Do you trust beggars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭Decuc500

I've seen a couple of different beggars with rabbits recently. It's a very cynical ploy. It's like the trend of young traveller kids begging with puppies a few years ago. Poor pups had to learn how to swim in the Liffey after they had served their use...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

No. Panhandling should be illegal in public places where support (Simon community etc.) is available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭yellowcrayon

I used to trust beggars, but now, absolutely not!

Me and my partner moved from the country to Cork City and this was the first time we had honestly come across beggars in such a high number. Himself felt awfully sorry for a Roma gypsey lady that was sitting on the bridge near Grand Parade so went and bought her a sandwich in Spar. He handed it to her and she threw it over her head into the river and started shouting at him that she wanted money not food.. and even grabbed at his hands and pockets to try and get money from him.

Another time, I was walking home after work near the Opera House and a homeless guy I had seen begging before, who was definitely drunk at the time, bumped into me as he was walking past and then accused me of hitting him and proceeded to grab me and punch me in the face. He split my lip and two men who were sitting in traffic had to get out of their cars to get him off of me.

Since then I have NEVER given money to anyone begging and honestly dont feel one bit guilty about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

I used to trust beggars, but now, absolutely not!

Me and my partner moved from the country to Cork City and this was the first time we had honestly come across beggars in such a high number. Himself felt awfully sorry for a Roma gypsey lady that was sitting on the bridge near Grand Parade so went and bought her a sandwich in Spar. He handed it to her and she threw it over her head into the river and started shouting at him that she wanted money not food.. and even grabbed at his hands and pockets to try and get money from him.

Another time, I was walking home after work near the Opera House and a homeless guy I had seen begging before, who was definitely drunk at the time, bumped into me as he was walking past and then accused me of hitting him and proceeded to grab me and punch me in the face. He split my lip and two men who were sitting in traffic had to get out of their cars to get him off of me.

Since then I have NEVER given money to anyone begging and honestly dont feel one bit guilty about it.

It is frightening how quickly a lot of them turn off the charm once they know you wont be giving them anything. I find this especially with people asking for cigarettes. You say, "no" and they point to the one in your hand....eh it's mine! Or they will point out there is a box on the table. I got conned by a Romanian woman years ago when I was working in the local shop. I should have smelled a rat when she presented a five hundred euro note! But I was young and naive. Anyway, whatever fiddle she did, she did the shop out of 150 euro. I think she bought something small and I gave her her change as 9 fifty euro notes, 2 twenties etc and then she "changed her mind" - I gave her back the 500 note as I didn't want it in my til and I had no change left for other customers and she gave me back the change I had given her...minus 3 fifty euro notes. Fuucking b1tch. Of course it was the company who had to cover it but it made my life hell for a few weeks! I still don't know how I was so fuucking stupid, and since then (sorry) I pretty much despise them all. I instinctively hold my bag tighter to me if they are near me on a busy luas etc. I know you shouldn't tar everyone with the same brush but honestly I just dont trust them :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭prizefighter

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    It is frightening how quickly a lot of them turn off the charm once they know you wont be giving them anything. I find this especially with people asking for cigarettes. You say, "no" and they point to the one in your hand....eh it's mine! Or they will point out there is a box on the table. I got conned by a Romanian woman years ago when I was working in the local shop. I should have smelled a rat when she presented a five hundred euro note! But I was young and naive. Anyway, whatever fiddle she did, she did the shop out of 150 euro. I think she bought something small and I gave her her change as 9 fifty euro notes, 2 twenties etc and then she "changed her mind" - I gave her back the 500 note as I didn't want it in my til and I had no change left for other customers and she gave me back the change I had given her...minus 3 fifty euro notes. Fuucking b1tch. Of course it was the company who had to cover it but it made my life hell for a few weeks! I still don't know how I was so fuucking stupid, and since then (sorry) I pretty much despise them all. I instinctively hold my bag tighter to me if they are near me on a busy luas etc. I know you shouldn't tar everyone with the same brush but honestly I just dont trust them :(

Ha ha they tried that on me once when I was working in a clothes shop. When the change didn't add up I kept hold of the 500 while the Roma woman and her friend went berserk. The manager was backing me and started to close the shutters of the shop and call the cops. Then the 130 euro miraculously reappeared from the sleeve of the Roma woman!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

His shivers probably have little to do with the weather.

He's just faking them to get sympathy.
    I've seem him when the gardai come along.
    The shivers disappear.
    They must warm the cockles of his heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

bnt wrote: »
    As for the Roma beggars - do folks here get that there is nothing genuine about what they do? They are as organised as an invading army, complete with a uniform, standard equipment (the drugged baby), procedures, and "officers" watching over them to make sure they perform.

It's shocking, I read somewhere about these women drugging their babies so they sleep all day. I always thought it was suspicious; toddlers, who would usually be causing typical toddler devilment, 'asleep' for HOURS on a busy noisy street on someone's lap. It all made sense when I read this article (sorry I don't have a link). I hate to say this but they are one group of immigrants to our country that I would not trust for a second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Nopeare

DoozerT6 wrote: »
    It's shocking, I read somewhere about these women drugging their babies so they sleep all day. I always thought it was suspicious; toddlers, who would usually be causing typical toddler devilment, 'asleep' for HOURS on a busy noisy street on someone's lap. It all made sense when I read this article (sorry I don't have a link). I hate to say this but they are one group of immigrants to our country that I would not trust for a second.

It was discussed on here one of the girls in my work sent it onto me today http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056926591

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Nopeare wrote: »
    It was discussed on here one of the girls in my work sent it onto me today http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056926591

Wow! That thread went well! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

No. Panhandling should be illegal in public places where support (Simon community etc.) is available.
    But some people don't want to access such support services. In the case of emergency shelters, some would rather sleep rough than take a bed for the night in such places.

That's a decision someone is making based on a fear for their safety. Please also bear in mind that for every aggressive beggar that approaches people there is someone who will sit silently with arms outstretched. I would also argue that the latter outweigh the former quite comfortably.

These people are not causing any harm, and to suggest these people should be banned from begging if they don't use certain services is quite extreme in my opinion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

Ha ha they tried that on me once when I was working in a clothes shop. When the change didn't add up I kept hold of the 500 while the Roma woman and her friend went berserk. The manager was backing me and started to close the shutters of the shop and call the cops. Then the 130 euro miraculously reappeared from the sleeve of the Roma woman!!

It's their culture. How dare you oppress them. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

The Romas on Nano Nagle Bridge and the others dotted around that area are part of a co-ordinated begging ring. Every couple of hours or so a fella will come around to them and collect the money that they have. I imagine it's pooled at the end of the day. It's a bigger money spinner than you might think. The only Romas I'd give anything to in Cork are the accordion band you see playing outside Brown Thomas because they're actually very good and it's an honest way to turn a few pound at the end of the day.

I was doing the door of one bar in Cork City when I got word off another bouncer that some of them were trying to get into venues in order to pass off counterfeit €50 notes. Sure enough about two hours later a man rocked up who was dressed fairly well and the eejit I was working with let him saunter in while I was having a fag across the street. I expected he'd try and buy a drink with the 50 and then leave but the saucy f*cker tried to tell the barmaid he was a manager at another pub down the road and was looking for ten €20 for €200 in (fake) fifties. I waited til he handed over the money, walked behind the bar, took the notes off your one, saw they were fake as f*ck and put them into my pocket before marching your man outside and turfing him out on his ear.

He was p*ssing and moaning and threatening for a good half an hour outside at the doormen and at one stage told us he was going to call the cops! I never laughed so much in my life.

FTA69 wrote: »
    The Romas on Nano Nagle Bridge and the others dotted around that area are part of a co-ordinated begging ring. Every couple of hours or so a fella will come around to them and collect the money that they have.

You just reminded me of something. Couple of years ago in Dublin, I was walking along Aston Quay or thereabouts and was getting close to a bunch of romas (maybe 4 or 5) who were walking ahead of me. C-class merc pulled up and they all climbed in. Told a friend in the pub a day or two later and he said that he saw some romas getting dropped out of a car in the city centre one morning, too. Must be something similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

I wouldn't trust them as far as I'd throw them.

Particularly the littler ones from Rumania.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

FTA69 wrote: »
    The Romas on Nano Nagle Bridge and the others dotted around that area are part of a co-ordinated begging ring. Every couple of hours or so a fella will come around to them and collect the money that they have. I imagine it's pooled at the end of the day. It's a bigger money spinner than you might think. The only Romas I'd give anything to in Cork are the accordion band you see playing outside Brown Thomas because they're actually very good and it's an honest way to turn a few pound at the end of the day.

I was doing the door of one bar in Cork City when I got word off another bouncer that some of them were trying to get into venues in order to pass off counterfeit €50 notes. Sure enough about two hours later a man rocked up who was dressed fairly well and the eejit I was working with let him saunter in while I was having a fag across the street. I expected he'd try and buy a drink with the 50 and then leave but the saucy f*cker tried to tell the barmaid he was a manager at another pub down the road and was looking for ten €20 for €200 in (fake) fifties. I waited til he handed over the money, walked behind the bar, took the notes off your one, saw they were fake as f*ck and put them into my pocket before marching your man outside and turfing him out on his ear.

He was p*ssing and moaning and threatening for a good half an hour outside at the doormen and at one stage told us he was going to call the cops! I never laughed so much in my life.

Why didn't you call the cops? :confused:

Caonima wrote: »
    You just reminded me of something. Couple of years ago in Dublin, I was walking along Aston Quay or thereabouts and was getting close to a bunch of romas (maybe 4 or 5) who were walking ahead of me. C-class merc pulled up and they all climbed in. Told a friend in the pub a day or two later and he said that he saw some romas getting dropped out of a car in the city centre one morning, too. Must be something similar.

Probably. Look, it's not as if they're all coining it either like. Rather at the top of one group you have a patriarch who sends the rest out to beg. I imagine the women and kids are given a quota for the day as well. A buddy of mine used to do security at the centre they were housed at outside Cork for a good while and he actually got on with them very well, helping a few of them enroll in the local school and all. He said they also get preyed on by a Roma mafia and he saw that the crowd in his centre were forced to hand over a fraction of the pittance they were given by the state. This would have been around 2004 odd I think.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Why didn't you call the cops? :confused:

Not my style really to be honest. Also couldn't have been arsed dealing with the cops when we were getting slammed out the door in a busy pub. Similarly I couldn't be dealing with the hassle of giving statements etc and more importantly both the owner and the head doorman made the call not to so that was it for me really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

About 4 years ago I was walking through town, it was snowing at the time. There was a guy begging for money, he was sitting on the ground in the snow, legs crossed, no shoes, short trousers and A t shirt. He was crying.

I had no change but went to get some. He was gone when I went back. I cried all the way home, he looked so lost, cold and scared.

A few days later I see him in town, brand new phone, lovely clothes and shoes, laughing like he hadn't a care in the world. I wanted to throtte him!

Snowing in August four years ago ?

On the subject of counterfeit notes, in China, due to rampant counterfeiting operations over the years, the biggest bank note you can get now is 100 yuan, which is just over a tenner. Makes taking out a lot of money a real pain in the arse (pocket).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

I came across a female begging outside Fallon Byrne last Saturday, she told me she was not looking for money but baby formula for her baby who was in Crumlin Hospital. I believed her took her to Dunnes stores and bought some baby supplies for her. I thought afterwards if her baby was in hospital surely it would be fed there so now wondering if I was scammed. Has anyone else come across her

Yup, she's always there. Last few years thats been her spot. She called me a bitch once when I called her on it, amazing to see how her face switched in one second as she dropped the act and then continued on as normal to the next punter. No shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

No I don't trust beggars, there's just too many scammers.
    Particularly anyone with disabilities.

I give money to charities,never to beggars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

yeahimhere wrote: »
    Yup, she's always there. Last few years thats been her spot. She called me a bitch once when I called her on it, amazing to see how her face switched in one second as she dropped the act and then continued on as normal to the next punter. No shame.

There's one on abbey st who is always around, asking people to buy her food. Wonder if she is legit? I think she has a buggy but no baby. I never bought her any so don't know

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Why not just take note of one or two you see sleeping on the street at night?

I have my regulars now and am on first name terms due to the fact ive seen them sleep rough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yeah, there's a few locals I know down the years and would give cigarettes or coffee cards when they're full (buy 10, get 1 free). Rarely would I give even them money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 BeggarBelief

yeahimhere wrote: »

I fell for her charm hook line and sinker, she walked around Dunnes Stores crying her eyes out, feel very disappointed to be taken in by this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

I was walking down O'Connell Street a few weeks ago and seen this guy, not sitting but on his knees with his hands out-stretched. No human being should decimate their dignity like that, it's completely and conclusively beyond human rights as far as I'm concerned.

I told him he didn't have to do this and talked with him for ten minutes about his plans for the duration of the week. He assured me he was looking for work... What is the world coming to?

As far as trusting them goes, in Ireland, we have the fortune of having help on hand for homeless folk. But they don't want help. Some people enjoy spending every last penny they get on alcohol and cigarettes. If they were actually trying to help themselves, I think people would be more accommodating and less hostile.

He doesn't have to do it he choses to do this. It is a way to make people feel guilty which worked on you. It isn't against human rights in anyway. It is a practice that came over from Spain AFAIK. The same with the bunnies but this has increased after the story about the guy saving his rabbit in the Liffey.

A friend of live by a family who get social welfare payment, rent paid etc... and yet they go out begging every day. They have their particular spots in town. Not many people who grew up in this country would do this but begging is a way of life for some.

I used to work off Abbey Street, the same people begging every day. Then you would see them later once they got their fix.

Giving money to beggars is really bad for everybody as it encourages people to beg rather than get help and also encourages scammers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭olazbabes

Someone please respond. Today on henry street a tall man dressed smartly approached me and said he needed help. He needs to get to cork city as at 6 20 pm. I told him to go to Bus eireann they can help you find a bus. He said he needed financial help. he looked serious i dont know why a gave him a fiver. am i wrong or right. This man is tall, African well built wearing a long coat. Is he familar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

There are proper homeless people near where I work. They're never begging. They're just lying there in their sleeping bags when I get in, on the side of the road, in the wind and the rain. When I go out for lunch, there can be a few more of them, gathered around the sleeping bags, talking mostly, sometimes having a drink. They collect mad stuff, bikes and fishing rods. I guess they trade it. Most of them are men, but there is the odd woman. They're totally wrecked, the lot of them. You have never seen a sicker bunch in your life. Always slurring, and coughing, and hacking up whatever. It's terribly sad, and that's all. I work in a nice enough part of town, so I guess they feel safe enough there from scumbags who would set them on fire for the laugh, or whatever.

Each and everyone of them has massive problems, I don't know what they will do when the winter comes in. It's terribly sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

I trust them more than I trust me own mother. I tell them all my private secrets and I haven't heard 1 gossip about me yet

olazbabes wrote: »
    Someone please respond. Today on henry street a tall man dressed smartly approached me and said he needed help. He needs to get to cork city as at 6 20 pm. I told him to go to Bus eireann they can help you find a bus. He said he needed financial help. he looked serious i dont know why a gave him a fiver. am i wrong or right. This man is tall, African well built wearing a long coat. Is he familar

Scamola.