Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What obsolete or dying technology do you still own/use?

• 05-09-2013 7:18pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭

VHS players, old CRT televisions and a phone thats 5 years old are just some Ive seen recently.

What obsolete or dying technology do you still own/use and refuse to upgrade/part with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I've a fax machine I use for work.

It works, and in my line of work, I usually do a handwritten docket for a customer, then when I get home in the evening, stick the dockets in the fax machine, punch in the office landline number, and walk away.

Simple.

If it ain't broke /don't fix it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

A Rickenbacker 4001.

A proper instrument that makes a proper racket.

These days it's all bullsh!t sampling and computers thst churn out dross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Nokia 6310i, had its 10th Birthday in August!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭keno-daytrader

Landline that I need for dsl, I havent made a call on it in years.

☀️ 7.8kWp ⚡3.6kWp south, ⚡4.20kWp west

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I have a five year old phone, but I don't consider it obsolete at all! I make and recieve calls and texts on it. Job done!

I don't understand people who constantly feel the need to update their phones once or twice a year, because the newer model has one or two new updates. Pointless waste of money as far as I'm concerned!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

My mate has a SNES that he still uses religiously.

He reckons the playability of Mario kart and Mario world alone are worth it. I've told him about emulators but he's refusing to listen.

Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

CRT PC monitor, editing artwork on anything else is a joke..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

discman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I started a thread on this a while ago and got some stick but I don't have a smart phone. I actually had a slightly more up-to-date Nokia than this but I spilled water over it, so I'm using my fella's old phone and it's grand. Not planning on getting another one anytime soon (I'm also very broke right now which makes it impossible). Snake, phone calls (I have a very cheap deal), texts and alarm clock. That's all I need. Have my laptop for everything else.

http://www.letsgomobile.org/images/specs/0077/nokia_2100.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Aertel. It is the only decent place where you can get the Lotto numbers. The websites are an absolute joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Dale Parish

My trusty IBM PC/XT :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I Was VB wrote: »
    Nokia 6310i, had its 10th Birthday in August!!!

Pretty swish.

Flashy bastard. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I have a 1974 Ericsson rotary dial house phone. Twin internal bellset for that proper old style ringing sound. It's way slower to ring out on but it works perfectly and going no where.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

Aertel. It is the only decent place where you can get the Lotto numbers. The websites are an absolute joke.

theres only one website and it works perfectly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭wesf

I had a SNES which I sold recently and regretted immediately. I still have the NES though and I also have an Atari 2600.
    Have a Nokia 3210 and a 3330 which still work perfectly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

You need Lotto.ie, if you just google lotto you get a lot of crap sites.

Wind-up alarm clock. Use it as a travel clock, the ticking puts me to sleep, works perfectly and has no batteries to run out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Newspapers?

Can get everything online but still like getting a paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

A wind up alarm clock whose tone I hate & can't sleep through unlike apple " alarm" sounds.

An old fashioned chrome 1960's coffee making percolator with a slider on
    the side that lets you set the strength & a glass knob that the brewing coffee swishes through as it brews so you can see it change slowly from water to brewed coffee.

A metronome. ( digital one broke - wooden one goes on forever!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,601 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Old tech is a horrible addiction I have. You can get such fantastic quality for such cheap prices if you buy top tear stuff from the different generations.

It started with collecting consoles and videogames, but grew on to other technology. Console collection aside, I've a 29 Inch 4:3 Sony Trinitron CRT in the sitting room (can't beat it for old consoles), along with two Japanese arcade machines from the late 80s/early 90s. Have several boxes of arcade game PCBs to use with them. Can't stand resorting to MAME.

Also dipped my toes in vintage hifi systems. Have a really love Pioneer separates system with a pair of beautiful Celesition Ditton 33 speakers. Sound out of it is amazing.

Tis great fun keeping it all running :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

A pull-switch above my bed.

An old fashioned chrome 1960's coffee making percolator with a slider on
    the side that lets you set the strength & a glass knob that the brewing coffee swishes through as it brews so you can see it change slowly from water to brewed coffee.

I have one of these too. Don't use it much unless I'm in all day and want a LOT of coffee, but the sound of it perking is lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

an abacus, never need to worry about charging or rebooting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

My 20 year old turntable. Vinyl is so mellow. Its connected to my 15+ year old car stereo that's installed in the house and it still sounds magnificent.

My 12 year old 50" plasma monitor is still my main TV.

The house telephone is an old, black spin dial job. It's probably 40 years old. I hardly use it as it's a pain for dialling mobile numbers..... 0 .... 8 ..... 7 ......... *yawn*

EDIT: Posting that has just made me realise that I'm closer to the state pension than my leaving cert.........:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Hitchens wrote: »
    an abacus, never need to worry about charging or rebooting
    What if your balls fall off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭Miss Mayhem

I still have a gameboy (one of the big boxy ones) and a few games for it laying around the house somewhere and I have a printer which is at least 15 years old that I still use but I'm going to have to get a new one when it runs out of ink. I used to buy them in bulk off Amazon every couple of months but they've stopped selling them last time I checked so I did a google search and found out that they no longer make the ink cartridges for it. :(

Just remembered my old kitchen radio, has a huge dial in front and a 'mellow' dial to adjust the sound. Best LW reception of any radio I've ever had and must be 50+ years old. Passed on to me by a Grand Aunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Vintage hi-fi. NAD amp and Mission speakers. Lovely warm 80s sound.

Also I shave with restored straight razors often upto 130 years old, and my safety razors are Gillettes from about 1920. Modern razors are expensive crap.

My tent is a cotton canvas reproduction military bell tent, nothing better than waking gently under breathable cotton at 8am, rather than melting at 5am as the sun hits your nylon sweatbox.

Old school is generally got-it-right school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Bought a big lump of a Panasonic TV of donedeal 3 years ago for €60. Must be at least 8 or 9 years old, maybe more. It's as wide as it is deep as it is high. Works a treat though.

Been tempted a few times by the new skinny TV's, but I honestly don't see any point. Mine works fine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

A Rickenbacker 4001.

A proper instrument that makes a proper racket.

These days it's all bullsh!t sampling and computers thst churn out dross.

Hear hear, personally I think stretching a skin over a frame is crap. I much prefer banging these two rocks together

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

In terms of music format, it feels like whatever car I have is always one step behind.

My last car had a tape player!

My current car has a CD player!

My next car probably will have some mp3 type capability, but by then, most new fancy pants cars will be streaming spotify using satellite internet or something.

My cars, musical Luddites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

I have a five year old phone, but I don't consider it obsolete at all! I make and recieve calls and texts on it. Job done!

I don't understand people who constantly feel the need to update their phones once or twice a year, because the newer model has one or two new updates. Pointless waste of money as far as I'm concerned!

Because gone is the time of this;

****-i-dropped-my-nokia-240x180.jpg

**** you boards filter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭bluefinger

i tunes. can't bring myself to uninstall it of the computer though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I have a very old Nokia cell phone.

I can call people, send texts, and set an alarm. I charge it once a week. I've dropped it more times than I can count.

It's pay-as-you-go and I end up spending 2-3 euro, per month.

I am completely happy with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,170 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Laserjet 4 network printer. Which I took when work were junking it. Must be nearly 20 years old, works perfectly and cost to run is bugger all.

I've also got record decks now that I think about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I've a 7 year old phone, and up to a few years ago, had a 25 year old TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

a record player

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

My missus is still blundering around with an iPhone 4! She is so old skool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Diesels are starting to become obsolete now. I'm very glad, they're noisy, smelly and polluting. Petrol has caught up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Landline that I need for dsl, I havent made a call on it in years.

I work in an office. We make and receive calls on a landline all day.

I still ring certain family members on my home landline.

It's not that unusual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,410 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Minidisc recorder.

Phone: Nokia 2310.

Music on the move: Sony discman.

Music in the car: just replaced the tape deck with a CD player. Car is 14 years old.

Music at home: Thorens TD-150 Mk II turntable (1973). Sony CD player (1998). Pioneer amplifier (1994). Teac tape deck (1994). NAD speakers (1994).

Television: Our main one is a Grundig CRT 32" from 1998.

Films / television programmes: Watch them on DVD or VHS. Use the VCR at least one a week to watch something I taped between 1986 and 2006.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

MYOB wrote: »
    Laserjet 4 network printer. Which I took when work were junking it. Must be nearly 20 years old, works perfectly and cost to run is bugger all.

I've also got record decks now that I think about

Oh yes, I have a 4plus at home and works a treat. I love the old style lights but then again that is just me as I would love a car with a car dash like this;

jetta2dieselcluster%20%282%29.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    I work in an office. We make and receive calls on a landline all day.

I still ring certain family members on my home landline.

It's not that unusual.
    So it's not unusual to use landline tom jones?

I thought I was the last surviving landline from reading this thread. I'm on the mobile all day at work, the landline is like a bit of a break from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭johndoe99

i have an 8-track player, 13 year old Nokia phone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I have a scanner for listening to the gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

We still need to receive faxes in work. We had to send one recently and discovered that it didn't work, took ages to get it working and we never figured out how long it had been offline.

I still buy an occasional magazine or newspaper. Get all my books, movies and music in the cloud.

I still sell equipment running on Windows XP.

I send about 20 faxes a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

keith16 wrote: »
    In terms of music format, it feels like whatever car I have is always one step behind.

My last car had a tape player!

My current car has a CD player!

My next car probably will have some mp3 type capability, but by then, most new fancy pants cars will be streaming spotify using satellite internet or something.

My cars, musical Luddites.

MP3 lacks the quality of vinyl and CD. MP3 compression kills a lot of audio information. A CD track may be in excess of 60MB but an MP3 of the same track may be less than 4MB. Something has to give.

You may be behind in technology but you're ahead with quality.