Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

YbFocus wrote: »
    I used Mobil 1 today and on a trip to mayo today the car feels great, such a noticeable difference! I always thought Castrol was overrated compared to competitors that are just as good, Castrol over priced too.

Anytime I roasted a car with Castrol in it the oil went black very quickly. I did a test day and two races (2 races per day) and the Millers Nanotech I took out was still fairly gold. The Castrol would have been toast after the test day, it's over rated piss imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

advertsfox wrote: »
    Oh they are stock OEM springs and OEM 15" alloys (had 15" steelies, wheels are a little wider). I've literally only done 2KM since though.

Ah right well then they should be settled 100% shouldn't be any noticeable difference in ride unless the tyres are a smaller profile?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Wow lads the roundabouts up in castlebar are ridiculously slippy, any touch of the throttle or even a quick lift off and your laughing. it is a bit busy though! Queue the drive home from this party ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

coolisin wrote: »
    Well these arrived, makes loads of difference.
    Looks so much better then the badly painted ones. My first car mod.

I think I recognise that car... Looks a lot better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

I want a supercharged mx5 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Surely small change for a man doing 60k miles a year in a petrol :P

Wouldn't have thought they would (in diesel mode) go much less than that tbh

saw you earlier one the m50 !

going stupidly slow, in the slow lane anyway !

or i was going stupidly fast ,

either way !! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I want a supercharged mx5 :(

If you want a powerful MX-5 with a super charger you'd want deep pockets. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

CianRyan wrote: »
    If you want a powerful MX-5 with a super charger you'd want deep pockets. :p

I want your one....:D

166man wrote: »
    I want your one....:D

Good luck.
    You can have another spin when it's on the road. Bring it up where we took Scortho's 156. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Good luck.
    You can have another spin when it's on the road. Bring it up where we took Scortho's 156. ;)

My trip computer showed 12 mpg going up that hill today! :D

Bet I could get it lower, keep the revs above 5k. :pac:

Haha.
    I'd want ds2500 pads to do that and konis. We'd be talking 110 mph.....

Scortho wrote: »
    Haha.
    I'd want ds2500 pads to do that and konis. We'd be talking 110 mph.....

I'd do it, bar those two corners. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Anytime I roasted a car with Castrol in it the oil went black very quickly. I did a test day and two races (2 races per day) and the Millers Nanotech I took out was still fairly gold. The Castrol would have been toast after the test day, it's over rated piss imo

Hearing stuff like this re-enforces my choice to use millers in the 406 :D

That was one long hoor of a day..... Quote of the day has to be "you shut your face while talking to me" :pac: :pac: :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Was on the M7 earlier today and was behind a coach, I was travelling at in or around 65-70 mph and soon realised that my speed was matching the coach. I was quite surprised at this as I was always under the impression that coaches were regulated to 55 mph or 90 km/h but obviously this was not the case here. Don't see any problems with this as its all the better for those who are commuting to a time schedule but I just found it a bit odd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Was on the M7 earlier today and was behind a coach, I was travelling at in or around 65-70 mph and soon realised that my speed was matching the coach. I was quite surprised at this as I was always under the impression that coaches were regulated to 55 mph or 90 km/h but obviously this was not the case here. Don't see any problems with this as its all the better for those who are commuting to a time schedule but I just found it a bit odd.

I was doing that with the green dublin coach outside newbridge there last week, tri axle double decker, some yoke to move!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

I was doing that with the green dublin coach outside newbridge there last week, tri axle double decker, some yoke to move!

Yeah this was a tri axel too but a single decker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

saw you earlier one the m50 !

going stupidly slow, in the slow lane anyway !

or i was going stupidly fast ,

either way !! :pac:

In the driving lane you mean ;)

Ah yeah sometimes I set the cruise control to 90-95 kmh (in the 100km /h sections anyway), and drive along in lane 1 as it is relaxing and no one else drives there!

Other times, I set the gearbox to sport and fly along (usually when all 3 lanes are quiet :P )

Christ on a bike, my Mother is away at the minute so I'm on dog/housesitting duty (one of the pitfalls of being an only child, I get landed with everything) and she doesn't have Sky Sports F1 so stuck watching Spa on the BBC and my God the coverage is biased towards British drivers on the BBC, even Eddie Jordan is at it. I know British channel etc but Sky Sports are just so much more professional

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

Christ on a bike, my Mother is away at the minute so I'm on dog/housesitting duty (one of the pitfalls of being an only child, I get landed with everything) and she doesn't have Sky Sports F1 so stuck watching Spa on the BBC and my God the coverage is biased towards British drivers on the BBC, even Eddie Jordan is at it. I know British channel etc but Sky Sports are just so much more professional

Thank God I read that, completely forgot it was on. Usually back in Dublin at the weekends where the folks haven't Sky, have it in Athlone so handy being down Grand Prix weekends

Problems with a Lotus, who'd have thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Only child aswell? :) Jaypers I'm missing that race..... :(

A new clamp for my tailpipe is needed badly, now has become a weekly job refitting the pipe that falls off :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭thecomedian

A question for you lads.
    I've just realised that the back tyres are 225 35 18 and the front are 225 40 18.

Are these the wrong way around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Id rather have the bigger ones on the back, so yes, IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

A question for you lads.
    I've just realised that the back tyres are 225 35 18 and the front are 225 40 18.

Are these the wrong way around?

Should be 255 35 18 on the back and 225 40 18 on the front.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

(crosses fingers) Thanks for not posting spoilers, I have this taped at home to watch after work!
    I have sky sports f1 but not the hd one, so for the BBC races I watch BBC as they have FTA HD but for non bbc weeks I watch Sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭thecomedian

Should be 255 35 18 on the back and 225 40 18 on the front.

Do you know what's the reason for the smaller ones on the back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

So getting back to the track day thing the next organised event is on Oct 28th.

Shall we organise something around that?

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    So getting back to the track day thing the next organised event is on Oct 28th.

Shall we organise something around that?

I'll go out that day and will have a passenger seat bolted into the race car and will happily sit in with anybody for a few laps. For pax runs in my car I will ask for €10 to be donated to Santa Strike Force

Can we have a proper track day. Say 5 or 10 boards cars their, or is it booked out?
    Don't worry Gary, if you organise it ill still donate a tenner to strike force.

Found the solution to good mpg. The feckin mother. Aparently ill get penalty points....for doing the speed limit. :pac: