Legalization of drugs how would it work ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,372 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I can't see how legalising cannabis makes sense when we're trying to discourage smoking for health reasons unless the answer is brownies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭HowAreWe

conorhal wrote: »
    Inf fairness, does does society endorse drinking 15 pints and getting in a fight?
    I don't think so.

No you're right, but everyone does it. I see it every time I go out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

HowAreWe wrote: »
    No you're right, but everyone does it. I see it every time I go out.

Almost nobody does it (drink 15 pints and get in a fight).

Some people abuse alcohol alright though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

lkionm wrote: »
    It would be a great solution to the jobs initiative.

Now every drug lushing scumbag is a sole trader.
    Yeah, like when prohibition was lifted in the US, its well known that every single person involved in the legal alcohol trade is a scumbag...

kneemos wrote: »
    You just have to look at happened with the Head Shops recently to see what happens when drugs are legalised,queues down the street every weekend night.
    I don't see your point? Of course there is queues, ever been in a busy pub on a saturday night? or an off licence on Christmas eve or new years, or holy thursday.

If there was very little demand for these things there would be little call for them to be legalized. Why would you spend a fortune introducting taxation & regulation, admin etc for something which would never sell?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Would you legalise something you wouldn't want your kids to use.

I wouldnt want my 12 year old driving on the motorway but wouldnt be outlawing cars and closing the motorways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,609 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    I wouldnt want my 12 year old driving on the motorway but wouldnt be outlawing cars and closing the motorways.

What about drugs though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

I can't see how legalising cannabis makes sense when we're trying to discourage smoking for health reasons unless the answer is brownies.

If the powers that be were interested in the nations health they would ban cigarettes altogether!! However they can't and/or won't as they make too much tax from sales. Drugs will never be legalised/decriminalised so long as publicans have their hands in the politicians pockets massaging their balls!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

You just have to look at happened with the Head Shops recently to see what happens when drugs are legalised,queues down the street every weekend night.
    Legal means acceptable which they aren't.

Of course you couldn't make them legal, sure wouldn't that end all the brown envelopes under the table. And we couldn't have that. Criminality means big profits and not just for the criminals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭shleedance

Kids as in young adults.

Don't backpedal. Young adults are not kids. Your post was one of those "will somebody think of the children?!?!?!" types.

What about drugs though?

Why are you focusing on kids again when you said "young adults"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

good thread OP, tbh i would be in favour of legalising certain drugs like cannabis etc. but obviously not the serious stuff like cocaine etc. however i don't think it will happen here for a few generations at least especially with all the controversy the headshops caused in 09.

legalising would actual remove the black market taking the profits away from the crims. to think the governement could make revenue from the tax from the likes of cannabis etc. if it was legal, then there wouldn't be the need to overtax alcohol etc. anyway i don't think that will happen anyway , nice thought though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,609 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

shleedance wrote: »
    Don't backpedal. Young adults are not kids. Your post was one of those "will somebody think of the children?!?!?!" types.

Your kids don't stop being your kids at a certain age.Obviously there's different understandings of the word.

Regulate it and make it safer too. I would allow harder drugs too, but have stricter regulations on them. It would also boost the economy, if done right.

Your kids don't stop being your kids at a certain age.Obviously there's different understandings of the word.

From young adults to "your kids". Right.

They're not kids once they hit 18. They're allowed to do whatever they want then by law. If they want to take drugs by then, let them. No problem with that if they do it responsibly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

Hell in a handbasket. The Dutch have a love hate relationship with smoke, and the pervasive attitude it creates for street dealing of harder drugs to tourists. In Dutch society anyone beyond the age of 30 who still smokes is seen to be a waster in the same way lads in Ireland who are locked every night beyond the age of 30 are regarded as alcoholics. Most Dutch I've met haven't been inside a coffee shop beyond the age of 21, to be a stoner beyond 30 is seen as embarrassing.

Illegal drugs are illegal for a reason. I say this as someone who was addicted to hash, love ecstasy, thinks coke is ****ing bollocks butt knows people who have ruined themselves on it, and has a serious disrespect for Bill Hicks devotees.

Bill Hicks was a moron. An utterly blinkered view of the world twat of the highest order. The reason he wasn't popular in the US wasn't because he was too edgy the reason was that he was a retard. A bumbling recovering abuser moron.

Hash is a gateway drug.

If you disagree, you are 15 years old. Mentally at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Nope the two main gateway drugs are legal.
    What about drugs though?

I thik everyone else here gets the point I was making. Even my 12 year old does.

I say this as someone who was addicted to hash
    How did you manage that? Were you smoking it with tobacco by any chance?

Most of these "addicts" are like an alcoholic claiming they are hooked on 7up, while neglecting to mention the vodka they take with it.
    Hell in a handbasket. The Dutch have a love hate relationship with smoke, and the pervasive attitude it creates for street dealing of harder drugs to tourists
    Cannabis is illegal in holland, this does cause lots of problems still.

In Dutch society anyone beyond the age of 30 who still smokes is seen to be a waster in the same way lads in Ireland who are locked every night beyond the age of 30 are regarded as alcoholics.
    Not sure of your point, so a guy in his 70's who enjoys a threshold amount of cannabis once a year in Holland is viewed as a waster? or is it just complete stoners in coffee shops every-night completely zonked? in which case I don't think age matters much.

Hash is a gateway drug.

Oh dear. Even our own gardai have unofficially dropped the gateway nonsense, made them look like complete eejits.

rubadub wrote: »
    How did you manage that? Were you smoking it with tobacco by any chance?

Most of these "addicts" are like an alcoholic claiming they are hooked on 7up, while neglecting to mention the vodka they take with it.

Cannabis is illegal in holland, this does cause lots of problems still.

Not sure of your point, so a guy in his 70's who enjoys a threshold amount of cannabis once a year in Holland is viewed as a waster? or is it just complete stoners in coffee shops every-night completely zonked? in which case I don't think age matters much.

Oh dear. Even our own gardai have unofficially dropped the gateway nonsense, made them look like complete eejits.

If I showed this to my Dutch friends, holy god they would laugh. I used to be like yourself mind, before I got straight and realised how badly hash was impacting my life. Whilst neither is desirable, being a fully functioning successful adult is a lot easier for chronic alcoholics than it is for people addicted to smoke. Smoke is a great buzz when you're young but jesus it is a crippling drug when it come to getting people out of their rut. In all truth the only illegal drug that, IMO, improves your life, is sweet sweet ecstasy. It changed my life for the better. But coke, hash, poppers, acid, horrible crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Days 298

If I showed this to my Dutch friends, holy god they would laugh. I used to be like yourself mind, before I got straight and realised how badly hash was impacting my life. Whilst neither is desirable, being a fully functioning successful adult is a lot easier for chronic alcoholics than it is for people addicted to smoke.
    What? :confused:

Days 298 wrote: »
    What? :confused:

There are a lot more financially successful raging alcoholics who take a swig on the job than there are financially successful businessmen who spark up three times in the work day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭DepecheHead101

Hell in a handbasket. The Dutch have a love hate relationship with smoke, and the pervasive attitude it creates for street dealing of harder drugs to tourists. In Dutch society anyone beyond the age of 30 who still smokes is seen to be a waster in the same way lads in Ireland who are locked every night beyond the age of 30 are regarded as alcoholics. Most Dutch I've met haven't been inside a coffee shop beyond the age of 21, to be a stoner beyond 30 is seen as embarrassing.

Illegal drugs are illegal for a reason. I say this as someone who was addicted to hash, love ecstasy, thinks coke is ****ing bollocks butt knows people who have ruined themselves on it, and has a serious disrespect for Bill Hicks devotees.

Bill Hicks was a moron. An utterly blinkered view of the world twat of the highest order. The reason he wasn't popular in the US wasn't because he was too edgy the reason was that he was a retard. A bumbling recovering abuser moron.

Hash is a gateway drug.

"I've already had my time with drugs. Now everybody shut up and see it my way."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Legal means acceptable which they aren't.
    Did it occur to you that the vast, vast majority of the people in these queues would have otherwise bought drugs illegally from a dealer?

Mind you, I'm not condoning head shops, I don't do drugs outside of caffeine, alcohol, tobacco and the very, very rare joint (in a situation where someone would offer me a drag at an after party, towards the end of the night). Maybe I am wrong on this, but I get the feeling that the 'legal' stuff sold in head shops is only 'legal' because it's a mystery what compounds are in half the stuff - e.g. that is is new 'technology' (kind of like how steroids & PEDs keep developing) that is not illegal yet as it has not been sufficiently tested.

---

I don't necessarily support the legalisation of all drugs, though I agree with the model some countries have taken for making possession of any substance legal (or at least decriminalised) while coming down like a tonne of bricks on anyone dealing, or what a sufficient amount to be deemed as intent to distribute. It's the street-level dealers that need to be targeted, with a view to using them as a means to 'climb the ladder' and get to the heads of these operations. The Wire unsurprisingly captured this extremely well, as well as the pitfalls and roadblocks in the way.

Some drugs however such as cannabis, should be legalised. This could also extend to LSD, mushrooms and ecstasy - with tight, tight regulations surrounding their production and distribution. One method could be a photo ID card, similar to a rivers licence, allowing for a 'set amount' such as 2g of cannabis a day, or one/two ecstasy tablets per week, of whatever. Link it to a central database, similar to how your details show up with a passport scan. If you got to buy a pill of ecstasy on Saturday, and the database shows you bought one on Wednesday... no service. Likewise, if you "lost your card", no service. It will severely limit abuse of substances, and if people are worried about the cost of doing something like this, they obviously don't know how profitable that general industry is. Dispense them in specialised vendors, located in extremely close proximity to Garda stations.

Added to that, if any tourists plan on visiting Ireland for 'recreational' purposes, allow them to do so - but they must cover the administrative cost of their 'temporary' card (to cover the length of their visit). This also would further help tourism, and if they don't have any inclinations to take any drugs over here, they simply don't need to apply for the 'card' and avoid extra charges.

If the government becomes the producer and distributor of these drugs, it will not only allow them to keep everything firmly under their thumb for practical purposes, but would mean a MASSIVE, and sustained boost to the economy. It would cut out the lethal concoctions found in head shops (which they could then shut down altogether without much of any argument - even bring some of the owners/staff of those shops into their own model, as they have some experience), and would eliminate the gateway of getting in touch with dodgy dealers and that general via cannabis/ecstasy - the idea being that over time, this reduces the exposure people have to more dangerous drugs at least at younger ages, and thus allows them to make more sensible decisions rather than having it gently pushed on them whenever they go to get some pills or grass or whatever.

As for consumption, establishments could apply for licences - some cafes for cannabis, some nightclubs for ecstasy (so you could have some with, and some without), etc. This would also provide a boost to some small businesses in this sense (if you've got a cafe full of stoned people, you'll have no problems with aggro and will make a lot of money off food and drink :D ), whereas the 'ecstasy clubs' would likely charge a much higher entry fee, as their clientele would be unlikely to be spending much on alcohol. Hopefully (though not likely) that would also in turn allow other nightclubs to lower their drink or entry prices a little, as they wouldn't have a chunk of their customers just ordering water all night.

If we use Amsterdam as an example (though as best I know they only allow cannabis and possibly mushrooms), you would need a good few plain-clothes Gards though. Anyone who has walked around Amsterdam after dark on weekends knows you can barely go a few hundred metres without someone passing you whispering (coke, coca, pills, e's... coke, coca, pills, e's... you want?), so you would want to come down on them fast and hard and also to bring in harsh laws for 'offers of sale' as I would imagine that these lads if you accept, take you down an alley to someone who is holding everything. The law would need to be able to get around that somehow, which would be tricky.

The benefits being:
    - Illegal sale of drugs plummeting (and any caught doing so being treated similar to a drug mule in Peru).
    - More informed decision making customers (hence why it must be gov't distribution - can't trust private industry here).
    - Huge, sustained increase in income for the government.
    - Potential boost for small tertiary businesses operating as 'consumption centres' (cafes, clubs, etc).
    - Specialisation of these businesses allowing both benefit (weed/non-weed cafes, esctasy/non-ecstasy clubs, etc).
    - Potential tourism bump.

*I know the above is not a flawless plan and likely has more holes than Swiss cheese in it, but I think it would work very well as a blueprint to develop upon.

If I showed this to my Dutch friends, holy god they would laugh.
    Laugh at what exactly? And what about friends of other nationalities, whats so peculiar about the dutch?

Most people I know would find your "gateway nonsense" to be cringeworthy & laughable (no matter what nationality they are).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Here's how I would do it.

Set up a few "drug centres" around the country.

Only people who have been diagnosed as addicts by a registered doctor can get access to these drug centres. There they can get their drugs cheaper than from the illegal dealers, and it's safer as well. Clean needles, doctors, rehab counsellors, security, a few police around etc. There would be less police chasing dealers and users so some of these can be freed up to police the drug centres.

As the addicts will only be taking drugs in these centres, it would be much harder for them to introduce them to their friends. So the amount of new drug users would drop.

The worst thing about drugs is not for those who take them, but the drugs trade. With no more addicts to sell to, a large part of the drugs trade would collapse.

There would have to be some kind of agreement with another country to import the drugs at a certain cost, which would hopefully still be bought for by the addicts themselves as it would be cheaper than what they currently pay for dealers. It would be difficult to do this without international approval. USA would probably have to take the lead on this, it would be difficult without their influence.

This would work well for highly addictive drugs such as Heroin or Crystal Meth. It wouldn't work so well for party drugs like Cocaine.

There are some issues, mainly where to set up the drug centres, but areas that are already devastated by drugs might not mind too much.

Legalize Cannabis completely. Decriminalise possession of everything else with the aim to help those found in possession rather than punish them with prison.
    It's trickier than just that, but I definitely agree in principle. I would love to see a study on under age kids who get JLO officers from being caught with cannabis, then maybe again when they are in their late teens/early 20s with cannabis, or ecstasy, mushrooms or even cocaine/LSD (especially at festivals), and gradually build up enough offences for possession of 'not too serious' drugs (relatively speaking of course, in comparison to heroine/crack/meth/etc) to get put away for a small time... and develop much more serious drug addictions when 'inside'. That is one of the major dangers of how possession for personal use is currently policed, in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,625 ✭✭✭milltown

Actual legalising of drugs, anywhere, is so far fetched that the discussion is pretty much on a par with "what would you do if you were invisible for a day".

Decriminalising certain drugs might have half a chance in this counrty in my lifetime if the majority of the population would engage in the debate with a half open mind, instead of the ZOMG Drugs! response it will typically elicit.

Do your head a favour and have a watch of this documentary about the monumental waste of resources that the "war on drugs" is:

http://www.filmsforaction.org/watch/breaking_the_taboo_film/

NFTs funged. No questions asked.

"I've already had my time with drugs. Now everybody shut up and see it my way."

In my opinion, the only drugs that can broaden ones horizons and improve their mindset are alcohol and ecstasy. The rest are, at the end, horribly negative after heavy or even medium use. Which is why it should not be available over the counter.

Yeah, like when prohibition was lifted in the US, its well known that every single person involved in the legal alcohol trade is a scumbag...
    Let's be honest though - a lot are. Though, as you are getting at, a good number of people grow their own stuff and distribute it to friends, people they know, etc. I think the government would also be well-served to extend an olive branch to a number of these people, who would know far more about growth, etc of cannabis than anyone in office or even most medical experts we have. Not all of them by any means, but some of these people (if this were to occur) would need to be treated as assets, rather than scourge and lowlifes.
    Exactly. The drug itself is not a 'gateway' - exposure to people who can get you to 'the next level' of drugs, and will look to do so in order to make more money off you, are.
    As you said, there are many other ways to ingest cannabis besides smoking - and while far from safe, consumption of a pure weed joint avoids tobacco/nicotine/etc. It also leads to far less smoking, as a single, very skinny Rizla skin of weed would hit someone more immediately and probably stronger than a three-skin joint (which is usually comprised of 75+ percent tobacco). The THC can be extracted and placed in to any number of foodstuffs or even drinks, for example.
    There are a lot more financially successful raging alcoholics who take a swig on the job than there are financially successful businessmen who spark up three times in the work day.
    ...and there are loads of people in business who not only can operate with, but actually benefit in their professional role off of the consumption of cocaine. So I fail to see what you are getting at here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

conorhal wrote: »
    Legalizing soft drugs merely makes casual use socially acceptable
    Even though all evidence from countries that have legalised show the exact opposite. Drug use and drug related crime is drastically reduced. When will people get over the hysterical rantings of the 1980s media?
    You don't have to smoke it.
    I used to be like yourself mind, before I got straight and realised how badly hash was impacting my life.
    Hash?You probably mean soap which is barely cannabis.
    Whilst neither is desirable, being a fully functioning successful adult is a lot easier for chronic alcoholics than it is for people addicted to smoke.
    Such utter nonsense. I come from a town that had it's fair share of functioning alcoholics and I wouldn't trust them to make me a cup of tea.
    In all truth the only illegal drug that, IMO, improves your life, is sweet sweet ecstasy. It changed my life for the better.
    You can't seem to see past your own nose, just because you had problems and prefer another drug doesn't mean everyone reacts the same way or has the same preferences.

I think cannabis should be completely legalised, there's no reason not to. I'd allow vapourisers at pubs and restaurants to make it in food.

Overall though I think people doing drugs should be encouraged to do them socially, the likes of ecstasy can be made available at clubs but not generally in shops. I think you should be able to take any drug you want as long as it's in a licensed establishment that can look after you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Courtesy Flush

You just have to look at happened with the Head Shops recently to see what happens when drugs are legalised,queues down the street every weekend night

You want to make queues illegal now ?