Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Paulegend wrote: »
    just to clarify im not saying that the are "greats of the game" im just saying that those managers have done a great job is all.

Please stop! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

Mr Alan wrote: »
    This morning you have used the word great to describe;

1) Joe Allen
    2) Brendan Rodgers
    3) Our team (without Suarez)

Just stop it.

Needs more Arnie

9504158.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Paulegend

NukaCola wrote: »
    Please stop! :p

im just saying that the likes of mcleish would be considered a great of the game where the likes of nevill has been great at his job........................

Pedalstool wrote: »
    I would rate Allen above Cleverly, but thats just me, I really like Joe Allen as a player.

I'm still not sure what to do with Henderson.

There is still plenty of time for both to mature into fine players, just right now, we need better in the CM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

just to clarify im not saying that the are "greats of the game" im just saying that those managers have done a great job is all.

but you did say they were all great managers. Moyes, Martinez, Bruce, Jol.... all great managers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

im just saying that the likes of mcleish would be considered a great of the game where the likes of nevill has been great at his job........................

Am I really reading this?

I now believe you are making an attempt at being a more sophisticated wind up merchant :pac:

Knex. wrote: »

don't fall for it, theres no way he could be that ridiculous, its a wind up.

Knex. wrote: »

I think he's great

but you did say they were all great managers. Moyes, Martinez, Bruce, Jol.... all great managers.

yea they have been great managers in their time at certain clubs.

lets say you manage fulham and you qualify from the EL. then you would be a great manager

if you manage man city and dont challenge for the title your not a great manager

surely doing a great job should be judged diffrently based on the individual task at hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Raif Severance

Grayditch wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure I got the the end of the cryptic maze that is the meaning of the term over-pay. I'll just leave this here, as it explains what I meant.

You didn't get it.
    30 plus million, yes, without doubt.

15m or so, not overly. In the context of more players leaving than being signed or the wage bill continuing to be reduced, no.

When we are spending 40/50/60m net, then it will be completely put to bed.
    rob316 wrote: »
    Ya see this is whats wrong with the modern fan, you wouldnt be happy if we got Willian for 15 million but would be if we spent 30 million on him? That makes no sense. Would Coutinho be better player if he cost 30 million?

We spent 35 million on Carroll and 20 million combined on sturridge and countinho. It doesnt take a genuis to see which is the better deal.

Its about the right player not how much they cost.

If we got him for 15M, I'm not sure why our Fans should Complain that we didn't pay 30M for him.

As long as we got the Player in the end, it doesn't matter what we Paid for him.

I now believe you are making an attempt at being a more sophisticated wind up merchant :pac:
    don't fall for it, theres no way he could be that ridiculous, its a wind up.

He may be a genius tbh......i'm in stitches anyways :pac:

Defintely taking the píss now.

Should have spotted it a while ago tbh

lol no i said as a tongue in cheek. nevill sure has done a great job but its nothing to do with what we are talking about and of course mcleish is ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,622 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

McLeish is in no way a great manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

I just wasted half an hour of a lovely Sunday afternoon reading this mornings shite on here...FML :(

yea they have been great managers in their time at certain clubs.

lets say you manage fulham and you qualify from the EL. then you would be a great manager

if you manage man city and dont challenge for the title your not a great manager

surely doing a great job should be judged diffrently based on the individual task at hand

Being "great" requires achievement over a prolonged period.

You are not a great manager by getting fulham into Europe. You did a good job for a season yes, but the game is littered with one season wonders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,296 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Fcuk spurs and fcuk avb, i follow liverpool and brendan rodgers,nothing or noone else matters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Twitter machine now saying Eriksen deal is happening.

Confused as a cow on astro turf.

great = doing better than previous form

before rodgers are team was a mess. we pretended kenny was playing attractive football we over payed for mediocre players and we payed them too much so couldnt get rid of them. our team was going backwards. before kenny we had roy who tried to do a swan dive down the league. we where in a relegation battle ffs.

so yes i think that rodgers in his time has been great. i agree to an extent what rarnes is saying about judging on trophies and 4th place but overall i think what rodgers has brought to the club is stablity and a foundation to build on. he are looking healthy squad wise and our football is great. we arent boring to watch and the way he presents himself is honorable and what should be expected of a manager of liverpool fc. that is why i think he has been great

Very true

McLeish is in no way a great manager.

of course he isnt. he underachieved

Being "great" requires achievement over a prolonged period.

You are not a great manager by getting fulham into Europe. You did a good job for a season yes, but the game is littered with one season wonders.

yes i agree. thats what i mean. if you are over achieving for a prolonged period than you are doing a great job

at the moment rodgers has overachieved(not in terms of results unfortunatly yet) in terms of dealing with the squad and getting stability at the club. now he needs to start challenging.

if he finishs more than 10 points away from 4th he should go but so far he has done a great job. it doesnt matter if he finishes 5th or 10th. he just needs to be within 10 points or it will be a failure

djPSB wrote: »

Brilliant lol:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,783 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Lads calm the fook down and watch this. Should ease the stress levels.

Michael Caine has had enough!

paulegend = shamrock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

You didn't get it.

If we got him for 15M, I'm not sure why our Fans should Complain that we didn't pay 30M for him.

As long as we got the Player in the end, it doesn't matter what we Paid for him.

I presumed I must of misread his posts!! Don't get it at all!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

Mr Alan wrote: »
    The thread, or a lot of people in it, is desperate to just be allowed bask in silly positively spun pro-Liverpool opinions & if anyone dares challenge the nonsense it all kicks off.

It's a shame the thread has gone the route of delusional nonsense seemingly being preferred over informed, well thought out opinion.

I think we all spend wayyy too much time in this thread trying to manage the expectations/optimism/pessimism of fellow keyboard warriors which is daft really when you think about it. If I want to be optimistic about the season ahead I shouldn't be accused of being delusional any more then you should for being pessimistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

We put our arm around Twitter and treat is as a friend, yet all it does is go out and troll the shit out of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Why in the name of bejaysus is Alex McLeish being mentioned in this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

But NO ONE wants Eriksen! Shiote player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

You didn't get it.

Ugh. Right, my post was simple, but I'll try add more milk. There's a difference between paying too much for a sought after Brazilian star, than Downing who nobody was in for. I made no suggestion of either being good or bad ways of doing business.

My response was to your "Have we learned nothing about over paying" and the point was that at least we would be overpaying for something we could use. As in there's at least somewhat of a difference, worthy of noting.