What obsolete or dying technology do you still own/use?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

In fairness, the majority of CD music is heavily compressed also. Vinyl is a different story though, best way to listen to music.

Yes. Although I remain unconvinced by some newer LPs that are digital recordings anyway. Insisting on double vinyl when a single platter would suffice doesn't help either. A 40/45 minute album doesn't need four sides.

The loudness wars have f*cked up many modern CDs.
    The best sounding CDs are from the 1980s. Flat transfers. Uncompressed. Quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭questionmark?

I have two phones, ones a 'fancy' HTC. The other a 6/7 year Sony Ericsson 300i.

The old phone is for family and close friends. Dropped more times than I can remember. Charged once a week compared to every night with the new one, it will out live the new one too.

Still buy papers a few times a week, beats reading news online.

My leather belt belonged to my grandfather, unsure how old it is but must be 30+ years old. The new fangled ones just end up splitting, breaking etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,887 ✭✭✭dmc17

What if your balls fall off?

Sure he couldn't give a fcuk if his balls fall off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Most of the technology people use is good quality, nice to look at or the owner doesn't need the bells and whistles of the new version. Well, I can beat all of that. In work, I have Internet Explorer 6 and can't upgrade. :(
    http://www.ie6countdown.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Cienciano wrote: »
    FLAC ftw.

Maybe so but it's still digital. Audio is analogue, always was and always will be. Just like human ears. Digital makes a good stab at reproduction but in my humble opinion it falls just short of nature.

Don't mind me, I'm anal when it comes to HiFi and audio reproduction. Digital is more than adequate for the masses - or so I'm told!

Newspapers - not every day though. Once or twice a week and on a Saturday.

Books - always. Don't like Kindles.

Magazines - still buy Record Collector every month and Classic Pop / Shindig every second month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I still have a record player

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I suppose just the original xbox. Have XBMC centre on it and she's still flying after around 12 years.

Apart from that, nothing really. Phone, laptop, monitor and kindle take care of the rest. Rare to have physical media actually, so maybe an old copy of Penthouse I can't bare to throw out from 2003 counts. It still works like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Cienciano wrote: »
    Most of the technology people use is good quality, nice to look at or the owner doesn't need the bells and whistles of the new version. Well, I can beat all of that. In work, I have Internet Explorer 6 and can't upgrade. :(
    http://www.ie6countdown.com/

North Korea did a great job of getting off IE6 judging by the map. Fair play, I thought they were backwards technologically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Newspapers and books would probably be my main one.
    You should've held on to that abacus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

I still use a dictaphone for recording interviews. Seems everyone uses phones these days, but the mics aren't up to par and pick up too much noise. It's not even an old dictaphone either, it records to MP3 and connects to computer via USB, but I still get odd looks when I take it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭DepecheHead101

I'm addicted to VHS, and kind of have that aesthetic fetishism for it that a lot of people have for vinyl. It's just lodged in my mind. I like watching stuff on tapes. Not discs. Big, clunky glorious tapes I can blow into, rewind and fast forward. There is something too clean cut and clinical about watching something without tracking lines.

Also the Roland JP-8000 and hash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Gopher. Its what they used before HTTP and HTML were invented. Plain text, no ads or other clutter. More people should start using it
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gopher_protocol

Have an android phone with a full keyboard, its increasingly hard to get the keyboards on phone anymore. I don't know what I'll do if I cant get them anymore, maybe use a "phablet" (hate that term) with a bluetooth keyboard

I use a good few petrol powered machines from the early 80's and early 70's and sometimes a scythe like the one used in 'Amish paradise'.

Mechanical watch

Some other stuff I have but isn't really working:

-Recently bought this - one of the first milliammeters ever made probably http://puggsy.net/pictures/_1014247.JPG one of the terminals is fecked though

-A 9 pin dot matrix printer (Philips 1436) from the early 80's or possibly even 70's. Needs a new ribbon though

-Car from 1991, needs a bit of work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

Me phist, no computers or nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭GreenWolfe

Gopher. Its what they used before HTTP and HTML were invented. Plain text, no ads or other clutter. More people should start using it
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gopher_protocol

Obligatory xkcd comic: http://xkcd.com/554/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,365 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    Phone: Nokia 2310.

Music on the move: Sony discman.

Music in the car: just replaced the tape deck with a CD player. Car is 14 years old.

Music at home: Thorens TD-150 Mk II turntable (1973). Sony CD player (1998). Pioneer amplifier (1994). Teac tape deck (1994). NAD speakers (1994).

Television: Our main one is a Grundig CRT 32" from 1998.

Films / television programmes: Watch them on DVD or VHS. Use the VCR at least one a week to watch something I taped between 1986 and 2006.

Ok, you actually DO need an upgrade really. Why not upgrade just for your pleasure alone? Especially the TV/Discman . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,203 ✭✭✭Mech1

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    I have a scanner for listening to the gardai.

I hope your enjoying that! silence is golden, you must be loaded:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Also the Roland JP-8000 and hash.

I use an XV-88 but I gave up the hash years ago. When it comes to digital patches, Roland have it sussed.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

MadsL wrote: »
    Old school is generally got-it-right school.
    In quite a number of things yea I'd agree M. Quality was often higher. The beauty of today is with ebay and the net and many if not most wanting the latest greatest you can pick up serious bargains on the old top end stuff. Stuff that was craaaaazy money back in the day.

Me I'm a terrible Luddite in a few areas. My car is 15 years old and the height of it's engine management system is a hamster in a wheel. I regularly use a 2000 mac powerbook G3(looks like batmans laptop). Why? well it runs waaaay cooler, is perfectly fine for most everyday stuff and with two (13 year old original)batteries on board will run for nigh on 8 hours off a charge. Built in wifi, firewire, USB, trackpad of course. Stuck a gig of ram in it(which it can take. IIRC it only came with 6 mbs from the factory) and a 120gb hard drive. Even modded a more up to date CD/DVD writer to work in it. Nice keyboard too. Damned impressive for a PC made at the turn of the century. Runs the later MacOS 10.4 slick as you like. Back in those far off days when Apple though pricey actually made a superior and scalable product for that price. TBH if I could update the piss poor by todays standards video card/ram I'd likely use it near exclusively.

My pocket calculator should I need one I bought in 1982. My watches modernise out at late 60's and one I wear regularly first started ticking in 1916. Furniture wise I got one going back to the late 17th century.

Actually on that score I had a kinda surreal and "modern" moment years back. I was looking for a chest of drawers and happened to be meeting an ex near a salubrious shop that sold modern stuff. She was late. Well... :D anyway I went in and looked around and this salesguy put the pitch on me on a repro Georgian chest of drawers. Looked old, handmade apparently, but with modern tools etc. OK sez I how much. Well the figure that came out was about a third more than I could have bought an original Georgian one. I pointed this out and his reply with a straight face was "oh well it wouldn't be as well made as this one and it wouldn't come with a two year warranty". Eh a real one has been doing it's thing for two centuries plus, so I doubt it's gonna suddenly fall asunder Ted. :D

When I used to fly fish I used an old style silk line(and often a bamboo cane rod), rather than the modern synthetics. Basically because it was superior in near every respect, but required more care. And the oldest tech -and I think I have ye all beat on this one :D - when I fished I used to use a Irish neolithic flint blade I had found to cut my line when needed. I do have a couple of Neandertal and earlier handaxes, but haven't found a use for them yet. The fcukers are still sharp enough so you never know... :pac:

I reckon the coolest thing about today is you can if you want mix the best of old and new in any set of flavours you want. In the past that was a lot more difficult. We have all got so many cool choices that folks of even 20 years ago didn't have, or they'd have to really look for it.

PS my tumble dryer which works like a fcuking boss was bought in 1977. IT may kill polar bears, but it really dries clothes.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Wibbs wrote: »
    I reckon the coolest thing about today is you can if you want mix the best of old and new in any set of flavours you want. In the past that was a lot more difficult. We have all got so many cool choices that folks of even 20 years ago didn't have, or they'd have to really look for it.

Most definitely!

Once you get over the whole (incorrect) concept of 'new = better!', the bargains you can find on ebay and the likes are amazing.

Most tech is build now to have an obsolescence. Older technology wasn't. It was really made to last. I And the best part? Most people don't want it as they want the new stuff!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

PS my tumble dryer which works like a fcuking boss was bought in 1977. IT may kill polar bears, but it really dries clothes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

Only you Wibbsy :p

Has it ever given you trouble?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

o1s1n wrote: »

Most tech is build now to have an obsolescence. Older technology wasn't. It was really made to last. I And the best part? Most people don't want it as they want the new stuff!

Too true.

A lot of the stuff we have here, have been 'donated' by relatives over the years.

They just like having the latest things.

The way I see it, the latest plasma screen TV isn't going to improve my life or make me happier, of my family any more happy.

We've more good quality CRT TV's than you could shake a stick at.

Moar relatives please!!!!!!!!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

That Sony Trinitron flat screen CRT I mentioned only cost me €40! Best TV I've ever had, picture is gorgeous :)

o1s1n wrote: »
    That Sony Trinitron flat screen CRT I mentioned only cost me €40! Best TV I've ever had, picture is gorgeous :)

Ha! Looking at a 26" Quintrix Panasonic TV here. Bought at huge expense by my 'rents in law, back in the day.

Working perfectly & cost us Zero.:D

callaway92 wrote: »
    Ok, you actually DO need an upgrade really. Why not upgrade just for your pleasure alone? Especially the TV/Discman . . .

I have a smaller LCD television in my room.

As for the discman; it'll do fine - what's the alternative - an ipod?

I think mp3s sound like crap, sorry. Have zero interest in digital music files; am totally addicted to physical formats (records / CDs)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Only you Wibbsy :p
    True LaLa. So True. :o:D
    Has it ever given you trouble?
    Once or twice, but a quick breakout of spanners, strong tea and ciggies and within the hour it was running again. I've replaced the belts back in the early 90's and the motor brushes about the same time. Then in the mid noughties the setting wheel went pete tong, but a quick fooster and it was good to go again.

Thats the thing, before the era of integrated circuits and stuff, often where they really weren't needed, many items were repairable and much more modular. Now we tend to think of replacement, rather than repair. We're all hippies dutifully separating our waste into green, black and brown bins, while fcuking away items that cost way more environmentally, cos they can only be replaced, not repaired and all us greenies want the newest stuff.

IMHO For all the BS, it's more about business economics than personal economics and the environment. We could easily build driers and tellies and cars and PCs and whatever that were scalable, upgradable and repairable and would last decades, rather than 3 year product cycles, but the economics of the modern world really don't want that in the majority of cases.

In fairness I'm more a Luddite and cheap arsed bastid than a greenie. Though, again IMHO the former mindset is more "green" than the latter.
    IvaBigWun wrote: »
    Yep it's a disco dryer. :D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

God I remember those big Trinitron TVs. My mate bought one for our flat when we moved in for college. I wasnt there when they delivered it and Im glad I wasnt. By all accounts it nearly crippled my flatmate and the delivery man trying to get it up 3 flights of stairs!

Was a great TV back in the day though. 32 inches was pretty swish. I like the idea of picking one of em up for gaming now too but the sheer size of them means I'll stick to LCDs.

In fairness I'm more a Luddite and cheap arsed bastid than a greenie. Though, again IMHO the former mindset is more "green" than the latter.

Nail on the head there Dude!

I keep stuff here going long beyond it's 'design life'.

Usually, I do my own repairs, but if I don't have the tools/facilities, I would use local labour.

This keeps my business local & thus keeps local repair shops & their employees off the dole.

Why keep Sony when you can keep your own?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

Get this riight, I know a guy who is still using an iPhone 3gs.