Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who don't like music

• 25-08-2013 9:38am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23 THT

A friend of mine has no interest in music whatsoever, he prefers silence or the sound of the world. How common is this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I love music, rarely listen to it. Don't own an ipod and don't have music on my phone. If I want to listen to music I throw on a Dubliners cd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 GRob1737

I dont think its too common. Music has always been there in some form or another. Be interesting to find out why excatly they dont like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I pretty much have no interest in music either. Although my brother reckons I just hate "popular" music as I attended a video game concert before. But yeah, it'd never occur to me to buy a CD, put on music, subscribe to the music equivalent of Netflix (spotify?). Just no interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭justforlaugh

THT wrote: »
    A friend of mine has no interest in music whatsoever, he prefers silence or the sound of the world. How common is this?

i bet many deaf people would love to trace place with him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I dont really have any interest in music, there may be a song I like now and again. The only music I pay attention to is either classical style or from video games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭TheBza

No music, no life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I'm not really interested in Music either. I don't hate it. I'm just uninterested in it. I listen to the radio a lot but I would prefer talk radio to DJs.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

If I want to listen to music I throw on a Dubliners cd!

To punish yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

Same. Don't listen to music whatsoever apart from the odd youtube tune, but then that's mostly movie soundtracks. Never got the fascination with it.

Ahoy fellow dont-care-about-music people! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Not really into music either. Tried getting into it many times but just never happened. I like parts of the odd song or track but there is not one tune I like form start to finish. I like music a bit more when I'm drunk and go oh yeah thats a great song. Listen to it the next day sober and it's just not there, doesn't do anything for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭Bears and Vodka

This thread is full of weird people :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

Strangely enough was mad about music when I was younger,listening to punk/ska and then getting involved in the rave scene when that started.Im nearing 40 now and rarely listen to music,have no interest in going to gigs etc and havent bought/torrented music in years...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

You know it barely occurred to me that someone wouldn't like any music. you people are weird... :pac:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I love music, rarely listen to it. Don't own an ipod and don't have music on my phone. If I want to listen to music I throw on a Dubliners cd!
    RedXIV wrote: »
    I pretty much have no interest in music either. Although my brother reckons I just hate "popular" music as I attended a video game concert before. But yeah, it'd never occur to me to buy a CD, put on music, subscribe to the music equivalent of Netflix (spotify?). Just no interest.
    I dont really have any interest in music, there may be a song I like now and again. The only music I pay attention to is either classical style or from video games.
    I'm not really interested in Music either. I don't hate it. I'm just uninterested in it. I listen to the radio a lot but I would prefer talk radio to DJs.
    Elessar wrote: »
    Same. Don't listen to music whatsoever apart from the odd youtube tune, but then that's mostly movie soundtracks. Never got the fascination with it.

Ahoy fellow dont-care-about-music people! :D
    Not really into music either. Tried getting into it many times but just never happened. I like parts of the odd song or track but there is not one tune I like form start to finish. I like music a bit more when I'm drunk and go oh yeah thats a great song. Listen to it the next day sober and it's just not there, doesn't do anything for me.

What am I hearing :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

Most people like music to some extent. You might say the people who don't follow bands or artists and just listen to a tune when they hear it on the radio aren't "interested" but technically they still "like" it to hear.

Me, music has always played a big part in my life. I've been to 39 gigs, 2 major festivals and counting, I listen to songs when I go to bed, when I'm getting up in the morning, I follow bands/artists and I can't see any of that ever changing. Different people have different listening patterns, I know people who only listen to music on occassion but still enjoy it and that's fine too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭bluefinger

THT wrote: »

some people would say that is music. i would agree with them. also if he likes silence he could buy the john cage cd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I'm not really that into music.

I might listen to some classical music the odd time at work when I need to concentrate on a task and need to not hear everybody else in the office talking, but that would be about it.

I dislike radio and "popular" music, to the extend that I would sometimes leave a shop because it just gets on my nerves too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

i dont think i know anyone who has no interest in music at all but i have a few friends who would just listen to music i put on and like it but would never know the name of it and wouldnt take any interest in finding out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Aren't they called Coldplay or Billy Joel fans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭spankysue

My OH has no interest in music either whereas I wouldn't want to live without it.

It must just affect people differently I think, some people think of it as a background noise and some people really feel it.

Different strokes for different folks I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

I'm not really interested in music. If I'm driving, I mostly listen to Newstalk or another chat show and at home, I wouldn't put on the radio or anything.

It's not that I don't like music, it's just something that I don't go out of my way to experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Links234 wrote: »
    You know it barely occurred to me that someone wouldn't like any music. you people are weird... :pac:

Yeah it's mad when you meet one - I personally couldn't function properly without music though I woudln't care if I never ever saw another sports game and some people couldn't live without their sports so it's horses for courses I suppose.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

dd972 wrote: »
    Aren't they called Coldplay or Billy Joel fans?

Anyone who puts Billy Joel in the same category as Coldplay clearly doesn't like music, or at least doesn't like good music.

Here come the arguements about what contitutes 'good' music!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

karaokeman wrote: »
    Most people like music to some extent. You might say the people who don't follow bands or artists and just listen to a tune when they hear it on the radio aren't "interested" but technically they still "like" it to hear.

Me, music has always played a big part in my life. I've been to 39 gigs, 2 major festivals and counting, I listen to songs when I go to bed, when I'm getting up in the morning, I follow bands/artists and I can't see any of that ever changing. Different people have different listening patterns, I know people who only listen to music on occassion but still enjoy it and that's fine too.

No, people who say they don't like music...actually don't like music. Its the same as Television or cinema or art. Its a visual or auditory experience that some people just don't enjoy. To say that "ah they really do, they just don't realise it" is incorrect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Burky126

I don't care what you say anymore, this is my life...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I can't fathom people not liking music. The idea of not feeling things from songs is so alien to me. Imagine putting on good headphones and listening to A Day In The Life, or whatever song you find incredible, and imagine getting nothing from that. Jaysus. I've always surrounded myself with people who love music. I know a few people who aren't into music at all, and to be honest they aren't into anything. Music is such a naturally passionate and accessible thing for most people, I just can't get my head around people not liking music at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Music is like peering into someone's private world. It's like you can "feel" their blood, sweat, tears, guts, heart and soul just pour out of them; raw, passionate, powerful & exposed.

Then there is delicate music that creates such wonder and awe you feel blessed just to have gotten a glimmer into how they view the world, heart breakingly, hauntingly beautiful. It's inspirational.

Some music just gels and melds together so perfectly, is so cyclical and rythmic that is fills every cell of your body like a blissful drug, close your eyes and be transported to a world so safe it's like you're floating on a river or lying on a cloud.

Some music makes your blood bubble and fizz making you feel alive, ready to take on the world in either rage or glee. You can't keep still, all your thoughts are blocked out and you need to focus on one instrument at a time or else you feel you could explode.

Music is life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

That is weird - music is such a basic thing.
    Maybe your friend still haven't found what they're looking for OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

In your opinion.

I could take or leave either of the above acts but I've also seen both of them live and they are excellent musicians and great at what they do. Might not be to your taste but it's still music. I'd find it hard to understand someone who doesn't like ANY music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

You don't like music so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Whats funnier is when you tell these people yhat you are a musician. ...
    "What do ye play?? A bit of the Sawdoctors is it??

I imagine that this is what all music sounds like to people who don't like music:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

People who don't like music are pod people.

Couldn't be friends with anyone who didn't like some kind of music, don't care what it is, but your down right evil if no music moves you in any way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I am sitting here at home at the minute with the TV off and it'd never occur to me to stick on some music to be honest.. maybe the radio but that's about it.

That said, when I'm in the car I have a USB stick full of stuff that I flick through, but even then I'd just as happily listen to Newstalk or something.

I have found though as I've gotten older (late 30s) that "music" ended for me about a decade ago. I've no interest in all the x-factor type shite that passes as music these days, nor am I into all this "cool" soft rock for the most part - USB stick in the car is filled with classic 70s/80s rock, 80s pop, some dance stuff up to around 2000 and a few individual songs from more recent times.

When I was younger I used to listen to music all the time so from reading the replies here maybe it's an age thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

It's easy to fall out of love with music, but it's just as easy to fall back in love with it if you get Spotify :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

They Listen to Bruce Springsteen. Bruce himself is a very talented individual but he's often spoken of this quirk in the past. Because of his mega fame many non music fans draw to him in an attempt to try and pass themselves off as music people. There's an actual name for this condition which I can't recall at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭OhHiMark

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    I am sitting here at home at the minute with the TV off and it'd never occur to me to stick on some music to be honest.. maybe the radio but that's about it.

That said, when I'm in the car I have a USB stick full of stuff that I flick through, but even then I'd just as happily listen to Newstalk or something.

I have found though as I've gotten older (late 30s) that "music" ended for me about a decade ago. I've no interest in all the x-factor type shite that passes as music these days, nor am I into all this "cool" soft rock for the most part - USB stick in the car is filled with classic 70s/80s rock, 80s pop, some dance stuff up to around 2000 and a few individual songs from more recent times.

When I was younger I used to listen to music all the time so from reading the replies here maybe it's an age thing?

Probably more a motivation thing if you think that's all that music is these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Sky King wrote: »
    I imagine that this is what all music sounds like to people who don't like music:

Weren't they Kurt Cobains fave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

You've gotta make your own kind of music, sing your own special song,
    make your own kind of music, even if nobody else sing along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,512 ✭✭✭✭briany

WindSock wrote: »
    Weren't they Kurt Cobains fave?

Frank Zappa said they were 'better than the Beatles', or that's the story that gets bandied about anyway. They aren't really anybody's favourite, but in the right frame of mind you'd give one or two of their songs a spin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I lost the need for music when I started driving, before that I used to walk evrrywhere or hop on the bus where id never be without an ipod.But since I started driving I just can't handle the crap sound quality of car speakers and have just given up.

I still love music, but im not "with it" anymore.

biko wrote: »
    You've gotta make your own kind of music, sing your own special song,
    make your own kind of music, even if nobody else sing along.

Well, that is something I honestly, truly never got. I hate singing - I don't have words for how much I hate to sing.
    Yet, teachers at school would force us to sing, and not only that, they graded us on how well we did. That and PE are among my worst memories from school.

But then, people have told me they felt the same way about drawing a picture in arts class, something I've always absolutely relished, so I guess we simply all left school with some scar or other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

People have their own likes and dislikes its not on to label them odd just because they dont like music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

RedXIV wrote: »

A video game concert?

Either I'm too young?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Listen to music everyday, wouldn't be happy if I didn't. One thing I love is going on a journey on my own with a good CD and driving along with it as loud as I want. Heaven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Shenshen wrote: »
    Well, that is something I honestly, truly never got. I hate singing - I don't have words for how much I hate to sing.
    Yet, teachers at school would force us to sing, and not only that, they graded us on how well we did. That and PE are among my worst memories from school.

But then, people have told me they felt the same way about drawing a picture in arts class, something I've always absolutely relished, so I guess we simply all left school with some scar or other.

That's weird because up until about 10 years old every kid I've ever taught has loved music - playing, singing, listening to it, dancing about. They can't help themselves. It's instinctive. You can teach them pretty much anything through the medium of song.

Same with art - until they start to critique themselves and compare themselves to the "good" artists. That said, I love the creative kids who just splat and go mad with colours and big strokes/prints. They don't hold back expressing themselves and think outside the box, which is art essentially.

That's weird because up until about 10 years old every kid I've ever taught has loved music - playing, singing, listening to it, dancing about. They can't help themselves. It's instinctive. You can teach them pretty much anything through the medium of song.

Same with art - until they start to critique themselves and compare themselves to the "good" artists. That said, I love the creative kids who just splat and go mad with colours and big strokes/prints. They don't hold back expressing themselves and think outside the box, which is art essentially.

Yes, if there's one thing I get from this thread it's that I must be weird...

No, I never ever liked singing. I remember my grandmother trying to teach me songs when I was maybe 3 or 4 years old, and me running away and hiding cause I wanted her to stop.

By the sounds of some posters, that must be an indication that I'm Satan's Spawn or something.

I do know a good few people who don't really care for music much (as in, they don't mind it as background noise) but wouldn't go out of their way to listen to it. I'm actually surprised that people on here are so surprised about this.

And don't get me started on dancing - seriously. Absolutely bloody awful thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,589 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

PucaMama wrote: »
    People have their own likes and dislikes its not on to label them odd just because they dont like music.

I guess if you like music it's fairly hard to fathom how someone would cast the whole lot of it aside with a big giant uninterested 'meh'.

To me it would be like having no interest in food...then again, those people exist too, they're called 'picky eaters' :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

o1s1n wrote: »
    I guess if you like music it's fairly hard to fathom how someone would cast the whole lot of it aside with a big giant uninterested 'meh'.

To me it would be like having no interest in food...then again, those people exist too, they're called 'picky eaters' :pac:

Some people dont like sports, some dont like art, some people love these things. I like reading , a lot of people dont. I dont find it unusual.