If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

jersey101 wrote: »
    ye i know about that farm too. Chinese are supposedly funding it. There kehoes campion plough men are putting land into grass down in wellungtonbridge be a bog down there to be fair

That was all rumour and conjecture and denied by them a number of months ago in the local press, be careful what you hear via rumour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

jersey101 wrote: »
    sure if this sexed semen works dairy men will have cheap beef heifers for ye :D

Nah there'll be no more beef heifers if it works out, just heaps of beefX bull calves;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

on the sexed semen trials, why would ya bother, have 8 fr heifers so far- dont want to jinx myself- out of 13 calved , 3 of those 13 where angus , only2 fr bulls... its just the luck of the straw, i know a couple of those cows had heifers last year too

whelan1 wrote: »
    on the sexed semen trials, why would ya bother, have 8 fr heifers so far- dont want to jinx myself- out of 13 calved , 3 of those 13 where angus , only2 fr bulls... its just the luck of the straw, i know a couple of those cows had heifers last year too

You're screwed now, you won't have another HF heifer between now and Christmas:D:D. More than once I had the reverse of what you're talking about.

so did i.... hope it continues as it is

kids back to school today:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

thats the place for them:o

cant wait fir the house to be quiet after 9am, there are days here i dont know if its calves bawling or the kids, have been known to answer a calf a few times;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

2 going to a new school out of this house this morning, will be able to get something done from 9.10-3pm at least lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Our oldest lad is going into second class today . Fingers crossed he will head in ok . We had a job to get him to finish out the end of last year

I'm in the middle of feeding out now:D:D:D:D. Should be all done and dusted by 8.50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

moy83 wrote: »
    Our oldest lad is going into second class today . Fingers crossed he will head in ok . We had a job to get him to finish out the end of last year

What's the story moy, I thought most kids love school at this stage. Maybe we're just lucky to have a good one.

cup of tea , toastie sandwich and peace and quiet:D:D:D

nothing worse very draining on yourself and the child, i had to get the principal out one morning to get eldest lad out of the car... he hated going in, we sorted out what was wrong and he improved alot after

just do it wrote: »
    What's the story moy, I thought most kids love school at this stage. Maybe we're just lucky to have a good one.

I dont know . He used to up until the last couple of months last year . He was grand this morning until he got to the gate when he bawked about going in . She had to leave him roaring at his desk .
    Im 99% sure its not bullying or a dislike of any teacher , we think its nerves or something .

nothing worse very draining on yourself and the child, i had to get the principal out one morning to get eldest lad out of the car... he hated going in, we sorted out what was wrong and he improved alot after

You can say draining alright . Was it bullying ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

I dont know . He used to up until the last couple of months last year . He was grand this morning until he got to the gate when he bawked about going in . She had to leave him roaring at his desk .
    Im 99% sure its not bullying or a dislike of any teacher , we think its nerves or something .

thats hard moy, our lad went in today no bother for his second day, some doll sitting in his seat and would not move

hugo29 wrote: »
    thats hard moy, our lad went in today no bother for his second day, some doll sitting in his seat and would not move

Our lad went every day without a bother until the end of last year . If a certain teacher walks him to his desk he will go in fine and do the day no hassle but if she doesnt bring him in he is upset . He is very popular and plays with everyone in the place at lunch times , its just going in in the mornings .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Our lad went every day without a bother until the end of last year . If a certain teacher walks him to his desk he will go in fine and do the day no hassle but if she doesnt bring him in he is upset . He is very popular and plays with everyone in the place at lunch times , its just going in in the mornings .

he must be good with the ladies so.has them coming to him :D

You can say draining alright . Was it bullying ?
    yup, lets just say i hope the other child gets his comeuppence in his new school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

forgot to ring neighbour to let him know lime was going to be spread next door and now he's giving out about it. :o
    Will have to try a plicate him now somehow

forgot to ring neighbour to let him know lime was going to be spread next door and now he's giving out about it. :o

send him an invoice for the lime that he will be getting off you:D

ha! That'll go down well!

I think a bottle of something will have to be picked up on the way home:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭mf240

ha! That'll go down well!

I think a bottle of something will have to be picked up on the way home:rolleyes:

A bottle of lemon?

Lemon and lime are supposed to be nice together!!!

1.75 an acre is a reasonable amount to budget for wine and chocolates during reseeding right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭dzer2

10k gallons of pig slurry every time he rings usually does the trick.:D:D

1.75 an acre is a reasonable amount to budget for wine and chocolates during reseeding right?

wine and choclates, are ya apologizing or asking him on a date:D

You never know!:p

In fairness this lad is alright but he got put out by this big cloud of white stuff comming over the hedge towards him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Our two reckoned country school isn't like (city) school at all, they were mostly out playing sports for their first day. 9.30am they were adamant they were walking up home, 3pm the two of them fell into the car like sacks of spuds :D