Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14 Mod request post#5808

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭dr ro

It's hard not to get carried away when you look at the league table, and our upcoming handy looking fixtures, but realistically it's not like we've been destroying the opposition in every match. 3 1-nil wins could quite easily have been 3 1 all draws. Luckily that's not the case. Even if we do pick up 12 to 15 points from our next 6 matches it's far too early to be thinking top 4 or beyond(champions personally). The end of feb is time for those thoughts imo.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

I think people in general amongst our supporters are looking too deeply into Coutinho's poor performance this past Sunday. It's a position where the likes like Mata, Kagawa, Silva and Cazorla have played in the past (and even still in the case of Shinji -_-), and yet they've been inconsistent when playing out wide themselves. Even last season, for those 5 months Coutinho was playing with us, my only negative about him was at times he drifted in and out of games for decent length spells. I didn't blame him for that though because I realised the above. Those who remember King Luis when he first joined us and was playing out wide at times, he was very much the same. Coutinho is obviously a level or two higher than Garcia but I hope you get my point that these players need to play a pivotal role, a central role to get the best out of them.

One thing I noticed when watching the game back is that Coutinho did a lot of tracking back during the game and I imagine that did tire him out, especially when United grabbed a foothold in the game during the second half. He won't be asked to do nearly as much as that when playing centrally. Enrique couldn't be that outlet ball as much as we are used too because he had to guard against Valencia and when Welbeck and Van Persie pushed out wide which they did a fair bit. Midfield was obviously congested and Sturridge was at 70% as he himself pointed out too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

dr ro wrote: »
    It's hard not to get carried away when you look at the league table, and our upcoming handy looking fixtures, but realistically it's not like we've been destroying the opposition in every match. 3 1-nil wins could quite easily have been 3 1 all draws. Luckily that's not the case. Even if we do pick up 12 to 15 points from our next 6 matches it's far too early to be thinking top 4 or beyond(champions personally). The end of feb is time for those thoughts imo.

Absolutely. Those were 3 very close games that we could very easily have finished up with just 3 points from, as you say, and nobody would have felt hard done by. We're still every much outsiders for 4th imo, but at least it doesn't seem like a completely hopeless cause anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭gafferino

Lads I think redzerdrog wanted 16 points from 5 games......it was a joke.
    We get jokes don't we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭dr ro

gafferino wrote: »
    We get jokes don't we?

maybe he's dyslexic and wants 15 points from 6 games and it's no joke!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,867 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

rarnes1 wrote: »
    How did you find the atmosphere Sunday?

Seemed a lot better than last year. The early goal obviously helped

Ya, much better. It was essentially reminiscent of the 2-0 a few years back when N'Gog scored the late second. Great atmosphere with us not being on top the whole time. It was quite nervy as well, but thankfully no real close shaves. I was down the Anfield road end and possibly because I was the other side of the stand to the utd fans I couldn't hear them a lot for a change, although I'm sure they were quite vocal as usual. Last year I was in the main stand only about 20 metres from them getting the full force, so it was a lot more depressing.

If it was that atmosphere every week at home we'd get 50+ points I reckon. It'll be back to the more sterile stuff for the next home game though sadly, which will be the first Liverpool game since West Ham in early April that I won't have been at.
    aramush wrote: »
    Surely Rodgers will get manager of the month and Sturridge player?

I hope not considering the curse of the Manager of the Month award!
    Nuri Sahin wrote: »
    Also...

Hopefully it's..

Moses - Sturridge - Suarez

- - - - - Coutinho - - - - -
    In theory great, but I'd be loathe to lose Henderson's energy and constant buzzing presence. Over the last 12 months I feel he has warranted inclusion. It's a hard one to call though. Before Suarez comes back though I would definitely drop Aspas over Henderson if he is including Moses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

dr ro wrote: »
    maybe he's dyslexic and wants 15 points from 6 games and it's no joke!

It's a play on the 3 point per game joke!

It's nice to have points on the board already and not the usual hoping for rivals to drop points already!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Pilsbury Doughboy

We get jokes don't we?

Yea, but my point still sta Ah feck it, yes ok I was whooshed thought he meant 6 games..

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,077 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

5starpool wrote: »
    Ya, much better. It was essentially reminiscent of the 2-0 a few years back when N'Gog scored the late second. Great atmosphere with us not being on top the whole time. .

I was in the kop for that one - great day all together, haven't been able to get over since though:(

5starpool wrote: »

In theory great, but I'd be loathe to lose Henderson's energy and constant buzzing presence. Over the last 12 months I feel he has warranted inclusion. It's a hard one to call though. Before Suarez comes back though I would definitely drop Aspas over Henderson if he is including Moses.

I just feel that Moses can offer us more in the lesser games. More drive, pace and power. Something we've lacked for the most part for years it feels like except for the odd player. The additions of Sakho, Cissokho, Toure and of course Moses (my doubts about his finishing aside) are changing that thankfully.

I'm all for Henderson having his spot v Everton, United, City, Arsenal, Spurs, Chelsea and a few other away games.

I do think though that he was very poor against Stoke, despite us being well on top in the first half, it felt we were playing with 10 men in spite of his presence in the starting line up. Villa was a bit better, defensively he was worth his place. From an attacking point of view, not so much.

The moment Aspas was signed, most of us knew he was mostly going to be a squad player and that will certainly prove the case other than the odd start here and there. He'll be a useful squad player IMHO it must be said.

edit - it's great we have these options now, something we can both agree on :)

Maybe Redzer wants the league to change the points system to that of the Emirates Cup where you get an extra point for scoring 3 goals or whatever it is :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,775 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

We get jokes don't we?

its bad when these things need to be explained :-[

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,775 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Maybe Redzer wants the league to change the points system to that of the Emirates Cup where you get an extra point for scoring 3 goals or whatever it is :pac:

i think we could be onto something here!

do they actually have this in the emirates cup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

What are they smoking over at the Emirates Cup?

redzerdrog wrote: »
    i think we could be onto something here!

do they actually have this in the emirates cup?

It was actually for every goal scored!
    Each team played two matches, with three points awarded for a win, one point for a draw, and a point for every goal scored. In addition, shots on target were taken into account and were used to decide the tournament winners if teams are level on points and goal difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Paulegend

It was actually for every goal scored!

wow:D

and suarez wanted to go to that lot lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Paulegend wrote: »
    wow:D

and suarez wanted to go to that lot lol

Well it should be a guaranteed trophy every season .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 817 ✭✭✭audman

Points for shots on target? Jesus, it sounds like excuses/consolations you'd look for if you lost in a game of FIFA. I'd be shooting on side, 15 shots from behind the halfway line that rolled in to the keepers hands but sure f*ck it it's a few points on the board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I hear the Standard Chartered cup has a point per times the woodwork hit. Also, we can't lose as we're the only team in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

mav79 wrote: »
    Don't know if it was mentioned since the match on Sunday, but it was great to see Sturridge celebrate with Rogers. Shows a good bond between the players and management.

Yeah, there seems to be a good buzz coming from the club. Things like Sturridges celebration and the Mignolet save reaction and even the players saying there's a different attitude there.

It really is encouraging to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Supraman

Everyone else still on a high from utd game ? Meeting a few utd mates tomorrow night , conversation should be interesting . I wonder who they will blame !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭PRAF

Supraman wrote: »
    Everyone else still on a high from utd game ? Meeting a few utd mates tomorrow night , conversation should be interesting . I wonder who they will blame !

Moyes and Woodward seem to be getting the most flak right now. Long may it continue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,680 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

darced wrote: »

In that same interview yesterday though, Rodgers said it was Moses being able to take that attacking left slot that would allow Coutinho to play centrally at times. He also seemed to stress that it would only be at times. Also, Rodgers loves having 2 quick wing forwards supporting his central striker, it's what he's always favoured.

I think for games against weaker opposition, we'll see Sturridge up too, Moses and Suarez as wide forwards and Coutinho AMC, but in any tougher games we'll play 3 centre mids, with Sturridge centre forward, Suarez one side, and Coutinho and Moses battling it out for who starts on the other side.

Once Suarez comes back, it'll be nice to be able to use him as centre forward from time to time, so we can rest Sturridge - I'm just always worried about fatigue with that chap causing niggles. He seems quite susceptible to little knocks and injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Thinking about the latest acquisitions...

Henderson should not be dropped for Moses. Until Suarez comes back, Aspas and Moses should fight it out for the other attacknig spot. When Suarez is back, I still think Hendo might play wide right, with Suarez left of centre and Coutinho more central.

Defense will be partly dictated by injuries. Assuming Toure is fit and Johnson isn't, I think we might see Henderson as a right wing back, with Enrique the same on the other side, and Toure, Agger and Sakho all starting. Agger in the centre, as a sort of sweeper, and Sakho left where he is most comfortable. When defending, we go to a normal back 4, and when attacking, those 3 stay back and we have real width with the FBs...

Migs

Toure----Agger----Sakho
    -Henderson
    Enrique-
    Lucas

Gerrard
    Coutinho

Aspas
    Sturridge

Subs: Jones, Wisdom, Skrtel, Ilori, Moses, Sterling, Alberto
    Inj: Cissokho, Johnson, Allen
    Out of squad: Ibe, Kelly, Flanagan

I watched the U21 game the other night. Kelly started, and he did ok, but he's pretty slow when playing as a Full Back - he's put on even more muscle, and he doesn't look very mobile. So I think he's becoming more of a CB for me.

Best players were Teixeira, McLoughlin and Rossiter.
    Tex was very good going forward, but gave the ball away cheaply on occasion. He's not very different from Suso, very similar strengths and weaknesses.
    McL was playing left back and always dangerous, won the free that we scored from when tricking his way past two defenders. He's be a great Wing Back, so direct and effective in the opposition half.
    Rossiter kept the play ticking over, made some good interceptions, and just looked SO mature. He's ONLY 16!!!! I think we'll see him in the squad a few times next season, if not this one. He's a huge talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Supraman wrote: »

You should send an imposter in your place then stand back and watch it all unfold.

Dickerty wrote: »
    Thinking about the latest acquisitions...

Henderson should not be dropped for Moses. Until Suarez comes back, Aspas and Moses should fight it out for the other attacknig spot. When Suarez is back, I still think Hendo might play wide right, with Suarez left of centre and Coutinho more central.

Defense will be partly dictated by injuries. Assuming Toure is fit and Johnson isn't, I think we might see Henderson as a right wing back, with Enrique the same on the other side, and Toure, Agger and Sakho all starting. Agger in the centre, as a sort of sweeper, and Sakho left where he is most comfortable. When defending, we go to a normal back 4, and when attacking, those 3 stay back and we have real width with the FBs...

Migs

Toure----Agger----Sakho
    -Henderson
    Enrique-
    Lucas

Gerrard
    Coutinho

Aspas
    Sturridge

Subs: Jones, Wisdom, Skrtel, Ilori, Moses, Sterling, Alberto
    Inj: Cissokho, Johnson, Allen
    Out of squad: Ibe, Kelly, Flanagan

Henderson wing back?

Were you over at the Emirates having a toke?

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Henderson wing back?

Were you over at the Emirates having a toke?

Not this week, no.

He's definately capable of that. He has the defensive capabilities, the engine to get up and down, and the tactical discipline to be in the right place at the right time. I don't think we'll change much after 3 wins and 3 clean sheets, but it could certainly work..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Supraman

Turtyturd wrote: »
    You should send an imposter in your place then stand back and watch it all unfold.

That's a classic ! I wonder will any of them cancel before this evening lol .