Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ivan Yates returning to Newstalk Breakfast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Forest Demon

Birroc wrote: »
    I just heard that Ivan Yates is returning to Newstalk Breakfast from Wednesday. I think it's great news. I love a bit of Ivan. I wonder what Chris thinks!

http://businessetc.thejournal.ie/ivan-yates-newstalk-1063686-Sep2013/

He would be better without Chris

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Is this after he pleaded Her Majesty's courts to relieve him of his Irish debts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Chris thinks Ivan is a mo'fo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

snubbleste wrote: »
    Is this after he pleaded Her Majesty's courts to relieve him of his Irish debts?

Fair play to him, he did right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Yeah I heard he was coming back alright, which is brilliant news because Yeats is a fantastic broadcaster. With their weekday lineup now, Newstalk clearly trumps all of its competitors and is by far the best radio station in Ireland.

In the day time they now have the awesome Sean Moncrieff, George Hook's The Right Hook, Ivan Yeats, Pat Kenny's new mid-morning programme and Off The Ball in the evening and during the weekend. I's always the first (and usually last) station I go to whenever I'm in a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭benjydagg

A great news story. I can't wait. And Pat Kenny is interviewing him in the morning.
    Well done to Ivan, didn't whine waiting for a hand out from this government like most of the people in financial straits. Got off his arse, used the rule book, and is willing to work.
    An inspiration to us all.
    Quinn/Dunne/Fianna Fail should take note!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,879 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Nailz wrote: »
    Yeah I heard he was coming back alright, which is brilliant news because Yeats is a fantastic broadcaster. With their weekday lineup now, Newstalk clearly trumps all of its competitors and is by far the best radio station in Ireland.

In the day time they now have the awesome Sean Moncrieff, George Hook's The Right Hook, Ivan Yeats, Pat Kenny's new mid-morning programme and Off The Ball in the evening and during the weekend. I's always the first (and usually last) station I go to whenever I'm in a car.

Do you ever listen to Coleman at Large?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

Do you ever listen to Coleman at Large?

Sure thats great craic as long as you dont take it seriously.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I remember a boss in my place coming back all fired up from a spot Yates did at a conference about how business competition is all about beating the brains out of other companies. Coupla weeks later his company is dead as a dodo.

a total spoofer, he belongs on radio with other wind bags like hook, talk is cheap and its all their good for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

I thought he went off to Wales to live a bankrupt life .

As far as I know he is still asset rich in Ireland , so will he be broadcasting from Wales ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

Spoofer is right. So long, and thanks for all the free money huh Yates?

Ha, Chris' love life will be firmly in the spotlight again once Ivan returns !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

wazky wrote: »
    Chris thinks Ivan is a mo'fo

He'd be right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Weevil

Thank God for station pre-sets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I am delighted he is back. Don't care much for his personal life but he is a great broadcaster and newstslk breakfast will be much better with his return. Chris is not yet strong enough to anchor the show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

benjydagg wrote: »
    A great news story. I can't wait. And Pat Kenny is interviewing him in the morning.
    Well done to Ivan, didn't whine waiting for a hand out from this government like most of the people in financial straits. Got off his arse, used the rule book, and is willing to work.
    An inspiration to us all.
    Quinn/Dunne/Fianna Fail should take note!

Got up off his arse??I suppose fleeing to UK to go bankrupt could be considered "getting off your arse" :rolleyes:

An inspiration? I doubt many of his creditors would agree with you there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

So you think its ok for him to jump ship and pretend he is a UK resident just to enable him to avoid paying his Irish staff & suppliers:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

So you think its ok for him to jump ship and pretend he is a UK resident just to enable him to avoid paying his Irish staff & suppliers:rolleyes:

He could have done the same thing here except it would have taken longer.
    A purchaser becoming bankrupt is part of being in business and is a risk they accept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭theGEM

Replace George Hook with Matt Cooper and you'd have a decent station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭johnsds

I am delhris and Ivan are good craic and it is great to hear the banter out of both of these gentlemen.

kneemos wrote: »
    He could have done the same thing here except it would have taken longer.
    A purchaser becoming bankrupt is part of being in business and is a risk they accept.

If he had gone bankrupt here, he would have had to hand up a portion of his newstalk salary to his creditors for the next 10 years. Since he is discharged from his debts now, he doesn't have to pay anything - hardly fair now is that.

According to the indo, after secured creditors took their share of the assets of celtic bookmakers, the unsecured creditors have €1001 to divide out between them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Running a bookies is a licence to print money. Only an idiot could bankrupt one.

If he had gone bankrupt here, he would have had to hand up a portion of his newstalk salary to his creditors for the next 10 years. Since he is discharged from his debts now, he doesn't have to pay anything - hardly fair now is that.

According to the indo, after secured creditors took their share of the assets of celtic bookmakers, the unsecured creditors have €1001 to divide out between them.

If we had the same bankruptcy laws as the UK during the boom years the banks wouldn't have been so reckless with our money. I have absolutely no problem with Yeats going to the UK to sort out his finances/life.

he didn't pretend, he met all the legal criteria, and if AIB hadn't have tried to scam him it wouldn't have been necessary!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

With a name like Ivan Yates, I secretly suspect he is a Russian spy.

Here to steal our woman and take our amm broadcasting jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Elbaston

That Dixon eejit is the only one who makes me laugh.

theGEM wrote: »
    If we had the same bankruptcy laws as the UK during the boom years the banks wouldn't have been so reckless with our money. I have absolutely no problem with Yeats going to the UK to sort out his finances/life.

Are you one of his unsecured creditors?

Perhaps if you were and owed thousands and getting next to none of the money back, I'd say you'd have a different opinion.
    he didn't pretend, he met all the legal criteria, and if AIB hadn't have tried to scam him it wouldn't have been necessary!

Scam him? You have to be kidding. He defaulted on the terms of the loan and they called it in. Thats what happens, or should happen in these situations. He should have faced the music here.

Are you one of his unsecured creditors?

Perhaps if you were and owed thousands and getting next to none of the money back, I'd say you'd have a different opinion.

Scam him? You have to be kidding. He defaulted on the terms of the loan and they called it in. Thats what happens, or should happen in these situations. He should have faced the music here.

The Irish High Court felt differently and refused AIB's application to bankrupt him because of their own actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

Seem like always if you can afford to go and live in the UK for 18months you can go bankrupt and be done with it. It was the same way before divorce was legal here, if you had the money to go live there for a year you could get divorced.

I dislike Mr Yeats, he's a snobby old school anglo irish landed gentry prod and I doubt very much the experience has humbled him at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

His surname is fcuking Yates !!!!

Birroc wrote: »
    His surname is fcuking Yates !!!!

I think you're getting confused with Jack B Yates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

Ivan and Clare was a great combination. Chris has improved a lot over the years though, especially after taking lead when Ivan left. George on the other hand...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Yates adenoidal drone always irked me tbh.

Plus, he's the spit of the zombie in 'Day of the Dead'.

day_article.jpg?1373540356

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭chuckyarelaw

If they could just get rid of Ciaran "monotone" Cuddihy from sports I'd be happy.

Such a forced radio voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭shankespony

Is this the same bank that lent recklessly for many years? That was bailed out by the Irish people and still they hound ordinary people. With 150,000+ mortgages impaired restructured and most in negative equity as well as 400,000+ unemployed that must add up to 600,000+ people (parents & 2 kids) who are going to have no life for many years to come. How many people will now take this option to go to the UK, and come back in a year rather than have paddy screw them for many years to come.

In Iceland they valued houses and restructured mortgages accordingly so your mortgage was at a higher rate say 110/120% and a slight amount of negative equity as a penalty for your decisions but as time goes on there is a good chance that the house would gain value over the years to meet the rate. Not screw people for years to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭strongback

Yates is full of crap, he trades on the fact he has insider knowledge of what goes on in the Dail. In general he's clueless. Hopefully the bankruptcy has humbled him but I wouldn't bet on it.

He's a very lucky man to be walking back into a good job.

strongback wrote: »
    Yates is full of crap, he trades on the fact he has insider knowledge of what goes on in the Dail. In general he's clueless. Hopefully the bankruptcy has humbled him but I wouldn't bet on it.

He's a very lucky man to be walking back into a good job.

Indeed, walking back to a good well paid job. All the while his unsecured creditors have to suffer their losses with no entitlement to recompense.

Sickening that he ran away to escape his creditors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Indeed, walking back to a good well paid job. All the while his unsecured creditors have to suffer their losses with no entitlement to recompense.

Sickening that he ran away to escape his creditors.

Well he's in good company with Hook who left a trail of creditors behind him. It must be a sickener for them to hear him on the radio going about his frequent foreign holidays. Still and all it's a great station owned by a fellow who made his money from honest hard graft.................:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

theGEM wrote: »
    I think you're getting confused with Jack B Yates.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jack_Butler_Yeats

I prefer William Butler Yates myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

What about Paula Yates?

People for centuries have gone bankrupt when they have run out of money. I don't know why people get annoyed about bankruptcy. If you owe more money that you can repay bankruptcy is inevitable.

Most people who open businesses fail at some time including the most successful. Not everybody can start out in life getting a cushy job working for the state. Without risk taking entrepreneurs there would be no economy and no taxes to run the country.

I'm more annoyed with the banks, lets face reality it won't be long before they are running the country again.

Still, Yates is lucky to have a career in broadcasting after such a fall from grace. He has Norah Casey to thank for leaving him an opening.

People for centuries have gone bankrupt when they have run out of money. I don't know why people get annoyed about bankruptcy. If you owe more money that you can repay bankruptcy is inevitable.

Most people who open businesses fail at some time including the most successful. Not everybody can start out in life getting a cushy job working for the state. Without risk taking entrepreneurs there would be no economy and no taxes to run the country.

I'm more annoyed with the banks, lets face reality it won't be long before they are running the country again.

Still, Yates is lucky to have a career in broadcasting after such a fall from grace. He has Norah Casey to thank for leaving him an opening.

I don't think people get annoyed with bankruptcy per-se, with the idea that if your debts are too much of a burden, then you should be relieved of them once your assets have been stripped. What people and creditors find galling is that one can essentially move temporarily to the UK to escape your creditors and be back earning a huge salary within two years and have no obligation to pay back the money you owed.

I don't know what the likes of Yates will earn at Newstalk, but its safe to assume its a decent wage. Its can be assumed that if he were to remain on a living wage and give the rest over to his creditors over the next 10 years (as it would be under Irish bankruptcy law) that it would make a dent at least on the difference between what was realised from the liquidation and the original amount sought by his creditors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭armchair fusilier

positron wrote: »
    Ivan and Clare was a great combination. Chris has improved a lot over the years though, especially after taking lead when Ivan left. George on the other hand...

Claire Byrne was awful. Listener numbers only started to rise after she left. What has happened to her career since she joined RTE is a real mystery - her talent don't merit all the breaks she is getting.

She's not hard on the eye. To be fair to her she's no dope. She just seems devoid of any empathy. There's a few at RTE like that, one of them just jumped ship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭armchair fusilier

She's not hard on the eye. To be fair to her she's no dope. She just seems devoid of any empathy. There's a few at RTE like that, one of them just jumped ship.

I found her to be fairly unlikeable when she was on Newstalk. The one good thing about Yates coming back is that I can avoid Morning Ireland when Byrne is on.

I don't think people get annoyed with bankruptcy per-se, with the idea that if your debts are too much of a burden, then you should be relieved of them once your assets have been stripped. What people and creditors find galling is that one can essentially move temporarily to the UK to escape your creditors and be back earning a huge salary within two years and have no obligation to pay back the money you owed.

I don't know what the likes of Yates will earn at Newstalk, but its safe to assume its a decent wage. Its can be assumed that if he were to remain on a living wage and give the rest over to his creditors over the next 10 years (as it would be under Irish bankruptcy law) that it would make a dent at least on the difference between what was realised from the liquidation and the original amount sought by his creditors.

I hear what you are saying. The way I see it most people going bankrupt have their assets tied up in their businesses. When the business goes so do the assets. The big problem is that people and banks got into over borrowing meaning debts mushroomed assets. Yates' business probably held very few real assets as I doubt he owned all the physical betting shops. The rest of the assets are only based on what turnover can be achieved. When turnover didn't match costs then Yates was gone. What was left of his business probably didn't have a lot of value.I don't know if Yates lost his primary residence but I assume he has lost everything else. If he has any money buried away then obviously that's out of order.

As I said he's a lucky man to have a good job to come back to. He would have had a hard time starting from scratch again although most good entrepreneurs seems to find a way to rise again.

I hear what you are saying. The way I see it most people going bankrupt have their assets tied up in their businesses. When the business goes so do the assets. The big problem is that people and banks got into over borrowing meaning debts mushroomed assets. Yates' business probably held very few real assets as I doubt he owned all the physical betting shops. The rest of the assets are only based on what turnover can be achieved. When turnover didn't match costs then Yates was gone. What was left of his business probably didn't have a lot of value.I don't know if Yates lost his primary residence but I assume he has lost everything else. If he has any money buried away then obviously that's out of order.

As I said he's a lucky man to have a good job to come back to. He would have had a hard time starting from scratch again although most good entrepreneurs seems to find a way to rise again.

Would he have a ministerial pension as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Very few in RTE merit the breaks they get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

He's Pat's first guest today ah! Can anyone say 'Soft Interview'?