Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

YbFocus wrote: »
    Far as I remeber it's 180 ain't it, Bart O shea had a drift day there lately it was only 130 to get out.

It's €185 for the Mondello bank holiday days which are dearer than 'club' days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Were you pumping it out onto the road as you peddled? :cool:

Not my yoke for a change, Daily van :) 178 miles used 42 and a bit litres of disel :pac:

I'm sure if pushed hard I could make the 406 return worse than that though :p speaking of mpg it returned an average of 40 on a lovely run to Ennis and back yesterday, mostly at motorway speeds, I'm happy with that! :D

As for that trackday, I wouldn't mind a shot of that! What to bring if I do though....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

406, anytime I was there I never heard them giving out about smoky yolks ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

A demo derby at one of Dgt's fields would be a hoot I'd say :d.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

Going to second the 406 being a monster, its insane, the way it just squats down low and belts up the road is immense. Honestly it revs like a petrol engine, not a farmers car!

I'd be up for a trackday too tbh! I may have a car to do it in too!

This could be such a disaster :o
    I only have the 530d, or a half rotten passat :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

dgt wrote: »
    Not my yoke for a change, Daily van :) 178 miles used 42 and a bit litres of disel :pac:

I'm sure if pushed hard I could make the 406 return worse than that though :p speaking of mpg it returned an average of 40 on a lovely run to Ennis and back yesterday, mostly at motorway speeds, I'm happy with that! :D

As for that trackday, I wouldn't mind a shot of that! What to bring if I do though....

Are the alloys on that 16 inch teledials or similar to the other ones.
    Did she pop up on the trailer fine without being able to start?

Gary ITR wrote: »
    It's €185 for the Mondello bank holiday days which are dearer than 'club' days

Is that per car or per person. Could two people do it together to keep costs down etc?

Scortho wrote: »
    Is that per car or per person. Could two people do it together to keep costs down etc?

To use the day I was at last Thursday as a guideline it was €150 for car and driver and an extra driver was €30, so between yourselves you could do it for €90each

I got black flagged and ended up with a DNF in my last race due to smoke :(

Maybe that's in the racing man?
    A lad had a 328 go on him at the last day and he continued to drive it into the ground, it was literally billowing out oily smoke! Couldn't believe he wasn't called in!

Maybe that's in the racing man?
    A lad had a 328 go on him at the last day and he continued to drive it into the ground, it was literally billowing out oily smoke! Couldn't believe he wasn't called in!

That's just ruining the track for everybody else if it lets go, an engine blew on Thursday and Tarzan was covered in oil for the whole day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Lest get a quick list going and it can be transferred over to a new tread when we have more details.

1. YbFocus
    2. Chris_Heilong (should have the Chaser by then)

Scortho wrote: »
    Are the alloys on that 16 inch teledials or similar to the other ones.
    Did she pop up on the trailer fine without being able to start?

Flew up on the trailer, got the lorrey battery to crank it up with the help of the lads it was a doddle :) they're 15's, have same repmobile size tyres as the 406! :D
    Hal1 wrote: »
    A demo derby at one of Dgt's fields would be a hoot I'd say :d.
    166man wrote: »
    Going to second the 406 being a monster, its insane, the way it just squats down low and belts up the road is immense. Honestly it revs like a petrol engine, not a farmers car!

I'd be up for a trackday too tbh! I may have a car to do it in too!

Jaypers! It could have been a goer but one has to remember:
    That's just ruining the track for everybody else if it lets go, an engine blew on Thursday and Tarzan was covered in oil for the whole day

If I'm to do this, I'll need to make up something :) or use the 166 :pac:

Lest get a quick list going and it can be transferred over to a new tread when we have more details.

1. YbFocus
    2. Chris_Heilong (should have the Chaser by then)

That list is VERY provisional with my name there :)

I'd be up for the track day as well, provided I'm free the day that its on.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Well they say opposits attract but I will not give in to Euro diesel.
    That's an out standing result all the same. :pac:

r7sk7a.jpg

Just tried there! Hmmm......

CianRyan
    challengemaster
    Ded_Zebra
    BUBBLE WRAP
    Hal1
    Alanstrainor
    MetzgerMeister
    Foxhole Norman
    colm_mcm
    Toyotafanboi
    pred racer

Opposites definitely attract....? :pac:

We've all known for some time, it's Oxford in how ye post around each other :)
    I think we could have our first motors wedding.

We've all known for some time, it's Oxford in how ye post around each other :)
    I think we could have our first motors wedding.

The unholy love child between a Mazda MX5 and an XUD :pac:

What would be the wedding car??:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭coolisin

2 front wheels replaced, today was lucky as the front drivers tyre had a bit of a gouge on hidden onthe inside.

That and approx 800km's covered yesterday it's being an expensive motoring weekend.

coolisin wrote: »
    2 fr

far? You're right :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭coolisin

far? You're right :)

Nah stupid phone decided it was finishing my post for me!
    I have edited it since.

I think I'm loosing my turbo lads, outrageous whistling noise but no loss in power. I couldn't find a cracked pipe with a quick look, but knowing my luck shes going!!

Bloody thing, organise that trackday soon and let it die if it's going to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Boards Matchmaking!beta
    now ye're lovin'

Username Compatibility
    Marcinek_55
    dgt
    Bpmull
    frostie500
    BUBBLE WRAP
    EnterNow
    MetzgerMeister
    TommieBoy
    vectra
    JP Liz V1
    CianRyan

Nice to know none of ye love me :(

Go flaunt your wares in the motorsport forum (thats where I recognise some of them from anyway :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Something I have noticed is that a few traffic lights around my way have been modified, as in; it used to just have a normal red light, now it has a red arrow and then a green arrow, its terrible, I almost started to drive the first time I came across it because I had never seen it before, its not as intuitive as the regular ones and I would hate to be colour blind as I see it causing some accidents. Anyone notice these new lights around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

As far as the track day goes, put me down as a passenger with someone, unless I manage to get my licence by then...

An XUD MX5 would have lots of torque, right? :pac:

CianRyan wrote: »
    As far as the track day goes, put me down as a passenger with someone, unless I manage to get my licence by then...

An XUD MX5 would have lots of torque, right? :pac:

I could make one rev safely to over 6k and not throw a leg out of bed if that's any use :pac:

They did use XUD's in some Toyotas in the late 90's, mini Jap connection in the making already.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Bad picture and I was slow taking one as I was standing in a bit of shock at first with it being an SLS.

IMAG0205_zps59c4f86d.jpg