Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Lads...

The electronically controlled autobox in a pug 508 is pure unadulterated shíte. It's one of the most confusing things i've ever come across. You have M mode, you have flappy paddles (which is also funny cos its a 112bhp diesel) but it takes about a fúcking week to change gears.

The most annoying thing is its the only thing wrong with the damn car at all... Otherwise I'd seriously recommend one to anyone. >1000 miles range :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Lads...

The electronically controlled autobox in a pug 508 is pure unadulterated shíte. It's one of the most confusing things i've ever come across. You have M mode, you have flappy paddles (which is also funny cos its a 112bhp diesel) but it takes about a fúcking week to change gears.

The most annoying thing is its the only thing wrong with the damn car at all... Otherwise I'd seriously recommend one to anyone. >1000 miles range :eek:

Was driving a 3008 with that set up for a couple of months. Horrid, horrid gearbox and you can't trust it not to get you blown off the road when you leave it in auto. Not unknown to make multiple stupid gear changes entering a roundabout...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

19mpg.... Now thats diesel economy :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

YbFocus wrote: »

Mine;
    Ded_Zebra ,
    delthedriver ,
    MuppetCheck ,
    CiniO ,
    Alanstrainor ,
    RoverJames ,
    YbFocus ,
    MetzgerMeister ,
    vectra ,
    dan185 ,
    Supergurrier .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

mine are

RoverJames
    Cookie_Monster
    Anan1
    Alanstrainor
    bluewolf
    unkel
    Angron
    dr.fuzzenstein
    Malice
    challengemaster
    YbFocus

One or two surprises there....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Max Power1 wrote: »
    mine are

challengemaster

One or two surprises there....

Surprise_Cat.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

toastedpickles
    Max Power1
    dgt
    whydave
    Alanstrainor
    CianRyan
    ShadowFox
    ba_barabus
    delthedriver
    S.E.A.L.s
    Wibbs

Thats mine, only a few of you motors guys on there.

(in other news, Mr. mathepacs proposal didn't get too far.. :rolleyes:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=86046325#post86046325)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

cabb8ge wrote: »
    Mine;
    Ded_Zebra ,

Yay somebody likes me:D:pac:

Here's mine

dgt
    CianRyan
    Toyotafanboi
    Capt'n Midnight
    166man
    Bootup
    Alanstrainor
    swoody
    toastedpickles
    MetzgerMeister
    colm_mcm

I thought that Mr. Toyota would be higher but there you go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Well they say opposits attract but I will not give in to Euro diesel.
    That's an out standing result all the same. :pac:

r7sk7a.jpg

Yeah but could you convince him the other way?? :)

We would definitely have to get hitched in the Church of Petrol. :p

dgt wrote: »
    19mpg.... Now thats diesel economy :cool:

Were you pumping it out onto the road as you peddled? :cool:

Into the atmospher!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Thats mine, only a few of you motors guys on there.

(in other news, Mr. mathepacs proposal didn't get too far.. :rolleyes:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=86046325#post86046325)

Thank feckin Christ.

Anyway mine are
    166man
    Dgt
    Murphaph
    Unkel
    Sleepy
    D3PO
    Stheno
    Alanstrainor
    Max power1
    Scofflaw
    Cian Ryan.

Of that list the only one I know that's female is stheno and she's married.

Ah well. Alfa fanboism skews it a bit :pac:

Were you pumping it out onto the road as you peddled? :cool:

Have you ever seen his car? It's called the smoke box for a reason and by fcuk does it go for a "90bhp" Peugeot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

anyone fancy an ultra rare beast, the vw golf m3?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Not strictly motors related but I can't stop laughing at this (and yes I stole it from the gifs thread)

rTR7ch.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

What happened :)

Many interesting things!

Must update later!

Scortho wrote: »
    Have you ever seen his car? It's called the smoke box for a reason and by fcuk does it go for a "90bhp" Peugeot.

No I've just read about it here but from what I've gathered it seems like a rather nippy home brewed machine. It was poorly presented sarcasm in that last post :)

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Not strictly motors related but I can't stop laughing at this (and yes I stole it from the gifs thread)

That was quite an impact!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Here's mine :P

7YV9ZV.jpg

Mr. Pickles it's a date :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Mr. Pickles it's a date :)

So you doing anything saturday? :P lady pickles won't be too pleased about this :pac:

No I've just read about it here but from what I've gathered it seems like a rather nippy home brewed machine. It was poorly presented sarcasm in that last post :)

It's ridiculous how fast it is as well.
    The burn feeling some people (mainly felt speccers and tarted up civics) must get as dgt flies by in a 406 must be devastating.
    Seeing it go would make you wonder what the hell Is under his bonnet.
    Not to mention the plumes of smoke he leaves behind to rub it in.

Mr power should look into getting a similar setup with his 535d to deal with cyclists who annoy him.

It's ridiculous how fast it is as well.
    The burn feeling some people (mainly felt speccers and tarted up civics) must get as dgt flies by in a 406 must be devastating.
    Seeing it go would make you wonder what the hell Is under his bonnet.
    Not to mention the plumes of smoke he leaves behind to rub it in.

Mr power should look into getting a similar setup with his 535d to deal with cyclists who annoy him.

SSShhh or we'll have another ban on our hands, that right max :p

I want to get a look at all these cars now the next time a meet is organised, never got going to one before :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Would there be anybody here interested in doing a trackday? If we got 40 cars it'd be viable and great craic it is. You don't even need anything particularly quick, I went out in my bangernomics Accord on Thursday and had as much fun in that as others were having in infinitely faster cars.

All you need is a car, full license and a helmet

1. YbFocus ;)

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Would there be anybody here interested in doing a trackday? If we got 40 cars it'd be viable and great craic it is. You don't even need anything particularly quick, I went out in my bangernomics Accord on Thursday and had as much fun in that as others were having in infinitely faster cars.

All you need is a car, full license and a helmet

How much would we be looking at, and roughly when?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

How much would we be looking at, and roughly when?

No idea when, we'd have to trash that out and check availability etc but you're looking around the €150 mark give or take a few quid

Far as I remeber it's 180 ain't it, Bart O shea had a drift day there lately it was only 130 to get out why ever.