If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

hugo29 wrote: »
    careful on the British, that there is a bad word:D

how do ya get a cat ready for a show:D he will be wrecked again by sunday

Mods i.e Rovi & Relig if you need to delete this please feel free.

2qob.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

His underbelly needs clipping, he needs to be fully washed & eyes need drops to make them big.

Oiiiii the things I get into.
    He is also on the v large size of cat. That's normally my chair.

has anyone spread fert on the silage ground while the cattle are still grazing the headlands,

How was France?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

crap morning, had a cow with milk fever. gave her a bottle went to tag her calf and he bolted, gone , spent last hour looking for him... going back out now, fook it... cant see any tracks from where he went

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

one thing i would say is extend the roof to cover the crush

I would strongly second that . And stick a light over the headgate . Often things that go wrong will go wrong at night and the roof and light will make the job more manageable

moy83 wrote: »
    I would strongly second that . And stick a light over the headgate . Often things that go wrong will go wrong at night and the roof and light will make the job more manageable

And make sure all are openable.

A crush I was in recently I couldnt move the bolt an inch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    And make sure all are openable.

A crush I was in recently I couldnt move the bolt an inch.

what were you doing in the crush:eek:
    had quad boy you in the headgate

what were you doing in the crush:eek:
    had quad boy you in the headgate

nope. Bob......

bed the head a lot but finally got her in.

Have to geld a horse today.
    Sorry lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

nope. Bob......

bed the head a lot but finally got her in.

Have to geld a horse today.
    Sorry lads.

who's this other Bob?

must be quadboys real name:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

must be quadboys real name:)

he'll have to change it after the "procedure", bobbi maybe..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

It'll be big enough. There will be 35 foot of a lie back area.

Sounds a fine size shed. What a 4 or 5 bay single? Fine big lye back. Will u be feeding from both sides? How many u planning to fit per pen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Exactly what I mean. Although going by the name, Antrim would be northern therefore British rules:confused:

Whoa there Kovu with the British, whilst i may reside in their "perceived" jurisdiction i most certainly object to the term Bri**sh.:mad:
    Our vets did do a basic pm but could find nothing in the heart, bloodstream, spleen, liver etc that gave them cause to look any further, so would have to send the organs away for a full toxicology pm to be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

In fairness I dont think Kovu ever sugested you yourself were british but that you have to opperate under UK vetinary codes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

bb - me only joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

i most certainly object to the term Bri**sh.:mad:

Opps Kovu, don't forget he's Great British :D

just do it wrote: »
    Opps Kovu, don't forget he's Great British :D

:D:D a dedicated member of the commonwealth ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Taking the injector pump of a tractor here, much prefer to be at anything else other than this,tractor has given me trouble since spring none stop. I might have to change it if this doesn't solve the problem. Something i don't want to do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Muckit wrote: »
    Sounds a fine size shed. What a 4 or 5 bay single? Fine big lye back. Will u be feeding from both sides? How many u planning to fit per pen?

Thinking of 6 spans in 3 pens. Hoping to have 3 pens on other side of passage for calves or straw or whatever. It seems big but it is fairly straight forward. As I said, I have no buildings of any kind and want to build once but hopefully build it right. Will put a meal through at back of slats.

off now to look for my calf again....:rolleyes: whats the story with the dept if an animal is lost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

whelan1 wrote: »
    off now to look for my calf again....:rolleyes: whats the story with the dept if an animal is lost?

Ring up your local dvo and they can knock him off the system! Had a fr bullock disappear here awhile ago, only conclusion I could come to is he made his way over the cliff edge into the sea. I explained all that to the dvo and they were ok with it!

Hope it doesn't come to that though, keep looking, he could be asleep in a ditch anywhere.

Moved into the new house today, ready to fall over, think the sheep can look at each other tonight :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Congrats, when is the house warming :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

He is guaranteed to be lying in under fence somewhere. Them small calves impossible to find, same thing happened me recently, spends hrs trying o find little hoor

Timmaay wrote: »
    Congrats, when is the house warming :p

October, when ye get ye're SFP and can afford decent house warming prezzies :p:D

He is guaranteed to be lying in under fence somewhere. Them small calves impossible to find, same thing happened me recently, spends hrs trying o find little hoor
    walked cow around fields, shes not even bawling for him, no tracks from where he went, grass was wet all day so would have seen the tracks in it... feck it... will have to look again tomorrow, alot of other things i could be doing than looking for him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

walked cow around fields, shes not even bawling for him, no tracks from where he went, grass was wet all day so would have seen the tracks in it... feck it... will have to look again tomorrow, alot of other things i could be doing than looking for him

i made the mistake of waking my calf up, she hadnt moved for half the day and cows were gone to other side of field so i thought something up, anyway when i woke her she took off like a scalded rat..i followed straight after her but within 2-3 mins had lost her, went round the field several time in quad, went all around river, must have passed by her 10 times but i literally had to step on her before i found her in rough grass down by river, its fenced off and overgrown, she was just lying down happy out, your one will probably be with the cow in the morning when you get up

hope so;) had planned to bring kids off for the day but will have to find the calf first:(

send the young ones off to look for em, keep em busy :D

jersey101 wrote: »
    send the young ones off to look for em, keep em busy :D
    had them looking today, dont think they will see it as fun doing it again tomorrow

id say he'll be hungry by the mornin might be up and about so you should find him hopefully