Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland, I love you

• 20-08-2013 12:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭

Maybe it's because I am leaving soon but I woke up this morning feeling a whole lot of love for Ireland. So instead of trying to beat yet another deadline, I watched a few Rose of Tralee video clips and my love cup overflowed even more (shut up haters).

I love the accents, all of them but especially Tipperary, Donegal and the midlands; I love that there are so. many. hot men; I love the almost naked girls in the winter; I love the way people are just so friendly; I love the cold, crisp air; I love the rain; I love the green; I love the orange - off the flag and onto an astonishing amount of people; I love the gingers; I love it all.

What do you love about Ireland? What would you miss if you left? What do you miss for those of you who are not here?

This is NOT a thread about what you don't like. Start your own thread haters and don't bloody ruin my buzz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I love "my love cup overflowed" :p

Seriously, that is brilliant :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Shut up and stop taking mixing your sugar for cocaine, you fupping grasshole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭nervous_twitch

..but you're bringing me down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Old man pubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭clintondaly

I love my Tracker mortgage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Itwasntme. wrote: »

What do you love about Ireland? What would you miss if you left? What do you miss for those of you who are not here?

Family, coolness, and moisture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

At the same time the rose of traleee was on tg4 were showing a documentary about irish men who emigrated to the UK in the 50-60s and wound up living in isolation and squalor for most of their lives

A grand little country to be sure, to be sure.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I'm going home tomoz for a few days and I was there last week too, the tranquility of the place was nice and the fact that it's nowhere near as busy or built up as London innit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

I love lamp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

..but you're bringing me down.

You beat me......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

EVERYTHING... especially Craic, chocolate and crisps

EDIT: And proper strong Teah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

The Irish sense of humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

Sense of humour without a doubt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

why you leaving if you love it so much.. eh? Eh? EH?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I don't think you should leave, you'll get homesick.

The niceness/friendliness inherent in most Irish people. They still outnumber the cynics, and I hope they always will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

I love the almost naked girls in the winter

When it's a bit nippy out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Dick sums it up well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

1.I love the way you can drink yourself into oblivion a few times a weeks, every week for your whole life and nobody will ever even think you have a drink problem.

2. Drunk Irish women.

3. The weather is nice and mild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Corvo Attano

Our friendliness to strangers. For the most part we always seem ready to go out of our way to help others. Its admirable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Tim the Enchanter

RikkFlair wrote: »
    When it's a bit nipplely out?

FYP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Yellow121

I love when you're out walking your dogs in the rain, it's quite heavy, lashing at your raincoat and some old fella is walking boy. He gives you a wink and a smile 'tis mighty weather aint it?' and on he strolls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

I don't think you should leave, you'll get homesick.

I is a 'fordiner' :).
    wprathead wrote: »
    why you leaving if you love it so much.. eh? Eh? EH?!

All good things must come to an end and my time here is done. There's a big world out there waiting for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Corvo Attano

Ah you'll return someday for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

The beauty of nice autumn and winter days, the overall easygoing vibe, the way things are easy to get to.
    Bambi wrote: »
    At the same time the rose of traleee was on tg4 were showing a documentary about irish men who emigrated to the UK in the 50-60s and wound up living in isolation and squalor for most of their lives

A grand little country to be sure, to be sure.
    ur kule

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Yellow121 wrote: »
    and some old fella is walking boy.

Will Self?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

GAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭whitewave

Dingle and the Ring of Kerry...amazing scenery, breathtaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

Yellow121 wrote: »
    I love when you're out walking your dogs in the rain, it's quite heavy, lashing at your raincoat and some old fella is walking boy. He gives you a wink and a smile 'tis mighty weather aint it?' and on he strolls.

Hah!

Some time ago I got into a taxi mid summer (i.e. pouring rain, cats, dogs, hippopotami) while utterly drenched to the skin, and said "soft day, thank God".

Without batting an eyelid, the taxi driver replied with "Yeah, I hear it's supposed to turn bad at the weekend".

Love it.

The beauty of nice autumn and winter days, the overall easygoing vibe, the way things are easy to get to.

I think the three things you've mentioned are in my top ten reasons why I love Ireland. Why oh why don't we have autumn in Africa?! That actually really sucks. I feel the need to write a very long letter to the weather gods expressing my dissatisfaction with how they short changed Africa on the seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Our friendliness to strangers. For the most part we always seem ready to go out of our way to help others. Its admirable.

I always love the two questions asked to tourists.

1) Where are you from ?

2) When are you going home ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭alwayssideways

For me the west coast has it all
    • Breathtaking scenery
    • Watersports (Surfing/Scuba Diving in particular)
    • Friendly People

It's a shame so many Irish people do not take advantage of this beautiful island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭GoodBridge

Tayho -and the fact that we can keep a straight face when telling visitors we have a theme park dedicated to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

What do you love about Ireland?

Our willingness to rightly or wrongly take the piss out of everything.
    What would you miss if you left?
    Irish Beers
    Tae (yes, tae not tea)
    Tayto
    Cadbury's chocolate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Homemade gooseberry jam on warm scone bread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I think the three things you've mentioned are in my top ten reasons why I love Ireland. Why oh why don't we have autumn in Africa?! That actually really sucks. I feel the need to write a very long letter to the weather gods expressing my dissatisfaction with how they short changed Africa on the seasons.
    I love your sunny disposition, and I have decided that credit goes to you for bringing sunny warm weather to Ireland this year. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

What do you miss for those of you who are not here?

Friends; pubs; windy little streets and knowing tons of shortcuts; walking along the Grand Canal; Ranelagh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Pubs
    Sinfonia wrote: »
    walking along the Grand Canal
    Some characters there on the Dublin end...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

I know it is not exclusive to Ireland, but friends here meeting each other with "Howya ya bollocks?" or someother mild insult ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Christ the Redeemer

Our country is counted among the elites on this planet. Say all you want about Ireland!

http://ffp.statesindex.org/rankings-2013-sortable

feck the haters, we rock! though, we still have muppets trying their best to wreak us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

and knowing tons of shortcuts;

Ah yeah, Irish short cuts... usually more trouble than they're worth but you have to take them anyway, cos well like you'll be in the pub supping a pint about a minute before you would have if you took the long way...

Dang Nabbit I'm getting homesick again... was just getting over the canadian couples video of Ireland and I'm back to where I started. FECK! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Do people here live in ros na rùn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

The intelligence, superior broad education, general interest/curiosity and sense of humour of the people.

Irish people seem to take a much greater interest in current affairs and the world in general than their foreign counterparts. We can discuss literature, art, history and a large range of other subjects with a reasonable degree of knowledge and insight. This is what I miss when abroad. There, people seem to have narrow interests on which they are very knowledgeable but no interest/ability discuss anything outside of these areas. Yes, I know this is a sweeping generalisation but is a long-held opinion.

Also (I'm going to come across as a terrible snob/racist for saying this but ..), I think Irish people are better conversationalists and are more fun to be around than people of other nationalities. We are able to express ourselves in an understandable but intelligent and witty way; we are unselfconscious in our love of a laugh and joke; we don't take offence easily and make better friends, in terms of being loyal and trustworthy.

TLDR: It's the people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

Irish sense of humour

The hot men and women (seriously, don't get why either...well in fairness usually just the women) get stick here, yis are all big roides!!!

The friendliness and banter ya get on nights out bumping into complete randomers

The Irish countryside

The tea

The chippers (ok, not exclusive to Ireland but I definitely miss chipper chips when I'm abroad)

The Irish accent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

The people and sense of community.

Irish sense of humour

The hot men and women (seriously, don't get why either...well in fairness usually just the women) get stick here, yis are all big roides!!!

The friendliness and banter ya get on nights out bumping into complete randomers

The Irish countryside

The tea

The chippers (ok, not exclusive to Ireland but I definitely miss chipper chips when I'm abroad)

The Irish accent

Yes! to all of this but most especially the bit in a bold. I was on the bus the other day when this incredibly beautiful flame haired girl got on. My god she was stunning! I couldn't stop looking at her and I wasn't the only one. A guy in the seat in front of me was staring as well and he didn't even have the courtesy to do it discreetly :). This is not a solitary incident. I see beautiful Irish women and men everywhere. I am constantly having to restrain myself from walking up to random guys and giving them my number :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

Friends; pubs; windy little streets and knowing tons of shortcuts; walking along the Grand Canal; Ranelagh.

Simply magnificent!

. I am constantly having to restrain myself from walking up to random guys and giving them my number :).

Why restrain yourself?!

I hope you'll still show up here Itwasnstme, you're a good 'un :)

Candie wrote: »
    Why restrain yourself?!

Uh...because even though I wouldn't think it weird if a stranger gave me their number, from my conversations with people here on the topic, I gather that it's not the done thing in this country.

I'm concentrating on improving my telepathic skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

the ability to make a sandwich consisting of fresh white bread, a bag of cheese and onion taytos and dairygold butter!