Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mrs Browns Boys....The Film

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Best of luck and all, but I'm not a fan.

Most overrated show ever.
    You can see the jokes punchlines coming a mile away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Am I the only one who fails to find this show or Brendan O'Carroll funny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭lau1247

They were filming at Moore street on Sunday I think

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

I heah dey calling it "The Jizzlers!!!!!!"

"Ah, Mammy!Hahahahahahaha"/durty laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Dicky Pride

Am I the only one that gets bored by the same old abuse of this show? You don't like it. Get over it. Other people do.

A fellow Irish person is making a success of himself. Fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Fair play to him indeed.

But am I the only one that would rather staple their eyelids shut then watch this crap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭Gerry91

Mint Sauce wrote: »

Certainly not

Load of sh1te

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Fcuk Brendan O Carroll and fcuk Mrs Brownes Boys!

Pile of ****e

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

My easiest way of sussing if any new colleague or potential friend has a semblance of intelligence in recent years comes down mostly to one thing;

Do they find Mrs Brown's Boys funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Am I the only one that gets bored by the same old abuse of this show? You don't like it. Get over it. Other people do.

If people think it's crap they are entitled to say.

I think it's crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Not my bag at all.. I don't know how anyone can find it funny. But yeah, fair play to them anyway. They've managed to satisfy an audience made up mostly of idiots.. which is no easy task.

And before someone accuses me of being a 'begrudger' .. don't bother, I already know I'm a bitter old cnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Paddywhackery at its finest, I thought we'd moved past that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Bullchomper

Nope. Definitely not the only one. I hate his humour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Dicky Pride

If people think it's crap they are entitled to say.

I think it's crap.

Good for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Id rather watch when the whistle blows. A superior comedy ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Fair play to the comedians whose jokes he steals and then transplants directly into his highly lucrative show.

It's aimed towards idiots and people who don't like comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,642 ✭✭✭cml387

Not my bag at all.. I don't know how anyone can find it funny. But yeah, fair play to them anyway. They've managed to satisfy an audience made up mostly of idiots.. which is no easy task.

And before someone accuses me of being a 'begrudger' .. don't bother, I already know I'm a bitter old cnut.

I don't see it often.

B O'C is not to my personal taste. Whenever I do catch it by accident, I always finish up laughing out loud at least twice.

I then feel ashamed and switch off.

It's most perplexing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

wazky wrote: »
    Fair play to him indeed.

But am I the only one that would rather staple their eyelids shut then watch this crap?

Fair play to him etc

But am I the only one would rather staple their eyes, ears and assh@le shut than watch that crap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Ah what's this "Am I the only one" stuff about? Ye know full well plenty of people loathe that show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Paddywhackery at its finest, I thought we'd moved past that.

On the contrary, I don't begrudge the man or the concept of the show. I wish him and all involved every success in the future etc etc.

Still think it's shyte though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Cant stand it myself so bloody low brow its like a ten year old writes the scripts, but my mother and her mate in the 50+ age range seem to love it. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Everyone seems to say "fair play to him". No one dislikes Brendan as a person, and people are happy he's doing well. But his show is awful shíte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

ricero wrote: »
    Personally I find more laughs in Platoon than in Mrs Brown's Boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

I just simply don't understand how any adult finds it funny, yet I know many who do (including some who are otherwise highly intelligent). It's set up like a show you'd see on Nickleodeon, and while it would be passable on that level it just has so many flaws for a show on prime time Saturday night TV, I just can't get my head around it's popularity at all.

I don't hate people that watch it or those involved, I'm just amazed by it

ricero wrote: »

Funnily (!) enough that is exactly the series I was thinking about when I see MBB.

However When The Whistle Blows was just a witless comedy. MBB is not witless, it has some good lines, and the breaking of the fifth wall subverts the idea that it is just a sitcom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

It is more popular to say you don't find this show funny than it is to say you enjoy it.
    Yet it still does incredibly well, go figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I heah dey calling it "The Jizzlers!!!!!!"

"Ah, Mammy!Hahahahahahaha"/durty laugh

Dear Fox_In_Socks,

Please be aware that "The Jizzlers" is a registered trademark of C&H as a subsidiary of Boards.ie. If you do not cease with this line of humour, you will be liable for prosecution by our legal team*.

Cordially,
    wnolan1992

*OK, we don't have a legal team, but one of our regular posters is studying law so...

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. G

That's nice.

SV wrote: »
    It is more popular to say you don't find this show funny than it is to say you enjoy it.

I remember listening to an erudite discussion on BBC Radio Four this year just after Christmas,on the topic of Christmas television.

The critics were saying that the days of big comedies,the likes of Morecambe and Wise and Some Mothers etc. were almost gone. However as examples of succesful upholders of the tradition they mentioned Miranda Hart's Christmas special, and Mrs. Brown's Boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

Ah what's this "Am I the only one" stuff about? Ye know full well plenty of people loathe that show.

Ssshhh I think they're trying to be hipster about it!

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Dear Fox_In_Socks,

Please be aware that "The Jizzlers" is a registered trademark of C&H as a subsidiary of Boards.ie. If you do not cease with this line of humour, you will be liable for prosecution by our legal team*.

Cordially,
    wnolan1992

*OK, we don't have a legal team, but one of our regular posters is studying law so...

Sorry, I apologise.

How about:

"I heah dey calling it The Master Baiters! T'is abou' Fishermen, far out on the ocean...away from women!" /eye-roll

"Ah, Mammy! Hahahahahaha!!!!"/durty laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭AllCaps

The TV show is the greatest pile of ****e I've watched in a long time... a poor excuse for comedy. I can't imagine a movie being much better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

It's got a market, like Crystal Swing has got a demographic that like that sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

SV wrote: »

Depends on what company you are in. I've been around people when the topic of this show has come up and to them this show is the very definition of comedy.
    I also agree with the When The Whistle Blows reference. It's entirely dated, low brow rubbish that is on par with a ridiculous parody of the genre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Sorry, I apologise.

How about:

"I heah dey calling it The Master Baiters! T'is abou' Fishermen, far out on the ocean...away from women!" /eye-roll

"Ah, Mammy! Hahahahahaha!!!!"/durty laugh

Much better! /calls off lawyers

:P

But anyway, fair play to him I guess. I dislike the show (I actually liked the DVD versions released some years ago that had no laugh track) but it's popular so more power to him.

I sort of lost all respect for O'Carroll when I part of an episode where he blatantly ripped off the "There's no ANY key on this computer!" joke. It was funny in the 90's man, not now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Personally I find more laughs in Platoon than in Mrs Brown's Boys.
    "free your mind and the ass will follow"
    among others.

dont forget Hamburger Hill.

"I was drafted, sworn in and had my hair cut before I was sober...."
    "We've been up on that hill ten times, and they still don't think we're serious."
    ".......I'm orphan, my brother's queer, the city of Chicago got the clap from my sister. Mum drinks, Dad coughs blood, I have ringworm, emersion foot...the incurable crud and the draft ruined my chances of being a brain surgeon. People. You have no problem. Except me. And him."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Much better! /calls off lawyers

:P

But anyway, fair play to him I guess. I dislike the show (I actually liked the DVD versions released some years ago that had no laugh track) but it's popular so more power to him.

I sort of lost all respect for O'Carroll when I part of an episode where he blatantly ripped off the "There's no ANY key on this computer!" joke. It was funny in the 90's man, not now.
    I guess he tried to order a Tab to the confusion of many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Its brainless cheap comedy for the more simple minded side of working class Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

The Van was fantastic, i see no reason to doubt this will be as good.

Roddy Doyle?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Meh.

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Meh.

Is that Mrs Brown's catchphrase? Oh, we have a fan here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

I don't watch it, I don't think it's funny, I also think the X-Factor and most of them shows are sh1te too. But plenty of people like them, it's innocent harmless fun, a form of escapism and it's not really doing anyone any harm.

What p1sses me off is knowing the amount of times he will pop up on RTE over the next few months promoting the film for free on the Late Late, Saturday Night, Radio etc etc.

It still astonishes me the amount of airplay RTE staff give their friends and fellow clients of their agents, when plenty of good, young talent here gets little or no airtime. Same old dross telling the same old stories year after year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Brendan O'Carroll's no Colm Meaney!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

I think many people fail to perceive that O'Carroll is seeking to subvert the very idea of "popular" comedy by producing a melange of cliche, double entendre and derivative pun-making in order to point up the very real meaninglessness of "humour" in the context of the post-modern existential dilemma-his genius is to disguise a Derrida influenced "artistic masquerade" as a piece of mainstream entertainment while undermining both the soi-disant 'sophisticated' audience's expectations , and the demands of the , as Sartre would have described them, lumpencommentariat, insofar as MBB contains the very highest standard of self-criticism internalised within its own structures. That's wor I think inanyways, and the rest of yiz can go an' sh*te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Mrs. Browne's Boys is just a Dub version of Miss Doubtfire with bad language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Is that Mrs Brown's catchphrase? Oh, we have a fan here!

Is it? I watched it once for about 15 minutes and had to turn it off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Is it? I watched it once for about 15 minutes and had to turn it off!

Your sides precariously close to splitting?

token101 wrote: »
    Brendan O'Carroll's no Colm Meaney!!!!!
    Aye Aye Captain.

He's no Robert Sheehan or Chris O'Dowd either but you rarely hear them getting the same amount of plugging.
    Seen both in major (****e) films recently where they were hardly even credited.
    Chris in Gullivers Travels, Robert in Season of the Witch