Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Scortho wrote: »
    Thank feckin Christ.

Anyway mine are
    166man
    Dgt
    Murphaph
    Unkel
    Sleepy
    D3PO
    Stheno
    Alanstrainor
    Max power1
    Scofflaw
    Cian Ryan.

Of that list the only one I know that's female is stheno and she's married.

Ah well. Alfa fanboism skews it a bit :pac:

Say what now? When did I get married?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Stheno wrote: »

Oh god, run, EVERYBODY RUN! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

YbFocus wrote: »
    Oh god, run, EVERYBODY RUN! :)

ARRRRRRGGGGGHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'm tempted to put Scortho on my ignore list.

And the kick in the balls is that he is never ever getting to have a spin in my ncted, and well maintained gtv :D

And furthermore, I'm going to post pics of every tiny tiny enhancement I make to the car :D

And go to every meet he says he is going to and ignore him :)

Brutal faux pas on his part, my first marriage cost me a fortune to get out of, unlikely I'd embrace the concept again :D

Imagine being an alfa fan, and only ever getting to experience gtv fun in 166mans ornament.

Heeheeeheeeeeeee

I'm tempted to put Scortho on my ignore list.

And the kick in the balls is that he is never ever getting to have a spin in my ncted, and well maintained gtv :D

And furthermore, I'm going to post pics of every tiny tiny enhancement I make to the car :D

And go to every meet he says he is going to and ignore him :)

Brutal faux pas on his part, my first marriage cost me a fortune to get out of, unlikely I'd embrace the concept again :D

Imagine being an alfa fan, and only ever getting to experience gtv fun in 166mans ornament.

Heeheeeheeeeeeee

evil-thing.gif

Fun though, I'd an idea I'd take him on a 50km spin on good twisty backroads to show off the gtv, Swords to Naul to Balbriggan, maybe onto Skerries.

A seriously fun drive, poor Scortho :(

Pred is still top of my list of people to get a go in the gtv :D

Fun though, I'd an idea I'd take him on a 50km spin on good twisty backroads to show off the gtv, Swords to Naul to Balbriggan, maybe onto Skerries.

A seriously fun drive, poor Scortho :(

Pred is still top of my list of people to get a go in the gtv :D

Have you ever driven monaghan to cavan? the twistiest, bendiest, backiest?, road in the country I'd say, went on it one year with the father in his sri vectra, doing minimun 80kmh the whole way

Madness

Have you ever driven monaghan to cavan? the twistiest, bendiest, backiest?, road in the country I'd say, went on it one year with the father in his sri vectra, doing minimun 80kmh the whole way

Madness

Yup :)

Do you not feel sorry for poor Scortho?

Yup :)

Do you not feel sorry for poor Scortho?

I have no feelings, I am a mere pickle you must remember :pac:

Ah no I do, i think you should be a bit nice, not too nice though

I have no feelings, I am a mere pickle you must remember :pac:

Ah no I do, i think you should be a bit nice, not too nice though

heeeheee, you missed when we had a fake garage for a while and I was the boss

I might relent, given I'm in a good mood having found two gtvs being broken that I can get parts for.

Scortho had a small part to do with that, and he'd love a day out in my car, unlike the ornament.

heeeheee, you missed when we had a fake garage for a while and I was the boss

I might relent, given I'm in a good mood having found two gtvs being broken that I can get parts for.

Scortho had a small part to do with that, and he'd love a day out in my car, unlike the ornament.

Ah well then the least you can do is give him a spin :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Debating whether to allow myself take part or not..

But count me in for the trackday (depending on the date, I've a couple of work events coming up)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Oh ****e!

Stheno sincere apologies. For some reason I thought you were married.

At least I got the female part right....

If she wanted to annoy me it'd be a video of the gtv being scrapped as opposed to selling it to me if that time ever came.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

got some weird looks from the checkout person in tesco... :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Well that's what happens when you rub your arse against the scanner.

So today was a fun motoring day
    Went for a spin up by the sally gap, eniskerry and that area taking random roads.

Did the trip in sport mode, and even managed to get some hang time in the 535d!

Max Power1 wrote: »
    So today was a fun motoring day
    Went for a spin up by the sally gap, eniskerry and that area taking random roads.

Did the trip in sport mode, and even managed to get some hang time in the 535d!

You got air??? In that tank?! :eek::eek::eek::eek:

Hehe yeah it was great craic. The auld scandinavian flicks, and burning rubber were the theme for the evening. Wanted to see if I had the cajones for bringing her to the potential trackday we(the forum) were talking about on here.

Dafuq?! :pac: So did it live up to your expectations? I might bring my astra to this track day :P and then transform into elvis and do a backflip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

if thats anytime soon i might do it in the volvo,

looking to rip these chinese tyres apart and finish off my pads and discs !

Dafuq?! :pac: So did it live up to your expectations? I might bring my astra to this track day :P and then transform into elvis and do a backflip

Live up and more.. I think this may have been (a) the most fun I have ever had in 4 wheel form and (b) a drastic effect on my l/100km :P

I was passenger in a v6 busso the otherday, that was rather fun :D

Does that count?

I was passenger in a v6 busso the otherday, that was rather fun :D

Does that count?

I was looking at an 01 3.2 v6 the other day actually, in 156 form, cherry red. They are a beautiful car. Damn you 166 man, you have introduced me to the world of the Alfa!

I find the clutch to be a right awkward s.o.b

Didnt drive this one or anything, just admiring her from afar!
    I was reading up afterwards and saw that the 2.5 gets the same mpg as the 3.2 v6. That begs the question as to why anyone wouldnt buy the 3.2!!

(The one thing that modern alfas miss is RWD, especially in higher powered guise)

Didnt drive this one or anything, just admiring her from afar!
    I was reading up afterwards and saw that the 2.5 gets the same mpg as the 3.2 v6. That begs the question as to why anyone wouldnt buy the 3.2!!

(The one thing that modern alfas miss is RWD, especially in higher powered guise)

I didn't either, sat in it, but the clutch was too awkward for me either it was too small for my foot or my foot was too big :rolleyes: sure you may as well get a 2.5! they are they new bmw after all :P everyone's getting them :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Might have a go at this track day thing. Fooked if I would do it in either of my own yokes but have access to a couple of cars that could be trashed. Also have access to a trailer and the jeep has a ball hitch - sorted! :)

Time to start a separate thread on this Gary?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Might have a go at this track day thing. Fooked if I would do it in either of my own yokes but have access to a couple of cars that could be trashed. Also have access to a trailer and the jeep has a ball hitch - sorted! :)

Time to start a separate thread on this Gary?

I'm in two minds, do I bring the race car and risk it on the same tarmac as you shower of idiots (sic :pac:) or do I trash one of the hapes I have at my disposal

Ya, separate thread, when I'm on a laptop

Im also kindof in two minds.

What is the scenario insurance wise? I mean most policies specifically exclude track days. So what if someone plows into the back of me for instance?