Ireland, I love you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Our friendliness to strangers. For the most part we always seem ready to go out of our way to help others. Its admirable.

I always love the two questions asked to tourists.

1) Where are you from ?

2) When are you going home ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭alwayssideways

For me the west coast has it all
    • Breathtaking scenery
    • Watersports (Surfing/Scuba Diving in particular)
    • Friendly People

It's a shame so many Irish people do not take advantage of this beautiful island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭GoodBridge

Tayho -and the fact that we can keep a straight face when telling visitors we have a theme park dedicated to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

What do you love about Ireland?

Our willingness to rightly or wrongly take the piss out of everything.
    What would you miss if you left?
    Irish Beers
    Tae (yes, tae not tea)
    Tayto
    Cadbury's chocolate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Homemade gooseberry jam on warm scone bread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Itwasntme. wrote: »
    I think the three things you've mentioned are in my top ten reasons why I love Ireland. Why oh why don't we have autumn in Africa?! That actually really sucks. I feel the need to write a very long letter to the weather gods expressing my dissatisfaction with how they short changed Africa on the seasons.
    I love your sunny disposition, and I have decided that credit goes to you for bringing sunny warm weather to Ireland this year. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

What do you miss for those of you who are not here?

Friends; pubs; windy little streets and knowing tons of shortcuts; walking along the Grand Canal; Ranelagh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Pubs
    Sinfonia wrote: »
    walking along the Grand Canal
    Some characters there on the Dublin end...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

I know it is not exclusive to Ireland, but friends here meeting each other with "Howya ya bollocks?" or someother mild insult ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Christ the Redeemer

Our country is counted among the elites on this planet. Say all you want about Ireland!

http://ffp.statesindex.org/rankings-2013-sortable

feck the haters, we rock! though, we still have muppets trying their best to wreak us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

and knowing tons of shortcuts;

Ah yeah, Irish short cuts... usually more trouble than they're worth but you have to take them anyway, cos well like you'll be in the pub supping a pint about a minute before you would have if you took the long way...

Dang Nabbit I'm getting homesick again... was just getting over the canadian couples video of Ireland and I'm back to where I started. FECK! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Do people here live in ros na rùn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

The intelligence, superior broad education, general interest/curiosity and sense of humour of the people.

Irish people seem to take a much greater interest in current affairs and the world in general than their foreign counterparts. We can discuss literature, art, history and a large range of other subjects with a reasonable degree of knowledge and insight. This is what I miss when abroad. There, people seem to have narrow interests on which they are very knowledgeable but no interest/ability discuss anything outside of these areas. Yes, I know this is a sweeping generalisation but is a long-held opinion.

Also (I'm going to come across as a terrible snob/racist for saying this but ..), I think Irish people are better conversationalists and are more fun to be around than people of other nationalities. We are able to express ourselves in an understandable but intelligent and witty way; we are unselfconscious in our love of a laugh and joke; we don't take offence easily and make better friends, in terms of being loyal and trustworthy.

TLDR: It's the people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

Irish sense of humour

The hot men and women (seriously, don't get why either...well in fairness usually just the women) get stick here, yis are all big roides!!!

The friendliness and banter ya get on nights out bumping into complete randomers

The Irish countryside

The tea

The chippers (ok, not exclusive to Ireland but I definitely miss chipper chips when I'm abroad)

The Irish accent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

The people and sense of community.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

Irish sense of humour

The hot men and women (seriously, don't get why either...well in fairness usually just the women) get stick here, yis are all big roides!!!

The friendliness and banter ya get on nights out bumping into complete randomers

The Irish countryside

The tea

The chippers (ok, not exclusive to Ireland but I definitely miss chipper chips when I'm abroad)

The Irish accent

Yes! to all of this but most especially the bit in a bold. I was on the bus the other day when this incredibly beautiful flame haired girl got on. My god she was stunning! I couldn't stop looking at her and I wasn't the only one. A guy in the seat in front of me was staring as well and he didn't even have the courtesy to do it discreetly :). This is not a solitary incident. I see beautiful Irish women and men everywhere. I am constantly having to restrain myself from walking up to random guys and giving them my number :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

Friends; pubs; windy little streets and knowing tons of shortcuts; walking along the Grand Canal; Ranelagh.

Simply magnificent!

. I am constantly having to restrain myself from walking up to random guys and giving them my number :).

Why restrain yourself?!

I hope you'll still show up here Itwasnstme, you're a good 'un :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

Candie wrote: »
    Why restrain yourself?!

Uh...because even though I wouldn't think it weird if a stranger gave me their number, from my conversations with people here on the topic, I gather that it's not the done thing in this country.

I'm concentrating on improving my telepathic skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

the ability to make a sandwich consisting of fresh white bread, a bag of cheese and onion taytos and dairygold butter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Irish sense of humour

Yeah I forgot that :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

THE WEST !!

I Love the west, especially the south west

Country pubs ... a pint of Guinness in one of these pubs .... ahhhh heaven...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

I love the food. Irish cuisine isn't world renowned but the quality of produce on our little island is outstanding!

Think of the milk or butter you've had on the continent or in America - never compares

I love walking home in winter. The wind whipping rain into your face, you get into the warm house and hang your coat up before walking into the kitchen and Mam hands you a nice mug of tae to warm your hands on.

I love walking down any random quiet road in Ireland, safe in the knowledge that I'll get a warm smile and a nod from any passing stranger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Grafton Street in the week before Christmas.
    The Spanish Arch in Galway in the summer.
    Blessington Lakes any time of the year.
    St Stephen's Green on a sunny day.
    The humour and genuine comedy of any Irish crowd.
    Friday night pints in the local.
    Irish women - all of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

hate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Ah yeah, Irish short cuts... usually more trouble than they're worth but you have to take them anyway, cos well like you'll be in the pub supping a pint about a minute before you would have if you took the long way...
    It's more that now that I'm living in a full-on grid system (which was great for getting around when I didn't know the place - and still is really), I kind of miss the certain sense of pride of knowing how to navigate Dublin streets.. It's a learned skill!

Also, I forgot Brennan's Bread earlier :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Leftist wrote: »
    hate it.

You're not right there leftist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Shelbourne FC :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Grafton Street in the week before Christmas.
    The Spanish Arch in Galway in the summer.
    Blessington Lakes any time of the year.
    St Stephen's Green on a sunny day.
    The humour and genuine comedy of any Irish crowd.
    Friday night pints in the local.
    Irish women - all of them.

You left a few things out

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1E5eg6cwo4U&feature=youtu.be&t=3m46s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭ONeill2013

The only things I love about Ireland is the history and weather, the rest is all nonsense, apart from bpm energy drink.