Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14 Mod request post#5808

• Subscribers Posts: 32,867 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Dickerty wrote: »
    Some real quality in there. Chirivella and Canos not listed yes, I guess still waiting for some form of international clearance. Both have started well, Chirivella always made captain of the U18s...

Great to see so many first-teamers still eligable for U21 as well!

I'm surprised this clearance has taken so long. What is the issue with it? I keep hoping to see them start for the underage teams, but it's obvious this hasn't happened yet. Does anyone know why? Is it because their previous clubs are reluctant to do something as they didn't want to lose them or what is the situation? It can't be that hard to bring in lads form the EU surely? It's not like there are any work permit issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,676 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Henderson isn't a specialised DM. he doesn't read the game well enough. Lucas does more than hassle, tackle, foul and slow the game down. a huge amount of his importance lies in his positioning.

Allen would indeed be more suited, but i wouldn't trust him for any extended period of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,083 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

With the likes of Borini, Downing and Shelvey gone, the cross-hairs were always going to fall on the next weakest player. As it stands Allen is that player. Given that our midfield isn't the strongest and that we've spent £15M on Allen - of course questions are going to be asked why he isn't getting into our team. He needs to step up - this will be his make or break season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Agueroooo wrote: »
    How is Yesil doing?

In recovery from his injury op. He is up and about but a return to competitive football may still be a month or two away I think.

How is Yesil doing?
    Did his ACL in early this year. Only started training in the last few weeks. I'd hope to see him playing under-21 football in the coming weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Did his ACL in early this year. Only started training in the last few weeks. I'd hope to see him playing under-21 football in the coming weeks.

They badly need a CF. Morgan has been patchy the last year, they have been using Jack Dunn as a second striker, and Adorjan is out no loan, was being used there last year as well. Peterson is an option, but we need a true CF who can finish off the chances, some excellent creative midfielders behind that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,202 ✭✭✭✭klose

SlickRic wrote: »
    Henderson isn't a specialised DM. he doesn't read the game well enough. Lucas does more than hassle, tackle, foul and slow the game down. a huge amount of his importance lies in his positioning.

Allen would indeed be more suited, but i wouldn't trust him for any extended period of time.

Areed, for the time being allen is our back up dm. Lucas looks to be nearing his best form pre injury but he seems to tire badly in the sedond half and give away silly frees like in the villa and united games.
    Hopefully if we are more then a goal to the good in future games and in control and lucas is tireing we can take him off for allen to see out the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I'm still pissed at Downing for that stupid fucking "Shh" celebration he did, tbh.

Dickerty wrote: »
    They badly need a CF. Morgan has been patchy the last year, they have been using Jack Dunn as a second striker, and Adorjan is out no loan, was being used there last year as well. Peterson is an option, but we need a true CF who can finish off the chances, some excellent creative midfielders behind that...

Bijev

mike65 wrote: »
    Bijev
    Bijev struggles to get any game time and with him being 21 soon, I suspect he's out the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

IMO Allen showed his best form when he was playing DM.
    He is more than capable of filling in if need be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,111 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Knex. wrote: »
    I'm still pissed at Downing for that stupid fucking "Shh" celebration he did, tbh.

Yep...I think he lost a lot of respect after that little charade.

He must have tried that cunning manoevure (cutting inside from the right and shooting with his 'killer' left foot) a million times, and the one time it comes off for him he reacts like a total d1ckbag.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Knex. wrote: »

I didn't like it myself, but at least he showed some character and balls to do that. He very much comes across as another Michael Owen off the pitch, you could argue that it translates into his play on the pitch as well at least for us. Dull and safe.

The sssshhh celebration would be justified if he went on and replicated his Villa form or had been doing that for a little bit before that. He was still way below the Villa displays despite being ok last season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

I see Stevie is saying he would like to be Liverpool manager one day.

Ye reckon he would be good?

Not sure that he's cut out for management.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

Downing was shįt and looked every bit like a millionaire who was just going through the motions- the ultimate hasbeen with no more desire to improve his football career any further.

a worse signing than Carroll for me who looks to be still pushing himself.

I would be surprised if Downing sees out 2yrs of his WHU career never mind the 4 he signed up for.

he's gone best forgotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,426 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

djPSB wrote: »

Always think to be a Prem manager you need a massive ego - Mourinho, Ferguson, Wenger, Benitez etc are never wrong in their own head. Don't think Stevie is like that. It probably makes him a much nicer person but won't help him as a manager.

Christ no! I may be being harsh but I cannot detect an ounce of managerial material in Gerrard

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Downing was shįt and looked every part like a millionaire who was just going through the motions- the ultimate hasbeen with no more desire to improve his football career any further.

a worse signing than Carroll for me who looks to be still pushing himself.

I would be surprised if Downing sees out 2yrs of his WHU career never mind the 4 he signed up for.

he's gone best forgotten.

His price tag means he'll never be forgotten and rightly so. Needs to be a reference point of discussion for fans and management in that stats alone don't translate into buying a player.

I agree, overall he was a worse signing than Carroll. At least Carroll contributed to winning a cup, is young and has some qualities suited for a certain type of football that could see him become a very good EPL striker. Mentally, both can be questioned though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Nuri Sahin wrote: »
    I agree, overall he was a worse signing than Carroll. At least Carroll contributed to winning a cup, is young and has some qualities suited for a certain type of football that could see him become a very good EPL striker. Mentally, both can be questioned though.

Wasn't Downing MOTM in the League Cup Final in 2012? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

gimli2112 wrote: »
    Always think to be a Prem manager you need a massive ego - Mourinho, Ferguson, Wenger, Benitez etc are never wrong in their own head. Don't think Stevie is like that. It probably makes him a much nicer person but won't help him as a manager.
    Robbie Savage's going to be a top gaffer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Imagine Robbie Savage made his whole team get the same haircut with highlights and beard as him. Pretty surreal. Could see it happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Can we stop talking about 'him', guy does my head in.

Useless footballer, useless pundit.....more than likely make up into a useless manager!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,942 ✭✭✭RayCon

gimli2112 wrote: »
    Always think to be a Prem manager you need a massive ego - Mourinho, Ferguson, Wenger, Benitez etc are never wrong in their own head.

Didn't help Keane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Does anyone else think that blondy fella of BBC would make a decent manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

mike65 wrote: »
    Christ no! I may be being harsh but I cannot detect an ounce of managerial material in Gerrard

How have you come to that conclusion?

TBH, i dont know enough about Stevie to make that call, and doubt a lot would being honest.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Courtesy Flush

Hes not particularly cut out for captain either
    I wish the club would unburden him and just let him play

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Nuri Sahin wrote: »
    His price tag means he'll never be forgotten and rightly so. Needs to be a reference point of discussion for fans and management in that stats alone don't translate into buying a player.

Esp when they're poor stats like the ones that we heard were used by Comolli to look at players.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Courtesy Flush

RayCon wrote: »
    Didn't help Keane

Keane was too stupid to be a manager. He thought all you had to do was shout at players to get the most out of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

It'd be great if Gerrard could go on to manage us and win that elusive league title eventually, but i just cant see it. I think todays footballers are too pampered to develop the organisational skills it takes to become a great manager. It's about much more than having a football brain. The lifestyles of players and managers are completely at odds with each other imo.

You never know though, i dont know him personally, he could have the attributes needed. I have a feeling he would go further than Carra in management considering the latter is rated by some as being a future pool manager.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,867 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

On future team lineups, surely a midfield comprising of Gerrard and Lucas only with Moses, Sturridge, Suarez and Coutinho in some kind of attacking foursome, would be quite exposed? It may work against some teams, but I feel that an extra midfield body in a lot of the away games, and some of the home games will be needed. I'm hoping that Henderson doesn't get immediately dropped in favour of Moses (especially before Suarez comes back) as his energy will be missed. Even when not playing especially well, he is a constant buzz and annoyance in the middle third and adds a threat as well.

I think this is why I'm not convinced on Moses. He can do a job alright, but I don't think he is sufficient in quality to make up for the absence of a Henderson (or playing well Allen) in the side. I know they don't work in the same areas, but it is that extra midfield position that will be sacrificed when Suarez/Coutinho/Sturridge are all available if they want to bring in Moses. It could fix what isn't broke essentially.