too seriously on this thread- frankly Im surprised that Alan Ryan hasnt been accused of genocide yet or dodgy horse burgers.

Actually going back to the title of this thread, media reports have it the family liaised with the gards and it passed off peacefully, so no terrorist panic stations or anything, life is still going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Dublinpato

Honestly i can't say a bad word about the chap, sure ye hear story's but that's all they are just story's but what i can prove is that because of him my mother can live in peace so when i hear terrorist i don't think of him i think of the scumbags who terrorized my mothers house everyday and night, we couldn't even keep a car in the garden ffs, but now even after his death not a f*cking sound and even tho it was my mothers house that was targeted 90% of the time i'am sure everyone else on the road is glad them scumbags are gone, no thanks to the garda who did nothing even when they bothered to turn up.

ON a more serious note I'd take the drug dealing allegations of the Sunday World et al with a Matterhorn sized pinch of salt but the passing of anybody in a position of authority in such a reprehensible organisation like whatever incarnation of the IRA he was involved with really shouldn't have been commemorated in such a public manner.

Would you agree that the claims of drug involvement are fabricated to tarnish his name?, to gain public support against him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

No he was not.

He was sentenced at a trial without a jury for membership of an illegal organization- not carrying out any acts of terror.
    Being a member of a terrorist organisation is a terrorist offence. He was a terrorist - that's a simple, established fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Funny, you never hear a Judge shout "evidence me hole" before he hands out a sentence.

Can you explain how over thousand people turned out, many from his local community, for his funeral including a full IRA colour party?, if he was only as you said a scumbag who wasn't connected to Republicanism?

That article says 200 people. Where did you get 1000 from?

200 people turned up and obviously they are either family/friends or people who supported. But if you're quoting figures, well over 1,000,000 people in dublin didn't turn up and think he's scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

So he wasn't a gangster, wasn't a drug scumbag, and wasn't involved with terrorists.
    Still, a pretty interesting funeral, years memorial and crowd of friends he had.

Absolutely and unequivocally

Are you sure? I'm pretty certain if you dislike the IRA or condemn republican violence you must be a protestant/unionist/brit/west-brit.

Grayson wrote: »
    That article says 200 people. Where did you get 1000 from?

200 people turned up and obviously they are either family/friends or people who supported. But if you're quoting figures, well over 1,000,000 people in dublin didn't turn up and think he's scum.

200? I can say this is a lie.

Would you agree that the claims of drug involvement are fabricated to tarnish his name?, to gain public support against him?

To be honest his involvement in an organisation with a history of intimidating entire communities and indoctrinating vulnerable people tarnish his name more than any allegations of drug dealing ever could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

I would have thought that being a member of the Real IRA would have done a lot to gain public support against him in the first place.

longshanks wrote: »
    So he wasn't a gangster, wasn't a drug scumbag, and wasn't involved with terrorists.
    Still, a pretty interesting funeral, years memorial and crowd of friends he had.

Theres that word again!

Mammy mammy, its a terrorist!

Phoebas wrote: »
    Being a member of a terrorist organisation is a terrorist offence. He was a terrorist - that's a simple, established fact.

No carrying out terrorist acts makes you a terrorist otherwise the word loses all meaning. Being a member of an irregular partisan organization does not equate with being a terrorist otherwise well Michael Collins was a terrorist and you could say the same about a lot of those who fought in the American war of Independence.

200? I can say this is a lie.

Got anything to back that up? Any legitimate articles or anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

evidence me hole!
    Stalin was never convicted of murder, neither was Pol Pot!
    he was a dirty batsard, those of us who lived in his area knew it.
    Cowards and Apologists call for evidence, decent people are just relieved.

There's plenty of evidence that Stalin had many many people murdered

There's evidence that thatcher greenlighted to murder of british citizens

Where your evidence that this ryan fella was dealing drugs? Its time to put up or shut the ould cakehole sonny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

He was there. He's the one in the too tight for comfort mini skirt.:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Theres that word again!

Mammy mammy, its a terrorist!

Do you understand that word?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

alan was no dealer. his funeral killed off any free state media spin that he was a gangster that was rejected by the people of north dublin. hundreds, nay a thousand came out to pay their respects to someone,who they may not always agreed with, but whom they respected. alan was liked and respected by the folks of grange abbey and donaghmede. the only people glad to see him dead were drug dealers.
    the garda response to his funeral and commemeration is sickening. they'd serve the working class people of north dublin better by using their resources to raid the homes of dealers and their gang members, we all know who they are.

anyone from north dublin knows these scum walk about,drink in pubs,do deals without seeing a garda from one end of the week to the next.. but when republicans want to pay their respects to their dead wee see HUNDREDS of garda on duty.

Not a great crowd counter but I would be certain there is more than 200 here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

An utter piece of scum who is no loss to this fine country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

No carrying out terrorist acts makes you a terrorist otherwise the word loses all meaning. Being a member of an irregular partisan organization does not equate with being a terrorist otherwise well Michael Collins was a terrorist and you could say the same about a lot of those who fought in the American war of Independence.
    Oh Jesus - Alan Ryan will the new Martin Luther King next.:rolleyes:

Officers found a firing range inside a disused wine cellar being used as an underground bunker, and seized weapons including an assault rifle, a submachine gun, a semi-automatic pistol and an RPG-18 rocket launcher. An earlier version of the rocket launcher, the RPG-7, had been in the possession of the Provisional IRA from as early as 1972, but this was the first time the RPG-18 had been found in the possession of a paramilitary organisation in Ireland. Among those convicted were Alan Ryan, who was on bail for possession of a loaded revolver at his home in Dublin