Mrs Browns Boys....The Film

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Dear Fox_In_Socks,

Please be aware that "The Jizzlers" is a registered trademark of C&H as a subsidiary of Boards.ie. If you do not cease with this line of humour, you will be liable for prosecution by our legal team*.

Cordially,
    wnolan1992

*OK, we don't have a legal team, but one of our regular posters is studying law so...

Sorry, I apologise.

How about:

"I heah dey calling it The Master Baiters! T'is abou' Fishermen, far out on the ocean...away from women!" /eye-roll

"Ah, Mammy! Hahahahahaha!!!!"/durty laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Am I the only one who fails to find this show or Brendan O'Carroll funny?

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭AllCaps

The TV show is the greatest pile of ****e I've watched in a long time... a poor excuse for comedy. I can't imagine a movie being much better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

It's got a market, like Crystal Swing has got a demographic that like that sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

SV wrote: »
    It is more popular to say you don't find this show funny than it is to say you enjoy it.
    Yet it still does incredibly well, go figure.

Depends on what company you are in. I've been around people when the topic of this show has come up and to them this show is the very definition of comedy.
    I also agree with the When The Whistle Blows reference. It's entirely dated, low brow rubbish that is on par with a ridiculous parody of the genre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Sorry, I apologise.

How about:

"I heah dey calling it The Master Baiters! T'is abou' Fishermen, far out on the ocean...away from women!" /eye-roll

"Ah, Mammy! Hahahahahaha!!!!"/durty laugh

Much better! /calls off lawyers

:P

But anyway, fair play to him I guess. I dislike the show (I actually liked the DVD versions released some years ago that had no laugh track) but it's popular so more power to him.

I sort of lost all respect for O'Carroll when I part of an episode where he blatantly ripped off the "There's no ANY key on this computer!" joke. It was funny in the 90's man, not now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Personally I find more laughs in Platoon than in Mrs Brown's Boys.
    "free your mind and the ass will follow"
    among others.

dont forget Hamburger Hill.

"I was drafted, sworn in and had my hair cut before I was sober...."
    "We've been up on that hill ten times, and they still don't think we're serious."
    ".......I'm orphan, my brother's queer, the city of Chicago got the clap from my sister. Mum drinks, Dad coughs blood, I have ringworm, emersion foot...the incurable crud and the draft ruined my chances of being a brain surgeon. People. You have no problem. Except me. And him."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Much better! /calls off lawyers

:P

But anyway, fair play to him I guess. I dislike the show (I actually liked the DVD versions released some years ago that had no laugh track) but it's popular so more power to him.

I sort of lost all respect for O'Carroll when I part of an episode where he blatantly ripped off the "There's no ANY key on this computer!" joke. It was funny in the 90's man, not now.
    I guess he tried to order a Tab to the confusion of many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Its brainless cheap comedy for the more simple minded side of working class Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

The Van was fantastic, i see no reason to doubt this will be as good.

Roddy Doyle?:confused:

Meh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Meh.

Is that Mrs Brown's catchphrase? Oh, we have a fan here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

I don't watch it, I don't think it's funny, I also think the X-Factor and most of them shows are sh1te too. But plenty of people like them, it's innocent harmless fun, a form of escapism and it's not really doing anyone any harm.

What p1sses me off is knowing the amount of times he will pop up on RTE over the next few months promoting the film for free on the Late Late, Saturday Night, Radio etc etc.

It still astonishes me the amount of airplay RTE staff give their friends and fellow clients of their agents, when plenty of good, young talent here gets little or no airtime. Same old dross telling the same old stories year after year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Brendan O'Carroll's no Colm Meaney!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

I think many people fail to perceive that O'Carroll is seeking to subvert the very idea of "popular" comedy by producing a melange of cliche, double entendre and derivative pun-making in order to point up the very real meaninglessness of "humour" in the context of the post-modern existential dilemma-his genius is to disguise a Derrida influenced "artistic masquerade" as a piece of mainstream entertainment while undermining both the soi-disant 'sophisticated' audience's expectations , and the demands of the , as Sartre would have described them, lumpencommentariat, insofar as MBB contains the very highest standard of self-criticism internalised within its own structures. That's wor I think inanyways, and the rest of yiz can go an' sh*te.

Mrs. Browne's Boys is just a Dub version of Miss Doubtfire with bad language.

Is that Mrs Brown's catchphrase? Oh, we have a fan here!

Is it? I watched it once for about 15 minutes and had to turn it off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Is it? I watched it once for about 15 minutes and had to turn it off!

Your sides precariously close to splitting?

token101 wrote: »
    Brendan O'Carroll's no Colm Meaney!!!!!
    Aye Aye Captain.

He's no Robert Sheehan or Chris O'Dowd either but you rarely hear them getting the same amount of plugging.
    Seen both in major (****e) films recently where they were hardly even credited.
    Chris in Gullivers Travels, Robert in Season of the Witch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Good luck to him, don't mind him or the show, what ever rocks your boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

I'm not a fan, seen him doing stand up 20+ years ago, his material & style hasn't changed much & I wouldn't pay to see him again, having said that, I wouldn't begrudge him his success, best of luck to him, hope he makes a fortune....all the begrudgers should take a chill pill, treat yourself to a pot noodle & have an early night, because he doesn't give a sh1te what you think.

Joe prim wrote: »
    I think many people fail to perceive that O'Carroll is seeking to subvert the very idea of "popular" comedy by producing a melange of cliche, double entendre and derivative pun-making in order to point up the very real meaninglessness of "humour" in the context of the post-modern existential dilemma-his genius is to disguise a Derrida influenced "artistic masquerade" as a piece of mainstream entertainment while undermining both the soi-disant 'sophisticated' audience's expectations , and the demands of the , as Sartre would have described them, lumpencommentariat, insofar as MBB contains the very highest standard of self-criticism internalised within its own structures. That's wor I think inanyways, and the rest of yiz can go an' sh*te.
    Can you use "lumpencommentariat" in a sentence please.
    Then can you use in a dirty sentence.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

RayM wrote: »
    It's aimed towards idiots and people who don't like comedy.

Country n' Irish performs the same function for folks who aren't mad about music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,186 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

ricero wrote: »
    Id rather watch when the whistle blows. A superior comedy ;-)

You having a laugh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Its brainless cheap comedy for the more simple minded side of working class Dublin.[/QUOTE

"Get you !!!!!!!!"

*clutches handbag*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

The first film was alright.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0160509/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Cienciano wrote: »
    Everyone seems to say "fair play to him". No one dislikes Brendan as a person, and people are happy he's doing well. But his show is awful shíte.

I dislike him as a person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

He brought the whole film crew virtually over from England with him. That's easy money he could have given to the Irish economy. I know one of the few local people on it and it sounds like racist embarrassing ****e.

Just incredible to me that such a respected studio would put so much money behind this. I quite like Brendan himself but the appeal of Mrs Brown's boys is completely beyond me. It's such lowest common denominator stuff.