Ivan Yates returning to Newstalk Breakfast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,484 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

positron wrote: »
    Really? Hmm. I was new to Breakfast back then and were fairly impressed by how Ivan and Claire were talking to some politicians, point-blank, take no prisoners line of interviewing.

Anyway, I think she's doing pretty good in RTE, I think she will be around for a good while in our screens.

Claire Byrne was awful when she was at NT (and hasn't improved since imo). Even the most half-witted gombeen politician was able to easily sidestep her interview 'technique', which was to keep asking the same question repeatedly, regardless of whether an answer was forthcoming or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭purplepanda

Morag wrote: »
    I dislike Mr Yeats, he's a snobby old school anglo irish landed gentry prod and I doubt very much the experience has humbled him at all.

Just because he is protestant doesn't mean he is Anglo Irish gentry stock, you can't make that accusation without proof of what land they were granted centuries ago.

As far as I know his land was obtained in the same way as other farming families in Wexford, by hard work over generations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭theholyghost

Just because he is protestant doesn't mean he is Anglo Irish gentry stock, you can't make that accusation without proof of what land they were granted centuries ago.

As far as I know his land was obtained in the same way as other farming families in Wexford, by hard work over generations.

I'm surprised the comment from that poster was considered appropriate to leave on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I'm surprised the comment from that poster was considered appropriate to leave on boards.

Naked begrudgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Hoop66 wrote: »
    Yates is a bell-end. He literally hasn't a clue.

And they've replaced the excellent Tom Dunne with the personality vacuum that is Pat Kenny?

Sell your Communicorp shares now...

You may not like them, but both Kenny and Yates are proven ratings winners.

Kenny had roughly five times the listenership of Dunne who, despite being in the slot for many years, was still only drawing in a pitiful 55,000 listeners. I have the utmost respect for Tom, but he never made a mark in that slot, it was a horrendous idea from day one and it was inevitably going to end this way.

Yates was also largely responsible for the Breakfast Show increasin it's figures, and his departure saw an almost immediate decline.

So I wouldn't sell them just yet if I were you. :P

EDIT: Figures thanks to ilevel.ie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

I like Yates' honesty and I look forward to having him back on the radio. The country needs the home truths that himself and Chris serve up.

I actually hope he is somehow involved in the inevitable (imho) new political party that will be formed before the next general election or else we will face that prospect of SF in government.

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    You may not like them, but both Kenny and Yates are proven ratings winners.

Kenny had roughly five times the listenership of Dunne who, despite being in the slot for many years, was still only drawing in a pitiful 55,000 listeners. I have the utmost respect for Tom, but he never made a mark in that slot, it was a horrendous idea from day one and it was inevitably going to end this way.

Yates was also largely responsible for the Breakfast Show increasin it's figures, and his departure saw an almost immediate decline.

So I wouldn't sell them just yet if I were you. :P

EDIT: Figures thanks to ilevel.ie.

In fairness to tom there is fierce competition in that slot.Also I think they seemed a little at a loss as to the content of the show,serious discussion is not his forte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Eamo71

Sure thats great craic as long as you dont take it seriously.;)

Not for much longer as Coleman is leaving Newstalk and Tom Dunne is taking up his slot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Use the report post button if you're worried about a post.

Or just do nothing and complain pointlessly.

Your choice really! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭alexv

It's gas isn't it. When the privileged on this island (Yates, Garret Fitzgerald, Dennis O'Brien et cetera) leave "paddy" pick up the bill, you'll always have a series of fee-paying-school-wankstains queuing up to render homage. No doubt these are the same hypocrites who complain about the extravagant payments made to "scroungers" and "knackers". Laughably naked begrudgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭strongback

There were a lot of negative responses by Newstalk listeners to Yates bankruptcy interview today.

I know somebody who went through bankruptcy and it took a serious toll on him, psychologically it's hard to have your life torn apart, the desolation leads to very dark thoughts. As bankruptcy is no joke I believe Yates when he says he seriously suffered but in saying that I think he may have made his comeback too soon. The average Joe doesn't like it when former rich people go bankrupt leaving millions behind them.

Yates has another battle on his hands to convince people he is still a good guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I can't blame him for his actions as, tbh, were I in his shoes, I'm sure I'd have done the exact same and, in all honesty, I'm a fan of him on the radio.

That said, it does leave a very nasty taste in your mouth when you look at the fact he's now able to return to an 100k+ a year job and a 50k+ pension when those of us who earn far, far less than that are paying for his mistakes.

Like others have said: he played by the rules, he broke no laws but it's not him I'd blame. It's the legal system that leaves his earning potential absolutely uncapped so soon. I wouldn't advocate a bankruptcy process than forces someone into penary indefinitely or even for a very extended period but it would seem fair that a sliding scale of some sort would operate for a longer period e.g. current UK system for 2 years followed by a reducing lien on earnings over the average wage (e.g. 90% in year 3, 80% in year 4, 70% in year 5 etc). Nothing that would stop you from trying again but enough to ensure that you can't be taking home more than those who you left in the lurch within 2/3 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

strongback wrote: »
    There were a lot of negative responses by Newstalk listeners to Yates bankruptcy interview today.

I know somebody who went through bankruptcy and it took a serious toll on him, psychologically it's hard to have your life torn apart, the desolation leads to very dark thoughts. As bankruptcy is no joke I believe Yates when he says he seriously suffered but in saying that I think he may have made his comeback too soon. The average Joe doesn't like it when former rich people go bankrupt leaving millions behind them.

Yates has another battle on his hands to convince people he is still a good guy.

Yates is still a wealthy man, he has a generous ministerial pension and a tidy sum from Newstalk for his services.

I don't really know but I presume he was once a millionaire.

I agree, though, that he has landed on his feet. I don't think he should be getting the ministerial pension, but he's not the only person receiving excessive state funds that I have a problem with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Anyone named Ivan is not to be trusted. One of my general rules in life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

what are the "cons" of availing of bankruptcy in the UK? The pros being obviously being free from debt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

what are the "cons" of availing of bankruptcy in the UK? The pros being obviously being free from debt

The cons are the same as in any bankruptcy process, in that you lose all your assets (with some exemptions).

The only real difference between the two countries is that you are only a undischarged bankrupt (essentially you hand over almost all your wages to your creditors) for a year in the UK, while it is twelve years in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

benjydagg wrote: »
    A great news story. I can't wait. And Pat Kenny is interviewing him in the morning.
    Well done to Ivan, didn't whine waiting for a hand out from this government like most of the people in financial straits. Got off his arse, used the rule book, and is willing to work.
    An inspiration to us all.
    Quinn/Dunne/Fianna Fail should take note!

What about Lowery?

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Anyone named Ivan is not to be trusted. One of my general rules in life.

That's Terrible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    That's Terrible

He should have chosen a better name for himself, I feel sorry for his parents.

Am I right in saying that if he had stuck to his limited company rather than writing guarantees he wouldn't be liable for any debts?

kneemos wrote: »
    Am I right in saying that if he had stuck to his limited company rather than writing guarantees he wouldn't be liable for any debts?

Only for the amount the co was limited for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

....at the end of the day, he's lost almost everything, he didn't hide cash with Ivan, Igor & Dodgeski over in jaysus knows where, he's admitted making mistakes, its all been done in public eye....can't think of a reason there should be aspersions cast at the man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I listened to a bit of his interview yesterday. Unfortunately I can believe the people texting in saying shame on him, because Ireland is full of people like this ready at an instant to kick others when the opportunity presents.

He was right to go to Wales, why wouldn't he, any sensible person would go considering the stupid system that is in Ireland. AIB are still going after his wife and they have lost everything already. Some Irish people just seem to enjoy seeing others sizzle on the spit until they're charcoal.

In fairness to him, he's no Sean Quinn. That's to his credit.

On radio, I had hoped he wouldn't come back. I found him good in the start but towards the end he droned on endlessly about sex, jumped in with nonsense in interviews and generally spewed reams of shíte. It wasn't anything resembling good radio. Maybe it was the pressure he was under maybe not. But if he continues on in the same vein this listener will not be tuning in again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭gordongekko

AIB are still going after his wife and they have lost everything already.

except his big state pension, his book deal, his tv3 job and of course his newstalk job.

kneemos wrote: »

That's pretty much it. Ltd companies go to the wall all the time and the directors are not pursued for their personal wealth. Although technically directors can be held liable personally for limited company debt it doesn't seem to be chased once the company is gone.

It's personal guarantees on loans that caused Yates the problem. Developers, for example, were giving personal guarantees for loan after loan after loan and the banks never checked to see if these developers had the personal finances to stand over these personal guarantees, sometimes in the 100's of millions. When the banks credit line stopped the bang as know was catastrophic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I heard the interview yesterday and thought Ivan did well.
    But like others here my thoughts are with those who he owed money to.
    Easy credit and a buccaneer attitude to taking risks with other people's money had led us to where we are, and who knows how many families/businesses went to the wall as a result of Yates' company and self going bankrupt.

That did I do look forward to hearing him in the morning.
    It's a bit of lightweight radio.
    Still represents a further swing right for the station though, which makes for uncomfortable listening at times.

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    I heard the interview yesterday and thought Ivan did well.
    But like others here my thoughts are with those who he owed money to.
    Easy credit and a buccaneer attitude to taking risks with other people's money had led us to where we are, and who knows how many families/businesses went to the wall as a result of Yates' company and self going bankrupt.

That did I do look forward to hearing him in the morning.
    It's a bit of lightweight radio.
    Still represents a further swing right for the station though, which makes for uncomfortable listening at times.

Capitalism requires risk takers or it would fall by the waste side, btw I'm not defending capitalism. It's more up to the government and banks to regulate how money is loaned in my view. There won't be too many buccaneers these days with the banks being so careful now.

I think people working in the private sector know a job and entitlements are not for life, it's more of a rat race were as the public sector is more about politicking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

And having known him for many years he probably still has his confirmation money too - as tight as a ducks.....and leopards don't change their spots. :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

except his big state pension, his book deal, his tv3 job and of course his newstalk job.

Should he have been prohibited from ever working again?