If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Supervalu Talbot St today?

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

I witnessed the whole thing. I work on talbot street and was in Eurospar having my lunch sitting in insomnia directly across the road from the incident. The security guard was in the wrong. The two guys seemed to start the fight but someone came between them and the security guard was safe in the shop while the two guys were outside talking to what looked like a manager of Supervalu. He came back out when the situation had been calmed down with a golf club and whacked the man onto the ground. These had a t-shirt on initially but the security got it off him in the first fight. The security guard was wrong for going and getting a golf club he could have killed the man.

Which Garda Station did you volunteer your statement to?

I witnessed the whole thing. I work on talbot street and was in Eurospar having my lunch sitting in insomnia directly across the road from the incident. The security guard was in the wrong. The two guys seemed to start the fight but someone came between them and the security guard was safe in the shop while the two guys were outside talking to what looked like a manager of Supervalu. He came back out when the situation had been calmed down with a golf club and whacked the man onto the ground. These had a t-shirt on initially but the security got it off him in the first fight. The security guard was wrong for going and getting a golf club he could have killed the man.

So the security guard was involved in the first fight, ripped yer mans t-shirt off, someone split fight up, security guard went inside?

Am I following you so far?

Then, security guard got a golf club from somewhere, went back outside and whacked the fella?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Dionysius2

Dean0088 wrote: »
    I find it hard to believe a security guard would attack a shoplifter with a golf club.

Must be more to it.

It's hard to walk up Talbot street without seeing someone shooting heroin in one of the alley ways or junkies standing around drinking, causing agro or shoplifting from some of the small shops along there.

The place is a kip thanks to a small minority of scum who make traders lives a misery.

I'll be passing by in a half hour or so. I'll post anything I see - although apparently it was hours ago.

Ditto for Mid Abbey St at the Luas and side streets there where the scummiest cretins hang abouty wallowing in their misdery and driving the ordinary decent folk daft every day.

Double post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Dionysius2 wrote: »
    Ditto for Mid Abbey St at the Luas and side streets there where the scummiest cretins hang abouty wallowing in their misdery and driving the ordinary decent folk daft every day.
    Not to mention ruining Irelands Image for every tourist unfortunate to have to interact with them. Oddly enough, tourists abound in the city center, a good reason you'd imagine to make sure FECKIN JUNKIES don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

God bless that lovely north city centre, Eden Quay, Marlborough St, Abbey St, the Boardwalks, complete f***ing disgrace of a kip

and we denigrate and disdain people for not being 'Oirish' or 'Oirish enough' :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

dd972 wrote: »
    God bless that lovely north city centre, Eden Quay, Marlborough St, Abbey St, the Boardwalks, complete f***ing disgrace of a kip
    I find Eden Quay and Abbey Street grand overall.
    and we denigrate and disdain people for not being 'Oirish' or 'Oirish enough' :pac::pac::pac:
    "We"... what?

Its sad to see the state of Dublin City center with all these scum bags hanging about.
    Dublin is the first port of call for any tourist so the city center should be a well maintained area.
    When I was up for the Leinster Hurling final in June I saw some younger scum bags at one of the main statues on O'Connell street, he had an umbrella and was sharpening the metal part at the top off the stone wall.

Guess it's cheaper to keep people like this on the streets unless they commit an offense which puts you in the circuit court when it's probably too late to help the regular folk of this country.

No party is getting my vote in the next election unless sorting crime is their number one priority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

But if you watch the video in the Indo, hasn't the shirtless guy gone back into the shop (for the second time) and aren't the staff out of sight inside the threshold of the shop when we hear a sound that could be a golf club hitting something? Or did you see a bit that's not in the film, where a security guard actually came out onto the street with a golf club?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I hear U2 are doing a tribute song, called Monday Bloody Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

dd972 wrote: »

I find Eden Quay and Abbey Street grand overall.

I think North Earl Street is the worst. I think Marlborough Street has been a no-go street for junkies since a couple of years ago. It used to be bad, but now you can walk along most of it and not see anyone who is an obvious user. The pedestrian gates of the department of education are open during the day, and a couple of years ago they weren't. The cops must be enforcing a zero-tolerance approach along there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

All this discussion of Dublin's scummiest areas reminds me of a quote from Scent of a Woman:

"If I were the man I was five years ago, I'd take a FLAMETHROWER to this place!"

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

But if you watch the video in the Indo, hasn't the shirtless guy gone back into the shop (for the second time) and aren't the staff out of sight inside the threshold of the shop when we hear a sound that could be a golf club hitting something? Or did you see a bit that's not in the film, where a security guard actually came out onto the street with a golf club?
    Exactly what I was thinking. The situation was hardly "calm" if the scumbag kept trying to get into the store that he was obviously being kicked out of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Dionysius2

Not to mention ruining Irelands Image for every tourist unfortunate to have to interact with them. Oddly enough, tourists abound in the city center, a good reason you'd imagine to make sure FECKIN JUNKIES don't.
    And nobody in authority seems to give much of a care. The entire city centre needs a shakedown and a cleanup that is way beyond the capacity of any one agency. The Guards do their normal fire brigade type of approach where they turn up (mostly) when summoned and dash off to another urgent call within minutes so there is no lasting effect to police intervention. But that is the only way the Gardai can function according to their spokespeople. The Civic authorities seem powerless.

But who are these low lifes ? Irish ? Eastern Euros ? Travelling types ?
    How to get them to give up their layabout lives ? Jail is the first option offered by the long suffering public but that's nonsense cos that costs the taxpayers a grand a week and more per scumbag so what could be done with them ? Seriously now......suggestions that could be made viable ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,439 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Misleading thread title, it didn't happen today :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

And nobody in authority seems to give much of a care. The entire city centre needs a shakedown and a cleanup that is way beyond the capacity of any one agency. The Guards do their normal fire brigade type of approach where they turn up (mostly) when summoned and dash off to another urgent call within minutes so there is no lasting effect to police intervention. But that is the only way the Gardai can function according to their spokespeople. The Civic authorities seem powerless.

How to get them to give up their layabout lives ? Jail is the first option offered by the long suffering public but that's nonsense cos that costs the taxpayers a grand a week and more per scumbag so what could be done with them ? Seriously now......suggestions that could be made viable ?

Chain gang? Loads of roads need resurfacing for starters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭Everlong1

Nice punch to the head from the security guard at the start of that clip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,545 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Hate hearing stories like this where nobody interventions and they watch people get hurt!

Cowardly Cnuts
    the right guy got hurt though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭conor2469

Great clip, always good to see a scum bag get a hiding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Hate hearing stories like this where nobody interventions and they watch people get hurt!

Cowardly Cnuts

And the macho posturing begins. The vast majority of people when confronted with scenes of violence will stay rooted to the spot, the more extreme that violence is then the more likely people will do nothing. It's a natural reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,046 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

The only scumbags I've ever seen causing trouble are irish. last time I was on talbot st I saw a woman vomiting up at the corner with O'Connell st. I saw two more screaming at each other further down the street whilst their boyfriends egged them on. BTW, It was 1pm in the afternoon.
    That whole area is a bit fecked, and it can't be blamed on Roma, eastern europeans or travellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Also I just watched the video, I was expecting some sort of bloodbath. Scumbag got turfed out, went back into the shop looking for more and got a good clatter. Tough sh*t for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,778 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

There's a methadone clinic beside Connolly station and some rough apartments in the area. The junkies are not so dangerous, its the skangers that you need to watch. Junkies are like zombies you just need to move faster than them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭BlimpyBoy

Grayson wrote: »
    The only scumbags I've ever seen causing trouble are irish. last time I was on talbot st I saw a woman vomiting up at the corner with O'Connell st. I saw two more screaming at each other further down the street whilst their boyfriends egged them on. BTW, It was 1pm in the afternoon.
    That whole area is a bit fecked, and it can't be blamed on Roma, eastern europeans or travellers.

The vast majority of scumbags I've seen causing trouble around the city centre are Irish.

The gas thing is that they are always going on about the "blacks and the Polish" ruining the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

I think North Earl Street is the worst. I think Marlborough Street has been a no-go street for junkies since a couple of years ago. It used to be bad, but now you can walk along most of it and not see anyone who is an obvious user. The pedestrian gates of the department of education are open during the day, and a couple of years ago they weren't. The cops must be enforcing a zero-tolerance approach along there.
    As far as I am aware the cops have excellent CCTV coverage of Marlborough St. That's what an acquaintance was told before when they asked a beat cop if it was safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The whole store shimmies!!! Yeah, the whole store SHIMMIES!!! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

conor2469 wrote: »
    Great clip, always good to see a scum bag get a hiding.

A dig in the face, a push or two, and probably a hiding in the store beforehand. He was on his arse in the end.

Still, whether the doorman was wrong or not, I hope he doesn't end up with a switchblade decorating his lower back in the future.