Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Edge wore his hat a Seamus Heaney's funeral - the horror!

• 03-09-2013 3:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,867 ✭✭✭

Two old gits on Liveloine were moaning about The Edge showing disrespect to the President and Seamus Heaney's family by wearing his hat inside the church

So, what do you think? Is it disrespectful to wear your hat to someone's funeral or not?

Me, I wouldn't give two tugs of a dead dog's cock if someone wore a hat at my funeral

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Sigourney

Demonique wrote: »
    Two old gits on Liveloine were moaning about The Edge showing disrespect to the President and Seamus Heaney's family by wearing his hat inside the church

So, what do you think? Is it disrespectful to wear your hat to someone's funeral or not?

Me, I wouldn't give two tugs of a dead dog's cock if someone wore a hat at my funeral

Men don't wear hats indoors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Wearing a wooly hat at a funeral makes you look like a dick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I am sickened,appalled and shocked

Hats are removed for the National Anthem, passing of the Flag and funeral processions, outdoor weddings, dedications, and photographs.

Removed hats are held in hand in such a way that only the outside and never the lining is visible.

In places of worship head coverings are required for both men and women in Muslim mosques, and Sikh temples.

Men are required to cover their heads in Jewish synagogues, but only married women wear hats or scarves representing a display of her increased modesty towards those other than the woman's husband.

so says Google

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Corvo Attano

Traditionally it is disrespectful, to be fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

He probably has an insultingly bald head up on him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

Two old gits on Liveloine

I stopped there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

It's a disgrace Joe. And that Bobo with his sunglasses.....eye stigmatism me arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Jaysus, we're not still on about Seamus bloody Heaney are we? Poetry to slit your wrists to:rolleyes: he's dead, move on, he has:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,867 ✭✭✭Demonique

Jaysus, we're not still on about Seamus bloody Heaney are we? Poetry to slit your wrists to:rolleyes: he's dead, move on, he has:D

Remember when Sir Les Patterson was on the Late Late and read a poem he'd written about Heaney?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Little known fact that The Edge doesn't have the top part of his head, its all hat above the eyes.

Comment/Like this post to get The Edge a top part of his head back.

#staystrongEdge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Typical of overgrown children like this Edge person and Beano or whatever his name is. If we have to have "celebrities" it would be nice if they acted like adults on occasions like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

it would be enough to send you over the edge alright...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Three times a man should always remove his hat;

• At a funeral
    • Eating his dinner
    • Performing oral sex

Most likely because you would be brown bread....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I thanked your post just for this line alone :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Don't worry he'll get his comeuppance when his time comes. Hats will be in attendance that day I tells ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

• At a funeral
    • Eating his dinner
    • Performing oral sex
    Three times, thats a bit of an OCD
    Wouldn't turning it backwards suffice for the latter:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

wil wrote: »
    Three times, thats a bit of an OCD
    Wouldn't turning it backwards suffice for the latter:pac:

not if it were a Vikings hat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

He was also holding a fork in his right hand during the whole thing, the philistine!

• Site Banned Posts: 257 ✭✭Driveby Dogboy

who?

never heard of any of the people in this story at all, ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

Sure nobody would know who he was without the hat.
    I'm pretty sure I wouldn't even be sure it was him with the hat on these days unless he was also standing beside Bono

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

He wore the hat to hid the fact that he was bald. Now everyone is discussing his baldness because he wore the hat.

A man wearing a hat indoors is bad manners.

A lay-man wearing a hat in a church is very bad manners and disrespectful (unless the person is entirely unaware aka stupid....a very small number of tourists are guilty of this. Although, how a grown man can go through life in a western country and not pick up the fact that men uncover their heads in churches is beyond me).

A man wearing a hat indoors, in a church, AT A FUNERAL, is an absolute disgrace. Disrespectful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭CaSCaDe711

Moan moan moan, too many fcuking moans in this country :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

A lay-man wearing a hat in a church is very bad manners and disrespectful (unless the person is entirely unaware aka stupid....a very small number of tourists are guilty of this. Although, how a grown man can go through life in a western country and not pick up the fact that men uncover their heads in churches is beyond me).

Wearing a hat in a church is disrespectful to whom exactly? Why is it disrespectful?

Because God can't see what your brain is thinking with the hat in the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

That bloody Edge! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

Does it mention in the Bible that you can't wear hats? If it does then fair enough but if it doesn't, why is it disrespectful? It hardly matters really. There's enough things to get stressed about without hats being one of them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 503 ✭✭✭dublinbhoy88

Traditionally it is disrespectful to be fair.
    maybe he lives by his own rules

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

It is disrespectful to those who believe that a church is a sanctified place and that a man removing his hat is an appropriate sign of respect. Those people happen to be, for the most part, the community of people who use the church as their place of worship.

If I entered any place of worship I would be only too happy to oblige and do whatever act of respect was required - I'd take off my shoes at a mosque or temple, I'd cover my head in a synagoge, I'd wear a yellow headband at the community of the yellow headband people, etc, etc.

Same as showing respect entering someone's home.

That's just for any normal place of worship at any time. But to not take off a hat, indoors at someone's funeral is very disrespectful.

Basic manners and long-standing, traditional acts of respect towards places of worship and at funerals is not something we should dispose of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

• At a funeral
    • Eating his dinner
    • Performing oral sex

In the shower?

We're talking about his funeral, so obviously he's going to get a mention. It's not like he's been dead years.

I think we've dispensed with lots of traditions, mostly for the better. Sometimes though, its more appropriate to hang on to the precise good manners, as a show of respect and solidarity. Funerals are special to the people left behind because of the comfort they give.

I don't think taking off your hat as a display of respect and traditional good manners is too much to ask on the last event dedicated to celebrating the deceased.

It is disrespectful to those who believe that a church is a sanctified place and that a man removing his hat is an appropriate sign of respect. Those people happen to be, for the most part, the community of people who use the church as their place of worship.

Is there any catholic instruction that states that wearing a hat in a church is disrespectful? Why should one have to remove one's hat if it's not contrary to religious belief?

Taking a piss on the altar is disrespectful, wearing a hat isn't, despite what some auld ones seem to think.

I will say though, a funeral is a different scenario. In that situation you should be aware of how the deceased loved ones will feel. If you're having a quiet pray on your own, you don't need to give a toss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

*Hell in a hand cart*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

He just looked like a sad middle-aged git.

Larry Mullen is holding up well though, the years have been kinder to him and he seem to still have a full head of hair.

If I entered any place of worship I would be only too happy to oblige and do whatever act of respect was required - I'd take off my shoes at a mosque or temple, I'd cover my head in a synagoge, I'd wear a yellow headband at the community of the yellow headband people, etc, etc.

Same as showing respect entering someone's home.

That's just for any normal place of worship at any time. But to not take off a hat, indoors at someone's funeral is very disrespectful.

Basic manners and long-standing, traditional acts of respect towards places of worship and at funerals is not something we should dispose of.

Who decided this and why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Maybe he had combed his hair into a wooly hat shape?

Also, what's the situation for someone who has some crazy hair style going on? Or perhaps someone who has a semi-offensive tattoo on their head? Is it okay for them to wear a hat, seeing as it might be more disrespectful not to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

If it's traditionally good etiquette to remove your hat at a funeral then not doing it does come across a bit dickish. It's not a question of 'religious beliefs' or anything like that.

Also, what's the situation for someone who has some crazy hair style going on? Or perhaps someone who has a semi-offensive tattoo on their head? Is it okay for them to wear a hat, seeing as it might be more disrespectful not to?

Get a blade 1 all over before the event.

And wear a burka.

Solved.

Getting 'PENIS' tattooed on your forehead at that stag wasn't such a good idea in hindsight…

If it was only the word it wouldn't be so bad. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

They generally wont be allowed out of the ward so its not an issue.

If it was only the word it wouldn't be so bad. :(

Tbf, you have to admire the detailing of the drips on the tip and the way they work with your prison tears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

disrespect would be if he had his earphones on, if he was talking during it, if he was pulling his knob out and engaging in meat spin

not taking off a hat? would ye feck of withh yer "disrespect" in that case

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I want to listen to The Joshua Trio after reading this thread.

snausages wrote: »
    If it's traditionally good etiquette to remove your hat at a funeral then not doing it does come across a bit dickish. It's not a question of 'religious beliefs' or anything like that.
    Who decided this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

listermint wrote: »
    Wearing a wooly hat at a funeral makes you look like a dick.

ah c'mon it was hardly a wooly hat its just a discreet baldy cap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Someone should have went Tony Soprano on The Edge's ass

Tbf, Bono saying how much of an influence Heaney was is way more disrespectful than a wooly head condom in a church.