Do you support the Dublin Bus workers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

I think the discussion on deregulation is a wider one that distracts from the core of the current dispute - the vestiges of an overpaid and bloated state service, dominated by trades unions, and still stuck in a last century mentality of screw as much from the system as you can, along the lines of 'if the fools are stupid enough to give you what you ask or battle for then you were right to ask for it'.

All that is needed is that the governement backs the management to let drivers strike if they wish for as long as necessary to get real. It will cost, but is a price worth paying to sort out these guys in the long run and set a marker for state paid or subsidised employees in general.

Its a basic to negligible skill job, which deserves something above the minimum wage and some low allowance for unsocial hours. Set that wage, and tell them to take it or leave it. Plenty outside their cosseted world would be happy to take the jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,779 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Almaviva wrote: »
    All that is needed is that the governement backs the management to let drivers strike if they wish for as long as necessary to get real. It will cost, but is a price worth paying to sort out these guys in the long run and set a marker for state paid or subsidised employees in general.
    no it isn't a price worth paying, i'm not having the bus service stopped for a long time just to sort out the unions, a strike for a couple of days is fine but risking it going on for months just to sort out the unions would cost way to much. the current way is working well and a deal will eventually be excepted
    Plenty outside their cosseted world would be happy to take the jobs.
    plenty? is this the same plenty who during the boom didn't bother to apply to become a bus driver because it is a job that is beneeth them? thought so, they don't deserve the job so

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

How do they get to bingo?

Walk usually.

hmmm wrote: »
    At the point where it says "Tax" which goes to the government which pays a subvention to Dublin bus.

Which is paid from funds given by the EU.

markpb wrote: »
    Let's knock that rubbish on the head right now! Here are the equivalent fares from other cities:

Edinburgh - £40
    Los Angeles - $24
    London - £53
    Brussels - €50

I agree with you that this is partly due to the level of subvention but let's not pretend that DB fares are reasonable, they are not.

How can unlimited travel for €3 a day be unreasonable?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

devnull wrote: »
    Full de-regulation and tendering are completely different with the later, fares, timetables and suchlike are outside the control of the operator and are set by a central authority who awards the contracts and manages the service. If someone doesn't make an acceptable tender in line with the criteria set, they don't win the tender, so providing the tender criteria is properly set, it will ensure that it is done in an efficient way.

By the current system, of awarding all bus contracts to the CIE group by default, there is no incentive for such company to run it's business in a way that is cost effective and efficient, since they know whatever kind of service that they offer, at the end of the day members of the public have no choice but to use them since there is no alternative, apart from the small percentage of people who are lucky enough to live on a LUAS line or on the DART line.

With tendering then of course there will be still subsidy and fares in a country like Ireland, but competitive tendering gives companies incentives to make sure they cut out the waste (I'm sure there is plenty of it in DB), protect their revenue better (Which DB don't do well enough), which translates to being able to run the service for less money, which reduces costs. If you think a company may just be able to offer the same service at a lower cost than you since they trim away the management fat (which many staff claim is huge in DB), then you are more likely to address that since you want to keep hold of the contract. If you know you'll keep the contract no matter how much waste their is in your business, then there's less incentive to do that.

Or do you think we should allow no competition in any industry? You would notice the price of things would soon rise.
    I don't care about tendering vs full deregulation, I care about (avoiding) privization, and tendering/deregulation are just different degrees of privatization.

We don't want a bus company that prioritizes cost effectiveness and financial efficiency, we want one that prioritizes being a public service.
    Cost-effective analysis is well known for completely ignoring social value, and for focusing solely on monetary value.

We've been through this before: We want a bus service that prioritzes the public, not profits. Making them 'competitive' means prioritizing profits - we don't want that.

What you advocate moves costs, it does not reduce them. The people actually using the bus services get increased costs and worse service (whereas the wealthy pay less in taxes since costs are moved off taxes), leading to a reduction in service (precedent in the UK shows this).

Whether you are aware of it or not, the end result of what you advocate is a movement of the burden of providing public services, off of the wealthy and onto the less well off, and it gives finance greater opportunities to engage in rent-seeking on the public (through snapping up bus services), and granting of subsidies to privatize losses.
    But the fares is a key argument, because the cost of travelling is driving people away from using Dublin Bus, which affects their income. I used to use the bus, but I stopped because of the rising price and reducing service. Paying €1k for an annual ticket when I can carpool and share the costs with colleagues is simply not viable for me. The reason the tickets are so high is because of the cost base, which brings me back to your first point which I just answered.
    You're trying to change the subject again. The UK shows the failure of the policies you advocate, and you are trying to change the subject so you can pretend to be providing a reply to that, when you are really just ignoring it.

I'm not taking that bait-and-switch, and it represents a disingenuous method of argument where you're avoiding the poor example of the UK.
    Bus fares have gone up in Dublin over the last few years and the usage of bus services have gone down. That is the precedent for what a monopoly does to bus services could also be argued.

Dublin Bus passengers were declining for years as well whilst fares were going up every year and in the last few years they've continued to do so. Of course there are factors in that, such as the recession for example, but there was also a recession in the UK not long after the market was deregulated.
    You have just debunked your own argument, in acknowledging that that is the precedent for what an economic recession and austerity does.
    But many times, on these forums, we see staff saying they are not a public company, but now they're "A bit like a public service" but sometimes you'll say they are, and you'll be shot down by a staff member saying "We are not in the Public Sector" but other times when it suits them they will argue that they are, it's either one or the other, not whatever suits them at a particular time.
    Changing the argument again: I said they were a public service, someone else said they weren't, then I've conclusively shown they fit the definition of public service.
    No, it's called different peoples opinions, I respect that other people have differing opinions to me and they are fully entitled to air them no matter what side of the fence they sit on, but no need to turn to insulting them.
    Rhetoric and condescension aren't "opinions", they are used to try and push a viewpoint when the poster knows logical argument will fail, which is intellectually dishonest/disingenuous at best, and typically is in itself insulting (and almost always is closely followed by insults/putdowns in one degree or other).

I agree that the poster in question is using an ideologically-backed assertion, but at the same time the argument that you are putting forward is also in that bracket, but just from the other side of the political spectrum.
    It's backed in evidence actually - the example the UK sets, shows the difference.

If you want to argue ideology, then state that you want to prioritize money instead of social value - don't imply it will provide greater social value by privatization, because you know that's not true, and the historical evidence shows it is not true.

It is a Commercial Semi-Stae Company, if you dont believe me ask CIE themselves.
    It is not,nor never was set up to be a part of the public service, if anything it is a failed experiment in nationalized transport.
    Does it fit this definition or not, and if not, exactly why not:
    A public service is a service which is provided by government to people living within its jurisdiction, either directly (through the public sector) or by financing private provision of services.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Public_service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Claregirl

dotsman wrote: »
    With regards the "low wage" that bus drivers earn - again, I ask for someone to provide a link to a reputable source detailing wages/salaries etc as there is a massive range in the figures that have been abndied around in this thread.

Don't know how reputable Dublin Bus figures are but here's a link for wages (quoted as Net Yearly $37,600 = €28,194.36)

http://www.publicpolicy.ie/tag/dublin-bus/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Claregirl wrote: »
    Don't know how reputable Dublin Bus figures are but here's a link for wages (quoted as Net Yearly $37,600 = €28,194.36)

http://www.publicpolicy.ie/tag/dublin-bus/

From that source, they are the second highest paid drivers in the EU (third highest when adjusted for PPP). That's a "high" wage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

no it isn't a price worth paying, i'm not having the bus service stopped for a long time just to sort out the unions
    I agree with you, a long term bus strike would cause chaos. The core issue here is the monopoly - if Dublin bus workers want the benefits of a monopoly, there must be a no strike clause. If they do want the right to strike, the public must have a choice of providers.

This is 2013, not 1967, the era of monopoly semi-state strikes has to come to an end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Sure put them on €10,000 a year as Warsaw.

Oh wait hold on if you have a family and on the dole you would be on around €18,000 or more.

This business of lucky to have a job is bullsh1t and a insult to anyone that works.
    I didn't cause this mess and 99.9% of you didn't either workers should be standing together and not be against each other as the media and government want you to be.

Ireland in general is an expensive place to live with huge costs such as the many many many taxes and rent costs even money interest rates.

If costs were brought down and the working person wasn't the one footing the bill and taking all the cuts and added taxes and levies and so on then maybe some people would be able to accept a cut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

It doesn't matter anyway as after another ten years of recession wages will all have been slashed anyway..

One reason i don't have much/any time for CIE in general, and their workers as a result, is the ruthless way that they quash or do their damndest to quash any private operator who has ever dared to take on a contracted out route. The new operator will suddenly find themselves operating a route which CIE has suddenly decided to bracket with a flood of busses, thereby killing demand and attempting to put the upstarts back in their box.

The laisse-faire attitude of upper management and lack of active engagement in the day to day running of the company, safe in the knowledge that the taxpayer will simply have to pick up any shortfall also makes me have an attitude of "go to hell" whenever I hear anyone associated with the operation whinging. Given the choice, I'd let the devil take the hindmost and privatise the lot. Totally flatline CIE. Private operators would be in like flynn and we'd end up with a proper transport service, not the cartel of cnuts we have at the moment.

I agree with you, a long term bus strike would cause chaos.
    good
    The core issue here is the monopoly
    its not an issue at all as dublin bus is a social service so a monopoly is fine here, would still be exactly that with privatisation anyway
    if Dublin bus workers want the benefits of a monopoly, there must be a no strike clause.
    not at all, no strike clauses are designed to force the workers to eventually end up with little rights and must not be allowed, infact the EU should make them illegal, i wouldn't take a job with a no strike clause would rather the dole.
    If they do want the right to strike, the public must have a choice of providers.
    no, the public having a choice of providers would eventually get out of control with operators going out of business left right and centre, de-regulation of bus services like you suggest has been prooven to be a failure and definitely must be stopped whatever the cost
    This is 2013, not 1967
    makes no difference, the same challenges that were around in 1967 are as relevant today
    the era of monopoly semi-state strikes has to come to an end.
    no it doesn't, strikes are vital to ensure workers rights and good conditions are held so must be allowed to happen at all costs, they don't happen very often so theirs no problem, workers faught hard and long for rights and good conditions and they will be damned if their going to let them be taken away just to suit those of your opinion

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

I'd let the devil take the hindmost and privatise the lot. Totally flatline CIE. Private operators would be in like flynn and we'd end up with a proper transport service, not the cartel of cnuts we have at the moment.
    untrue i'm afraid, privatisation in an irish context would be a shambles, this country couldn't be trusted to make sure it would be as you think it would be, at least with CIE warts and all one knows what they will get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

bumper234 wrote: »
    It would never happen because if you implement this in one semistate body you need to implement it in all of them. I do think DB needs to rethink the whole free travel pass scheme and also cuts need to be made to bonuses, overtime rates and sick days.

Why not?

untrue i'm afraid, privatisation in an irish context would be a shambles, this country couldn't be trusted to make sure it would be as you think it would be, at least with CIE warts and all one knows what they will get
    I'll take the chance, given the chance. It's handy to get a taxi these days, lots of choice, despite the Y2K rumblings of what de-regulation would bring..

yeah, one of the countries biggest shambles is taxi deregulation, lots of taxis might sound good for the customer but in a round about way it isn't, some drivers working over their legal hours, a taxi regulator who is as pointless as pointless can be and who keeps issuing licences even though theirs to many taxis for the current demand and many of the current ones can't make hardly anything (sure lots of taxis was grand during the boom) but now its unsustainable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,042 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Plenty outside their cosseted world would be happy to take the jobs.
    plenty? is this the same plenty who during the boom didn't bother to apply to become a bus driver because it is a job that is beneeth them? thought so, they don't deserve the job so

Plenty under the age of 28/29 I'd say, who wouldn't have been able to apply back in the boom of 2001/06.
    I reckon you could fill every position ,and the idealogical issue of 'dont deserve it because it used to be beneath them' wouldn't exist.

Plenty under the age of 28/29 I'd say, who wouldn't have been able to apply back in the boom of 2001/06.
    I reckon you could fill every position ,and the idealogical issue of 'dont deserve it because it used to be beneath them' wouldn't exist.

It's especially that age bracket that look down upon the drivers and council street cleaners and so on.

Why are the street cleaners paid so much, why are bankers paid so much, why are management figures paid so much.

Why are most on here slamming drivers and it's not only drivers that went out. It's maintenance, clerical and inspectors.

Stop having a go at the workers start having a go at your local td and so on to get their finger out and do what we all elected them for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

Bus ****.

Sheeps wrote: »
    Bus ****.

Never gets old:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

Honestly, they could protest with out inconveniencing a the entire city and surrounding area. Can't believe it's even legal to do what they're doing. It should be like the Gardaí where a bare minimum of service has to be maintained.

yeah, one of the countries biggest shambles is taxi deregulation, lots of taxis might sound good for the customer but in a round about way it isn't, some drivers working over their legal hours, a taxi regulator who is as pointless as pointless can be and who keeps issuing licences even though theirs to many taxis for the current demand and many of the current ones can't make hardly anything (sure lots of taxis was grand during the boom) but now its unsustainable
    It is, and I lost interest after that bit. As a customer, like. If i wanted to run a taxi or a bus company, I'd have read the next bit. I don't.

Honestly, they could protest with out inconveniencing a the entire city and surrounding area.
    its a strike, their not inconveniencing anyone, walk to the luas or dart or pay for a taxi, its not that hard for the odd couple of days once in a blue moon
    Can't believe it's even legal to do what they're doing.
    well you see a strike is only with-holding ones labour, so theirs no reason for it to be illegal.
    It should be like the Gardaí where a bare minimum of service has to be maintained.
    no it shouldn't, the guardai and all emergency services always provided their services when on strike even before the new laws, they just didn't do the paper work, if the majority of the guardai ever voted for strike action and downed tools theirs nothing the government could do, to train new ones would take months and their not going to sack thousands of guards it would be the end of any party in government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

no it shouldn't, the guardai and all emergency services always provided their services when on strike even before the new laws, they just didn't do the paper work

Are you saying the 80%+ who called in sick in 1998 were all working on paper work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,316 ✭✭✭✭K-9

This idea of running it privately is fine in a city but in somewhere like Donegal hasn't a chance, and only a total lunatic would put it forward, even parts of Dublin have uneconomic routes.

You could just cut routes and say walk it or whatever, but we live in a pampered generation, the same lunatics would be moaning about "how come I don't have a bus stop within 100 yards of my house? I've got to buy a car." They didn't want to go on the bus anyway.

One of the basic reasons for Government is to provide services likes public transport and mail in uneconomic areas, otherwise what's the point? Just put the whole lot out to private enterprise and believe in some libertarian ideal that the market knows best. That's why we have semi states, they shouldn't be fully private because they do need to serve a public interest.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,427 ✭✭✭markpb

Hilly Bill wrote: »

The answer was in the rest of my post. Feel free to read it again. Of course, you could argue that our bus service is twice as good as that in London which explains the massive price difference but then I'd really stop listening to you.

psinno wrote: »
    Are you saying the 80%+ who called in sick in 1998 were all working on paper work?
    read my post again, i stated that the guards still provided their services when on strike but refused to do the paper work or bother with petty crimes. sadly that year their was a major sickness meaning many guards out sick, it was worse then the mollenium flu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,972 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Hilly Bill wrote: »
    It isn't really about unlimited travel for most people though, is it? Most people will just use it to get to work and go home.

It's like saying that XXquid for an all you can eat buffet is reasonable, because there's 200 kgs of food on the buffet table.