John Waters goes to prison......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,535 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

All of that's irrelevant. The only relevant point is that he choose not to pay a fine that he was legally obliged to pay. There's no glaring injustice here.

Agreed. Instead of going to jail they should have siezed his car! no more problems parking in Dun Laoghaire for Mr Waters! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Newstalk has some good shows, but how the hell they still have a joke figure into their biggest slot is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭ozmo

cdebru wrote: »
    16 minutes he was allowed a 15 minute grace period and he still didn't get back on time, seems fair to me unless you are suggesting he should get a grace period on the grace period.
    Should have kept him in for being an idiot.

Ahh - that makes more sense - I just read in IT that he is saying there he had 4 minutes still left on the ticket....
    link

“When I arrived back at my car a parking ticket was planted on it though I had four more minutes’ parking time left.”

I would have kicked up a fuss also had I had got a ticket and was parked and paid for correctly.

“Roll it back”

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

That's baffling logic.

So if after getting this ticket because his parking expired by 1 minute, John Waters decided to punch the parking warden in the face,
    If he punched the parking warden then why isn't he being done for assault ?

Also isn't the grace period for actively loading / unloading ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Waters has always been an idiot. I for one do not believe he actually believes the things he shouts about. I remember seeing old footage of him from the late late and he was going on about how the country was destroyed. This was just before the boom happened. :rolleyes:

Anybody who doesn't understand the positives of parking enforcement is an idiot. Even with parking enforcement people still park like fools

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,034 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

As much of a tit as Watters is, there is a valid point in here if you look hard enough.

You get a 40e fine if you are over the paid time, but if you leave ten minutes before your paid time, you don't get a refund.

There are other mechanisms in other countries, whereby you can pay additional fees if you have overstayed by a few minutes. There is merit in looking at the setup and changing it for a fairer one, rather than the cashcow that is the current system, not to mention the rediculous amount of tax payers money spent in frivolous prosecutions such as these.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

If he punched the parking warden then why isn't he being done for assault ?

He would be done for assault in that situation, and his parking wouldn't come into it whatsoever.

His crime in this case was non-payment of a fine, the parking didn't come into it whatsoever.

The poster I was arguing with seems adamant that he went to jail because he was 1 minute late collecting his car. He went to jail because he ignored his legal obligation to pay a fine.

everlast75 wrote: »
    As much of a tit as Watters is, there is a valid point in here if you look hard enough.

You get a 40e fine if you are over the paid time, but if you leave ten minutes before your paid time, you don't get a refund.

There are other mechanisms in other countries, whereby you can pay additional fees if you have overstayed by a few minutes. There is merit in looking at the setup and changing it for a fairer one, rather than the cashcow that is the current system, not to mention the rediculous amount of tax payers money spent in frivolous prosecutions such as these.

That isn't valid it is just the break down of a simple system.

Can you prove it is a cash cow?

Can you give links to these other country systems and how they work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,034 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Ray Palmer wrote: »

I'm sorry - I didn't realise I was on Judge Judy!

1) up to 2:60 an hour around parts of Dublin = 26 for each space in an average working day, 130e a week, 6500e a year... Per space. PLUS 40e fines if you are one minute over the 'grace period' not to mention 2:60 per hour or 'part thereof' so there's more than that available if different motorists use the same space.

2) these other systems were discussed on two separate radio shows yesterday. I won't be providing links as I'm kinda busy working.

Ps / I note you don't disagree with the comment about it being a rediculous waste of taxpayers money prosecuting

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

"HUNDREDS OF thousands of well wishers attended a ticker tape parade in John Waters’ imagination today, after he blatantly refused to pay a parking fine, resulting him in being briefly jailed for several terrifying hours."

http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2013/09/04/thousands-attend-heros-welcome-home-parade-in-john-waters-imagination-today/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭cdebru

ozmo wrote: »
    Ahh - that makes more sense - I just read in IT that he is saying there he had 4 minutes still left on the ticket....
    link

“When I arrived back at my car a parking ticket was planted on it though I had four more minutes’ parking time left.”

I would have kicked up a fuss also had I had got a ticket and was parked and paid for correctly.

He maintains that he was one minute outside the 15-minutes' "grace" allowed after a ticket runs out.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/journalist-john-waters-arrested-over-nonpayment-of-parking-fine-29548685.html
    “I paid my € 2 and when I came back there was this ticket with the time 16 minutes over the hour.”
    “A man who I spoke to said the warden walked past the car and checked the time on the ticket, then came back when it was a minute over. That’s three cents over.”

This is from the Irish Times online edition yesterday, so not only is he a fool but his story is changing, perhaps he realised he looked like a complete idiot when he was completely in the wrong so we have the " I had 4 minutes left" version of the story today.

Which is it 16 minutes over or 4 minutes left ? Why did he think he owed them 3 cents if he had 4 minutes left ?

Now you also note from his story yesterday, he did not see the traffic warden, a man told him the ticket was issued at 16 minutes after his paid parking expired but what time did he return to his car given he did not see the traffic warden.

The guy is a bigger ass than I thought and that is some achievement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

He would be done for assault in that situation, and his parking wouldn't come into it whatsoever.

His crime in this case was non-payment of a fine, the parking didn't come into it whatsoever.

The poster I was arguing with seems adamant that he went to jail because he was 1 minute late collecting his car. He went to jail because he ignored his legal obligation to pay a fine.

No, that is not what I said. What I said was that "he got a ticket for been 1 minute late on a parking ticket and ends up in Jail".

And this is true. He got caught parking past the time that he had paid for, got a ticket, he got fined, he ignored fine, warrant issued, warrant reissued, jail. That is the sequence of events. He would not have been fined had he not got a parking ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Waters is a lantherin' great buck-ape.

I'm sorry - I didn't realise I was on Judge Judy!

1) up to 2:60 an hour around parts of Dublin = 26 for each space in an average working day, 130e a week, 6500e a year... Per space. PLUS 40e fines if you are one minute over the 'grace period' not to mention 2:60 per hour or 'part thereof' so there's more than that available if different motorists use the same space.

That is not an illustration of it making money just the costs to use. Given how much it costs to police and prosecute people maybe it runs at a loss?

1 minute over the grace period is a silly way to look at it. 16 minute over the time is the correct way to look at it.
    2) these other systems were discussed on two separate radio shows yesterday. I won't be providing links as I'm kinda busy working.

How expensive are they? Are we meant to fork out money to install these? The system is very straight forward at the moment and the only people complaining are whingers.

I remember before the metering. Lots of parking spaces but never useable as there were people using them like private spaces.
    Ps / I note you don't disagree with the comment about it being a rediculous waste of taxpayers money prosecuting
    I was waiting for you to explain how much money was made from parking to see if it can justify the cost of occasional prosecutions. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Hes a timewaster, spoilt and arrogant. Should have paid the ticket. People pay theres all over the country. If he had a real job or a family who depend on him he wouldn't have been so smug and righteous about been sent to jail. Also wasting court time. And the two Gardai who had to bring him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

For such a religious man he doesn't seem too worried about rendering unto Caesar, as Jesus taught. What a hypocrite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,910 ✭✭✭amandstu

Funny the man stands up to the system that has ****ed over every women man and child in this country and you make fun of him, seriously ye get paid off by enda and his crooks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

amandstu wrote: »
    Funny the man stands up to the system that has ****ed over every women man and child in this country and you make fun of him, seriously ye get paid off by enda and his crooks?

I'm not making fun of him, I just think he's a fucken ape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,711 ✭✭✭stimpson

Dun Laoghaire - Rathdown council never ****ed me over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

This had nothing to do with making a stand against "the system", just Waters standing up for his ego.

If this was a decent human being making a valid stand, you'd find them well supported. John Waters is neither a decent human being nor a person making a valid stand.

Stands up for the people???
    The guy is such a hypocrite. Religious beliefs: Believes the catholic church is very important and the sanctity of marriage. Has child out of wedlock with somebody so not in the belief of the Catholic church.
    Stands against gay marriage.
    Is a self confessed luddite, believes all blogs and bloggers are stupid. Refused to use e-mail for a long time claiming people were ignoring the dangers of the internet!

One thing I agree with him on is his stand on fathers rights. Then again I think he just picks things to moan about to be on the fringes. As a professional journalist he has yet to prove him self to have any value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭IsaacWunder

Stands up for the people???
    The guy is such a hypocrite. Religious beliefs: Believes the catholic church is very important and the sanctity of marriage. Has child out of wedlock with somebody so not in the belief of the Catholic church.
    Stands against gay marriage.
    Is a self confessed luddite, believes all blogs and bloggers are stupid. Refused to use e-mail for a long time claiming people were ignoring the dangers of the internet!

One thing I agree with him on is his stand on fathers rights.Then again I think he just picks things to moan about to be on the fringes. As a professional journalist he has yet to prove him self to have any value.

No, he picks topics that affect him. If Aer Lingus lost his luggage the next week he'd be praising Ryanair. Every crusade he's started on has been driven by self interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I was clamped a few months ago, I was just outside the 15 minute grace period (which in my opinion is generous) Where do we draw the line being ok outside the grace period? 1 minute, 2 minutes, 3.5 minutes?...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

They should've shot the fecker and be done with it,

22/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Did you post that exact, word-for-word identical comment under the hilarious article posted just above?

Dvbkd1U.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

which system is this?

No, he picks topics that affect him. If Aer Lingus lost his luggage the next week he'd be praising Ryanair. Every crusade he's started on has been driven by self interest.
    Gay marriage! How does that effect him personally?

Why this guy is given a national forum has always been a mystery to me.

Sinead O'Connor was a good match for him.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

There was a program on telly about it , quota's/ targets and all

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/councils-rake-in-millions-from-parking-fines-as-rac-attacks-authorities-nice-little-earner-8741225.html

These were the councils with the largest surpluses (before capital charges) in 2011/12

1. Westminster £41.6 million

2. Kensington & Chelsea £28.1 million

3. Camden (north London) £25.0 million

4. Hammersmith and Fulham (west London) £19.5 million

5. Wandsworth (south west London) £16.1 million

6. Brighton and Hove £14.4 million

7. Islington (north London) £10.9 million

8. Cornwall £7.9 million

9. Newham (east London) £7.3 million

10. Hounslow (west London) £7.3 million

But parking is like Ryanair.
    Everyone knows that if you break the rules it's going to wind up expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,910 ✭✭✭amandstu

B0jangles wrote: »
    Did you post that exact, word-for-word identical comment under the hilarious article posted just above?

Dvbkd1U.jpg
    Guilty your honour!
    Well I mean I copied it for a laugh.

There was a program on telly about it , quota's/ targets and all

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/councils-rake-in-millions-from-parking-fines-as-rac-attacks-authorities-nice-little-earner-8741225.html

These were the councils with the largest surpluses (before capital charges) in 2011/12

1. Westminster £41.6 million

2. Kensington & Chelsea £28.1 million

3. Camden (north London) £25.0 million

4. Hammersmith and Fulham (west London) £19.5 million

5. Wandsworth (south west London) £16.1 million

6. Brighton and Hove £14.4 million

7. Islington (north London) £10.9 million

8. Cornwall £7.9 million

9. Newham (east London) £7.3 million

10. Hounslow (west London) £7.3 million

But parking is like Ryanair.
    Everyone knows that if you break the rules it's going to wind up expensive.

And that applies to IRELAND how????

Try again