If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

jersey101 wrote: »
    aughrim. 400 cows. Be a well known beef man

Another one here in the midlands, putting down roadways and reared heifer calve last spring. aiming for 200 (for a start)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

There's a chap down that way I know who has about 200 cows on a very small block, stocked at something like 5cows/arce, and zero grazes grass in from out farms. He's a very good operator, and started with nothing (use to do do relief milk), but it sounds like tough going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

I also have a neighbor who has all tillage. Knows nothing about stock more importantly cows and he bought heifer calves this year and is going sowing down 100 ac next autumn and going to milk 200 cows with robots, he's Deluded. I seen the heifers the other day and there not even 120kgs. Has em on a paddock with horses with no grass. Some lads need to cop on a bit i think

Timmaay wrote: »
    There's a chap down that way I know who has about 200 cows on a very small block, stocked at something like 5cows/arce, and zero grazes grass in from out farms. He's a very good operator, and started with nothing (use to do do relief milk), but it sounds like tough going.[/quot]

ye i know who a man who milks 80 cows on 45ac i think very good operater. Used to AI for my father when we lived in wicklow

Cheap cows for any of the rest of us who want to expand quickly when everything goes tits up for them so!

Chap not too far away put in a robot a month or so ago, has to keep the cows in most the time, and in 3or 4 groups now, as they wouldn't go though themselves. Supposely he has the cowlane divided in two, one side for the cow to come up to the robot, and the other side the cow returns to the field, to a new patch of grass. But the cow going up to get milked gets confused by the cow on the other side going back to the paddock, and follows her back. Sounds like a nightmare for the chap at the minute, I hope for his sake he gets it working, and this is a chap who is well experienced with cows, delusional probably is the word to describe some of the lads starting out now, who will be likely to have way more mistakes as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,441 ✭✭✭jaymla627

There's a chap down that way I know who has about 200 cows on a very small block, stocked at something like 5cows/arce, and zero grazes grass in from out farms. He's a very good operator, and started with nothing (use to do do relief milk), but it sounds like tough going.

200 cows on 40 acre's their isn't to many lads that will beat that, his diesel and meal bill would terrify yeah id say.
    Was in Wales during the week on a tour with abs Ireland visited a few 10,000 litre plus operations with cows housed year round and zero-grazing was a no no, with there point opinion being it was to inconsistent for a high yielding cows diet on the basis of dry matter content and the labour input was to high so they just aimed to make top quality silage instead one lad had 600 acres of first cut in the pit its a different mind set altogether over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

jaymla627 wrote: »
    200 cows on 40 acre's their isn't to many lads that will beat that

I buy a few cattle of a guy and he either has 7 or 9 acres around the parlour and milking 70 girls.

I presume allot of these change overs are happening due to guys not able to master what they are at in the first place. There will always be afew decent operators changing but usually your best to stick with something as you never know whats around the corner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭shy_boy

Instead of starting a new thread i said i would ask here. Whats the average cost of AIing can anyone tell me. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,462 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Ah now bob, I'm sure there's a few!! It doesn't bother me but plenty of auld lads around not too happy about it.

when I heard the add for it on the radio I thought to myself " fair play! This country is finally moving into the 21st century!"
    Not only are the Irish accepting gay people but gay people are accepting their Irishness

I buy a few cattle of a guy and he either has 7 or 9 acres around the parlour and milking 70 girls.

I take it there nice and leggy Holsteins who aren't partial to a bit of meal, the thinking of the boys in Wales is milk production per cubicle space, they don't want to know about stocking rate per ha and grass is something that's made into silage and noting much else, these boys even had the dry cows in the shed on a tmr even though the grass was up through the ditches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

arais wrote: »
    can't believe you posted that @ 17.17
    but its true there defence is shocking bad

I take it there nice and leggy Holsteins who aren't partial to a bit of meal, the thinking of the boys in Wales is milk production per cubicle space, they don't want to know about stocking rate per ha and grass is something that's made into silage and noting much else, these boys even had the dry cows in the shed on a tmr even though the grass was up through the ditches.

very same as the north. Dont believe in grazing they say silage is better

In fairness these lads have cows peaking at 70 plus litres that need intakes of 30kg dry matter a day plus , the tmr being fed was 25kg silage, 9 kg meal and 2 kg straw which was ment to support 30 litres with cows topped up in the parlour any cows doing over 50 litres where getting nearly our over 20 kg of meal a day :rolleyes:

ye there very extreme systems

Where the UK is different is they have access to loads of cheap feed byproducts like brewers grain etc, much larger population. Northern Ireland is a different climate, shorter grazing season so the grass route doesn't make as much sense. But for that chap you were talking about in Aughrim wanting to milk the 400cows with very little grazing land, where is he planning on sourcing the cows feed, and what sort of cowtype is he going for do you have any idea?

have no idea about the cow type but he can get silage for 700 cttle so he must be able to get silage for 400. I dunno it could all just be talk. Id say you will here the storey too

Actually yas were talking about wintermilk earlier. I heard about a chap who has just got out of wintermilk, well he was pushing on quota so didn't need the milk this winter anyways, but he worked out that he would need 55c/l to make it worth while at all :eek:. I know I don't have the option of getting out of wintermilk yet with the poor calving spread and CI, but I really can't see any future in it, I'll be getting out once I can tighten things up here.

have no idea about the cow type but he can get silage for 700 cttle so he must be able to get silage for 400. I dunno it could all just be talk. Id say you will here the storey too

Oh dear god, now that sounds like lunacy, this years silage might be ok, but try buying in silage made in a wet year like last summer, and them cows wont be giving out much milk for long!

Actually while we are talking about new dairyfarms here, any more word on that 2000cow dairyfarm that was planned for somewhere in south Wexford, a family with a big tillagefarm who were going to switch over?

Oh dear god, now that sounds like lunacy, this years silage might be ok, but try buying in silage made in a wet year like last summer, and them cows wont be giving out much milk for long!

Actually while we are talking about new dairyfarms here, any more word on that 2000cow dairyfarm that was planned for somewhere in south Wexford, a family with a big tillagefarm who were going to switch over?

ye i know about that farm too. Chinese are supposedly funding it. There kehoes campion plough men are putting land into grass down in wellungtonbridge be a bog down there to be fair

Actually yas were talking about wintermilk earlier. I heard about a chap who has just got out of wintermilk, well he was pushing on quota so didn't need the milk this winter anyways, but he worked out that he would need 55c/l to make it worth while at all :eek:. I know I don't have the option of getting out of wintermilk yet with the poor calving spread and CI, but I really can't see any future in it, I'll be getting out once I can tighten things up here.

i got paid 50c/l last year. Im happy with that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

i got paid 50c/l last year. Im happy with that
    Who are you supplying?? We get 5.6c/l over the manufacturing price for nov, dec, jan and feb, capped at 30% of base supply from 09/10 in our winter milk scheme

Milked out wrote: »
    Who are you supplying?? We get 5.6c/l over the manufacturing price for nov, dec, jan and feb, capped at 30% of base supply from 09/10 in our winter milk scheme

glanbia, its all the solids thats pushing the price up. No big massive yeilds. The bonus for glanbia winter milk is 8c,9c and 10c above the base price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

glanbia, its all the solids thats pushing the price up. No big massive yeilds

Wouldn't be massive yields here either by all year round standards, 1500glns sold on an average year, the girls can drive on in good years alrite but quota stopped us in 10 and 11, bought some since but mother nature, and a few badgers:mad:, hasn't played ball. at the same time solids are averaging 3.5p and 4bf so wouldn't be the lowest around, you must be getting a good bonus to hit 50c/l

Milked out wrote: »
    Wouldn't be massive yields here either by all year round standards, 1500glns sold on an average year, the girls can drive on in good years alrite but quota stopped us in 10 and 11, bought some since but mother nature, and a few badgers:mad:, hasn't played ball. at the same time solids are averaging 3.5p and 4bf so wouldn't be the lowest around, you must be getting a good bonus to hit 50c/l

Atm out bf is 4.87 and pro at 3. 65. That adds a big bonus when your paid on a+b-c and then get the winter bonus

Serious solids there, do you have all Xbreds in the herd by now? Our sept/oct f and p are about 4.10/3.5, then come crashing through the ground, as low as 3.7/2.9 in dec/jan/feb when all the spring ladies are dry. Our cows winter diet needs improving I'll admit, but actually considering we are on a liquid contract solids probably don't matter anyways?

ye if your on a liquid contract solids dont relate to your price. My father was all JE in the 90's he was importing straws from canada. Denmark any where he could get em because he couldn't get them here them he started crossing because it was costing to much for straws. So we kinda did it backwards. We have alot of crossbreds now and alot of Fr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Was talking to an uncle that's farming in wicklow today and he was telling me that a lad not to far away from him that fattens 700 head of cattle is going into milk. Not a acre of ground big enough to hold the amount of cows he's talking about milking.

Is this whats going to happen from now on?
    I hope so, it might mean a better margin for those of us left suckling ;)

just do it wrote: »
    I hope so, it might mean a better margin for those of us left suckling ;)

sure if this sexed semen works dairy men will have cheap beef heifers for ye :D