The Edge wore his hat a Seamus Heaney's funeral - the horror!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

Three times a man should always remove his hat;

• At a funeral
    • Eating his dinner
    • Performing oral sex

In the shower?

Jaysus, we're not still on about Seamus bloody Heaney are we? Poetry to slit your wrists to:rolleyes: he's dead, move on, he has:D

We're talking about his funeral, so obviously he's going to get a mention. It's not like he's been dead years.

I think we've dispensed with lots of traditions, mostly for the better. Sometimes though, its more appropriate to hang on to the precise good manners, as a show of respect and solidarity. Funerals are special to the people left behind because of the comfort they give.

I don't think taking off your hat as a display of respect and traditional good manners is too much to ask on the last event dedicated to celebrating the deceased.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

It is disrespectful to those who believe that a church is a sanctified place and that a man removing his hat is an appropriate sign of respect. Those people happen to be, for the most part, the community of people who use the church as their place of worship.

Is there any catholic instruction that states that wearing a hat in a church is disrespectful? Why should one have to remove one's hat if it's not contrary to religious belief?

Taking a piss on the altar is disrespectful, wearing a hat isn't, despite what some auld ones seem to think.

I will say though, a funeral is a different scenario. In that situation you should be aware of how the deceased loved ones will feel. If you're having a quiet pray on your own, you don't need to give a toss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

*Hell in a hand cart*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

He just looked like a sad middle-aged git.

Larry Mullen is holding up well though, the years have been kinder to him and he seem to still have a full head of hair.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 503 ✭✭✭dublinbhoy88

It is disrespectful to those who believe that a church is a sanctified place and that a man removing his hat is an appropriate sign of respect. Those people happen to be, for the most part, the community of people who use the church as their place of worship.

If I entered any place of worship I would be only too happy to oblige and do whatever act of respect was required - I'd take off my shoes at a mosque or temple, I'd cover my head in a synagoge, I'd wear a yellow headband at the community of the yellow headband people, etc, etc.

Same as showing respect entering someone's home.

That's just for any normal place of worship at any time. But to not take off a hat, indoors at someone's funeral is very disrespectful.

Basic manners and long-standing, traditional acts of respect towards places of worship and at funerals is not something we should dispose of.

Who decided this and why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Maybe he had combed his hair into a wooly hat shape?

Also, what's the situation for someone who has some crazy hair style going on? Or perhaps someone who has a semi-offensive tattoo on their head? Is it okay for them to wear a hat, seeing as it might be more disrespectful not to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

If it's traditionally good etiquette to remove your hat at a funeral then not doing it does come across a bit dickish. It's not a question of 'religious beliefs' or anything like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Also, what's the situation for someone who has some crazy hair style going on? Or perhaps someone who has a semi-offensive tattoo on their head? Is it okay for them to wear a hat, seeing as it might be more disrespectful not to?

Get a blade 1 all over before the event.

And wear a burka.

Solved.

Getting 'PENIS' tattooed on your forehead at that stag wasn't such a good idea in hindsight…

If it was only the word it wouldn't be so bad. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

They generally wont be allowed out of the ward so its not an issue.

If it was only the word it wouldn't be so bad. :(

Tbf, you have to admire the detailing of the drips on the tip and the way they work with your prison tears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

disrespect would be if he had his earphones on, if he was talking during it, if he was pulling his knob out and engaging in meat spin

not taking off a hat? would ye feck of withh yer "disrespect" in that case

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I want to listen to The Joshua Trio after reading this thread.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 503 ✭✭✭dublinbhoy88

snausages wrote: »
    If it's traditionally good etiquette to remove your hat at a funeral then not doing it does come across a bit dickish. It's not a question of 'religious beliefs' or anything like that.
    Who decided this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

listermint wrote: »
    Wearing a wooly hat at a funeral makes you look like a dick.

ah c'mon it was hardly a wooly hat its just a discreet baldy cap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Someone should have went Tony Soprano on The Edge's ass

Tbf, Bono saying how much of an influence Heaney was is way more disrespectful than a wooly head condom in a church.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭btard

The height of ignorance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

Who decided this?

It doesn't matter. Point is that that's the way people do things. 'When in Rome...'. The Edge shouldn't be entitled to special treatment no matter how many albums he has sold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

It's not that big of a deal but at the same time I think regardless of your beliefs, when you enter a place of worship you should adhere to their customs and he should have taken off the hat.

Having said that, I don't think Edge was trying to be controversial or anything, more likely trying not to draw attention to the fact that he's more than likely gone bald. Which ironically has only served to draw more attention.

btard wrote: »
    The height of ignorance.

Will we use The Edge as the measurement for the height of ignorance? He's only 5 foot 8 so it's not actually that high…

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

You'd think with all his millions he's get himself a wig,like Mikey Graham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭handlemaster

Jake1 wrote: »
    Hats are removed for the National Anthem, passing of the Flag and funeral processions, outdoor weddings, dedications, and photographs.

Removed hats are held in hand in such a way that only the outside and never the lining is visible.

In places of worship head coverings are required for both men and women in Muslim mosques, and Sikh temples.

Men are required to cover their heads in Jewish synagogues, but only married women wear hats or scarves representing a display of her increased modesty towards those other than the woman's husband.

so says Google

Was it a Jewish funeral !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Did his parents really christen him 'The Edge' ??? Wonder what his second name is, maybe 'sharp' but more likely 'blunt'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

CJC999 wrote: »
    Did his parents really christen him 'The Edge' ??? Wonder what his second name is, maybe 'sharp' but more likely 'blunt'

Named after Edge's hardware shop in Fairview I think...the twat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭handlemaster

Issues with Baldness and Height .... how long, how long must we sing this song.

CJC999 wrote: »

Yes, his parents Cliff and Lawn Edge christened him 'The'.