Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GTA V Pre-release Discussion - ***DO NOT POST SPOILERS*** (Mod warning in first post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,304 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Ah bad grampa us a way better make it rain gif!!

Class, those missing people must be the people who entered the comp ages back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Ah bad grampa us a way better make it rain gif!!

Class, those missing people must be the people who entered the comp ages back.

That's what I was thinking.

Lucky cun-testant winners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Pretty positive there's going to be a shortage of games at midnight sales, rumours of some Xtravisions with excess amounts of pre orders than actual copies of games they were able to get in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭rafi bomb

SV wrote: »
    Pretty positive there's going to be a shortage of games at midnight sales, rumours of some Xtravisions with excess amounts of pre orders than actual copies of games they were able to get in.

Rumours from where? Pointless posting ****e like that with no info.

rafi bomb wrote: »

Rumours from friends on facebook that work with and have friends working in Xtravision.
    That's the point of a rumour, that there is no info.

Pointless posting shíte like that without understanding a definition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

Rumours usually don't have reliable sources. I'd take any info like that with a pinch of salt.

Then again this game has been breaking pre-order records, so it could very well happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭rafi bomb

Rumours from friends on facebook that work with and have friends working in Xtravision.
    That's the point of a rumour, that there is no info.

Pointless posting shíte like that without understanding a definition.

The info was friends in extravision. Don't believe it anyway. Surely they would stop taking pre bookings or at least warn people about not getting it day one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭dricko_lim

The info was friends in extravision. Don't believe it anyway. Surely they would stop taking pre bookings or at least warn people about not getting it day one

Sure if it happens you can always download it off the marketplace!

It's a business, they're hardly going to say "Nah don't prebook with us, we won't have it. Go over to Gamestop there instead"

Maybe it's not true, not long to find out anyway.
    I'm not expecting to get it on release date anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

It's a business, they're hardly going to say "Nah don't prebook with us, we won't have it. Go over to Gamestop there instead"

Maybe it's not true, not long to find out anyway.
    I'm not expecting to get it on release date anyway.

A pre-order means they hold it for you. If they dont have enough they cant take any more pre-orders. Simple as. No need for the scaremongering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    A pre-order means they hold it for you. If they dont have enough they cant take any more pre-orders. Simple as. No need for the scaremongering.

Actually it's not as simple as that. You have to understand the behind the scenes goings on and the fact that the local store doesn't necessarily know the exact amount of stock they will actually have until a few days before the launch. In a large chain scenario there is one central head office buying in stock on behalf of the chain and then allocating that stock out to each store. The kicker comes when head office get told by the publisher actually we are allocating 70% of your order to you with the other 30% to follow one week later (if you still want it) as there are stock shortages across the supply chain and we can't make enough. Suddenly the local stores are told they aren't getting as much stock as before. This rarely happens to be fair but with a game like GTAV - the most sought after game in these consoles history where manufacturing is hardly keeping up with pre order demand (the inflated virtual figure !) this stock IS being allocated.

It's not uncommon for store managers to inflate their pre order stock (tell head office more is ordered) so they can get extra stock into the store for general sale. Now that sounds counter intuitive - if they order extra stock surely that means no shortage ! but no, what can happen is that some flagship stores could be prioritised for stock at the expense of smaller stores, overall requests for stock from head office are more than head office has so they then allocate that out as a percentage leaving some stores with enough stock for their actual pre orders and some stores with not enough. Similarly enough going back to head office buyers more stock than is actually needed can be requested from the publisher knowing that there will be allocations / shortages and they try to land on the money as such.

The whole thing is akin to a big game of poker, full of bluffs smoke and mirrors. It's no surprise that some stores could / have in the past ran out through no fault of their own to be fair. It's that uncertainty that I can assume rumours like were mentioned earlier spring out from. I wouldn't like to be a manager of a chain store at the moment myself. Stress city for this. :D

Ninja edit: Just to be 100% clear I'm not saying for a second that any particular store or chain are currently over subscribed on pre orders. I'm just saying it's not as clear cut as stores taking pre orders / not taking them when their stock is gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭Furp

You never know with rumours but I wouldn't be surprised considering xtravision only came out of receivership on the 28th of August, I could imagine suppliers were not exactly giving them confirmed orders until they had a confirmed credit line.

I'm glad I preordered when I did but I was also hesitant with the amount of DVD, game, music shops that closed in the last coupe of years.

When I paid for my game in full the guy binned the receipt and I asked for it, and he said oh sorry, its ok though you wont need it, we have your name on the system.

This was in Gamestop. It says on the receipt they will hold the game for 48hrs. I honesly don't expect them to hold it if they only have X amount of copies and that same amount show up at the midnight launch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Really hope GS ship it on time, dont really mind not getting it at midnight as long as I have it on Tuesday! Heading away for few days and told the OH that I am bringing my PS3 with me :pac::eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

I foresee myself eating directly from tins of beans, unshaven and wearing tissue boxes on my feet three weeks from now...
    get-these-kleenex-boxes-off-my-feet.png

gnfnrhead wrote: »

I'm not trying for any scaremongering but, as you can read above there, it's not quite that simple.
    Even if this is true, it's not like everyone won't eventually get a copy, so it's not the end of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

If everything about this game is true, it screams, 'we fooked up with IV'...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭PickledLime

Actually it's not as simple as that. You have to understand the behind the scenes goings on and the fact that the local store doesn't necessarily know the exact amount of stock they will actually have until a few days before the launch. In a large chain scenario there is one central head office buying in stock on behalf of the chain and then allocating that stock out to each store. The kicker comes when head office get told by the publisher actually we are allocating 70% of your order to you with the other 30% to follow one week later (if you still want it) as there are stock shortages across the supply chain and we can't make enough. Suddenly the local stores are told they aren't getting as much stock as before. This rarely happens to be fair but with a game like GTAV - the most sought after game in these consoles history where manufacturing is hardly keeping up with pre order demand (the inflated virtual figure !) this stock IS being allocated.

It's not uncommon for store managers to inflate their pre order stock (tell head office more is ordered) so they can get extra stock into the store for general sale. Now that sounds counter intuitive - if they order extra stock surely that means no shortage ! but no, what can happen is that some flagship stores could be prioritised for stock at the expense of smaller stores, overall requests for stock from head office are more than head office has so they then allocate that out as a percentage leaving some stores with enough stock for their actual pre orders and some stores with not enough. Similarly enough going back to head office buyers more stock than is actually needed can be requested from the publisher knowing that there will be allocations / shortages and they try to land on the money as such.

The whole thing is akin to a big game of poker, full of bluffs smoke and mirrors. It's no surprise that some stores could / have in the past ran out through no fault of their own to be fair. It's that uncertainty that I can assume rumours like were mentioned earlier spring out from. I wouldn't like to be a manager of a chain store at the moment myself. Stress city for this. :D

Ninja edit: Just to be 100% clear I'm not saying for a second that any particular store or chain are currently over subscribed on pre orders. I'm just saying it's not as clear cut as stores taking pre orders / not taking them when their stock is gone.

I worked in one of... let's just say one of those big chain stores for too ****íng long, and there was never an issue with preorder stock. If the shop took x amount of prebooks, it received x amount of stock, no fuss.

You're correct in saying that flagship stores would receive a greater percentage of the company's stock, but only for free sale, never to the detriment of another store's preoders. I was behind the till for GTA IV's and CoD: MW2's launches (and as an aside, I feel genuinely sorry for anyone working GTA V's launch) - they felt like two of the longest days of my life they were so busy, but all preorders were covered.

There was literally one instance where they had trouble securing stock with the vendor on a niche title, and two lads were left waiting a few days for their preorder, but as much as I dislike my former employer, I will say that they always came good on their prebooks.

Stop posting up stuff like that. We're trying to scaremonger here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,184 ✭✭✭Kenno90

I'll add this to lighten the mood,

Although GTA IV had its moments (that fecking cousin) it was still a great game.
    Goodbye GTA IV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

I worked in one of... let's just say one of those big chain stores for too ****íng long, and there was never an issue with preorder stock. If the shop took x amount of prebooks, it received x amount of stock, no fuss.

You're correct in saying that flagship stores would receive a greater percentage of the company's stock, but only for free sale, never to the detriment of another store's preoders. I was behind the till for GTA IV's and CoD: MW2's launches (and as an aside, I feel genuinely sorry for anyone working GTA V's launch) - they felt like two of the longest days of my life they were so busy, but all preorders were covered.

There was literally one instance where they had trouble securing stock with the vendor on a niche title, and two lads were left waiting a few days for their preorder, but as much as I dislike my former employer, I will say that they always came good on their prebooks.

And likewise I have knowledge / experience of it when it went the other way and customers were left short and ended up buying elsewhere (where I worked as it happens) I even know of recent saints row iv pre orders not being supplied but to be fair that's more to do with that store being scheduled for closing and no stock being sent in. But point remains that customers with deposits were told sorry we have no stock for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

py2006 wrote: »

Nah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,571 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Have to disagree. GTAV is coming out at the end of a console generation which is about 7 years old, and IGN have said this game feels more next gen than most next gen games announced. It's not because R* messed up with IV, it's because they're squeezing every last bit of juice out of the machines they can, using ideas from their other games they released after IV, and being as ambitious as possible, where with IV they had more of a set idea in what they wanted to achieve.

Look at the difference between Vice City and San Andreas. SA was 6 times the size of VC, with a tonne of new features, vehicles, weapons etc. Had better controls, a much bigger story and cast, and more fun stuff to do. It's kinda the same here, except I'd liken it more to the difference between GTA3 and San Andreas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭moesyzlak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

Hi, can anyone link me to the gamestop geal where you trade in 2 games off a list and get gta 5 for 9.99....Thanks in advance :)

Can't seem to find it ;(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

No hope of getting this a day early, if anyone was expecting it:

http://www.videogamer.com/xbox360/gta5/news/rockstar_has_requested_that_no_uk_retailer_dispatch_gta_5_before_september_16.html
    Rockstar has requested that online retailers hold off from dispatching copies of Grand Theft Auto 5 until September 16 in an effort to ensure early copies don't reach customers in advance of the official September 17 release date.

In an email sent to customers this evening, UK retailer GAME said that "GTA V is released on 17th September and Rockstar, who publish it, have worked very hard to make it the biggest gaming launch ever.

"They have requested that no UK retailer despatch GTA V before the 16th September and GAME, along with all reputable retailers, will respect this request."

GAME states that it will be processing orders earlier than normal "due to the epic size" of Rockstar's upcoming title, before reiterating that orders will not reach customers early.

The issue of online retailers dispatching copies well in advance of release date has led to one UK retailer - ShopTo.net - choosing not to stock copies of one of this year's biggest games.

Back in May, ShopTo announced that it would not be stocking this November's Call of Duty: Ghosts due to "contractual reasons and [a] delivery policy agreement".

The firm claimed that Activision's policy meant that it would not be able to "maintain [its] high standards of release date delivery".

Last year, UK retailer Simply Games openly advertised the fact that it would be dispatching copies of Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 in advance of release date and offered a "guaranteed Monday delivery", promising delivery a day ahead of the official release.

Some customers - VideoGamer.com included - received the game three days ahead of its official release.

GTA 5 releases on Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 on September 17.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,767 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

As I move up the years I still remain a gamer at heart, even if I don't have as much time to dedicate to it. It means I am more selective in what I buy, with BF3, GTA IV and Company of Heroes being my main stable over the last few years. I bought the PS2 just so I could play GTA:SA and while the game blew me away, I just never got comfy playing it on a gampad. Once the PC version came out, I started over again.

So, with that being said, if you think the last few days are bad in terms of waiting, I'll be waiting longer for an as yet unknown date. I really hope they confirm the PC version soon after the fanfare has died down, so we'll wait and see. As an original purchaser of GTA all those years ago, they owe it to their PC heritage. I just checked Wikipedia and it was released in the year I did my leaving, feeling ancient now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

Has GTA V, Plays Minecraft instead :confused::confused::confused:

rHpKXUH.jpg

http://www.xboxgamertag.com/search/the-warsinger/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

Penn wrote: »
    Have to disagree. GTAV is coming out at the end of a console generation which is about 7 years old, and IGN have said this game feels more next gen than most next gen games announced. It's not because R* messed up with IV, it's because they're squeezing every last bit of juice out of the machines they can, using ideas from their other games they released after IV, and being as ambitious as possible, where with IV they had more of a set idea in what they wanted to achieve.

Look at the difference between Vice City and San Andreas. SA was 6 times the size of VC, with a tonne of new features, vehicles, weapons etc. Had better controls, a much bigger story and cast, and more fun stuff to do. It's kinda the same here, except I'd liken it more to the difference between GTA3 and San Andreas.

Perhaps. But one of the main criticisms of IV was that it was dull, colourless and lacked a lot of the fun elements that made the GTA games so popular. It seems, to me anyway, that Rockstar have acknowledged this feedback and sprinkled a bit of colour back into things and brought back a lot of the more fun elements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Perhaps. But one of the main criticisms of IV was that it was dull, colourless and lacked a lot of the fun elements that made the GTA games so popular. It seems, to me anyway, that Rockstar have acknowledged this feedback and sprinkled a bit of colour back into things and brought back a lot of the more fun elements.

IV was set in Liberty City. It is, and always has been, a grey and colourless city.

There were plenty of fun things to do in that game - with or without your cousin. V is bigger and more colourful and more ambitious because like San Andreas it is coming towards the end of a generation's lifecycle where they squeeze so much more into the World.

They didn't screw up with IV - it's a massively underrated game around here, IMO. But it was, and was always going to be, a necessary step at the start of this generation's lifecycle. They built a living World, an incredibly lifelike City, a physics engine and inserted into it probably the most movie-like story ever put into a game. Now they've had six years to take what they'd built, move it over to Los Santos and squeeze as much life out of it as possible.