If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

hugo29 wrote: »
    jayus every morning, they must be looking for someone or something, never been stopped in the morning,
    Pity they wouldn't go and catch some real criminals,but that might actually involve work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Pity they wouldn't go and catch some real criminals,but that might actually involve work![/quote
    Tongue in cheek of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

whelan1 wrote: »
    going off now again to look again

Whelan1 - the parable of the shepherd and the lost sheep comes to mind with this one..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

rang dept, said to register him and to ring back monday... she was saying the poor crater, asked me had i looked for it:cool:

cow that had the calf damaged her spine, never rains but it pours , had her walking round the fields last night to try and find calf she was grand then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

cow that had the calf damaged her spine, never rains but it pours , had her walking round the fields last night to try and find calf she was grand then

Jeez thats a dose whelan hopefully she will come good though . Every now and then we have a calf that cant be found for a couple of weeks but the cow would be giving it a drink when we weren't around .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Tagged a calf this morning. The damn BVD sample fell out of my hand and down through the slats:mad::mad:
    What do I do now? Register the calf and then reorder a tag??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭dzer2

Tagged a calf this morning. The damn BVD sample fell out of my hand and down through the slats:mad::mad:
    What do I do now? Register the calf and then reorder a tag??

Are you selling it or keeping it. If you are keeping it dont worry if the rest of your herd is clear.

found calf.. in ditch, alls well and he's in a calf pen now:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

found calf.. in ditch, alls well and he's in a calf pen now:D:D:D

the poor lad, lead astray by some hussy no doubt:D

What's good for wasp sting, young lad got stung by a fcuker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Vinegar or a penny taped to the area.

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Vinegar or a penny taped to the area.

Thanks, white wine vinegar is all I could find, seems to have worked

dzer2 wrote: »
    Are you selling it or keeping it. If you are keeping it dont worry if the rest of your herd is clear.
    :confused: you will have to order another tag, every animal that is born in your herd has to be tested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Muckit wrote: »
    That was your chance to upgrade the yoke. I've any amount of old CD headunits I'd have given you here for free, but why bother?? For €100 (incl postage) on ebay I've a sony headunit that has bluetooth handfree calling, will play music off my phone through bluetooth, will even (I sh*t you not) read out my feckin text messages (once phone is set on 'driving mode'). Also No CD player, which isn't practical anyway in a tractor, but has a USB slot so can put a load of my fav albums on a stick and bring it with me. It would suit you down to the ground when your bringing in all those bales (all 500 of them....+ the neighbours!!) or drawing slurry!!!!! It even came with a remote! Get with the times Reilig, your New Holland deserves no less!!!! :p:p

I loved it so much I put one in the wife's auris (bought the adaptor surround and wire harness). oh my God you'd want to feel the weight of the double din headunit that I ripped out of it, I'd say it'I save her a tenner a week on petrol (now I'm exaggerating:pac:) Also put one in my own yoke.... and it had a blaukpunt as standard. Basic heap of crap, never liked it.

Now road legal and never miss a call or a text again ;) What would €300 get me if I had a crash?? It'd just about cover the excess!

any chance of a link to that radio muckit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭flutered

the best way is, add some viniger to the affected area, then place an ice cube in a light cloth against the sting for about five minutes, this draws the sting to the surface, use a tweezers or a nail clippers to extract the sting, this is an old and tried remedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

simx wrote: »
    any chance of a link to that radio muckit?

Every chance. Out for a few now. I'l pm u tomorrow with link.

Muckit wrote: »
    Every chance. Out for a few now. I'l pm u tomorrow with link.

I'll have one too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Was talking to my mechanic today about any chance of a second hand power steering kit for my 165. He says tons of them left the country ~5 years ago with kits in them but very few are moving now. Any that are left are been kept.

With heavier bales the 165 is starting to struggle a bit. He reckons the 168 or 188 is what you need but steer clear of the 178.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭flutered

I'll have one too

me as well please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 116 ✭✭grizzlyadams

I'll have one too

Link for me too ,please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

just do it wrote: »
    Was talking to my mechanic today about any chance of a second hand power steering kit for my 165. He says tons of them left the country ~5 years ago with kits in them but very few are moving now. Any that are left are been kept.

With heavier bales the 165 is starting to struggle a bit. He reckons the 168 or 188 is what you need but steer clear of the 178.

local mechanic does a conversion to hydrostatic steering for around 500 quid I think. but that sounds too cheap for the work involved so maybe my figure is wrong. it feather light after the work he does though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

we sold the 165 too few years back.. steering was a disaster... 4inches of play in steering.. was lethal on the road.. good mf mechanic got the power steering adjusted but only when turning to the right .. he gave up in the end

If the steering was the only issue I'd fix it. However bales are getting heavier and last summer I was helping a neighbour line them up. The last ~25% got an average enough shower and the 165 couldn't manage them:rolleyes:

I'll probably knock another year our if it but if a 168 or 188 came up I'd probably go for it. It will be my only tractor so which would be better?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I wouldnt rule out a 178 , I drove one with a 4wd kit on it when I was a young lad making roads in through bogs and forestry . Absolutely tried to murder it between swamps and steep hills with a pig of a trailer and I dont think anything broke on it . What did he reckon was wrong with them ?

moy83 wrote: »
    I wouldnt rule out a 178 , I drove one with a 4wd kit on it when I was a young lad making roads in through bogs and forestry . Absolutely tried to murder it between swamps and steep hills with a pig of a trailer and I dont think anything broke on it . What did he reckon was wrong with them ?
    No better than the 165 for lifting heavy bales

I used to have a 178 , got rid of it as it struggled with heavy bales, get a 4w drive JDI and never look back

get a lie on every second saturday til 7.15, drainage man rang me at 6.30 this morning to say he wasnt coming in today, ffs, the one morning i didnt have to get up:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

A few heifers sold today, all off our own Charolais bull, from 14 to 17 myths old.
    370kg €850 (wild), 460kgs €1135 (wild), 520kgs €1240, 530kgs €1230, 550kgs €1220, 580kgs €1340, 630kgs €1410.

Two of the lightest heifers were stone mad, good to see the back of them.

Bizzum wrote: »
    A few heifers sold today, all off our own Charolais bull, from 14 to 17 myths old.
    370kg €850 (wild), 460kgs €1135 (wild), 520kgs €1240, 530kgs €1230, 550kgs €1220, 580kgs €1340, 630kgs €1410.

Two of the lightest heifers were stone mad, good to see the back of them.
    WHY where they wild? just wondering is it breeding , what are there mothers like?