Newborn babies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Sarky wrote: »
    Tiny little Winston Churchills. I have to fight the urge to slip a cigar into one wee hand and a glass of whiskey in the other.

chewing and analgesic - genius idea for teething. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭emmabrighton

Well, I for one do think new born babies are sooooooo cute and I can't wait to have another one... and this is coming from a woman whose baby was born at 28 weeks gestation so looked kinda like

this

but actually completely like

this

Who doesn't love that little guy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Little babies look like potatoes or like mini Winston Churchills. Anyone who thinks they are beautiful or that they can see resemblances to relatives is deranged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

jimgoose wrote: »
    Humans have huge brains that need to develop and learn. Takes time and energy.

True... it's kind of sad how some people then go and waste that time and energy. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Well, I for one do think new born babies are sooooooo cute and I can't wait to have another one... and this is coming from a woman whose baby was born at 28 weeks gestation so looked kinda like

this

Don't click the above link with safe search off! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Yep, they all look like bulldogs sucking piss off a nettle or Winston Churchill for the first week or so, then they're cute. TBF, you can't tell a parent that (I am a parent BTW, and I take no offence at it what so ever, cos I agree).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

anncoates wrote: »
    They had to use a ventouse and a forceps on my first son so his head was actually conical looking (with a big red ring mark on it) when he came out.

I remember abstractly thinking it would have been quite funny if I wasn't shitting it so much.

After a crash Caesarean section on my first, one of the hospital cleaners told me she could tell I had a section, because "section babies are the pretty ones".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

Aw I think newborn babies are cute :D

I have two nieces both absolutely gorgeous when born and twin nephews born over 5 weeks early and teeny tiny and both still gorgeous!

Maybe when its family its different but I'm yet to see an ugly newborn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 strawberries

Yes they all kinda look like Benjamin Button at first but damn do they smell good!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Yep, they all look like bulldogs sucking piss off a nettle or Winston Churchill for the first week or so, then they're cute. TBF, you can't tell a parent that (I am a parent BTW, and I take no offence at it what so ever, cos I agree).

You can too, I've told several mothers their babies look like potatoes (but only if they prompted 'isn't she cute/beautiful/adorable')

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    You can too, I've told several mothers their babies look like potatoes (but only if they prompted 'isn't she cute/beautiful/adorable')

Why do it though... sure aren't they all little stunners :rolleyes:

I personally always said it first, cos well it was true, but feck it sure I always revert to the usual congrats he/she is FABULOUS! Not comment on the bulldog looks at all and you've still given a compliment :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

A lady I work with had a baby recently. She's an attractive lady herself and her husband isn't bad looking. I'll be shot for saying it, but the baby is the ugliest looking thing I have ever seen. It's almost four months now and unfortunately doesn't seem to be improving with age.
    This is not just my opinion. Everyone at work has said the same thing!
    She recently put up a picture/quote on her Facebook page that says "Not only am I an amazing mother, but I made a pretty damn good looking kid too. Yeah, you should be jealous. BOOM". So so wrong.

A lady I work with had a baby recently. She's an attractive lady herself and her husband isn't bad looking. I'll be shot for saying it, but the baby is the ugliest looking thing I have ever seen. It's almost four months now and unfortunately doesn't seem to be improving with age.
    This is not just my opinion. Everyone at work has said the same thing!
    She recently put up a picture/quote on her Facebook page that says "Not only am I an amazing mother, but I made a pretty damn good looking kid too. Yeah, you should be jealous. BOOM". So so wrong.

Wouldn't criticise ya for saying the baba was not the easiest on the eyes, but FFS you have to know the gender
    It's almost four months now

No offense but that's total dick speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

First words out of my mouth when my boy was born.

It's an alien.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭CastingCouch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

--Kaiser-- wrote: »

I wish I had the guts to say that, seriously. All of the women where I work bring in their new babies to be cooed over and they're always trying to foist them on me, like I want to hold them or something. I don't, babies are strange creatures and I don't want anything to do with them until they're old enough to teach rude words to.

"Isn't he/she adorable/cute/precious?"
    "Madam, I hate to be the one to give you this news, but your son is a potato."

This thread is hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I think most newborn babies are really beautiful and pretty - some are ugly though

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Not too bothered about what they look like but I don't need to see a picture of them on Facebook within half an hour of being released into the world. Some people have weird priorities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Wouldn't criticise ya for saying the baba was not the easiest on the eyes, but FFS you have to know the gender

No offense but that's total dick speak

Was trying to be slightly subtle in case aforementioned mother happened to read this, but if you really want to know, the baby is a girl, and as for "No offense", of course not, I never take offence if someone calls me a dick!

Darling if you read what I said correctly I said it was dick speak... I would never call anyone a dick NEVER :o NEVER NEVER :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭CastingCouch

On a slightly different note, was chatting with a female colleague in work one day and she was on about when she was going in to have her baby.

She said she saw the ugliest woman she ever seen in at the same time, and was trying her best not to have her baby on the same day as her just in case the babies got mixed up and she got the ugly one. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭mohawk

Newborns look like old men for the first few months and are ugly.

When I say a newborn is cute I am lying. Its not good manners to say your baby looks gross with all its wrinkles and peeling skin:eek:. Once the baby is around 6 months old and if its still ugly I will compliment what they are wearing as you can't keep the lie going forever.

Except for my son he has been handsome since the day he was born;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

Parents always think their babies are beautiful - that's why people say it. Not because they are, but because they are kind and recognise how in love with the baby they are. And there is something endearing about a flaky, wrinkly little yoke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭Love2u

I could look at newborns all day, words can not describe the feelings to be able to look at a baby you create and bring into the world. Every newborn is an absolute miracle and I could never say they are ugly! Call me wired but a newborn in my eyes is only a true miracle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭Love2u

Ugh.......that's mean :-(. The body is only form, what about the persons heart etc.... Oh never mind :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,167 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

I couldn't agree with you more. Newborn babies are gorgeous. Sure, if they stayed looking the same way when they got bigger they might not be the most aesthetically pleasing but still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,217 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

My newborn had craniosynostosis & was still gorgeous :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Thankfully squillions of years of evolution has hardwired us to go gaga with love over the sight of our own babies, otherwise we'd all be raising kittens. :D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

I have a fairly new baby and I agree, they're not beautiful in the traditional meaning of the word when they're born. Mine was all puffy and squished and looked like Psy of Gangnam Style fame.

I think people mean beautiful more in a "wow, the miracle of life way" - they are amazing little things. Tiny, miniature humans. Pretty amazing how they grow in you and then arrive all perfectly formed.

Objectively (and no I'm not biased at all!) he is the best looking baby now. He's mixed race so I've done my part for deepening the gene pool!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

They all look like little trolls- kind of like what I imagined the garden gnomes in Harry Potter to look like. Babies born naturally look even weirder with their faces all squashed and swollen. They're still pretty special- something about their being so untouched by the world. I suppose we don't really get to see genuine newborns much through media, they always masquerade three month olds as neonates in the movies, so it's a bit of a shock when we see a real one.