People who don't like music

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

I love music, rarely listen to it. Don't own an ipod and don't have music on my phone. If I want to listen to music I throw on a Dubliners cd!

You don't like music so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Whats funnier is when you tell these people yhat you are a musician. ...
    "What do ye play?? A bit of the Sawdoctors is it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I imagine that this is what all music sounds like to people who don't like music:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

People who don't like music are pod people.

Couldn't be friends with anyone who didn't like some kind of music, don't care what it is, but your down right evil if no music moves you in any way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,964 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I am sitting here at home at the minute with the TV off and it'd never occur to me to stick on some music to be honest.. maybe the radio but that's about it.

That said, when I'm in the car I have a USB stick full of stuff that I flick through, but even then I'd just as happily listen to Newstalk or something.

I have found though as I've gotten older (late 30s) that "music" ended for me about a decade ago. I've no interest in all the x-factor type shite that passes as music these days, nor am I into all this "cool" soft rock for the most part - USB stick in the car is filled with classic 70s/80s rock, 80s pop, some dance stuff up to around 2000 and a few individual songs from more recent times.

When I was younger I used to listen to music all the time so from reading the replies here maybe it's an age thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

It's easy to fall out of love with music, but it's just as easy to fall back in love with it if you get Spotify :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

They Listen to Bruce Springsteen. Bruce himself is a very talented individual but he's often spoken of this quirk in the past. Because of his mega fame many non music fans draw to him in an attempt to try and pass themselves off as music people. There's an actual name for this condition which I can't recall at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭OhHiMark

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    I am sitting here at home at the minute with the TV off and it'd never occur to me to stick on some music to be honest.. maybe the radio but that's about it.

That said, when I'm in the car I have a USB stick full of stuff that I flick through, but even then I'd just as happily listen to Newstalk or something.

I have found though as I've gotten older (late 30s) that "music" ended for me about a decade ago. I've no interest in all the x-factor type shite that passes as music these days, nor am I into all this "cool" soft rock for the most part - USB stick in the car is filled with classic 70s/80s rock, 80s pop, some dance stuff up to around 2000 and a few individual songs from more recent times.

When I was younger I used to listen to music all the time so from reading the replies here maybe it's an age thing?

Probably more a motivation thing if you think that's all that music is these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Sky King wrote: »
    I imagine that this is what all music sounds like to people who don't like music:

Weren't they Kurt Cobains fave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

You've gotta make your own kind of music, sing your own special song,
    make your own kind of music, even if nobody else sing along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,093 ✭✭✭✭briany

WindSock wrote: »
    Weren't they Kurt Cobains fave?

Frank Zappa said they were 'better than the Beatles', or that's the story that gets bandied about anyway. They aren't really anybody's favourite, but in the right frame of mind you'd give one or two of their songs a spin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I lost the need for music when I started driving, before that I used to walk evrrywhere or hop on the bus where id never be without an ipod.But since I started driving I just can't handle the crap sound quality of car speakers and have just given up.

I still love music, but im not "with it" anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

biko wrote: »
    You've gotta make your own kind of music, sing your own special song,
    make your own kind of music, even if nobody else sing along.

Well, that is something I honestly, truly never got. I hate singing - I don't have words for how much I hate to sing.
    Yet, teachers at school would force us to sing, and not only that, they graded us on how well we did. That and PE are among my worst memories from school.

But then, people have told me they felt the same way about drawing a picture in arts class, something I've always absolutely relished, so I guess we simply all left school with some scar or other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

People have their own likes and dislikes its not on to label them odd just because they dont like music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

RedXIV wrote: »
    I pretty much have no interest in music either. Although my brother reckons I just hate "popular" music as I attended a video game concert before. But yeah, it'd never occur to me to buy a CD, put on music, subscribe to the music equivalent of Netflix (spotify?). Just no interest.

A video game concert?

Either I'm too young?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Listen to music everyday, wouldn't be happy if I didn't. One thing I love is going on a journey on my own with a good CD and driving along with it as loud as I want. Heaven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Shenshen wrote: »
    Well, that is something I honestly, truly never got. I hate singing - I don't have words for how much I hate to sing.
    Yet, teachers at school would force us to sing, and not only that, they graded us on how well we did. That and PE are among my worst memories from school.

But then, people have told me they felt the same way about drawing a picture in arts class, something I've always absolutely relished, so I guess we simply all left school with some scar or other.

That's weird because up until about 10 years old every kid I've ever taught has loved music - playing, singing, listening to it, dancing about. They can't help themselves. It's instinctive. You can teach them pretty much anything through the medium of song.

Same with art - until they start to critique themselves and compare themselves to the "good" artists. That said, I love the creative kids who just splat and go mad with colours and big strokes/prints. They don't hold back expressing themselves and think outside the box, which is art essentially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

That's weird because up until about 10 years old every kid I've ever taught has loved music - playing, singing, listening to it, dancing about. They can't help themselves. It's instinctive. You can teach them pretty much anything through the medium of song.

Same with art - until they start to critique themselves and compare themselves to the "good" artists. That said, I love the creative kids who just splat and go mad with colours and big strokes/prints. They don't hold back expressing themselves and think outside the box, which is art essentially.

Yes, if there's one thing I get from this thread it's that I must be weird...

No, I never ever liked singing. I remember my grandmother trying to teach me songs when I was maybe 3 or 4 years old, and me running away and hiding cause I wanted her to stop.

By the sounds of some posters, that must be an indication that I'm Satan's Spawn or something.

I do know a good few people who don't really care for music much (as in, they don't mind it as background noise) but wouldn't go out of their way to listen to it. I'm actually surprised that people on here are so surprised about this.

And don't get me started on dancing - seriously. Absolutely bloody awful thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

PucaMama wrote: »
    People have their own likes and dislikes its not on to label them odd just because they dont like music.

I guess if you like music it's fairly hard to fathom how someone would cast the whole lot of it aside with a big giant uninterested 'meh'.

To me it would be like having no interest in food...then again, those people exist too, they're called 'picky eaters' :pac:

o1s1n wrote: »
    I guess if you like music it's fairly hard to fathom how someone would cast the whole lot of it aside with a big giant uninterested 'meh'.

To me it would be like having no interest in food...then again, those people exist too, they're called 'picky eaters' :pac:

Some people dont like sports, some dont like art, some people love these things. I like reading , a lot of people dont. I dont find it unusual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

PucaMama wrote: »
    Some people dont like sports, some dont like art, some people love these things. I like reading , a lot of people dont. I dont find it unusual.

I don't like sports in a 'follow a football team' sense, but I am still in awe of athletic ability - so would never simply say 'I don't like sports'

I'm also not a big reader, however I enjoy reading articles/forums online, so again, would never simply say 'I don't like reading'.

That's what I don't get about people who say 'I don't like music' - there has to be something, a classical piece which moved you in some way, a drum beat which made you feel something, a great soundtrack piece in a film...simply stating 'I don't like music' is just too broad a statement. Well for me to comprehend someone thinking like that it is anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

I'm not into music or sports at all really. When I tell people they find it hard to accept and can't understand. Then they turn around and ask me what do I like and I'm stuck for an answer. It can make talking to people difficult at times when you know nothing about any sports or music, needless to say I'm the last person you'd want on a table quizz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

I think people who don't like music just haven't found what they're looking for. I used to be like that, now I've got 60gb+ of music on the computer hah.

Good starting point to find decent music is Sputnikmusic.com. Just go to charts and sort by year... there you go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Shenshen wrote: »
    Yes, if there's one thing I get from this thread it's that I must be weird...

No, I never ever liked singing. I remember my grandmother trying to teach me songs when I was maybe 3 or 4 years old, and me running away and hiding cause I wanted her to stop.

By the sounds of some posters, that must be an indication that I'm Satan's Spawn or something.

I do know a good few people who don't really care for music much (as in, they don't mind it as background noise) but wouldn't go out of their way to listen to it. I'm actually surprised that people on here are so surprised about this.

And don't get me started on dancing - seriously. Absolutely bloody awful thing.

Because scientifically, music is a pleasure giver - it releases dopamine. It's still a mystery to science as to WHY music causes such a physiological response in people - everything from toe tapping to emotional responses to chills upon hearing a certain note. I am so affected by music, that if I don't like a song I feel violated and dirty that it's in my ears, so I get what you mean about your Gran. Music is one of the only things humans do that gives us intrinsic reward that isn't neccesary for survival e.g. sex, eating, sleeping.

Dancing, to me, is one of the biggest & simplest pleasures in life. Like Billy Elliot says it's "like electricity". Watching a comtemporary dancer like Lukas McFarlane (winner of Got to Dance 2013) be one with the song with his musicality creates the same response in me as listening to really evocative music.

o1s1n wrote: »
    I don't like sports in a 'follow a football team' sense, but I am still in awe of athletic ability - so would never simply say 'I don't like sports'

I'm also not a big reader, however I enjoy reading articles/forums online, so again, would never simply say 'I don't like reading'.

That's what I don't get about people who say 'I don't like music' - there has to be something, a classical piece which moved you in some way, a drum beat which made you feel something, a great soundtrack piece in a film...simply stating 'I don't like music' is just too broad a statement. Well for me to comprehend someone thinking like that it is anyway.

Well I take it as they dont enjoy listening to music not that they never liked a song. Its like with the reading someone might say oh I dont really like reading if I offered them the book im reading but they probably have read a book at some stage in their life. They just dont enjoy it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 lidllady

I'd say from my own experience that people who don't enjoy music only like songs which have some other factor which draws them in such as a crush on the singer, experiencing the song with a scene in a movie/game or else finding the song humorous.

So while we probably can't enjoy a song on it's own that we have no emotional attachment to, if we associate the music with something we actually care about like the way music videos do we'll actually enjoy it. The song just doesn't have enough to interest us otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

I have a friend who's like this but he is a bit odd to begin with. He doesn't have any interest in music - he doesn't own any CD's or an iPod and has never been to a concert. He doesn't seem to know of any artists or songs and certainly doesn't know any lyrics.

I just can't get my head around how someone couldn't like any kind of music. I've been on plenty of long journeys with this lad and I'd usually listen to my iPod whereas he'd prefer to sit in silence and not do anything. I'd listen to music at every chance so I guess I'm the opposite to him but the idea of not having any music in life is more than a bit depressing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭btard

I grew out of it after my teens. I understand how some people love music and are moved by it. Everyones different. I don't judge or look down on somebody because they bop around to some innane song. If it gives them joy so be it. There seems to be a lot of music lovers here who can't understand how others are meh about it. Well I have news for you. We're not all wired the same way. That also goes for all your preconcieved views on what is 'normal' too. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 lidllady

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    I have a friend who's like this but he is a bit odd to begin with. He doesn't have any interest in music - he doesn't own any CD's or an iPod and has never been to a concert. He doesn't seem to know of any artists or songs and certainly doesn't know any lyrics.

I just can't get my head around how someone couldn't like any kind of music. I've been on plenty of long journeys with this lad and I'd usually listen to my iPod whereas he'd prefer to sit in silence and not do anything. I'd listen to music at every chance so I guess I'm the opposite to him but the idea of not having any music in life is more than a bit depressing.
    Does he listen to the music when he plays games or movies though? I'm one of these people who don't like listening to music on its own and my boyfriend is too but we can still become obsessed with songs if we form an emotional attachment to the song through a music video or game. It's just that we find music on its own too plain without any video or game to look at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

lidllady wrote: »
    Does he listen to the music when he plays games or movies though? I'm one of these people who don't like listening to music on its own and my boyfriend is too but we can still become obsessed with songs if we form an emotional attachment to the song through a music video or game. It's just that we find music on its own too plain without any video or game to look at.

It's funny you should say that - I've been to Thailand with this lad a couple of times and the only song he seems to know is 'Pure Shores' by All Saints (http://youtu.be/qfZ6PLvzlVg) as it was in a film called 'The Beach' which is set in Thailand. He associates the song and the movie with his visits to Thailand and if he had to listen to something I think he would probably listen to this song over and over again.