Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14 Mod request post#5808

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Morzadec wrote: »
    Small sample so I expect this to come down a bit over time, but it just goes to show what a start he's made and how important he is. You could put your house on him being the Prem's top tackler again this year.

Here is his tackling Stats for the season he got injured .

Top-5-LFC-tacklers.jpg

This was after 33 games and Lucas only played 12 .

So I don't think those stats you have posted are far off the mark and it just goes to show how important he is to the team . He also came second in the tackling list for the 2012 - 13 season and he only came back in January Lucas Leiva Liverpool 123 .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

We should have backup for Lucas. We really, really should.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

audman wrote: »
    Stop it 5star you're embarrassing me now :) You little divil you x

But look, I'm here to do what I can and help when I can. If I'm a rivalry-calming bridge for United and Liverpool fans to cross then I'm all for playing Jesus :)

Just be careful out there, audman.

That Jesus lad was crucified in the end you know.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 817 ✭✭✭audman

5live wrote: »
    Just be careful out there, audman.

That Jesus lad was crucified in the end you know.

Jesus resurrected ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Jesus resurrected ;)

Hmmm...not the only one methinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,972 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Jesus resurrected ;)

That made me lol, your a bit of a legend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭McSasquatch

I'd be more than happy to swap places with ya, we'd be doing more than talking mind you. I'd have her on all fours and I'd be behind her with the laptop resting on her back as I browse through both Boards and herself.

Definitely getting a card for this :(

Llama+disapproves.+I+WAS+ONCE+A+TREEHOUSE+I+LIVED+IN_115687_3291678.gif

Re Garcia

Didn't realize he scored so many crackers, remembered the one against Juve alright but i initially thought all his goals came about from being in the right place at right time, the one scored against Norwich was a peach.

Wouldn't have thought he frustrated so many of you on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Charlie19 wrote: »
    Re Garcia

Didn't realize he scored so many crackers, remembered the one against Juve alright but i initially thought all his goals came about from being in the right place at right time, the one scored against Norwich was a peach.

Wouldn't have thought he frustrated so many of you on here.

The amount of time he easily gave the ball away was infuriating at times. I think maybe it was just a concentration thing. Somebody picked him in there team of the decade a year or two ago.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    The amount of time he easily gave the ball away was infuriating at times. I think maybe it was just a concentration thing. Somebody picked him in there team of the decade a year or two ago.

Yeah I would of classed him as a bit of legend now myself, must be just the importance of some of his goals and I did always like his goal celebration, found it to be a bit cheeky towards the opposition fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,451 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I am pie wrote: »
    For me Garcia was one of our most frustrating performers, he scored some imoirtant goals but he was frequently anonymous. I have absolutely no doubt that on potential Coutinho is a better prospect. He has had better performances in a Liverpool shirt than Garcia ever did. Garcia drifted in and out of games, he was nowhere near "legendary" status..Coutinho will,I am certain, surpass him. Never a big Garcia fan.
    Nuri Sahin wrote: »
    Was going to reply, but you've pretty much hit the nail on the... errr head.

Have a lot of time for Luis for what he did in our run to winning the CL and how well he speaks about us still, but my god did he give me fits of rage with the most erratic (being kind) of moments of play I've seen from any single player to have played for the club. Certainly in the last decade or so.

Sooo....frustrating Garcia could be anonymous but scored vital goal after vital goal for a number of years.

Coutinho who can be anonymous, people have decided is on a different level to Garcia after 6 months.

Fair enough, I am a little more cautious than that though. I also tend to rate actual contributions over potential a bit more!

Its not about having some sort of dementia about Garcia's performances - its just about rating what is/was tangible over what could be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,296 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Garcia was far from a legend now in fairness good little player yes legend not a hope, he went missing in far too many games to be given that status

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭gafferino

Lazio president Claudio Lotito has confirmed he was interested in signing Fabio Borini and has explained why deals for Burak Yilmaz and Fabio Quagliarella failed to materialise.

Lotito was keen to add a striker to Lazio's squad before Monday's transfer deadline and considered a move for former Roma forward Borini.

However, Borini ended up joining Sunderland on a season-long loan after Lotito claimed Liverpool did not want to sell the 22-year-old.

"His name was under consideration, but Liverpool didn't want to sell him outright and they preferred to keep him in the Premiership," Lotito told Corriere dello Sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭klose

shamrock55 wrote: »
    Garcia was far from a legend now in fairness good little player yes legend not a hope, he went missing in far too many games to be given that status

When coutinho gets moved centrally full time hes going to be much more involved, hes been shunted out wide so far this season but with suarez coming back you could play him, moses/hendo on the other wing and coutinho centrally. Am really looking forward to seeing the new team/squad play, strongest weve had in years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭gafferino

Grayditch wrote: »
    We should have backup for Lucas. We really, really should.

Toure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Apparently Sakho can play DM when asked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

gafferino wrote: »
    Toure?

Is the right answer for now.

It's been a while since Toure was a DM, right? Read something about Sakho being alright in the position, anyone know about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,973 ✭✭✭✭8-10

PRAF wrote: »
    Agree with you, Hendo could end up being Mr Versatile for us. A modern day Ronnie Whelan perhaps. He's got the attributes to play in mulitple different positions including RB, RWB, CM, AM, etc. A great option to have in the squad.

Ronnie was some player for us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

8-10 wrote: »
    Ronnie was some player for us
    its hard to believe
    when he seems so clueless when he's on RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Super-Rush wrote: »
    Apparently Sakho can play DM when asked.

3 or 4 can play there 'if asked'. What we need moving forward is someone who plays there, brings strength on the ball and in challenges and can also play a bit.

After Lucas we are struggling there and what we need is proper competition. We cant just wing it by utilising players, by all means the odd game here or there but its too important a position not to reinforce there. Lucas i would say right now is getting better but not quite good enough in the grand scheme either imo unless he reaches that form and sustains it for longer periods that we saw when Kenny came in to the end of that season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

daithijjj wrote: »
    unless he reaches that form and sustains it for longer periods that we saw when Kenny came in to the end of that season.

I think he can regain that form because the biggest thing after his injury is he willing to stick his foot in again . To me he is very willing and I believe he will get back to his best . I mean to be out for aslong as he was with such a serious injury he has shown to mental strenght needed to regain his form .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Knex. wrote: »

I live with 6 lads. 2 united 2 arsenal 2 lads who don't follow anyone and me. We share a ps3 and have only one account on it. I edited the players to make it how I thought they were. Got a bit carried away and put Lucas 87 Suarez 88 coutinho 84 Studge 84 and Mignolet 82. Put Downing down to 72 and Joe Cole 60! The boys weren't happy at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

I really liked Garcia as I said, but I think comparing him to Coutinho is a bit silly imo. From what I've seen so far, Coutinho can be a world beater. He's still young and needs to add consistency to his game and if he can do that he'll be world class imo. Garcia had the odd flashes of brilliance and could score goals that I think Coutinho can't. However he'll only ever be a cult hero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

hefferboi wrote: »
    I live with 6 lads. 2 united 2 arsenal 2 lads who don't follow anyone and me. We share a ps3 and have only one account on it. I edited the players to make it how I thought they were. Got a bit carried away and put Lucas 87 Suarez 88 coutinho 84 Studge 84 and Mignolet 82. Put Downing down to 72 and Joe Cole 60! The boys weren't happy at all!

Quite generous there , always found Downing overrated in it myself.

Lay off Luis lads that goal vs Juve & the screamer vs Chelsea should leave him shielded from criticism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

I think he can regain that form because the biggest thing after his injury is he willing to stick his foot in again . To me he is very willing and I believe he will get back to his best . I mean to be out for aslong as he was with such a serious injury he has shown to mental strenght needed to regain his form .

Tackling isnt the issue really, he will give the effort no doubt but he was playing much better in possession of the ball than he is now.

hefferboi wrote: »
    I live with 6 lads. 2 united 2 arsenal 2 lads who don't follow anyone and me. We share a ps3 and have only one account on it.

Can you imagine how annoying manager mode is when you pick United.

Season Start
    Week 1:
    Scout ideal midfielders. Search results have returned: Paul Pogba. Make bid? You have selected no. Press X to beat Swansea. Warning, your squad contains Ryan Giggs, do you wish to continue?
    Week 2: Press X to walk around the pitch with Chelsea like yous are both on a first date. Rooney has asked to play the second half for Chelsea seeing as nobody is scoring anyway. Barcelona have asked that you stop calling. Please.
    Week 3: You have lost to Liverpool, but it's ok, because they weren't good either.
    Ander Herrera will cost you 30m. Another 30m will have to be paid to Spain, the country. The three lawyers were free. You have selected "f*ck this".

You have run out of scouting options, would you like to use your mobile contacts? You have selected yes. Provide Fellaini with petrol money? You have selected maybe. Phil Jones has tried to make two Rooneys out of one Rooney at training, would you like to replace him with
    Coentrao? You have select...Window shut. Good luck. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

daithijjj wrote: »
    Tackling isnt the issue really, he will give the effort no doubt but he was playing much better in possession of the ball than he is now.

It was never his strongest point, but I recall listening to an ex player on about a serious injury, (can't remember who it was) saying how there's a moment in a game where the player goes in for a 50/50 tackle, aces it and no longer is nervy about straining the injury. It's a psychological thing.

The best example I can think of is Karl Lacey for Donegal during the Summer, came back, got another injury, wasn't the same both times. It needs to be managed by the player and medical team, I'd say the Summer break was a big benefit to Lucas. I've seen signs in the last couple of games that he is trying to be more creative, that was something he was doing before the injuries, developing his game into not just being a DM.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Knex. wrote: »

I think a couple of the people answering post here too.